Czech Republic  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Prague to Dresden
    (4/5) Karen Hanson 5 months ago

    Beautiful (and manageable) trip

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    Following the Vltava and Elbe rivers, with mostly excellent bike paths and a reasonable amount of miles per day, made for a lovely honeymoon trip! The Czech countryside was about to hit fall colors, and chestnuts were aplenty. The bikes they provided were in great shape (Trek and Specialized), and the gps files worked well. Highly recommend showing up at least two or three days early to spend extra time in Prague and get used to the time change. We weren’t able to take advantage of many of the optional side visits and biergardens along the way because many were closed already for the season, but we still enjoyed passing through small/tiny towns. And we made sure to pack our own wine and cheese for breaks! In the high season, we imagine it must be a much different scene. Overall, really enjoyed the trip and would recommend it for those who are looking for a relaxing vacation.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • Approaching Bad Schandau (photo by Karen Hanson)
    •  (photo by Karen Hanson)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Donna Parr 5 months ago

    Fun way to see a beautiful area

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    Really enjoyed the trip. Beautiful route getting into rolling hills although not difficult to bike with great off-road bike paths almost the whole way. Hotels were great with plentiful breakfasts.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1st
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jay Penner 6 months ago

    Great Ride!!

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    This was a great ride along well marked trails. The E-bikes were in great condition and easy to ride. We spent several extra days in Prague and rode to Karlštejn Castle. The ride to Karlstejn was a good segue into the ride from Prague to Dresden.

    The hotels were all very nice even though several were not air conditioned most had fans that made the stays comfortable. Each of the stopover towns had their unique charm and points of interest. Several of the shorter ride days were filled with great options. Once we got to Litomerice there was plenty of time to explore Terezin Fortress. The day we rode to Bad Schanda we spent most of the day in Hřensko and hiked to visit the largest natural land bridge in Europe.

    There were ample places to stop along the entire route for breaks and refreshments. We met many wonderful people from all over Europe doing the same ride and had a great time visiting with them. The package was well put together and fun to ride.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was an our 8th bike tour. Always doing self guided.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    •  (photo by Jay Penner)
    • Land bridge in Hřensko. (photo by Jay Penner)
    •  (photo by Jay Penner)
    • Bike path. (photo by Jay Penner)
    • Sunset at the end of the day in Melnick. (photo by Jay Penner)
    • Touring Prague (photo by Jay Penner)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Prague to Vienna
    (5/5) Harvey Wilds 8 months ago

    Wonderful tour of Czech and Austrian countryside

    · Prague to Vienna via Cesky Krumlov

    My wife and I had an excellent time on our self guided tour. The accomodations and logistics were perfect! We are definitely planning our next trip already.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic
  • Bohemian Getaway
    (5/5) Barry Greenberg 9 months ago

    Prague castle tour

    · Bohemian Getaway: Villages, River Valleys, and Karlstejn Castle

    Very good orientation to the trip and explanation of the routes on this self-guided tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    12
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Best of South Bohemia: Czech Republic to Its Fullest
    (5/5) Olafur Gudlaugsson September 25, 2022

    First bike trip in the Czech Republic.

    · Best of South Bohemia: Czech Republic to Its Fullest

    Great service and well organized.
    And good reception by Petr Jonota, thank you!
    If there were questions, problems, or anything, he answered them with a smile ☺
    Nice how different the days are and what we can see each day

    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic
  • Prague to Dresden
    (3/5) Janna R Poll August 21, 2022

    Needs a bit more sophistication

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    1. There was no GPS. They insisted it was easy and we had maps, but they were in Czech and hard to read and the street were rarely marked.

    2. I had two flats within the first mile ( two more to come). They need to put liners in their tires. Our pump was also so bad that after a lot of work it was still too low to ride. Usually other riders would stop and let us borrow their more superior pumps.

    They delivered a new bike in Prague because my brakes were also broken. To get to their delivery car I had to go down a wet slope and across a divided highway. I fell on a wet grid and hurt my knee bad and ripped the entire butt out of my only pair of bike shorts for the whole trip ( remember the missing luggage). This. Detour meant we couldn’t ever seem to find the bike bath again and since we had a late start of 3:30, we rode hard for six straight hours. It was extremely dangerous after dark and we had no food out in the farmland. I was using my phone to try to find the towns with path.

    I complained about the promise of a GPS and not having one. So they forwarded maps to use on a a special app on my phone, but that took a day to understand where we were on the map. I got a GPS the third day, but it didn’t have a charge and the charging unit didn’t go with the unit I had.

    4. Not only did we have flats, but my kickstand didn’t work and more importantly, the fender supports in the front was missing some rubber tips. That meant when I put down my foot when stopping and the wheel was turned at all, the snipped off metal of the support would slash my inside knees badly. This happened a lot and was very painful and bloody.

    5. Several of the hotels had some real problems with super warm rooms, (no A/C anywhere over there), loud streets, and no ice. Two at least had fans. the nice hotel in Bad Shandeau put us alone up on the 4th floor and said we were to leave the windows closed because of smoke from the fires, which was blowing the opposite direction. Our attic room was well over 90F w no ventilation. We opened the narrow attic windows anyhow
    The best hotel was a little pensioner on the first night. That frog even gave us ice for our water bottles. It was a very hot week.

    6. The path ran right by a forest fire before Bad Schandau. Breathing was bad and stinky.

    They guys were generally responsive, though the main guy was on vacation. We are fairly unde manding most of time, changed our own FOUR flat tires, tried to find our way, dealt w the bike faults, but feel they were tired of us the first day. In fact he said if we were ‘one of their clienta it would be different. If they took the money from you, we WERE their client!

    Overall, it was a bit disappointing on the bike side, though the river is lovely and biking is still the best way to see a country!  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    July2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    Five
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 1/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
  • Prague-Vienna-Bratislava-Budapest
    (5/5) Htim November 21, 2019

    Historic Cities,Castles and Countryside

    · Prague-Vienna-Bratislava-Budapest

    Delightful and sometimes challenging tour through southern Chechia, Austria, Slovakia and Hungary. Good to excellent accommodations. Many old castles, chateaus, and classic walled medieval towns made for an enchanting experience. The tour provider was excellent. The routes were interesting and sometimes challenging. Most cycling was on paved roads but there were several stretches of unsaved roads and even trails. Navigation with the Garmin unit provided proved generally very good, but some independent navigation skills were sometimes needed, such as when there were unexpected detours for construction. Bicycles were adequate.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September to October 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    12
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Timr October 9, 2019

    Great Long Tour of Czechia, Slovakia, Austria and Hungary

    · Prague-Vienna-Bratislava-Budapest

    We had never been to this part of the world but were intrigued by the great cities of Prague, Vienna and Budapest as well as by the innumerable castles, chateaus, and charming small towns. We were not disappointed. Nearly 3 weeks of cycling the area satisfied exceeded our expectations. As we self-guided, we had to be ever vigilant with navigation, but the Garmin never failed to deliver (although some unexpected road construction sometimes required creative navigation). Hotels were all in the range of good to excellent. Tour provider CZ Tours was always responsive to our concerns and always made sure luggage and other transfers happened in a timely way. Very happy with this excellent adventure.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 18-October 9, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe October 10, 2019

      Tim - thanks kindly for this review! We're so delighted that you enjoyed this part of the world - we also feel it's a bit of a hidden (and lesser-traveled) gem. We love that you embraced creative navigation. And thank you for noting this tour requires attention to navigation. We really appreciate knowing these aspects so we may better assist future clients in booking tours that fit their preferences. Thanks again, and so, so glad you are happy with your adventure.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) Mycycle50 July 1, 2019

    Very beautiful but more difficult than advertised.

    · Prague-Vienna-Bratislava-Budapest

    Our outfitter provided lots of info- maps, gps routes and suggested sites to visit. Some very rough roads, some steep hills.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 22 to June 15
    How many tours have you completed?
    9
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia
    • Ceske Krumlov castle (photo by Mycycle50)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Mycycle50)
    • Cesko food (photo by Mycycle50)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe July 2, 2019

      Thanks kindly for your review. We're glad to hear that the operator provided material aplenty to guide you on your trip. We appreciate you letting us know that you experienced some rough roads and steep hills. That's wonderful information for future clients considering this tour to be aware of.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Prague to Dresden
    (5/5) Michele June 25, 2019

    Awesome Scenic Ride

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    This easy ride provided scenic views of castles and countryside along an easily marked trail and river without a lot of car traffic. The City stops a long the way were quaint and friendly and there was always a place to stop for beer with fellow travelers. I would highly recommend this trip especially on an E-Bike!

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 24 to June 1 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Team Wuss June 24, 2019

    Great tour

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    A great tour that exceeded expectations. We had by far the best tour guide as compared to all previous bike trips (5). Justin was attentive, thoughtful, and full of facts concerning culture, history, and geography. Most of the trip was spent on dedicated bike paths along the river with only a few hill challenges. We had a couple of hikes in national parks among beautiful sandstone cliffs and towers. The bikes were quite new and well maintained. Evening meals were uniformly excellent and the hotels were nice mid-range accommodations (with the exception of an opulent chatteau on the first night). Champagne with strawberries at the end of the last day's ride in Dresden was a nice touch.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 1
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • Prague Old Town (photo by Team Wuss)
    • Melnik (photo by Team Wuss)
    • Our first night lodging. (photo by Team Wuss)
    • Largest rock arch in Europe (Pravcicka Brana) (photo by Team Wuss)
    • Looking down on the Elbe River after an uphill hike. (photo by Team Wuss)
    • Poppies along the bike path. (photo by Team Wuss)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Rinat June 20, 2019

    Excellent trip b

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    Cycling is the best way to experience the and feel the atmosphere, and Enjoy , the trip was excellent, the local company was very supportive, the signs on the way was clear and the view was absolutely amazing.
    Category B hotels sometimes were a bit simple. I really recommend the prague to Dresden trip

    What was the date of your tour?
    17-25 of May
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Brink June 13, 2019

    Beautiful way to see small Czech and German towns

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    The bike path was generally well marked along the rivers and the towns picturesque. People were friendly, the food good and the hotels good, except for the hotel in Dresden.

    What was the date of your tour?
    25 May—31 May 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) JimS April 30, 2019

    Great bike ride...mostly on paved bike paths

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    AVE provide a very good experience. Would definitely use them again. The trip listed a couple of short hills. There were two hills on the first day and they were steeper than I expected and also longer. That is just a minor thing and in no way diminished the trip. The bicycles were very good and their initial service was great...however, I would have preferred that they bring the bicycles the day before we started the trip instead of the morning of the trip. It meant that we started about 2 hours later than we would have. That also is a minor thing and didn’t, take away from the trip. All of the hotels were excellent.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 17, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Beanaloca October 22, 2018

    beautiful

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    This was a fun tour overall. I enjoyed biking along the rivers, it made for a scenic trip. A few of the towns we overnighted in were specatacular.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 7, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Prague to Vienna
    (4/5) Stacey October 16, 2018

    Challenging hills then scenic plains

    · Prague to Vienna via Cesky Krumlov

    Czechia is such a beautiful country, and this tour across southern Bohemia and Moravia was just fantastic. However, it is very hilly for the first few days. 50 miles per day with some very steep hills the first couple days. The countryside starts to flatten out more after you reach Znojmo. Once outside Prague, most folks do not speak English, so some knowledge of Czech and/or German is very helpful. Vlastimil, the local tour operator for Ave Travel, was very responsive and helpful.

    I did ask for and received a GPX file to preload into my Garmin, as navigation is always a challenge on bike tours. Further, the local tour company recommended a couple of Czech specific apps which you can use to predownload the local maps for use when you arrive, and this was extremely helpful, if you have an international cell plan for your phone.

    A couple of caveats: the GPX file included alternate routes instead of a single path, as this tour has optional legs that you may or may not want to go on. This negated my ability to use the navigation on my Garmin edge, since it couldn't know which route i wanted to take, and could only tell me when I was off course. Also, as others have mentioned, there was no opportunity to see our rented bikes and make sure they were appropriately sized prior to being picked up by the van for our transfer to Cesky Krumlov. Two of the four bikes we rented could have used newer tires; however they were clearly equal to the task of getting us across the CR.

    I would say this is a wonderful route that is off the beaten path, but challenging. If you are unsure whether your fitness level is up to the task, an e-bike rental would probably be a great idea. I will also probably upgrade to a better Garmin that can actually do turn-by-turn navigation, which mine can't do. However, getting lost and finding your way is half the fun on these trips!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic
    • Nearing Czech Canada (photo by Stacey)
    • Telc town square (photo by Stacey)
    • Telc (photo by Stacey)
    • through the forest... (photo by Stacey)
    • very flat between Znojmo and Mikulov (photo by Stacey)
    • The Chateau at Vranov nad Dyji is visible on the approach to the town. (photo by Stacey)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Kathy B October 11, 2018

    An excellent adventure!

    · Prague to Vienna via Cesky Krumlov

    This was my first bike trip and I can't wait to do it again. Our guides were enthusiastic and fun and our driver could not have been more helpful transporting luggage, providing snacks and water at stops, and keeping our bikes tuned up.
    We rode through picturesque villages, fairy-tale forests, along rivers and lakes, and up and down hills with eye-popping views and sweeping vistas of farmland, vineyards, and distant highlands. We saw numerous castles dating from the 13th to the 19th century and toured several of them. We climbed on/up WWII military bunkers and anti-tank fortifications and a soviet era watch tower. Our guides were very knowledgeable and provided historical context for all of it.
    The hills were more demanding than most of our group anticipated and there was some challenging terrain, but with the support of our guides and driver everyone rode all day even though the van was available for breaks. However I do recommend e-bikes if you have not done much riding. About half of our group did and they were happy with their choice.
    The accommodations were basic but comfortable and ran the gamut as far as architecture and design. We enjoyed the local cuisine, wine, and I think the best beer anywhere!
    Prague is magical and Vienna is filled with music and art, but I really loved getting off the beaten track in between. If you are looking for adventure, culture, and a bit of a challenge, you will love this trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    none
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)