Czech Republic  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Prague to Dresden
    (5/5) Renee Goertzen 3 days ago

    Great views

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    My friend and I did the self-guided tour, which we loved. The hill on the first day was rough, but after that the ride was almost always flat. The views were varied - rivers, mountains, castles, sometimes through small villages or fields, but mostly along thewater. The guide provided was just what we needed - enough detail for navigating (supplemented by the app) and recommendations of things to see and where to eat.
    The bikes were sturdy touring bikes - not light, but able to handle the bumps of the road. We did not have any mechanical trouble, so we didn´t call on the company for any bike support. The app showing the route was very useful, although it was mildly annoying that it didn´t track your location - you had to manually scroll the map throughout the day. I think this is an app option that you can choose to pay for, though.
    The hotels booked for us were always lovely and clean, and the breakfasts provided lots of options, even for the one vegetarian in our group.
    I would recommend this tour in a heartbeat!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Gib Egge 5 days ago

    Nice ride for cultural imersion

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    Nice ride between two wonderful cities. Mainly along bike paths with the occasional road bike lane and urban, on-the-street moments when riding within larger cities. Ride has a manageable climb the first day but otherwise, not too much climbing unless you decide to embark on some optional side visits along the way. Outside of Prague, few people spoke good English, so have a good translator app with you. One member of our group had to ride the train for part of the journey and it was difficult to get him a ticket not speaking Czech. We were able to find a German-speaking ticket vendor and someone in our group could speak German. Just be aware of the language barrier in this part of Czechia. Parts of the trail on the first couple days were a bit muddy and more like a mountain bike trails. Took a bit more effort to traverse these sections. Hotels were very nice and the towns we stayed in were as well. Didn't see any other Americans along the ride. The food was very good and most places were even able to accommodate a vegan that was riding with us. We did have some mechanical issues with our bicycles that were addressed by the local tour company. Used the vendor for airport transfers and those were perfect. Navigation involved downloading Mapy.cz on our smartphones and uploading their trail maps. Maps were accurate and more or less essential for an optimum riding experience. Our hotel room the last two evenings, and the dinner we pre-paid for with biketours.com were not pre-paid by the vendor at arrival so we needed to pay for it. Currently working with them to get that refunded. If you're looking for less-traveled, easy/intermediate ride, and you are ok with navigating the language barrier, this is a good choice.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Prague to Vienna
    (3/5) Linda Farnworth 3 weeks ago

    Not impressed with Ave

    · Prague to Vienna via Cesky Krumlov

    The bikes were not good. One day the range of ebike battery barely made it, my chain came off twice, seat kept slipping down, other equipment not great, and worst of all the seats were TERRIBLE.
    The ride was nice though with good scenery and a challenging ride.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 18, 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic
    • 3/5 Value
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Prague to Dresden
    (3/5) Joseph Tevaarwerk 1 month ago

    Nice trip, but some issues.

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    The trip overall was good. The hotels were from very nice to adequate, and the weather was good for biking. Luggage handling was perfect.

    The issue we had was with the bikes. In our case the bikes we rented were delivered to our hotel. I had emailed specific instructions about my wife's bike set-up regarding saddle height and handle bar height. When the bikes arrived we noticed that the saddle could not be adjusted low enough for her comfort. We had to call the AVE rep and he had to bring a different saddle stem to fix that problem.
    Another problem was with my bike. The frame size was too small for me, and the handle bars were too low for comfort. Since we had already lost time to get my wife's bike corrected, I decided that I could manage with the bike that was delivered. That was my mistake!
    Half way into the trip the front telescopic forks collapsed and I had to ride nose down, which was very uncomfortable and outright dangerous. We managed to get it pumped up at a bike shop, but they lost pressure again while biking.

    Last year we had none of these problems. The big difference was that last year we had to collect our bikes at the rental shop the day before. This gave us the opportunity to have both bikes adjusted to the right settings, and to make sure that they were of the correct frame size.

    I don't need to stress how important a reliable and well fitting bike is for these bike tours. I suggest that you make it essential that the bikes are collected at the rental site the day before the trips start. This will give the participants the opportunity to make essential corrections.
    Myself, for our next trip I will insist that we will collect the bikes at the rental shop the day before the trip starts, and that they are reliable and well fitted bikes.
    I think it is wise if you make this part of your overall policy as well.

    Joseph.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
  • (4/5) Karen Hanson 8 months ago

    Beautiful (and manageable) trip

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    Following the Vltava and Elbe rivers, with mostly excellent bike paths and a reasonable amount of miles per day, made for a lovely honeymoon trip! The Czech countryside was about to hit fall colors, and chestnuts were aplenty. The bikes they provided were in great shape (Trek and Specialized), and the gps files worked well. Highly recommend showing up at least two or three days early to spend extra time in Prague and get used to the time change. We weren’t able to take advantage of many of the optional side visits and biergardens along the way because many were closed already for the season, but we still enjoyed passing through small/tiny towns. And we made sure to pack our own wine and cheese for breaks! In the high season, we imagine it must be a much different scene. Overall, really enjoyed the trip and would recommend it for those who are looking for a relaxing vacation.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • Approaching Bad Schandau (photo by Karen Hanson)
    •  (photo by Karen Hanson)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Donna Parr 8 months ago

    Fun way to see a beautiful area

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    Really enjoyed the trip. Beautiful route getting into rolling hills although not difficult to bike with great off-road bike paths almost the whole way. Hotels were great with plentiful breakfasts.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1st
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jay Penner 9 months ago

    Great Ride!!

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    This was a great ride along well marked trails. The E-bikes were in great condition and easy to ride. We spent several extra days in Prague and rode to Karlštejn Castle. The ride to Karlstejn was a good segue into the ride from Prague to Dresden.

    The hotels were all very nice even though several were not air conditioned most had fans that made the stays comfortable. Each of the stopover towns had their unique charm and points of interest. Several of the shorter ride days were filled with great options. Once we got to Litomerice there was plenty of time to explore Terezin Fortress. The day we rode to Bad Schanda we spent most of the day in Hřensko and hiked to visit the largest natural land bridge in Europe.

    There were ample places to stop along the entire route for breaks and refreshments. We met many wonderful people from all over Europe doing the same ride and had a great time visiting with them. The package was well put together and fun to ride.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was an our 8th bike tour. Always doing self guided.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    •  (photo by Jay Penner)
    • Land bridge in Hřensko. (photo by Jay Penner)
    •  (photo by Jay Penner)
    • Bike path. (photo by Jay Penner)
    • Sunset at the end of the day in Melnick. (photo by Jay Penner)
    • Touring Prague (photo by Jay Penner)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Prague to Vienna
    (5/5) Harvey Wilds 11 months ago

    Wonderful tour of Czech and Austrian countryside

    · Prague to Vienna via Cesky Krumlov

    My wife and I had an excellent time on our self guided tour. The accomodations and logistics were perfect! We are definitely planning our next trip already.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic
  • Bohemian Getaway
    (5/5) Barry Greenberg May 24, 2023

    Prague castle tour

    · Bohemian Getaway: Villages, River Valleys & Karlstejn Castle

    Very good orientation to the trip and explanation of the routes on this self-guided tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    12
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Best of South Bohemia: Czech Republic to Its Fullest
    (5/5) Olafur Gudlaugsson September 25, 2022

    First bike trip in the Czech Republic.

    · Best of South Bohemia: Czech Republic to Its Fullest

    Great service and well organized.
    And good reception by Petr Jonota, thank you!
    If there were questions, problems, or anything, he answered them with a smile ☺
    Nice how different the days are and what we can see each day

    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic
  • Prague to Dresden
    (3/5) Janna R Poll August 21, 2022

    Needs a bit more sophistication

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    1. There was no GPS. They insisted it was easy and we had maps, but they were in Czech and hard to read and the street were rarely marked.

    2. I had two flats within the first mile ( two more to come). They need to put liners in their tires. Our pump was also so bad that after a lot of work it was still too low to ride. Usually other riders would stop and let us borrow their more superior pumps.

    They delivered a new bike in Prague because my brakes were also broken. To get to their delivery car I had to go down a wet slope and across a divided highway. I fell on a wet grid and hurt my knee bad and ripped the entire butt out of my only pair of bike shorts for the whole trip ( remember the missing luggage). This. Detour meant we couldn’t ever seem to find the bike bath again and since we had a late start of 3:30, we rode hard for six straight hours. It was extremely dangerous after dark and we had no food out in the farmland. I was using my phone to try to find the towns with path.

    I complained about the promise of a GPS and not having one. So they forwarded maps to use on a a special app on my phone, but that took a day to understand where we were on the map. I got a GPS the third day, but it didn’t have a charge and the charging unit didn’t go with the unit I had.

    4. Not only did we have flats, but my kickstand didn’t work and more importantly, the fender supports in the front was missing some rubber tips. That meant when I put down my foot when stopping and the wheel was turned at all, the snipped off metal of the support would slash my inside knees badly. This happened a lot and was very painful and bloody.

    5. Several of the hotels had some real problems with super warm rooms, (no A/C anywhere over there), loud streets, and no ice. Two at least had fans. the nice hotel in Bad Shandeau put us alone up on the 4th floor and said we were to leave the windows closed because of smoke from the fires, which was blowing the opposite direction. Our attic room was well over 90F w no ventilation. We opened the narrow attic windows anyhow
    The best hotel was a little pensioner on the first night. That frog even gave us ice for our water bottles. It was a very hot week.

    6. The path ran right by a forest fire before Bad Schandau. Breathing was bad and stinky.

    They guys were generally responsive, though the main guy was on vacation. We are fairly unde manding most of time, changed our own FOUR flat tires, tried to find our way, dealt w the bike faults, but feel they were tired of us the first day. In fact he said if we were ‘one of their clienta it would be different. If they took the money from you, we WERE their client!

    Overall, it was a bit disappointing on the bike side, though the river is lovely and biking is still the best way to see a country!  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    July2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    Five
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 1/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
  • Prague to Budapest
    (5/5) Htim November 21, 2019

    Historic Cities,Castles and Countryside

    · Prague-Vienna-Bratislava-Budapest

    Delightful and sometimes challenging tour through southern Chechia, Austria, Slovakia and Hungary. Good to excellent accommodations. Many old castles, chateaus, and classic walled medieval towns made for an enchanting experience. The tour provider was excellent. The routes were interesting and sometimes challenging. Most cycling was on paved roads but there were several stretches of unsaved roads and even trails. Navigation with the Garmin unit provided proved generally very good, but some independent navigation skills were sometimes needed, such as when there were unexpected detours for construction. Bicycles were adequate.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September to October 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    12
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Timr October 9, 2019

    Great Long Tour of Czechia, Slovakia, Austria and Hungary

    · Prague-Vienna-Bratislava-Budapest

    We had never been to this part of the world but were intrigued by the great cities of Prague, Vienna and Budapest as well as by the innumerable castles, chateaus, and charming small towns. We were not disappointed. Nearly 3 weeks of cycling the area satisfied exceeded our expectations. As we self-guided, we had to be ever vigilant with navigation, but the Garmin never failed to deliver (although some unexpected road construction sometimes required creative navigation). Hotels were all in the range of good to excellent. Tour provider CZ Tours was always responsive to our concerns and always made sure luggage and other transfers happened in a timely way. Very happy with this excellent adventure.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 18-October 9, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe October 10, 2019

      Tim - thanks kindly for this review! We're so delighted that you enjoyed this part of the world - we also feel it's a bit of a hidden (and lesser-traveled) gem. We love that you embraced creative navigation. And thank you for noting this tour requires attention to navigation. We really appreciate knowing these aspects so we may better assist future clients in booking tours that fit their preferences. Thanks again, and so, so glad you are happy with your adventure.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) Mycycle50 July 1, 2019

    Very beautiful but more difficult than advertised.

    · Prague-Vienna-Bratislava-Budapest

    Our outfitter provided lots of info- maps, gps routes and suggested sites to visit. Some very rough roads, some steep hills.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 22 to June 15
    How many tours have you completed?
    9
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia
    • Ceske Krumlov castle (photo by Mycycle50)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Mycycle50)
    • Cesko food (photo by Mycycle50)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe July 2, 2019

      Thanks kindly for your review. We're glad to hear that the operator provided material aplenty to guide you on your trip. We appreciate you letting us know that you experienced some rough roads and steep hills. That's wonderful information for future clients considering this tour to be aware of.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Prague to Dresden
    (5/5) Michele June 25, 2019

    Awesome Scenic Ride

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    This easy ride provided scenic views of castles and countryside along an easily marked trail and river without a lot of car traffic. The City stops a long the way were quaint and friendly and there was always a place to stop for beer with fellow travelers. I would highly recommend this trip especially on an E-Bike!

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 24 to June 1 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Team Wuss June 24, 2019

    Great tour

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    A great tour that exceeded expectations. We had by far the best tour guide as compared to all previous bike trips (5). Justin was attentive, thoughtful, and full of facts concerning culture, history, and geography. Most of the trip was spent on dedicated bike paths along the river with only a few hill challenges. We had a couple of hikes in national parks among beautiful sandstone cliffs and towers. The bikes were quite new and well maintained. Evening meals were uniformly excellent and the hotels were nice mid-range accommodations (with the exception of an opulent chatteau on the first night). Champagne with strawberries at the end of the last day's ride in Dresden was a nice touch.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 1
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • Prague Old Town (photo by Team Wuss)
    • Melnik (photo by Team Wuss)
    • Our first night lodging. (photo by Team Wuss)
    • Largest rock arch in Europe (Pravcicka Brana) (photo by Team Wuss)
    • Looking down on the Elbe River after an uphill hike. (photo by Team Wuss)
    • Poppies along the bike path. (photo by Team Wuss)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Rinat June 20, 2019

    Excellent trip b

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    Cycling is the best way to experience the and feel the atmosphere, and Enjoy , the trip was excellent, the local company was very supportive, the signs on the way was clear and the view was absolutely amazing.
    Category B hotels sometimes were a bit simple. I really recommend the prague to Dresden trip

    What was the date of your tour?
    17-25 of May
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Brink June 13, 2019

    Beautiful way to see small Czech and German towns

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    The bike path was generally well marked along the rivers and the towns picturesque. People were friendly, the food good and the hotels good, except for the hotel in Dresden.

    What was the date of your tour?
    25 May—31 May 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection