Mosel  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Joseph Wise 4 months ago

    A bike trip to remember.

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    The bike trip was the highlight of our two week trip to Germany this year. We went from town to town with beautiful scenery along the way. We moved at our own pace and enjoyed stopping in towns along the way to our next destination. Our luggage was always at the next hotel, usually before we arrived. All hotels were beautiful. Having breakfast each morning was a great way to start each day. We were fortunate to have great weather, but the saddlebags did allow for bringing extra clothing or rain gear if needed. Equipment was in great shape as well. We used e-bikes which helped with hills when needed. If you want to see Germany through the eyes of small towns, at your own pace and without the hustle of large cities. This type a bike trip is recommended.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was the first, but not the last.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    •  (photo by Joseph Wise)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac October 10, 2023

      Thank you for sharing your experience! We're thrilled to hear that this trip was the highlight of your two-week visit to Germany! Your recommendation for those wanting to discover Germany's charm through these bike trips is certainly compelling. Lovely photos as well! We look forward to being of help to you again in the future.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • German Wine Country
    (4/5) Jane Fletcher 5 months ago

    Lovely towns along the Mosel

    · · German Wine Country along the Saar & Mosel Rivers

    We really enjoyed our trip down the Mosel and Saar rivers. The Zwaan is a great boat and we really enjoyed the bike tour with a small group. Lots of storybook villages to explore along the way. We were lucky to be there while the grapes along the Mosel were being harvested and it was really interesting to see that going on. We also had the opportunity to try Federweißer, fresh pressed wine. It was very good while being totally different from what you think of as wine. We had e-bikes for the trip which flattened out the hills and made the riding very easy. It was very interesting to see all of the remnants of Roman civilization as well as lots of medieval buildings. So much history. The patchwork quilt of vineyards along the river were amazing especially in some areas where it seemed they rose straight up. So difficult to work on those steep slopes.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    20+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • The Zwaan, our biking group, guide, captain and chef (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    • Riding along vineyards (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    • The waterfalls through the middle of town in Saarburg (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    • Bernkastle (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    • We generally stopped for coffee and pastries in the morning as well as a wine or coke break in the afternoon (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    • A patchwork of vineyards (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • German Rivers, Wines, and Cycle Paths by Bike and Boat
    (5/5) Monika Sorlini 5 months ago

    Goldige Reise mit unseren amerikanischen Freunden

    · · German Rivers, Wines, and Cycle Paths by Bike and Boat

    Zum radeln hervorragend, wir hätten keine Guides benötigt, da uns die römischen Bauten weniger interessiert haben. Wir haben es vorgezogen, zu geocachen.

    What was the date of your tour?
    17.9. bis 24.9.23
    How many tours have you completed?
    zwei
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (4/5) Thomas Bailey 5 months ago

    Good trip

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    I will give you the positives and then areas I think you could improve upon. 1. The route along the Mosel is absolutely fantastic. And the boat ride down the Rhine was a very pleasant surprise. 2. We stayed in the upscaled lodging, and they were all very, very good. 3. The bikes were some of the best we have rented in Europe. They were very clean and I think almost new. Areas for improvement, 1. Your representative in Germany is, at best, average. Almost no discussion about the route or functionality of the bikes. He was very anxious to get the bikes in our hands...and leave. He also stated the route is so straightforward I did not need gps, and recommended I leave it a home. That might be true if I lived there and spoke the language. Regardless, I took my garmin and was very happy I did. The written directions were extremely imprecise - and since we had upgraded our lodging, our hotels had very bad directions to get to them. I even asked about this before we left and there was little effort to make them more clear. Not sure what your quality control is for your representatives, but we have been on several biketours.com and the quality of service when you get there is very, very inconsistent. Belgium was good, France not so much. 2. I would build in more time to see some of the beautiful small towns we visited along the way - at least give that as an option for people looking for a more relaxed schedule.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Janice Render 5 months ago

    Mosel bike Path

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    We had no guide but 4 of us, we enjoyed doing it on our own with all hotel booked and ready for cyclists. The maps and instructions are a good idea but need to be updated we got lost and spent a lot of time trying to figure out where we were and how to stay off roads to get there. Hill in Cochem to hotel was not pleasant. Needed better instruction on getting there and to garage

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 11,2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (4/5) Jacquelyn Burles 5 months ago

    Scenic and easy

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Well organized tour, bikes ready and in great shape. The maps provided were a little out of date and twice the written instructions were wrong. At one point our hotel was a the top of a steep hill and the instructions led us to a staircase we felt unable to lug electric bikes up. Might not be a hotel used regularly. Otherwise, scenery was amazing, very little in road cycling although because of the terrain a lot of it was close to a road. The wine tasting was particularly interesting.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • Grape vines everywhere. (photo by Jacquelyn Burles)
  • (5/5) Emil Koenig 6 months ago

    What a Wonderful Bike Trip

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    My Family enjoyed all aspects of this bike trip. It was culturally rewarding and added up to a great bonding with my Family

    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
  • (5/5) Timothy Paradiso 7 months ago

    The trip was well planned

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    The trip was wonderful unfortunately a member of our trip was injured and we had to stop our trip early. However the portion that we were able to do was wonderful, the hotels was great with a wonderful and very helpful staff. My only wish is that I would really like to have the GPS option, following the path was not difficult but would have been easier with the GPS, and made the trip more enjoyable.

    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jeffrey Smith 8 months ago

    Outstanding trip enjoyed it a lot

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    The hotels were wonderful and the directions were easy to follow. The luggage transfers were always on time

    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
  • Mosel and Saar
    (4/5) Carla Myers 8 months ago

    Great Trip

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    This bike ride is one of our favorites, between the scenery and the options of some side trips during the ride and the wine tasting excursions. The crew was great. The only complaint was at dinner if you wanted anything to drink (even water, coffee & tea) you had to pay. Luckily the drink package was cheap, it was only good from 4pm to 11pm. Water, tea, juice and coffee were included at breakfast, we were on the road for lunch. They had everything you needed to make your sandwiches for lunch, including water, candy bars and fruit. Bring something to package your food.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 20, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Paul Miller November 7, 2022

    Fantastic bike trip through Germany

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Our group of 3 all loved this trip. It's beautiful, a good balance of riding and interesting activities (like a wine tasting one evening). The hotels were all very good - ranging from extremely nice to more modest. The scenery and towns were terrific. Of course the food, beer and wine were all terrific. Highly recommend this for anyone who enjoys a bike trip. Super easy to navigate and the bikes were top notch. (from 3 sort of picky New Yorkers!!)

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    10 bikes tours before this one.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel and Saar
    (5/5) Stan September 13, 2021

    An Ideal Vacation

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    Riding the Mosel River in Germany is to experience seven days of sheer beauty of countless vineyards planted in a wild geometry on the steep valleys along the river. The villages with the profusion of flowers bursting from every window make you feel you have stepped into a story book. I've done this trip twice. Once with a regular bike and once with an Ebike. The Ebike is easier, of course, but the regular bike was very doable for an 84 year old who is just a weekend rider.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July, 2017 and Sept.4, 2021
    How many tours have you completed?
    Four
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (4/5) Hiker Ann November 4, 2019

    Self Guided Mosel River

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Wes and the team at BikeTours.com were amazing helpful in planning our self guided trip. We were so lucky too that the weather was pleasant every day of our bike tour. This made the well planned tour even more special! We only experienced one late afternoon of rain in Sept..I would definitely contact Wes if we plan another bike tour in Europe, as he was attentive and friendly throughout our months ahead of planning.

    The Mosel is a lovely ,calm river with various birds and river boats, plus vineyards up the hillsides on both sides to admire. The beginning of the tour is more peaceful than the latter part as the highways and roads follow the river and bike paths too and are closer in those parts. The towns in the middle of the tour are smaller and very interesting, and often we wished we had more time to explore them as some are historic and scenic. Faster riders and those with Ebikes may have had more time to visit these villages. The hotels especially Richtershof in Mulheim and Romantik Jugenstillhotel in Traben were places I would have loved to stay longer! .All hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The managers/staff at Hotel Schwarzen Baren in Koblenz were most personable, but please know if lodged there you have a longer distance to the hotel from the bike path and to the river boat and return the next day.

    I would recommend that the first day not be the longest distance to bike for this tour. You are getting familiar with the heavier bikes, unlike ones you may own at home, taking multitudes of photo stops, and the hotel, restaurants, and area in Mulheim are a treat to behold after Trier. Getting there late afternoon left us less exploration and relaxation time. Otherwise the mileage per day was adequate for us. Do plan to have time to explore historic part of Cochem. It is a tourist stop and the Hotel Kebler Meyer is not in this part of town. My husband had an Ebike, I did not. Of course this review is personal, and I do prefer smaller villages to cities. Overall, we were most pleased with the tour arranged by BikeTours.com.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Setpt. 9 through 14
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Peter and Joyce November 3, 2019

    Birthday treat

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    The hotels booked were excellent and the luggage transfer was seamless. Bicycles were a little heavy but the range of adjustment allowed an ideal touring position.

    What was the date of your tour?
    9th Oct 2019
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Bayer55 October 27, 2019

    Vineyards, vineyards, vineyards!!

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Great tour for independent traveler. Well marked, easy riding, great maps and assistance if needed. First day was a bit long at 40 miles. Would have liked to have done tour in 5-6 days, to take in more sights and relax a bit more. But we are not seasoned bicyclists, so took a bit longer to travel the route.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 14-18
    How many tours have you completed?
    4 (but last one was 4 yrs ago)
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) 1961flyer October 14, 2019

    Great time riding the Mosel!

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    This is a beautiful piece of German wine growing region. The path was well mark and there were plenty of towns and restaurants along the route. The hotels were exceptional and the included wine tasting was informative and fun. We were skeptical about staying on the other side of the Rhine in Koblenz but this was a lovely hotel and a great place to stay!

    What was the date of your tour?
    25th - 31st August 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by 1961flyer)
    • Beautiful evening in Koblenz. (photo by 1961flyer)
    • The path and scenery were fantastic. (photo by 1961flyer)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Gerhard October 13, 2019
    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    How many tours have you completed?
    one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) CynFul September 24, 2019
    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    The scenery along the route was breathtaking and every town on the tour was welcoming.
    Most of the riding was on a well maintained bike path (many taking us through wine vineyards) although we were diverted to the road (both in-town and along busy thoroughfares) a time or two but besides the rides through the towns the riding along the roads was along a designated area for bikes and the vehicular traffic was mindful of the cyclists. The accommodations were very comfortable and having prepaid for daily breakfast and dinner we didn't have to make any choices where to eat and all-in-all each of our meals were satisfactory at minimum. Although the pre-tour preparation for our self-guided bike tour was very detailed with BikeTours.com the execution (by the German based company) left something to be desired. The riding instructions/maps we were given were based on the standard route so they didn't take our particular stops into consideration; we therefore spent a good amount of time lost on our bikes. This was also because the general riding directions/instructions provided by the German tour company were not very detailed and again, did not provide specific details relative to our daily stops. The equipment provided by the German tour company was fair; the two women's bikes were like beach cruisers so easy to get on/off, the e-bike was fantastic (appeared to be brand new) and the other men's bike worked fine although it seemed a bit big for the rider and it was the smallest men's frame the local company had available. The handlebar box and panier for each bike was adequate for transporting our personal items.

    We LOVED the area, just wish we had spent less time being lost and more time exploring the beautiful, friendly towns scattered along the Moselle.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 6-13, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was the first for me
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe September 25, 2019

      Thank you very much for the review. The Mosel is a lovely tour and region, and we're delighted you enjoyed it. We sincerely appreciate your compliment that we were detailed in preparing you for your tour. Thanks for noting the directions and bikes are aspects of the tour which may be improved upon. We will share this evaluation with the tour operator. We're so glad to have assisted you with booking this tour and that you enjoyed the scenery and towns.

    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection