Holland  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Holland’s Super Tulip Tour
    (5/5) Marie Jane Goudie 7 days ago

    Most memorable way to sight see

    · · Holland’s Super Tulip Tour

    The barge was exceptional with a welcoming crew and fabulous 5 star meals. Our guide tailored our bike tours to our requests and needs. Adri went over and above what was expected of a bike leader. We had much stronger winds than I had expected so for 2 days riding our bicycles was challenging (we did not have e-bikes), but it was well worth the effort as the sights we saw were so beautiful and I felt that we travelled to places that most tourists never get a chance to see or experience. Our coffee and lunch stops were often at interesting places. We stopped at churches, markets, cheese & clog store, windmills and sometimes just to take in the scenic views. There was always something new to see and discover in each place we stopped. I think one of the most interested things we saw were 2 volunteers in a small town running a channel lock. We watched them hoist the bridge and then shut the gates of the lock and the water level lowered to meet the upcoming canal. The couple in the boat chatted with them as they waited for the water to come to equilibrium and then the doors were opened and off they went. The volunteers collect 3 euros for every vessel that comes through the lock and then at the end of the year that money is used for a big party for the volunteers of the town. Of course the greatest day was the Keukenhof Gardens which was the most breathtaking gardens I have ever seen. Even more beautiful than the acres of tulips we had ridden past on the days prior.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    •  (photo by Marie Jane Goudie)
    •  (photo by Marie Jane Goudie)
    •  (photo by Marie Jane Goudie)
    •  (photo by Marie Jane Goudie)
    •  (photo by Marie Jane Goudie)
    •  (photo by Marie Jane Goudie)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Tulip Tour
    (5/5) Marvin Babcock 1 week ago

    Fantastic way to see Holland and the Tulips

    · · Tulip Tour on the MS Magnifique II, III, & IV

    An excellent way to experience Amsterdam and the countryside of Holland. The barge was luxurious with a chef that created amazing meals. The crew was completely committed to ensuring we had everything we wanted. The bicycles were ready to go every morning, and the crew took them from us at the end of the day. Completely hassle free. The routes were well planned out with a long and short option each day.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is our third Biketours.com
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    •  (photo by Marvin Babcock)
    •  (photo by Marvin Babcock)
    •  (photo by Marvin Babcock)
    •  (photo by Marvin Babcock)
    •  (photo by Marvin Babcock)
    •  (photo by Marvin Babcock)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Holland Bike & Boat Northern Tour
    (5/5) Marie DeBell 6 months ago

    Holland by bike was a delight!

    · · Holland by Bike and Boat, Northern Tour

    The perfect way to see northern Holland! The boat was small enough to socialize but big enough to have all the amenities for comfort.
    Our guides were Dutch and really knowledgeable about the routes , the history and the sights. The boat staff were friendly and helpful. Solid bikes. Next time I’ll choose Anne-bike because the wind is equal to hills!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    • Bikes on dikes (photo by Marie DeBell)
    • Delicious meals! (photo by Marie DeBell)
    • Just the right size boat (photo by Marie DeBell)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Marie DeBell 6 months ago

    The landscape is stunning! And the trip loads of fun

    · · Holland by Bike and Boat, Northern Tour

    We thoroughly enjoyed our trip with bike tours. The boat was small enough to get to know our fellow passengers and big enough to have lots of amenities. The bikes were sturdy and trustworthy. Lots of distance options and great support from our trip guides. Good food and comfortable beds. What more could we ask for? Perhaps less head winds but it is Holland!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
  • (5/5) Marie DeBell 6 months ago

    The landscape is stunning! And the trip loads of fun

    · · Holland by Bike and Boat, Northern Tour

    We thoroughly enjoyed our trip with bike tours. The boat was small enough to get to know our fellow passengers and big enough to have lots of amenities. The bikes were sturdy and trustworthy. Lots of distance options and great support from our trip guides. Good food and comfortable beds. What more could we ask for? Perhaps less head winds but it is Holland!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    • Snacks during the evening presentation (photo by Marie DeBell)
  • Best of Holland South
    (4/5) Elizabeth Levine 7 months ago

    Seeing the Netherlands on 2 wheels

    · Best of Holland South: Canals, Windmills & Historic Towns

    The Netherlands are a cyclist’s dream- bike lanes and biking infrastructure everywhere- in villages as well as cities. This was amazing to experience- and to hop on 2 wheels and join in! The bicycles provided by Tulip cycling were top notch Dutch bicycles with automatic lights that turn on while pedaling. It was great to have our luggage shuttled to each hotel every day, so our bags were waiting for us when we arrived at each hotel ready for a hot shower and a change of clothes. Most of the hotels were 4- star and all had great breakfasts and all were walkable to the historic city centers with the market square, restaurants, cafes etc.
    Unfortunately the weather was poor during our cycling trip- very high winds and frequent heavy rain almost every day of our mid- September journey- this made the cycling much more difficult than we anticipated with the need to frequently stop to pull on rain gear- and the GPS device did not work well during storms so the navigation was also more difficult than expected. Several of the locals told us that frequent high winds and rain are typical in autumn and that the best months for cycling are May, June and July.
    Despite the bad weather we enjoyed the countryside, the lovely hotels, the friendly locals , the delicious food and the pace of life on the bicycle tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    •  (photo by Elizabeth Levine)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Linden Bentley 7 months ago

    Great organization, fantastic biking.

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Fluvius (and reverse)

    The biking staff we very helpful and knowledgeable. King and welcoming, understanding of all levels and the territory. The daily rides by digital “ride with gps” was pretty much flawless, and the app staff very fast and helpful when a problem arose.
    The boat staff very warm and helpful. The cleaning staff timely and great for cabin cleaning. The chef; warm, funny and talented. Food delicious.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 10, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges: South Holland and Zeeland
    (5/5) Frank Boyle 7 months ago

    Beautiful & flat ride across the Netherlands

    · Amsterdam to Bruges: Cycling through South Holland and Zeeland

    The scenery was spectacular, as was immersion into the historic towns and restaurants. The local tour company was particularly wonderful, reimbursing us no questions asked for the cost of repairing a worn out tire. I HIGHLY recommend downloading the optional GPX file to your phone and making sure you can use it before you arrive, we found it much easier to see the tricky navigation turns on the phone than on the small (and often hard to see) screen of the small Garmin GPS device provided.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (4/5) Tom Hawkins 7 months ago

    Trip postponed

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Fluvius (and reverse)

    We were unable to do this fantastic trip due to an injury. We are how every very excited about doing it next year. It sounds like a fantastic experience!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
  • Germany, Netherlands, Belgium by Bike/E-Bike and Boat
    (5/5) Richard Goldsmith 7 months ago

    A step into the world of Germany

    · · Germany, Netherlands, Belgium by Bike/E-Bike and Boat

    The A-Rosa Sena is a brand-new river boat. It is great. Every spacious room has a balcony. The food, all served buffet style, is abundant and delicious with many choices. The biking was well-planned and executed. They took very good care of us English speakers. The pace was fine. The countryside was beautiful. The trailside lunches they prepared were lovely. The leaders were knowledgeable and friendly. All around it was a great trip. Oh, there were only three passengers on the boat and one in out tour, who spoke English but we enjoyed that as we got to brush up on our Gremna.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany, Holland, Belgium
    • Amsterdam (photo by Richard Goldsmith)
    • Sitting by the shipboard pool (photo by Richard Goldsmith)
    • Near Delft (photo by Richard Goldsmith)
    • On the road (photo by Richard Goldsmith)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique II
    (5/5) Larry Siegler 7 months ago

    Great trip

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique II (and reverse)

    The bike and barge trip exceeded our expectations greatly. We highly recommend this trip. The crew was wonderful and the meals were delicious. There were many additional items that made the trip memorable ie canal cruise, nightly walking tours of the towns, great stops on the cycle ride. It was a spectacular experience.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (4/5) Allen Terrell 8 months ago

    Great sites, good value

    · · Amsterdam – Gouda – Bruges by Bike and Boat

    We had a wonderful trip. Many Thanks to your staff, Mariam and Taylor, in helping us..

    For the price, the barge was fine, the food excellent and the barge crew terrific.

    Caution you to except overly positive reviews from passengers who all filled out reviews on the last night while receiving free champagne. Aliso, while nice, the leader was not too helpful and not much of a mechanic [4 of the E bikes were not charged on our first ride].

    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique IV
    (4/5) Karen Donnelly 8 months ago

    Beautiful biking and barge

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique IV (and reverse)

    The biking was easy and rode most of it unassisted with 3-5 others. But the first day was with a guide, who was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The App we were provided was very good and gave us various lengths of the routes we could follow and places to stop along the way.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Ina Graham 8 months ago

    Beautiful scenic biking

    · · Amsterdam – Gouda – Bruges by Bike and Boat

    Fun, knowledgeable guide. Great travelling companions. Amazing gourmet suppers on boat. Extremely helpful crew when husband needed medical attention.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
  • Take a tour of the Dutch Golden Age
    (5/5) Graham Gockley 8 months ago

    The perfect day in Utrecht

    · River Vecht Bike Tour Utrecht

    What a wonderful way to see the city, explore the countryside, and learn a ton of history. Raphael was an excellent and thoughtful guide, ensuring that we safely navigated the city and saw as much as possible. I’d highly recommend to anyone.

  • Picturesque Villages and Nature Reserves
    (3/5) Stephen Friedman 8 months ago

    Nice trip with some areas for improvement

    · · Sail & Bike to Picturesque Villages and Nature Reserves

    The itinerary and sights were beautiful. The Elizabeth is a beautiful ship. The engagement of the captain and integration of the tour group left something to be desired.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (2/5) Ronald Schwarcz 8 months ago

    Extremely disappointing.

    · · Sail & Bike to Picturesque Villages and Nature Reserves

    The ship was terrible. Our cabin was so small that it could not accommodate two people comfortably. Also, the ventilation was poor and it was always warm and muggy. There was inadequate seating on the deck. No comfortable chaises or stairs. The Captain did not communicate well or do anything help the travelers meet and mingle. It was especially frustrating as my friend and I were the only Americans and there were no native born English speaking traveling. Unlike all other trips we were on, nothing was done to provide us information about the villages we docked at. The captain or crew did not offer to take us into towns and show us around or even recommend bars or other places to visit. There were no daily information sheets, recommendation or even maps. We were completely on our own. The food was marginal at best. The dinner portions were small. Must dinner wasn’t an”event”, everyone was in and out in around 40 minutes. In general the amenities were totally lacking. We believe that the most Americans would not be satisfied with the Sail and Bike tours offered by Bike Boat Tours. On our ship, the crew were friendly and worked hard, but it seemed that they were understaffed. As it seems that they were working a very tight budget. We only had meat was the dinner entree one night and that was at the BBQ. Two nights we had vegetarian main course. We were never taught anything about sailing except helping pulling ropes to raise and lower sails. I could go on and on, but, I will end by saying that the ship was not comfortable and nothing was done to help the travelers fully enjoy the experience.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac September 28, 2023

      Dear Ronald,

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent sail and bike tour experience with us. We sincerely appreciate your insights as they help us understand areas where we can improve and enhance the overall experience for our guests.

      We're truly sorry to hear that your cabin did not meet your expectations in terms of size and ventilation. It's not a "standard" barge and is more of a converted Sailing Ship. It has this character, but it's still very clean and accommodating.

      Additionally, we regret that you found the seating and amenities on the deck inadequate. We strive to offer a relaxing and enjoyable environment for our travellers, and thus offering the total of 8 beanbags, and an additional beacon on deck.

      Communication and interaction among travelers are crucial aspects of any journey, and we apologize if you felt there was a lack of communication or opportunities to mingle. Captain feels uncomfortable about the way you perceived this trip, as he did his best to facilitate connection among guests for a more enriching experience.

      Our culinary offerings are important to us, and we're disappointed to learn that the food did not meet your expectations. We're committed to reviewing and improving our menu selections and dining experience to deliver a more satisfying culinary journey for our guests. In the case of this tour, we are inclining towards the food that is simple, in its pure forms, but very tasty.

      We appreciate your recognition of our hardworking and friendly crew. Rest assured, we'll take your feedback about the crew workload into consideration to ensure that our crew can provide exceptional service to all guests on board.

      Once again, thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide a much-improved experience that addresses the areas you've highlighted.

      Best,

      Customer Service
      BikeTours.com

    • 3/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 1/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique II
    (5/5) Karen Crisp 8 months ago

    Above my expectations!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique II (and reverse)

    This was our first bike and barge trip and not knowing what to expect, my husband and I were thrilled with the outcome! The Magnifique II accommodations, the ship staff, the tour guides, the meals prepared by Chef Michael were all phenomenal and will definitely look at doing more of these.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 10
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Highlights of Flanders
    (5/5) Vincent Pouliot 8 months ago

    Superbe Belgique !

    · Highlights of Flanders: Belgium’s History, Art, Nature & Cuisine

    Très belle façon de découvrir la Belgique et ses petits trésors de jours en jours sur deux roues !

    What was the date of your tour?
    Août 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection