Top Rated Tours Reviews

  • Medieval Villages of Catalonia
    (5/5) Kathryn Staropoli 2 weeks ago

    This trip exceeded all expectations!

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    This was the perfect trip! I love biking on a recreational level, and the friend I went with is a more avid biker, but it was great for both of us. It was challenging without being too difficult. We rode 20-25 miles a day on the self guided tour and loved it. We were on bike paths, trails, and dedicated bike lanes for almost the entire trip. We rode through farms and fields, along the sea, and through beautiful medieval villages without ever feeling like we had to rush to reach our destination, and we always felt safe. We met Daniel from Creative Catalonia, who set us up with the bikes, and he was incredibly kind and helpful. We had no trouble at all, so we never had to reach out for assistance, but I'm sure he would have been able to help us out if we were ever in need. They did let us know that the hotel restaurant where we would be having dinner was hosting an event the night we were staying there, and asked if we wanted them to make a reservation for us so we would still be able to eat there. We said yes and enjoyed a wonderful dinner thanks to their considerate outreach.
    The GPS worked very well. My friend is very good with directions and she did a great job navigating. Some spots, those intersections with a number of options, were sometimes hard to correctly discern, but if we did choose the wrong path, the GPS quickly corrected us and we would be on our way after only a few extra minutes. The route they programmed for us was really great. We loved going through fields, farms, and wooded areas, riding along the Mediterranean was just beautiful, and we stopped in several of the medieval villages to explore, shop, or grab lunch. We didn't typically stop where they suggested we go for lunch or a coffee, but we were always able to find food and drink along the way. The stops they recommended for sightseeing were really great and we did stop for all of those. They were fun and varied. They included a botanical garden, the Dali museum, the ancient ruins of a city, and a lighthouse! The route they chose was exactly what we were hoping for.
    They were also great about the luggage transfers. It was always at the hotel when we arrived and the hotels themselves were really nice, they were clean and comfortable, and each included a delicious breakfast.
    We did go in the off season and really lucked out with the weather considering we were there the last week of October. It was perfect biking weather for me, clear and sunny, with temperatures in the high 60s and into the 70s every day. The fact that many cafes and restaurants were closed was not a big deal, we always found a place to eat. Quite honestly, it was a small price to pay for the lack of tourists. Everywhere we went was far less crowded than it would have been in season.
    I highly recommend this tour and Creative Catalonia.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Dayna Stern 3 weeks ago

    My favorite bike tour

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    I love this trip! Gentle cycling, stunning scenery and nice accommodations. We requested half board which exposed us to south Tyrolean food. Highly recommended! Remember to dress warmly because you’ll be in a wooded valley part of the first few days.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Castles and Wines of Portugal
    (5/5) Gail Skutezky 3 weeks ago

    Best bike trip ever - so much history! Beautiful weather

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    The trip was very interesting, lots of very beautiful scenery, warm weather, we saw places that you cannot get to by car. An incredible marble quarry, beautiful cork oak tree forests and chromalechs you don't see from a car road. The cafes were so quaint and welcoming. The hotels were 15th century convents, and a beautiful farmhouse with animals, one night we stayed in a beautiful palace attached to a castle that you could climb.
    The bikes were excellent. We had ebikes and they were very light. The food was excellent. The Portuguese love to please you!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 24
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Wild Atlantic Way Cycling
    (5/5) Lucy Fraiser 3 weeks ago

    Eliminated by Covid

    · Wild Atlantic Way Cycling

    I am sure this would have been an incredible trip but I tested positive for covid the day before the trip was to start. I plan on rescheduling the trip. Please remember to get travel insurance when you book active vacations. In Ireland, doctors would not see you if you were positive for covid, so the travel insurance co. (AIG) put me in touch with a doctor that did a virtual visit and got me all the documentation I needed for my insurance claim. We were able to get most of the money spent on the vacation back and all of the extra expenditures made necessary by the lengthy quarantining.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Dayna Stern 3 weeks ago

    My favorite bike tour

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    I love this trip! Gentle cycling, stunning scenery and nice accommodations. We requested half board which exposed us to south Tyrolean food. Highly recommended! Remember to dress warmly because you’ll be in a wooded valley part of the first few days.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Munich and the Bavarian Lakes
    (4/5) Amir Zomer 3 weeks ago

    Excellent ride with stunning views

    · Munich and the Bavarian Lakes

    The trip was wonderful –
    Stunning views along the way with lakes, mountains, forests and colorful villages.
    We upgraded the bike and were very pleased with their quality and comfort.
    The hotels were adequate for that kind of trip.

    Downside (The reason I gave it only 4 stars):
    - The hotels were not always close to the end of the daily route.
    Some days it was 2-3 Km away and in the worst case it was 20Km away!!
    Just imagine thinking you’re done with your daily route after planning the riding times and then you have to ride additional 20 Km.
    - The maps that we were given were not aligned to our trip – we used the App.
    - The App can be improved – a sound should be added to alert when you’re off the route.
    We sometimes found ourselves out of the route without noticing it because we can’t have our eyes on the screen all the time.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    •  (photo by Amir Zomer)
    •  (photo by Amir Zomer)
    •  (photo by Amir Zomer)
    •  (photo by Amir Zomer)
    •  (photo by Amir Zomer)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Split to Dalmatian Islands
    (5/5) Penny Knight 3 weeks ago

    Awesome biking in islands of Croatia!

    · Split to Dalmatian Islands

    Wonderful time biking the islands of Croatia, boating, and swimming in the Adriatic Sea. Great guides for cycling and really enjoyed the boat! We did opt for ebikes on this tour secondary to steep climbs on all rides- we were glad we did so we could enjoy our rides as well as the beautiful scenery.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2922
    How many tours have you completed?
    Many
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Castles and Wines of Portugal
    (4/5) Reigh Walling 3 weeks ago

    A rich historical past and a vibrant and diverse present. That's Portugal.

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    If you told most people that you were going to cycle Portugal, they would only think of Lisbon. Well, that is a beautiful city, but an hour's train ride took us from coastal topography to a totally different landscape of rolling hills topped with cork trees and vineyards. The tour was a nice mix of ancient walled cities and rural rolling roads. Cows graze amid the monoliths. Sheep browse for grass under the olive trees, each wearing a tiny tinkle bell around its neck -- their movement producing a melodious windchime symphony. Accommodations ranged from a rustic farmhouse to an actual palace, and the route and attributes of the tour also bridged history and modern culture. But it's Portugal's people who are the real stars of the tour. And of course, the food.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Wild Atlantic Way Cycling
    (5/5) Donald Allen 3 weeks ago

    Bike Trip V

    · Wild Atlantic Way Cycling

    Scenery was breathtaking, people were extremely accommodating and app was excellent for this type of route. Tour company was quick to deal with initial problems we had with bikes. The Ireland biking experience exceeded our expectations.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Rioja: Hidden Spain, Land of Wine
    (5/5) Pamela Oberst 3 weeks ago

    Great introduction to Basque country

    · Rioja: Hidden Spain, Land of Wine

    We had a great time on the Basque wine country. Met 4 new friends on the tour and plan on riding with them again. Recommend this tour for everyone. Nice mileage and time to explore places of Interest.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Aaron Schwartzbaum 3 weeks ago

    What a fun trip!

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    My partner and I had a ton of fun on this trip, which was our honeymoon. The stops were nice, especially with the ability to upgrade accommodations. I'd highly recommend doing the extra day in Bled if you're looking to get some relaxation in, too. Some parts of the route, especially if you're not taking the train into Bled, are would be extremely strenuous without an electric bike, I'd highly recommend one in general. There are a couple of points where there's a bit of car traffic, but I felt safe enough in a high viz. But what a fun way to travel, we saw a lot of things we wouldn't have ordinarily and the route is SCENIC as can be!

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Medieval Villages of Catalonia
    (4/5) Evelyn Savage 3 weeks ago

    Adventure

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    Medieval Villages of Catalonia was an adventurous, fun and challenging bike tour. The villages were very interesting, the hotels very nice, the ebikes great and self guided directions mostly good. We had a few challenges finding some of the paths and the terrain was much more mountain biking than expected. But we found our way and enjoyed the beautiful countryside. One should be an experienced cyclist or mountain biker to enjoy the trails have some experience with directions to do self guided. Overall a very good way to experience the Baja Emporda coast and Medieval towns.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Castles and Wines of Portugal
    (4/5) Vickie Brunstetter 3 weeks ago

    Central Portugal is delightful by bike

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    It was wonderful to ride through vineyards, cork trees and small towns. Staying in the posadas and other quaint accommodations really added to the trip. Of course the wine tastings were wonderful as well. It was very educational to visit different wineries. Our only issue was with the bikes that did not consistently maintain the power assist.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Loire a Velo
    (5/5) John Rosenfeld 3 weeks ago

    Thoroughly enjoyable

    · Loire a Velo: Orleans to the Atlantic

    Will plan by the tour group. Beautiful scenery. Many interesting sized to see that were both historical and educational. The bed and breakfast is that were selected were outstanding. Food along the way was outstanding. The directions were easy to follow

    Countries included in this tour?
    France
  • Best of Slovenia
    (4/5) Audrey Block 3 weeks ago

    Great way to experience Slovenia

    · Best of Slovenia: Highlights Across the Country From Bled to Piran

    Overall, we really enjoyed the trip. Hotels were nice with the exception of one, which was so-so. Route was interesting and showed off the beauty of the country. Beware -- one should be in good shape and expect to face a few steep hills, some on gravel backroads. Most of the roads were low traffic but even on busier roads Slovenians are courteous to cyclists.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    6-8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) Layne Perry 3 weeks ago

    Lake trip of your dreams!

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    A wonderful and unique way to experience Lake Constance, with wonderful food, beautiful water, and relatively flat bike path! A place to stop and eat lunch or take a swim practically anywhere! Opportunities to stand up paddle board or play volleyball!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    First!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Wild Atlantic Way Cycling
    (5/5) Boris Kustin 3 weeks ago

    Great trip

    · Wild Atlantic Way Cycling

    The trip was delightful. My wife and found each day a bit short, but there was always an option to add a few miles along the way. The places to stay were very comfortable and the proprietors always very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this trip to just about anybody.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
  • Castles and Wines of Portugal
    (5/5) Kenneth Crossman 1 month ago

    Portugal Adventure!!

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    We enjoyed our ride! The vistas, the accommodations and all the people we met along the way were great!! Wish it had not rained our last two days, but what can you do. We were able to ride with our luggage the day it was unsafe to ride our bikes, which was very much appreciated. Overall, a wonderful experience.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
  • Medieval Villages of Catalonia
    (4/5) Christopher Attwood 1 month ago

    The Coast and Medieval Catalonia

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    What a lovely cycle tour. Mostly on cycle tracks that avoid the hustle and danger of busy roads. We were in an exclusive group of 10 which does add to the flexibility and fun of the ride. Riding with GPS is a game changer. So easy and allows for "self-guided" tours. I do think more variations should be incorporated on the routes to allow one to tailor make the ride for distance and substance. All the suggested restuarants and photo opportunities were spot on. If "Unguided", a better backround pack of stops and their historical significance could be prepared. Great holiday and experience.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
  • UNESCO Sites of Albania
    (5/5) Bob Anderson 1 month ago

    Best Albania bike group!

    · UNESCO Sites of Albania

    This was our first group bike tour and we could not have been happier. Albania is an amazing country to visit.

    Biking- the daily biking takes you through outstanding scenery ranging from lake views, forest, mountain views, rural agriculture farms to palm tree lines views of the Ionian Sea. The roads were generally great with some rough spots in the mountains. Traffic was light, just needed to share the road with goats, sheep and horse drawn wagons.

    Food- the meals were served family style giving us the opportunity to try lots of different thing we would not normally be able to do on our own. We were served lots of fresh vegetables, cheese and bread. No one ever went away from the table hungry. Would love to get recipes for several of the dishes we were served. We visited several outstanding restaurants with service and awesome decor.

    Lodging- the hotel selection was very comfortable with good beds and pillows. Location and views very good. One area that could use improvement is the shower facilities in a few of our lodging locations. The service provided by our Albanian lodging owners was very friendly and helpful.

    Guides- our biking guide was Demetrie and he did a fantastic job, I can not say enough good about his job performance. His historical knowledge of the country was outstanding. We really appreciated the personal insights he contributed every day of our tour. We learned so much about the country that we never would have without taking a guided bike tour. The support vehicle driver, Bato, was always there when you needed him. Constantly filling water bottles and helping with luggage all with a smile.

    I encourage you to take advantage of this outstanding tour. It was great to met fellow bikers from around the world and share time and make new friendships.
    Tour time- first week of October, 2022
    Bob Anderson
    Iowa - USA

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is our third European bike tour.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Albania
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)