Bike Tour Reviews  page 8

  • Discover the captivating city of Krakow
    (5/5) Vasilije Kusovac 3 months ago

    Great bike tour

    · Krakow City Bike Tour

    Great way to experience Krakow! Our guide Mike was very helpful in explaining the history of the city and showing us around the city. It was very fun, I would recommend to everyone.

  • Loire a Velo
    (5/5) mrank July 9, 2021

    Great trip - highly recommend!

    · Loire a Velo: Orleans to the Atlantic

    We just completed the 9 day Orleans to Angers segment of this tour and really enjoyed it. It's the first trip we have taken that we would actually take again, but next time complete the entire 13 night tour. We have taken quite a few bike tours but this one provided the best supporting materials we ever had. The turn-by-turn materials and maps were very well done and easy to follow. We never needed the GPS. Of course the trail itself is extremely well marked, which helps a lot. In addition to the great support we received from the local tour company, the Bike Tours support while setting up the tour was also very good.

    The bikes were fine, a bit heavy, but comfortable. Our only issue was the tires on both bikes were under-inflated upon receipt, but we were able to resolve that without too much issue. We always carry our own tire gauge and check regularly. One bike had a mechanical issue, but the tour company was excellent at quickly resolving it.

    All the hotels were great and were prepared for our arrival. They also had very good facilities for storing the bicycles. Luggage transfer went smoothly and always arrived at our hotel before we did. The only minor issue was that one hotel did not have a lift, which was surprising, but not a big deal for us. I mention it in case it might be a concern to others.

    The meals, both breakfasts as well as dinners we purchased were top notch. We only had a complaint about the poor service in the Orleans restaurant. The food was good, but the entire restaurant was served by one person and it took forever to get through our meal. While the meals were all delicious, in hindsight, we may have gone without the supplemental meal package and just purchased dinners on our own. There were so many choices in almost every town that we would have enjoyed an occasional casual meal, like a delicious pizza vs the traditional French food every night. However, you can't go wrong in going with the meal package. It is definitely a French experience!

    Finally, the only other suggestion I would give is to alert people in the riding materials that there is a river crossing that you have to manage on your own using a little metal raft that you have to pull to your shore, load the bikes, and then pull to the other side. Its not too difficult, but managing the loading of bikes was a little tricky. I read afterwards there are ways around this crossing but it would have been good to know about it ahead of time.

    All in all, a great trip and maybe in the future we will be back to do it again.

    It goes without saying that the trails, scenery and points of interest were fantastic with lots of stops along the way. Even with less than great weather, we totally enjoyed this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/25 - 7/5, 2021
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • Duck breast and sauteed fruits - delicious! (photo by mrank)
    • The Villandry Gardens - beautiful! (photo by mrank)
    • Along the beautiful river on the way to Azay Le Rideau. (photo by mrank)
    • Chinon along the river. (photo by mrank)
    • Wild flowers everywhere along the trail. (photo by mrank)
    • A typical coffee break stop.  On the way to Angers. (photo by mrank)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Bruce July 10, 2021

      Thanks for your review and glad that you had a nice trip! Good suggestion for the riding materials. What wonderful photos!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula
    (5/5) Icebikers July 20, 2019

    Greece has been on my list for a long time!

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    Cycle is a perfect way to see fantastic places in many countries, Greece is no exception. I saw places that are spectacular like old theatre build 4000 years BC. Cycling in the country side as well as the coast is fantastic. Epidaurus, Nafplio and many other players in this tour as well as the Corint Canal on my way back to Athens is worth seeing.........

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 6th to July 13th 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • Photo 1 (photo by Icebikers)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Icebikers)
    • Nafplio (photo by Icebikers)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) linda lou September 27, 2017

    Bike Trip from Passau to Vienna

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    Bike Tours did a fantastic job in mapping, transferring our luggage and equipment. This was not a completely flat course but almost flat. They rated it a number 1 (easy). If you are an avid bicyclist I would mostly agree. We are in our 60's and are pleasure riders. Next time we will get electric assisted bike.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Holland’s Super Tulip Tour
    (5/5) Markh May 1, 2017

    Great cycle tour!

    · · Holland’s Super Tulip Tour

    We enjoyed the tulip tour very much. Our guide, Maria, did a wonderful job. She is very knowledgeable and makes everyone feel comfortable. The crew of the Sailing Home were also great! The bikes were in excellent condition.

    What was the date of your tour?
    8-15 April 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat
    (5/5) John Foster August 8, 2022

    The tour that I am reviewing was a 2 week tour in the islands of Croatia which I couldn't find on your list (20th anniversary tour affiliated with Jim Johnson) nonetheless my title would be: Excellent Guides!

    · · UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat

    Two weeks in the mainland and islands of Croatia was a great way to get to see this beautiful country and the trip was enhanced greatly by two over the top tour guides, Senad and Luka!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • HVAR before decent! (photo by John Foster)
    • The island of VIS (photo by John Foster)
    • Split Palace (photo by John Foster)
    • Lostovo and my bike (photo by John Foster)
    • Leaving Vis (photo by John Foster)
    • Sunset from the Romantica (photo by John Foster)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Sweden’s West Coast
    (5/5) Rob Luken June 29, 2023

    Our first cycling vacation

    · Sweden’s West Coast: Helsingborg to Gothenburg

    This was our first cycling vacation and the beautiful Sweden's West Coast from Helsingborg to Gothenburg trip over six days was fantastic. This is a very well organized trip, with lovely hotels along the way and good instructions with options on how to best enjoy this. The bicycles worked well, as well as the transfer of our luggage to the next hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip and even added an additional day at both ends of the trip to fully explore the cities and what it has to offer, which we can recommend.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 13 to June 20
    How many tours have you completed?
    1, including this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Sweden
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
  • Holland’s Super Tulip Tour
    (5/5) Neil Tardiff 3 months ago

    Awesome Bike Tour

    · · Holland’s Super Tulip Tour

    This was a wonderful way to see the country with your friends. The bike tour staff were wonderful. The food was fantastic and the scenery was gorgeous.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Algarve Coastal Route
    (5/5) MEMALgarve January 16, 2020

    Really Great Holiday Trip on Wheels

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    We had a wonderful 4 day/5 night trip along the Algarve. The GPS was superb, the route was very well thought out, the food amazing and the Algarve everything we had hoped it would be- thank you.

    What was the date of your tour?
    12/30/19-1/4/20
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • A stop to take it all in... (photo by MEMALgarve)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Best of Holland North
    (5/5) Gretchen September 15, 2018

    Wonderful trip!

    · Best of Holland North: Dutch Villages, Landscapes & the Keukenhof

    A great way to see the Netherlands -- 40-50k per day was very doable, landscape and towns lovely, and the hotels were all very cozy and comfortable. Would highly recommend it, and will be doing another one for sure!

    What was the date of your tour?
    end of July
    How many tours have you completed?
    only this once
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Holland’s Southern Relax Tulip Tour
    (5/5) Debbi April 28, 2017

    Tulips--Bike and Barge

    · · Holland’s Southern Relax Tulip Tour

    We had a fabulous time. Great food, scenery, guide and fellow travelers. The only complaint was weather related--COLD! Not the fault of anyone but the weather gods.

    What was the date of your tour?
    4/15/17
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Cycling Spain's Ebro River
    (5/5) Lisa Price 10 months ago

    Gorgeous vistas!

    · Cycling Spain's Ebro River

    I've been on several bike tours; this was by far my favorite. The routes were well-planned with views that took you from the origin of the Ebro through the mountains through gorges, along rich valleys & fields, ending in the celebrated Rioja Valley- with charming historical towns all along the way. Detailed GPS instructions made the routes easy to follow, allowing you to go at your own pace and stop to take advantage of the many interesting sights. My first time on an e-road bike and I'm a convert- the equipment was excellent. The local team was very helpful and supportive, making sure everything ran smoothly. I hope to do this tour again!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • Rioja Valley (photo by Lisa Price)
    •  (photo by Lisa Price)
    • Puenteday (photo by Lisa Price)
    • Winery tour (photo by Lisa Price)
    •  (photo by Lisa Price)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Bruce 3 months ago

    Very cold & windy, a bit of hail and even snow; still a great trip

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    We've enjoyed many self-guided bike trips in Europe and this is a great one with normal weather.

    Bike Tours highly professional staff slightly modified the standard tour to meet our request, which was promptly and accurately accomplished. The Radreisefreunde representative, a very pleasant person, met us at the first hotel and supplied the bikes. We rode them around the hotel area before confirming they were the right size and in proper working order. We selected one "uniframe" (sloped top tube) bike and one with a horizontal (AKA men's) top tube. Both were 21 speeds and very suitable for the flat bike trip. The standard "Mosel bikeline" booklet for Metz to Koblenz was supplemented with a custom booklet for us, Trier to Koblenz, the portion, we biked. The supplemental booklet provided more details and is very much a worthwhile addition. Thank you!

    All hotels were very clean, well located in the core of each city and allowed easy access to sites, restaurants, etc. Staff were universally welcoming. Special mention as to the Gästehaus Weingut Seminarshof restaurant in Trittenheim...it is located in the same hotel where we stayed. Two related pictures are attached. Mmmmm!

    Breakfast were included and were pretty much same, same. Most of the food was good, especially fresh breads/rolls. The coffee....well, if you're accustomed to the good stuff, downgrade your expectations offered at most hotels.

    The trip is on dedicated bike paths, shared bike/pedestrian paths and a little along shoulders of roads or on very quiet roads. The route is generally well signed and it's pretty obvious how to proceed. However, per usual, we got lost a handful of times and realized such quickly and course corrected.

    We supplemented the booklets using our cell phone and an e-sim from Airalo, with O2 the actual German cell coverage firm. When switching on the service, it instantly connected and provided fast worthwhile assistance to the route and hotels. We used it sporadically each day and 1GB of data ($5.00USD) was more than enough, can be tipped up easily or buy a larger package up front. All hotels supplied free WiFi. Note: the Airalo e-sim we used is data only, no local phone number is included.

    Had the weather been much better, we would have lingered at more cafes along the route, as we enjoy delicious treats mid-day and good coffee.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • Spargel  (white asparagus) with hollandaise sauce and schnitzel. (photo by Bruce)
    • Spargel soup. (photo by Bruce)
    • Typical signage. (photo by Bruce)
    • The view along the Mosel River. (photo by Bruce)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Cycling the West Balkan Triangle
    (5/5) Melani July 18, 2019

    Most epic trip!!

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    This vacation/bike tour was one for the books! We wouldn’t change a thing and would like to take the tour again. The 6 day bike ride was no easy feat but it was manageable (especially with 2 14-year old boys). Our bike guide, Igor was very knowledgeable of the history and sights/cities we visited. Mario was an amazing SAG driver and prepared quite a lovely daily lunch spread!! Loved all the rest stops and hotels we stayed at. Can’t wait to take another tour with BikeTours!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 27 - July 4, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Neckar and Rhine
    (5/5) Domenico September 26, 2017
    · · Neckar & Rhine Rivers by Bike and Boat

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 9 to 16
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Best of Slovenia
    (5/5) Alpskier November 14, 2015

    A Great Trip Across a Great Country

    · Best of Slovenia: Highlights Across the Country From Bled to Piran

    Loved cycling through Slovenia. Warm, friendly people, terrific accommodations, and spectacular scenery made it very, very special. The ride begins in the majestic Julien Alps and courses its way through verdant farm lands, remote villages, the capital city of Ljubljana, and ends on Adriatic sea at the beautiful & ancient town of Piran. Accommodations were fine, some were truly charming, featuring architecture unique to Slovenia. The meal plan was a bargain and the foods and beers were delicious. The 9 day ride largely followed low-trafficked roads, where drivers were courteous. The well-devised road book made navigation manageable, as the route isn't as clearly marked the way it's done in most of Western Europe. Still, there were no worries at all, even as a solo rider. Surprisingly, English was widely spoken. The route featured rolling hills, none of which were too strenuous, nor was mileage an issue. There were lots of downhills as the trip starts high in the Alps and descends to the sea. The local tour operator was very helpful and the bikes were well maintained. Starting out in the fairy-book town of Lake Bled with its famous island church was a reward in itself. Here's a good tip: It's worth the 15 Euro to have a van bring you to the top of the mountain on the second day. Biking it seemed absurd. The capital city was accessible and having dinner near the famous three bridges confluence still brings a smile to my face as I remember the sea of young people going from bar to bar. It's all good, not to mention one of the great travel bargains in the Biketours universe.

    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula
    (5/5) Beth Gray November 7, 2022

    The best part of Greece!!!

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    We spent a couple of weeks touring Greece before heading to the Peloponnese Peninsula. What a great way to end our trip! The roads were beautiful, the hills manageable, accommodations were great except for one night where the location was fabulous, the hotel not so much. We met some great people who may be international friends from Amsterdam and Australia now!
    Thank you Bike tours for another incredible ride and looking forward to the next.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
  • Pedal along the Puccini Cycle Path
    (5/5) robert cenna 2 weeks ago

    Book this trip—it’s exceptional!

    · Pisa to Lucca Bike Tour

    Our guide Dani was wonderful. The bikes were in great condition. The process was easy. Everyone we dealt with was friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Best of the Algarve
    (5/5) Timr November 23, 2019

    Castles, Orange Groves and Sea

    · Best of the Algarve by Road Bike

    Delightful tour through this beautiful and fascinating part of Portugal. Bikes provided were quality, carbon frame road bikes. Accommodations were good to very good. Navigation was clear—the Garmin provided worked just fine. The countryside was lovely. Recommend especially in September to November when temperatures are better.

    What was the date of your tour?
    November 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    11
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (5/5) Victor Gonzalez July 18, 2019

    My first leasure biek trip

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    Everyuthing was perfect. Since the metting to give us all the details, the bikes, the hotels, the suitcase transportation, etc. But the best was the views and the roads

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 1-6
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • Happy (photo by Victor Gonzalez)
    • Nice roads (photo by Victor Gonzalez)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection