Croatia  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Cycling the West Balkan Triangle
    (5/5) Kathleen Cook 3 months ago

    Great Trip

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    Our group of 15 riders had a great trip. Some were on road bikes, some on e-bikes, and some on hybrid bikes. I would not recommend the hybrid bikes for this trip. The climbs were very challenging on the hybrids even for experienced bikers. The climbs were tough for those on the road bikes, and even those on e-bikes had to put forth considerable effort. But those on hybrids were really at a disadvantage.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Chris Hayman 4 months ago

    Our Favourite Bike Trip

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    This is our seventh and most favourite bike trip.

    The guides were great, the itinerary fantastic and the accommodations far surpassed expectations.

    Highly recommend this trip. While holly we rented e-bikes which made it very accessible

    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
  • Discover the true taste of Dubrovnik
    (5/5) Soledad Hamarich 4 months ago

    Best way to discover the country

    · Dubrovnik Bike Tour with Wine Tasting

    We had a rainy day but a fantastic ride into the country. First time using e-bikes and they were very helpful with the many hills. The wine tasting was very informative and fun. Our local guide Joseph was very helpful and flexible to ensure we had a good experience. This was an excellent way to feel and smell the country side.

  • South Dalmatia
    (5/5) M 4 months ago

    Great guides!

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    Charming small towns, amazing antiquities, gorgeous coastlines! The e-bikes made the climbs easy and there was was only one very rainy day and one very windy day. Otherwise we got lucky with the weather in late October. Mario and Kristopher were knowledgeable, engaging, funny and personable. Throughout Croatia we were treated well. Split and Trogir had good restaurants and nice places to stay before and after our time on the boat. The food on the boat was plentiful, fine. Beds were comfy and private bathrooms worked well for us. The ship’s captain could have taken more direct action when several guests got caught in a current while swimming but our guides prevailed in assisting them. One regret, we were not able to visit Vis due to stormy weather.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    •  (photo by M)
    •  (photo by M)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac October 31, 2023

      Thank you for the review - it sounds like you had an incredible trip! We greatly appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to the opportunity to assist you again in the near future.

  • Cycling the West Balkan Triangle
    (5/5) JO ANNE REID 4 months ago

    An excellent way to experience the landscapes , culture , history and the people.

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    Our guide Alex was most vigilant for our safety, checking the bikes, quick repair of flat tires if necessary, conveying briefings with road conditions and expected grades.The trip was beyond my expectations : the beauty, the snacks and meals, comfortable accommodation.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
  • Balkan Treasures
    (5/5) Bridgit Evans 4 months ago

    Well organised experience with amazing scenery

    · Balkan Treasures

    This was my first biking tour and I hope I am not spoilt now because this one was so fantastic. The hotels were quaint, the scenery breathtaking, and everything ran without a hitch. I loved the variety of mountains, ocean, lakes , forests and farms. My only comment is that it would be better to only spend one night in Skodar because of all the places we went, this was my least favorite. While the city is on a lake, there is a lot of litter which is not great. Two days in the national park would have been better. Other than that, I highly recommend this tour!

    What was the date of your tour?
    9 September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    My first bike tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Albania, Montenegro
    • View of Kotor (photo by Bridgit Evans)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Cycling the West Balkan Triangle
    (4/5) Becky Foster 4 months ago

    Beautiful and very challenging!

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    Cycling near the Adriatic Sea was spectacular, probably the most beautiful cycling I have ever done. It was also the most challenging trip we have done. The countries of Croatia, Bosnia and Montenegro are mountainous! This is a perfect trip for serious cyclists.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Kathleen Bowman 4 months ago

    Fabulous biking adventure

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    Walled cities, mountain passes, incredible views of the bays and islands - I wished I had a GoPro camera on my helmet. The hotels were charming, the food local and hardy. Biking was exhilarating; challenging at times, but the van was always available for those who preferred to skip the hard climbs or busier roads. Most of our group road e-bikes and were happy with their choice. Best of all were our guides, Alex and Emir. They were knowledgeable and inspirational and took very good care of us.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    Four
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • Overlooking the Bay of Kotor (photo by Kathleen Bowman)
    • History lesson about enigmatic funerary stones (photo by Kathleen Bowman)
    • Approaching the border into Bosnia Herzegovina (photo by Kathleen Bowman)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) J.Miller 4 months ago

    "Bucket-list" bike trip

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    New and interesting touring this beautiful part of Croatia (the Balkan countries). The guides were experienced, personable, and trustworthy....aways leaving us feeling safe and informed. Accommodations and meals provided were enjoyable and comfortable. The pace of the trip was comfortable and well-informed.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    Two
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    •  (photo by J.Miller)
    •  (photo by J.Miller)
    •  (photo by J.Miller)
    •  (photo by J.Miller)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac October 23, 2023

      Wow, those are some great photos you posted! Thank you for your kind words about your experience touring the beautiful Balkan countries with us. We're delighted to hear that you found the guides to be experienced, personable, and trustworthy, providing a sense of safety and knowledge throughout your journey. We hope to welcome you back for more exciting adventures in the future!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (4/5) Jan Mowat 4 months ago

    Great people on board!

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    Our itinerary was derailed by a storm the first day, so we missed a couple anticipated parks and the sights they would have offered. Couldn’t be helped. 🤷‍♀️ We rode on busy roads more often than we should have for a sight-seeing tour. Being on high alert for traffic and travelling on roads with non-existent shoulders was unexpected and tense. However… we had so much fun!!! The group was great fun, the stops along the way were interesting and the weather cooperated. The food was simply amazing and the staff friendly and helpful. Dora and Pero were knowledgeable and eager to help in any way possible. Our room was below deck and it was great. The beds were comfortable with lots of room to store our stuff. And quiet too! It was a great way to see parts of a very beautiful country.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    One
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
  • (5/5) Joanne Slingerland 4 months ago

    Fantastic experience!

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    This trip was an amazing way to experience beautiful parts of Croatia, Bosnia, and Montenegro. Our guides and support crew, Mario and Emir, are professional, knowledgeable and caring. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and kept us safe along the way. The ride is challenging at times with many hills and traffic, but we also experienced quiet roads through lovely vineyards and coastal views. Each hotel was unique and charming—from beachfront resorts to boutique hotels within ancient walled villages. Lunches and group dinners were well planned and delicious with the opportunity to experience local cuisine. Croatian wines are exceptional! And the best part of all was meeting new friends to share our love of cycling and adventure. This trip is not to be missed!

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    •  (photo by Joanne Slingerland)
    •  (photo by Joanne Slingerland)
    •  (photo by Joanne Slingerland)
    •  (photo by Joanne Slingerland)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Catherine Veitch 4 months ago

    Balkan triangle,epic Croatia.

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    Really enjoyed seeing so many countries by bike,a great way to see the countryside.Our guide was able to guide us through less busy roads..It definitely was an epic trip,lots of hills,some days long distances and warm.The accommodations were excellent,and really appreciated the snacks provided by the tour..

    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
  • (4/5) Dwaine Souveny 4 months ago

    Croatia is certainly not the best or safest place to bike in Europe.

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    Dora was a wonderful guide. She was well informed & interesting. The local guides were good. The boat was comfortable & the captain was skilled. The meals were good and the service was very good.
    However, the main reason we took this trip was for the ebiking & the ebiking did not feel safe. The bikes were basic e-bikes that generally worked ok. The trip itinerary changed due to the weather which of course you cannot control so we missed out on some areas we were hoping to see. We visited only 1 national park. The one swim we did off the boat was fun. The Konoba visit was fun.
    There were several incidents and injuries on the first day on an unplanned bike ride. The conditions were very windy & the guides did not know the route. One of the guides had never done this tour before. Instructions were not clear on the first bike ride about people at corners directing other bikers. We were shocked to be riding on busy roads with no shoulders and speeding highway traffic. We were anticipating rural roads (which we had only one day) & good bike trails. The rides were scenic but left people feeling vulnerable. I would recommend a boat trip in this region but would not recommend cycling in Croatia to anyone.
    We paid for an above deck cabin & spent many nights looking at other boats parked next to us & listening to their noise which was not what we expected.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Teryl Schopfer 4 months ago

    Great trip

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    Great way to see Bosnia Hertzegovinia and the Ciro bike trail

    Great guides

    What was the date of your tour?
    October
    How many tours have you completed?
    No other tours
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Alice Christensen 4 months ago

    Excellent Intro to the Balkans

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    Lovely way to experience a variety of Balkan counties. Good variety of trails/roads. Loved the smaller towns and historic hotels. Would have appreciated a few more opportunities for photos. Guides were knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. Bikes were in excellent condition.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    First guided tour. Have done a couple on my own before.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Kirsty leighton 4 months ago

    Excellent bike tour

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    Awesome food ! Awesome guide ! Excellent all around ! Lovely scenery ! Thanks

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    First bike tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (4/5) Wagner Castropil 4 months ago

    Amazing Croatia

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    The tour was very well organized.
    Our operator explained everything perfectly, and we felt very safe, even doing our first bike tour and going by ourselves.
    The climate, views, and places we visited were terrific.
    Everything was perfect but the hotels. Some were very old and had tiny rooms, challenging to rest and relax after a day-long journey.
    But in the end, the balance was super positive

    What was the date of your tour?
    october 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • View from Brac Island (photo by Wagner Castropil)
    • Departuring from Hvar Island (photo by Wagner Castropil)
    • Arriving in Korcula (photo by Wagner Castropil)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 1/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection