Slovenia  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Emerald Tour of Slovenia’s Gems
    (5/5) Amy Reller 2 weeks ago

    Epic trip!

    · Emerald Tour of Slovenia’s Gems

    We did a self-guided tour (two couples) and it could not have been better! From the first night trip orientation in our Ljubljana hotel to our final stopping point in Piran, we couldn't stop talking about how smoothly everything went. The hotels were well familiar with the electric bike routine, our luggage was always waiting for us upon arrival in the lobby, the routes took us through beautiful Slovenian countryside and stopped at points of interest and historical sites that were worth the side trip. Our detailed route map (provided by local bike tour group Helia) was experienced enough to mention ideal locations to stop for lunch along the way which proved helpful when traveling through small villages with limited spots to stop to eat. We lucked out on the early October weather and had no rain which was a bonus. Having breakfast in our hotel before departing each morning made it easy to pack up and get back on the road. Would highly recommend this trip!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Slovenia
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Dayna Stern 3 weeks ago

    My favorite bike tour

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    I love this trip! Gentle cycling, stunning scenery and nice accommodations. We requested half board which exposed us to south Tyrolean food. Highly recommended! Remember to dress warmly because you’ll be in a wooded valley part of the first few days.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Dayna Stern 3 weeks ago

    My favorite bike tour

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    I love this trip! Gentle cycling, stunning scenery and nice accommodations. We requested half board which exposed us to south Tyrolean food. Highly recommended! Remember to dress warmly because you’ll be in a wooded valley part of the first few days.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Aaron Schwartzbaum 3 weeks ago

    What a fun trip!

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    My partner and I had a ton of fun on this trip, which was our honeymoon. The stops were nice, especially with the ability to upgrade accommodations. I'd highly recommend doing the extra day in Bled if you're looking to get some relaxation in, too. Some parts of the route, especially if you're not taking the train into Bled, are would be extremely strenuous without an electric bike, I'd highly recommend one in general. There are a couple of points where there's a bit of car traffic, but I felt safe enough in a high viz. But what a fun way to travel, we saw a lot of things we wouldn't have ordinarily and the route is SCENIC as can be!

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Venice to Trieste and Istria
    (4/5) Steve Srebnik 3 weeks ago

    Great experience

    · Venice to Trieste and Istria

    This was a great adventure for my wife and I taking us to small and not so small great beach towns as well as a pretty big city , Trieste, all in the Adriatic. Jasolo was a rocking town with a very nice beach. Most of the included breakfasts were very good and all were very acceptable. The hotels were also good, nothing special but certainly comfortable. Most of the hotel rooms were very small. Only reason I took off a star was I think I would have enjoyed it more if we were able to spend a stop over or two without a ride the next day. Since we typically arrived after 1 and sometimes closer to 2 or 3 we didn’t get to spend any significant relax time at the beaches. Overall I’d go again or do another trip. All was very well organized.

    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Best of Slovenia
    (4/5) Audrey Block 3 weeks ago

    Great way to experience Slovenia

    · Best of Slovenia: Highlights Across the Country From Bled to Piran

    Overall, we really enjoyed the trip. Hotels were nice with the exception of one, which was so-so. Route was interesting and showed off the beauty of the country. Beware -- one should be in good shape and expect to face a few steep hills, some on gravel backroads. Most of the roads were low traffic but even on busier roads Slovenians are courteous to cyclists.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    6-8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Emerald Tour of Slovenia’s Gems
    (5/5) Gail 1 month ago

    Beautiful Slovenia

    · Emerald Tour of Slovenia’s Gems

    This was an excellent tour to see the diversity of Slovenia's landscape! I highly recommend the e-bikes as it was hillier than expected (and e-bikes are just fun!) Everything went smoothly, especially the weather this late in the season (we went in mid October). Highly recommend!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Slovenia
  • Venice to Trieste and Istria
    (5/5) carol friefeld 1 month ago

    Great trip!

    · Venice to Trieste and Istria

    Loved this trip! The route was fun and scenic, the accommodations were great, no logistical problems. The local tour agency was very helpful, and the GPS app worked well. Would work with this group again!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Italy, Slovenia
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Nancy Nestler 2 months ago

    Even better than I imagined!!!

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    We did the self-guided tour. The routes were well described. They were beautiful and varied, from bike paths in remote areas to bike lanes in busy cities. I always felt safe. The scenery was amazing from river valleys to mountain views. There were options to explore along the way. The length of each day's ride was a good amount, and it often offered a shorter or longer version so you could decide along the way what you wanted to do. The hotels were also a nice variety. I thoroughly enjoyed each day. I would highly recommend this tour. I went with a friend, but hope to do it again and take my husband.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jean Olson 2 months ago

    Beautiful Scenery

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    The Dolomites were amazing. The bike paths were good and traveled through some beautiful areas. The hotels were all great. The drections from the maps and app were good, we only got a little off track a couple of times. We rode regular bikes and although the hills were tough, they were doable. I definitely want to go back to the area between Toblack and Bled and explore more.

    The roads into Trieste were busy but there was a good shoulder most of the time. The views were worth the busy road. Castello Duino was cool.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Scott Eckhoff 3 months ago

    Three countries with great scenery and variety.

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    We experienced a true feel for three countries as we biked through this amazing area. There is much variety with this trip. We experienced small quaint villages, ski towns, beautiful mountain scenery, quiet forests, beautiful lakes and rivers, great restaurants, nice accommodations, mostly safe biking on trails and quiet roads. We took the slightly longer route through the hinterland into Trieste which gave us a peaceful ride until the city of Trieste. The App which was provided gave us peace of mind that we were always on the correct route. There were no worries about getting lost. We would advise having a phone holder that fits on your handle bar. We highly recommend this trip and would recommend Ebikes. There are many up and down slopes on a few days.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Kathy D 4 months ago

    MIghty Dolomity

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    Truly enjoyed the trip. Great bike paths for most of the route. Beautiful scenery and great overnight stays. A few hotels didn't have air conditioning but that is not unusual in this part of the world. Unfortunately, Europe is experiencing a very hot summer in 2022. We greatly enjoyed the route and all there was to see and do along the way. The bikes were not what we had expected. Very heavy, more like a beach bike w 21 gears. If you take this trip and are used to a better bike, as we are, upgrade the bike you use. Very difficult riding these very heavy bikes up some of the hills. We took a train on Day 3 for a break - mostly because of the bikes. Saving grace - the train system is fantastic and they all have capacity for bikes at a minimal cost. The app was very good once we figured out how to use it. Would have been helpful if FunActive Tour Company had given us some instruction on how to use it prior to us departing.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Kirsten August 5, 2022

      Hi Kathy! Thank you so much for leaving such detailed feedback. We are sorry you were surprised by the type of bike. We list the bike info under the Dates & Prices tab and will always try to upgrade when possible. We are working with our local partner to get app instructions so we can share them before travel. We are so glad you enjoyed your trip and hope to help you plan your next one!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Nils Martin Sellgren 4 months ago

    A wonderful trip through an amazing landscape in early summer blossom.

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    We had an easy descent down a long valley from Toblach into Austria. Options with bus and train for mountain climbs. Experienced beautiful towns, among beatiful town of Bled, and even exhibition at a roman town excavation in Slovenia.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    •  (photo by Nils Martin Sellgren)
    •  (photo by Nils Martin Sellgren)
  • (5/5) Thomas Albrecht 4 months ago

    Beautiful, well-organized trip; good value for the money

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    We enjoyed our tour very much. We opted for the unguided version, which suits our tastes well, and found the maps provided to be good enough to guide us. The bikes were good quality and comfortable. The hotels varied, but we enjoyed them all and thought they were a good value for the price. The luggage service each day was perfect -- never late or unclear where to put the luggage for pickup.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 1-8, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Best of Slovenia
    (5/5) Ben 4 months ago

    Great trip through Slovenia

    · Best of Slovenia: Highlights Across the Country From Bled to Piran

    The best way to visit and get to know a new country

    Countries included in this tour?
    Slovenia
  • Emerald Tour of Slovenia’s Gems
    (5/5) Anne52 October 15, 2019

    A Gem of a Tour!

    · Emerald Tour of Slovenia’s Gems

    We have been on five tours with Biketours.com now and although we have loved every one, the Emerald Tour of Slovenia was one of the best. The route was extremely well chosen with a huge variety of terrain, several interesting and worthwhile side trips and lovely hotels with friendly service.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 28 - October 5, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) NancyLouWho October 13, 2019

    Nice way to experience Slovenia

    · Emerald Tour of Slovenia’s Gems

    Two couples decided to do this trip together and I considered myself the weakest link - but thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it!

    Being a non-biker with a dodgy knee and several decades on me, I feared I was in over my head. I relied on BikeTours assertion that reasonable fitness and good attitude would carry me through, and they were right! (I started riding my bike for an hour or two a few times a week about two months before the trip, which was an excellent idea.)

    This was a level two trip, about 30 miles per day with some long hills included. I was able to ride it all, and readily agreed to every side trip included in the itinerary. Those added anywhere from 3-7 miles to the day’s riding - and also added some special experience to the trip. (Postojna Cave and the nearby castle were my favorites.)

    Bikes were in excellent condition, comfortable and well-maintained, and the overnight accommodations everywhere were very nice. I especially liked the guest house in Kodreti, Hiša Posebne Sorte, where the meal was entirely locally sourced. The combination of maps, turn-by-turn instructions, odometer, and strategically placed stickers along the route made way-finding pretty straight forward. We only went off once, but realized it after about a mIle, and quickly got back on track.

    Seeing this country by bicycle allowed us to get a real feel for the variations of city vs village, and hilly regions with an Austrian flair vs Mediterranean coast with an Italian vibe.

    The couple we traveled with had done a few other trips with Bike Tours and say the quality has been consistent in each. I look forward to traveling with Bike Tours again!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept. 28- Oct. 5, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Slovenia
    • Stopping in a Slovenian village (photo by NancyLouWho)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe October 14, 2019

      Nancy, thanks so much for this review. We love hearing a success story! Thanks for providing insight regarding your concerns and the preparation measures you took - a good attitude and time spent on a bike go a long way. Thanks for the details about the bikes, navigation, and overall experience. We hope some future clients opt to enjoy the locally sourced meal at the guest house in Kodreti (Hiša Posebne Sorte) thanks to your review. We can't wait to book the next one for you!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection