Mosel  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Paul Miller 3 weeks ago

    Fantastic bike trip through Germany

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Our group of 3 all loved this trip. It's beautiful, a good balance of riding and interesting activities (like a wine tasting one evening). The hotels were all very good - ranging from extremely nice to more modest. The scenery and towns were terrific. Of course the food, beer and wine were all terrific. Highly recommend this for anyone who enjoys a bike trip. Super easy to navigate and the bikes were top notch. (from 3 sort of picky New Yorkers!!)

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    10 bikes tours before this one.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel and Saar
    (5/5) Stan September 13, 2021

    An Ideal Vacation

    · · Mosel and Saar by Bike and Boat

    Riding the Mosel River in Germany is to experience seven days of sheer beauty of countless vineyards planted in a wild geometry on the steep valleys along the river. The villages with the profusion of flowers bursting from every window make you feel you have stepped into a story book. I've done this trip twice. Once with a regular bike and once with an Ebike. The Ebike is easier, of course, but the regular bike was very doable for an 84 year old who is just a weekend rider.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July, 2017 and Sept.4, 2021
    How many tours have you completed?
    Four
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (4/5) Hiker Ann November 4, 2019

    Self Guided Mosel River

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Wes and the team at BikeTours.com were amazing helpful in planning our self guided trip. We were so lucky too that the weather was pleasant every day of our bike tour. This made the well planned tour even more special! We only experienced one late afternoon of rain in Sept..I would definitely contact Wes if we plan another bike tour in Europe, as he was attentive and friendly throughout our months ahead of planning.

    The Mosel is a lovely ,calm river with various birds and river boats, plus vineyards up the hillsides on both sides to admire. The beginning of the tour is more peaceful than the latter part as the highways and roads follow the river and bike paths too and are closer in those parts. The towns in the middle of the tour are smaller and very interesting, and often we wished we had more time to explore them as some are historic and scenic. Faster riders and those with Ebikes may have had more time to visit these villages. The hotels especially Richtershof in Mulheim and Romantik Jugenstillhotel in Traben were places I would have loved to stay longer! .All hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The managers/staff at Hotel Schwarzen Baren in Koblenz were most personable, but please know if lodged there you have a longer distance to the hotel from the bike path and to the river boat and return the next day.

    I would recommend that the first day not be the longest distance to bike for this tour. You are getting familiar with the heavier bikes, unlike ones you may own at home, taking multitudes of photo stops, and the hotel, restaurants, and area in Mulheim are a treat to behold after Trier. Getting there late afternoon left us less exploration and relaxation time. Otherwise the mileage per day was adequate for us. Do plan to have time to explore historic part of Cochem. It is a tourist stop and the Hotel Kebler Meyer is not in this part of town. My husband had an Ebike, I did not. Of course this review is personal, and I do prefer smaller villages to cities. Overall, we were most pleased with the tour arranged by BikeTours.com.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Setpt. 9 through 14
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Peter and Joyce November 3, 2019

    Birthday treat

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    The hotels booked were excellent and the luggage transfer was seamless. Bicycles were a little heavy but the range of adjustment allowed an ideal touring position.

    What was the date of your tour?
    9th Oct 2019
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Bayer55 October 27, 2019

    Vineyards, vineyards, vineyards!!

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Great tour for independent traveler. Well marked, easy riding, great maps and assistance if needed. First day was a bit long at 40 miles. Would have liked to have done tour in 5-6 days, to take in more sights and relax a bit more. But we are not seasoned bicyclists, so took a bit longer to travel the route.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 14-18
    How many tours have you completed?
    4 (but last one was 4 yrs ago)
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) 1961flyer October 14, 2019

    Great time riding the Mosel!

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    This is a beautiful piece of German wine growing region. The path was well mark and there were plenty of towns and restaurants along the route. The hotels were exceptional and the included wine tasting was informative and fun. We were skeptical about staying on the other side of the Rhine in Koblenz but this was a lovely hotel and a great place to stay!

    What was the date of your tour?
    25th - 31st August 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by 1961flyer)
    • Beautiful evening in Koblenz. (photo by 1961flyer)
    • The path and scenery were fantastic. (photo by 1961flyer)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Gerhard October 13, 2019
    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    How many tours have you completed?
    one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) CynFul September 24, 2019
    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    The scenery along the route was breathtaking and every town on the tour was welcoming.
    Most of the riding was on a well maintained bike path (many taking us through wine vineyards) although we were diverted to the road (both in-town and along busy thoroughfares) a time or two but besides the rides through the towns the riding along the roads was along a designated area for bikes and the vehicular traffic was mindful of the cyclists. The accommodations were very comfortable and having prepaid for daily breakfast and dinner we didn't have to make any choices where to eat and all-in-all each of our meals were satisfactory at minimum. Although the pre-tour preparation for our self-guided bike tour was very detailed with BikeTours.com the execution (by the German based company) left something to be desired. The riding instructions/maps we were given were based on the standard route so they didn't take our particular stops into consideration; we therefore spent a good amount of time lost on our bikes. This was also because the general riding directions/instructions provided by the German tour company were not very detailed and again, did not provide specific details relative to our daily stops. The equipment provided by the German tour company was fair; the two women's bikes were like beach cruisers so easy to get on/off, the e-bike was fantastic (appeared to be brand new) and the other men's bike worked fine although it seemed a bit big for the rider and it was the smallest men's frame the local company had available. The handlebar box and panier for each bike was adequate for transporting our personal items.

    We LOVED the area, just wish we had spent less time being lost and more time exploring the beautiful, friendly towns scattered along the Moselle.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 6-13, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was the first for me
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe September 25, 2019

      Thank you very much for the review. The Mosel is a lovely tour and region, and we're delighted you enjoyed it. We sincerely appreciate your compliment that we were detailed in preparing you for your tour. Thanks for noting the directions and bikes are aspects of the tour which may be improved upon. We will share this evaluation with the tour operator. We're so glad to have assisted you with booking this tour and that you enjoyed the scenery and towns.

    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Mosel and Saar
    (5/5) CERT Bib September 12, 2019
    · · Mosel and Saar by Bike and Boat

    We tied this trip with another bike and barge tour making it a month long trip. It was a trip of a life time.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Bob and Barb September 11, 2019

    Wonderful Trip

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Everything about the trip was perfect especially the accommodations and bike supplier who was very helpful. The only problem was the trip itinerary schedule did not match the actual hotel destinations which caused considerable confusion for the first day. Once that was realized the trip was perfect..

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 29, 2019-Sept 3, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Mosel and Saar
    (5/5) sandd September 8, 2019

    The perfect way to see the Mosel

    · · Mosel and Saar by Bike and Boat

    Good food, fantastic staff, excellent cycling paths, met interesting people.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 24-31
    How many tours have you completed?
    none
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) PencilM August 27, 2019
    · · Mosel and Saar by Bike and Boat

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 9-Aug 17
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Jim Gr August 24, 2019

    Wonderful Experience

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Wonderful bike tour. Beautiful scenery, riding along the Mosel River on a well marked bike path. Lovely towns and villages. Hotel accommodations were everything we expected, all 4 star superior. Recommend going with the dinner package option. Food was exceptional.
    Again, Thank You Bike Tours Staff for another wonderful and relaxing trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • Ice coffee & apple strudel stop (photo by Jim Gr)
    • Castle on the Mosel River (photo by Jim Gr)
    • Beautiful Mosel Valley (photo by Jim Gr)
    • Accommodation’s on the Mosel River (photo by Jim Gr)
    • Roman Amphitheater in Trier, Germany (photo by Jim Gr)
    • Mosel River tour (photo by Jim Gr)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe August 25, 2019

      Thanks, Jim, for the review. We're delighted to have assisted you and can't wait for the next one!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel and Saar
    (4/5) Stra August 11, 2019

    Wonderful !

    · · Mosel and Saar by Bike and Boat

    The scenery, the villages and the cycling were amazing. The boat coludi use some improvements

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 27
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was the first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) Z1201 July 6, 2019

    The bicycle trip was great the ship

    · · Mosel and Saar by Bike and Boat

    What was the date of your tour?
    22.6.19
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 2/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 1/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Shmil July 6, 2019
    · · Mosel and Saar by Bike and Boat

    What was the date of your tour?
    22.06
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) CPUT June 25, 2019

    Great multi-generational family trip

    · · Mosel and Saar by Bike and Boat

    This trip was such a great experience, especially with the availability of e-bikes, I would recommend it for just about anyone. The food aboard exceeded my expectations every day. It was self-guided, and the provided daily briefings and maps were completely sufficient for us to find our way. We did it with an age range of 9 years to 73 years, and everyone was successful. Bikes are not high-end, but they worked. We had some trouble with seat and handlebar adjustments for the shorter members of our group, but it all worked out in the end. The crew of the Patria was exceptional. They were professional, helpful, and provided excellent service throughout. It was particularly nice that passengers were allowed to stay aboard during the day if they needed a rest day or didn't want to deal with biking on a day of solid rain. Terrific first-time bike tour experience.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 8 -15
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (3/5) Dre22 June 15, 2019
    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 30 thru June 5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 1/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection