Croatia  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Pearls of Dalmatia
    (5/5) Andrea Johnson 4 days ago

    Wow, unforgettable adventure!

    · · Pearls of Dalmatia by Bike and Boat, Romantica

    Loved every moment, fantastic guides Ana and Srdan, wonderful traveling companions, delicious and plentiful food, great boat crew, and knowledgeable city guides. We loved seeing Croatia and would delight in a future trip with Bike Tours.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June/July 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Balkan Treasures
    (4/5) Mary Lynn Griff 6 days ago

    Our Balkan Adventure

    · Balkan Treasures

    We really enjoyed our bike tour of Croatia, Montegreno and Albania. The hotels were great as were the transfers. My notes of caution; first I suggest bringing mirrors and/or suggest they be provided. This tour was entirely on narrow roads with little or no shoulder so being able to see what is coming behind you is better for your safety. Drivers were very patient for the most part but a few of our patty were not used to riding on roads with traffic however after a few days they adapted well. The first day was the most difficult in my opinion but none of the days were as difficult as I had myself mentally (and physically) prepared for but for the casual rider I suggest the e-bike option. Otherwise, prepare for long climbs of 8-10%. I am 6'4" and my road bike was a bit too small but workable however the tires were not worn but had very little trend and were very slippery on some surfaces especially the decent into Kotor. If it had been raining it would have been very unsafe. I suggest tires with a bit more tread to provide better footing. Lastly, a couple of our hotels had live music that normally would have been great however it was very hot during our tour (100 degrees) so we were up and out early before the heat set in making the live music at 11:00 pm not as fun. The navigation was spotty on my android but others had better connections on their phones. All in all, a great trip. We loved finding our own way and being in control of our time and pace. We look forward to doing another trip sometime soon.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Albania, Montenegro
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Discover the true taste of Dubrovnik
    (4/5) J. Johnson 2 weeks ago

    fun times!

    · Dubrovnik Bike Tour with Wine Tasting

    Great way to see Dubrovnik, try some of the local wines. If the guide doesn't mention it, ask them to tell you about the history of the Serbs bombing the town from above. I think something like 16,000 bombs hit the area from above. Super cool way to see the local area.

  • Cycling the West Balkan Triangle
    (4/5) Anita Elder 3 weeks ago

    Beautiful scenery and routes!

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    I really enjoyed riding my bike through Croatia, Montenegro and Bosnia. The scenery was gorgeous and I made new friends. The hotels were mostly great with a couple of exceptions:
    1. No elevator at the Splendido and very difficult to carry heavy suitcase down and then back up some stairs to our room. No coffee/tea until 8:30am and then it was terrible. Their food in the evening was good, however.
    2. Hotel on the last day was not very good. The AC didn't work well and there was only one electrical outlet on the other side of the room from the bed (had to get an extension cord to plug in c-pap).

    The lunch stops during our ride were great and was more than I expected.

    The local partner needs to step up their game. Because they didn't have anyone dedicated to collect luggage each morning and deliver it to the next hotel, the ride leader and support driver had to do it. This caused long delays in starting our ride each day. We would usually be told there would be a briefing at 8:00 am, but until they ride leader and driver got to the hotel, loaded up the bags, and dealt with some other issues, it was always well after 10am before we started riding. This meant that we were riding (and doing steep climbs) in the worst heat of the day.

    The support driver, Nikola, was a sweetheart. Alex, the ride leader, was a good rider and knew the routes well, but he was rude to several of the guests.

    With a little organization and extra staff, this tour would be perfect and at a decent price.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 8-15, 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    Average
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • Celebrating 25 years of marriage. (photo by Anita Elder)
    • New friends (photo by Anita Elder)
    • Nikola fixing a flat. (photo by Anita Elder)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • South Dalmatia
    (5/5) Cheryl Terrana 3 weeks ago

    Excellent trip and better than expected!

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    We had a wonderful time on our visit to the Croatian Islands. The biking was wonderful and gave us a good overview of the islands with beautiful views. The islands were better than we anticipated and absolutely beautiful. The accommodations were comfortable and the boat was well maintained. The crew on the boat was exceptional, and the chef was very accommodating to the four vegans on board. He created special meals for us that were consistent with the theme, but we’re also meeting our needs and absolutely delicious. We cannot say enough about our guides, Luka and Luka. What a delightful pair of young men. Very attentive during the rides and their classes on how to speak Croatian were hysterical. They were able to add in special sights and stops that were most appreciated. Also their sing-along on our final night. - what a fun time and great way to end the trip!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
  • Croatian Vineyards and Villages of Undiscovered Istria
    (5/5) Jeff Kuerbitz 4 weeks ago

    Perfect Honeymoon Getaway

    · Croatian Vineyards and Villages of Undiscovered Istria

    Our trip was the perfect way to explore this beautiful country! We loved every part of it. The hotels were beautiful and comfortable. We had some of the best meals of our lives. The wine was amazing. Everyone we met was very friendly. The directions for the route were clear and accurate. We never got lost. The routes were well thought out. The scenery was incredible, there was a lot of great history to learn about, and there were beautiful villages, restaurant, wineries and shops along the way to stop and take a break. The tour company was very responsive. My front axle began wobbling the second day and they quickly met me along the route with a replacement.

    We can't wait to go back.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    •  (photo by Jeff Kuerbitz)
    •  (photo by Jeff Kuerbitz)
    •  (photo by Jeff Kuerbitz)
    •  (photo by Jeff Kuerbitz)
    •  (photo by Jeff Kuerbitz)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) John H 1 month ago

    Fantastic blend of bike, boat and beautiful scenery

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Croatia really exceeded our expectations. The scenery, food and wine was great and the hotels on this tour were very nice. (We chose the upgraded options on our tour). Seeing the islands on a bike was the way to go. Also worth noting, we cut out a day on our itinerary due to time constraints and the team was very accommodating.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Explore the highlights of Istria on this e-bike and boat tour!
    (4/5) Elaine Kubicki 1 month ago

    Charming Coratia

    · · The Istrian Peninsula by Electric Bike

    This was my second bike trip with Bike Tours. My first was the Albania tour, which was fabulous! Overall, the Croatia trip was very satisfying, i.e. the yacht was very accommodating, the staff was very attentive and informative including the email personnel who answered questions before the trip, the new chef was great, the e-bikes worked well, the other vacationers made for pleasant exchanges, and the small ports and villages were charming to visit and the staff tours were interesting. On the other hand, there were things that kept this tour from being a 5 rating. My biggest concern was the additional costs, i.e., expected tips and bar/water bills that were not mentioned in the initial cost of the tour and were only made aware a few weeks before the tour and after the initial commitment and payment for the tour was made. Also, along with those concerns, I am curious as to why there was an extra charge for an e-bike when the trip is advertised as “The Istrian Peninsula by Electric Bike” and everyone rode an e-bike except two people who brought their own bikes? We also had problems mid-week with sewer gases in the bathrooms, which did get repaired within a day or two, and the air conditioning in the cabins worked well only one night out of 7, which made the cabin quite warm and damp. There were 34 bikers riding at the same time and on many more rocky gravel trails and busy highway/roads then I had expected and, at times, felt rather dangerous. However, as you noticed I still gave this tour a rating of 4, so, enough good outweighed to make it a satisfying trip.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
  • (4/5) Elaine Kubicki 1 month ago

    Charming Coratia

    · · The Istrian Peninsula by Electric Bike

    This was my second bike trip with Bike Tours. My first was the Albania tour, which was fabulous! Overall, the Croatia trip was very satisfying, i.e. the yacht was very accommodating, the staff was very attentive and informative including the email personnel who answered questions before the trip, the new chef was great, the e-bikes worked well, the other vacationers made for pleasant exchanges, and the small ports and villages were charming to visit and the staff tours were interesting. On the other hand, there were things that kept this tour from being a 5 rating. My biggest concern was the additional costs, i.e., expected tips and bar/water bills that were not mentioned in the initial cost of the tour and were only made aware a few weeks before the tour and after the initial commitment and payment for the tour was made. Also, along with those concerns, I am curious as to why there was an extra charge for an e-bike when the trip is advertised as “The Istrian Peninsula by Electric Bike” and everyone rode an e-bike except two people who brought their own bikes? We also had problems mid-week with sewer gases in the bathrooms, which did get repaired within a day or two, and the air conditioning in the cabins worked well only one night out of 7, which made the cabin quite warm and damp. There were 34 bikers riding at the same time and on many more rocky gravel trails and busy highway/roads then I had expected and, at times, felt rather dangerous. However, as you noticed I still gave this tour a rating of 4, so, enough good outweighed to make it a satisfying trip.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
  • (5/5) Mary Lou Taylor 1 month ago

    More than I could have hoped for.

    · · The Istrian Peninsula by Electric Bike

    This was my first bike tour, and I was a little apprehensive. But it was great! The boat was first-rate, with a wonderful, accommodating crew and excellent chef. The tour guides were fun, responsible, and caring. And Croatia is beautiful. I would definitely recommend this adventure.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
  • Venice to Trieste & Istria
    (5/5) Jennifer Dattke 1 month ago

    Incredible Journey!!💕

    · Venice to Trieste and Istria

    Such a great experience! Yes challenging both the riding and navigating but rewarded with great food and gelato! The hotels were all good and comfortable with great breakfasts. Every community was so cute. Would recommend a lay over night to recoup, enjoy the community and give time for your chamois to dry!😉 Great experience. I was impressed by how bike friendly the route was on bike paths, along canals and use of rails to trails. Also I felt drivers were very aware of cyclists. The tour company (Anthony) was very accommodating when we had an issue with shifting and brought another bike to us.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Italy, Slovenia
    • Bell tower views of Porec (photo by Jennifer Dattke)
    • Another gelato  earned! (photo by Jennifer Dattke)
    • Trieste to Piran (photo by Jennifer Dattke)
    • Poppies! (photo by Jennifer Dattke)
    • Caorle (photo by Jennifer Dattke)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Experience
    (5/5) Amy Jenkins 2 months ago

    Great trip!

    · · Danube Experience Bike and Boat Passau-Vienna-Budapest-Belgrade-Iron Gates-Passau

    Great trip with a lot of variation. The crew on the Swiss Crown was wonderful, the food was very good and the cabins comfortable

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) Kenneth Gresham 2 months ago

    Beautiful trip

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Croatia is absolutely beautiful, and what better way to explore by bike. Our guide was fully prepared, and gave us a history of the areas we were going to ride. The only hiccup we had was finding the first ferry to board, but we asked the locals and they pointed us in the right direction. Beautiful trip; I specifically loved Hvar Town. The hotel we stayed in was incredible and the view of the sea from our room was stunning.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    •  (photo by Kenneth Gresham)
    •  (photo by Kenneth Gresham)
  • Danube Experience
    (5/5) Amy Jenkins 2 months ago

    Danube Experience

    · · Danube Experience Bike and Boat Passau-Vienna-Budapest-Belgrade-Iron Gates-Passau

    This trip was great! The boat was very nice and comfortable, bikes were sturdy and visits with local guides outstanding. The paper route was not great but the app seemed to be more accurate. The daily briefings could have been more detailed.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    10+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) Joshua Gordon 2 months ago

    Beautiful trip, friendly tour company.

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Such a beautiful and well-organized trip. The provider met us at our hotel, gave us an extensive overview, fitted us to our bikes, and sent us on our way. He was exceptionally friendly and helpful, and really took his time making sure we had all the information we needed. The bikes were in excellent condition, and included helmets, repair kits, pumps, and small rack-top bike bags. The routes were all on RideWithGPS and had excellent details, including sites of interest and restaurant recommendations. There were no serious glitches and the provider was very quick to respond to my questions via text along the way. A few pointers: first, though the distances are short, there are a number of significant hills. We did fine on our regular bikes but if you are unsure whether to get an eBike, consider those hills. Second, the boat transfer includes a private speedboat -- our ride was very bumpy because of the wind, not for the faint of heart. The hotels were wonderful and the food, wine, olive oil, and sightseeing were fantastic!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    •  (photo by Joshua Gordon)
    •  (photo by Joshua Gordon)
    •  (photo by Joshua Gordon)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Cycling the West Balkan Triangle
    (4/5) robert harrison 2 months ago

    enjoyable interesting trip

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    the trip overall was enjoyable.The tour leaders Alex and Amir were helpful and organised the transport,luggage and hotels effectively.What they could have done was given us more information about the places we visited.For example in Kotar we could haVE visited and climbed the city walls had we been told that was an option.This really was down to their inexperience and lack of training The other point oi would make is that on the departure there was only limited airport transport available.Bike tours need to ensure that transport is available throughout the day for the various flights people are taking back

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) Kenneth Gresham 2 months ago

    Beautiful Croatia

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    The bike tour company is first class. Toni’s group is very organized and responses quickly to any request or question. The hotels that we stayed in were 4 star as promised and beautiful. My wife and I highly recommend this tour.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
  • (5/5) Brett Wilson 2 months ago

    Trip of a lifetime

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Highly recommend. The islands are stunning - beautiful natural harbors, wineries, picturesque towns, charming local restaurants, cafes and ice cream shops. The rides were beautiful and very manageable (over the course of a day). Hotels were quite nice and transfers were flawless. We upgraded to carbon fiber bikes which was nice.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Cycling the West Balkan Triangle
    (2/5) Andrew Lindsay 2 months ago

    Disappointing Tour - Did Not Meet Expectations

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    Positives:
    1) The e-bikes were very good and well maintained; the routes were generally excellent if a little short for e-bikes (rides often finished early afternoon whereas on most other organised cycle trips I've been on they were spread out over most of the day).
    The rides from Herceg Novi to Kotor; Ravno to Ston and Ston to Kun were particularly enjoyable - brilliant scenery and quiet roads.

    2) Accomodation - Hotels were all very good apart from Marija 2. This hotel was a good 20 minute walk from Kotor; room was clean but rather dark and miserable (no view; no balcony but lots of signs instructing occupants what not to do). Fried eggs at breakfast were cold). By contrast the Hotel Stancia in Ravno was a delight.
    3) Food - This was an enjoyable part of the tour. The 'included' lunches and evening meals were very good. The lunches at Ravno, Ston and Kun were especially enjoyable - offering liquor tasting; olive grove visit and locally produced food respectively. The local restaurants we chose for our evening meals were also excellent.

    Areas To Improve: As a guided introduction to the West Balkans this trip has nothing to recommend it. The guide, while perfectly charming and an excellent cycle tour leader, had next to nothing to say about the countries we visited (their history; their customs and culture; their flora and fauna). I suspect his Company has never provided any training on how to be a tour guide.

    This tour makes it very easy to miss exploring the old town of Herceg Novi; the walls of Kotor and Cavtat Old Town (indeed most of the group did) because they were never recommended or even mentioned; nor did we cycle to them). Dubrovnik is the jewel (albeit a very busy jewel) of the West Balkans and it would be very easy to book this tour and never see it (the old town is a 40 minute walk from the Hotel Adria).

    I've cycled many times with Explore and Exodus on group guided tours and their delivered experience is vastly superior to that of BikeTours.com.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    I've been on well over 20 bike tours. The West Balkan tour is bottom quartile. Your guides need training. Happy to provide more feedback.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
    • Little Ston-the hotel is on this harbour. Delightful spot. (photo by Andrew Lindsay)
    • View from near Perast - another superb setting (photo by Andrew Lindsay)
    • Ride thrrough vineyards en route to Ston (photo by Andrew Lindsay)
    • Visit and lunch at the Olive Grove near Ston (photo by Andrew Lindsay)
    • Cycle track along the old railway line to Ravno, Bosnia (photo by Andrew Lindsay)
    • 2/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 2/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) robert harrison 2 months ago

    enjoyable interesting trip

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    Overall the trip was good.Alex and Emir as the main tour guides were efficient and the organisation of the luggage and the bikes was excellent.The cycling and the routes were good.Where the tour could have improved was giving us some basic information about the places we were visiting.For example at Kotor most of us were not aware that you could walk up the city walls to the top of the hill.We don,t expect an hours lecture but some local knowledge would further enhance the trip and perhaps training for the tour leaders would be appropriate.Finally there was some confusion on the final day we were leaving re airport transfers and it seemed that drivers had other duties which reduce their availability.Biketours need to ensure the transport is available as this is specified on the tour information
    Idespite these points I would certainly recommend this cycling trip to friends who might like to go.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro