Primarily Bike Paths Tour Reviews

  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Stephen A 2 weeks ago

    Quiet roads and beautiful scenary

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    What a great way to see the sites along the Danube! Starting out the last week of September, the bike trail was very quiet. I enjoyed the solitude and how easy it was to just stop along the way and take in the sites. While the trail was nearly empty, the agricultural fields were busy with harvest activities.
    Logistically, everything worked great. The accommodations were all nice and directions to them clear. My bag arrived at every stop.
    I would take another tour with BikeTours!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September/October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Quiet roads through farming areas (photo by Stephen A)
    • I enjoyed a glass of wine right in the field where the grapes were grown! (photo by Stephen A)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Lake Garda
    (5/5) Lisa Schmitz 3 weeks ago

    Beautiful scenery every minute

    · Innsbruck to Lake Garda Across the Southern Slopes of the Alps

    Great trip, but an e-bike would have been a better choice. Beginning days were very challenging, especially with heavy touring bikes. The downhills, though, were exhilarating. We relied on Google maps because the route maps were not up to date and less efficient.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Dayna Stern 3 weeks ago

    My favorite bike tour

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    I love this trip! Gentle cycling, stunning scenery and nice accommodations. We requested half board which exposed us to south Tyrolean food. Highly recommended! Remember to dress warmly because you’ll be in a wooded valley part of the first few days.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) James Davidson 3 weeks ago

    Our Danube Cycling tour - Sept 20-29

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    Before I get started I wanted to thank Penelope for all her help and assistance.

    We had a fabulous time. We flew into Vienna and took the train to Passau
    where our hotel shuttle picked us up at the train station. The Hotels that
    were set up for us were great although there were some minor snafoos along the way.
    The bikes were delivered along with maps and itenerary for us with path suggestions
    hotel locations and contact information.

    When we got to our hotel in Ashach, the hotel looked closed and the hotel door was locked.
    There was no note on the door as to what to do. We called the contact number and was
    told how to check-in remotely but we had to wait until someone walked out of the
    door to be able to go in. The placed still looked closed, no lights, etc, but we
    did find our room keys at the front desk. Just a little weird but we got through
    it.

    We ride a lot at home so 20-25 miles isn't a lot of distance for us so we opted
    for the 7 day ride (6 actual days riding). We realized that riding some days
    at 40+ miles, although easy to ride, really wasn't enough time to stop and smell
    the roses! Our fault for picking this plan but I would suggest to others that
    riding 8 days would give you more time to see the sites.

    We didn't think a lot of things through, like riding through the Wachau region on Sunday
    when everything was closed! Bummer. Beautiful but not a lot open that day. I guess
    that is why they ran the Wachau Marathon on that day. Being an ex-marathoner, it was
    fun to see all the runners.

    We had an issue with the brakes on my bike and we were directed by the Eurobike contact
    where to go for the repair in Kremms. It didn't cost a lot and not enough to be reimbursed,
    just some time lost.

    The hotels really were marvelous and directions to them couldn't have been better.
    Our ride day into Vienna was raining and cold so when we got to our hotel, they
    were sorry for us as we shivered and had a coffee in the bar, so they upgraded our
    room! Score!

    The path is fabulous on both sides of the Danube. There were "Donauradweg" signs everywhere,
    maps of the path and areas, path suggestions into and our of the towns if you wanted to
    get off the main path. Guesthouses and cafes along the path were great. We had a fabulous time
    and would suggest it to anyone else who might want to ride this route.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 20, 2022 - September 29, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is the only 'tour' but have ridden many 400-500 mile week long cycling events in the United States
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Great day to hike up to  Donauschling Schlogen, it was a great view! (photo by James Davidson)
    • Riding into Grien to see the castle (photo by James Davidson)
    • Wachach Valley (photo by James Davidson)
    • Vienna, city center (photo by James Davidson)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (4/5) Sandy Anderson 3 weeks ago

    Lake Constance Upscale

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path (Upscale Lodging)

    This trip was good overall, yet we made a mistake by choosing Upscale Lodging because most of the hotels were not in the old towns, and we had to go through the city at rush hour with unclear directions. We would have preferred staying along the river in the old towns. Upscale lodging was not necessary.
    Secondly, the KaMOOT app that we bought and tried to use was a disaster. It lead you along any trail that came up...whether it was for hikers, or a dog path, so we were constantly rerouting on the first day, until we gave up on it and used the written guide.
    The bikepaths were wonderful and scenic and we loved that part of the ride.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Brianna Oehm 3 weeks ago

    First solo trip & first bike trip!

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    Absolutely would recommend this tour for anyone! I went in April which was a bit chilly, but had the trails to myself. I felt very supported by the staff if I needed, but was independent the whole time. Fairly flat and easy trail, but the mileage added up throughout the week. Hotels were easy to find and lovely to stay at!

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Dayna Stern 3 weeks ago

    My favorite bike tour

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    I love this trip! Gentle cycling, stunning scenery and nice accommodations. We requested half board which exposed us to south Tyrolean food. Highly recommended! Remember to dress warmly because you’ll be in a wooded valley part of the first few days.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Tauern Bike Path
    (5/5) Marlys Manthei 3 weeks ago

    The Family trip of a lifetime!

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    My husband and I did this self guided tour two different times in the past. We loved it so much that this time we wanted to share the experience with our entire family: our four adult children and their spouses and our nine grandchildren, ages 9 through 21. There were 19 of us and we all had a fabulous time. We shortened the trip to just biking from Krimml to Salzburg on a 6-night tour.
    We did this tour in June of 2022. The tour. company graciously arranged for a bus to take us from Salzburg to Krimml at the start of the tour. Even that was fun for the group. On the bike ride, everyone enjoyed stops for apple strudel, swimming in the lake, riding the gondola on the ski hill, the hike to Krimml waterfall and much more. Every day we were surrounded by the most amazing beauty. The kids and teens were never bored. 22 miles a day was just right for our group and we stayed together in a long line. We opted for a night in Zell am See and that was the favorite overnight - a beautiful town on a beautiful lake.
    We were blessed with perfect weather every day. One evening it rained and we found a bowling alley right in our hotel so that was fun for everyone. We highly recommend this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Impressions
    (5/5) Debby Schlesinger 3 weeks ago

    1st bike/boat tour.....best time ever.

    · · Danube Impressions Bike and Boat Passau – Vienna – Passau

    Touring by bike with support from boat was a wonderful way to see the countryside, experience local culture, and sightsee without having to do HOURS & DAYS of research on routes, sites worth stopping at, and logistics of lodging, and biking. The tour was a great value too. It was a wonderful way to have an active vacation....so much better than a cruise or bus tour. Really appreciated the route reviews, maps, and suggestions for the next day's route each evening. It was apparent that the routes chosen offered scenic value, as well as ease of access, and worthwhile sights to see. The crew were very helpful at getting the bikes set up for rider proportions, comfort and preferences. There were even opportunities to meet with local experts and experience a more "in depth" tour with history and background. The food was absolutely sumptuous!! Meals were expertly prepared, featured local cuisine at dinners, as well as "American" favorites at breakfast in addition to "Continental" breakfast foods. The "Picnic" lunches provided for were a bonus too. Cabin accomodations were comfortable, adequate, and served our needs well; albeit the small space. (We had a "lower deck" cabin... the most economical). That being said, there wasn't much time spent in the cabin other than sleeping, and preparing for the next day's ride. Really enjoyed the spa on the top deck to ease sore muscles & relax. Altogether, a wonderful vacation in a beautiful location.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Along the Danube (photo by Debby Schlesinger)
    • In the town of Linz, Austria (photo by Debby Schlesinger)
    • On the Danube locks. (photo by Debby Schlesinger)
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Brianna Oehm 3 weeks ago

    First solo trip & first bike trip!

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    Absolutely would recommend this tour for anyone! I went in April which was a bit chilly, but had the trails to myself. I felt very supported by the staff if I needed, but was independent the whole time. Fairly flat and easy trail, but the mileage added up throughout the week. Hotels were easy to find and lovely to stay at!

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Tauern Bike Path
    (5/5) Adam Pernsteiner 3 weeks ago

    A Great Scenic Bike Trip with a Lot of Interesting Side Excursions Along the Way

    · Tauern Bike Path (Salzburg-Salzburg)

    The Tauern Bike Path in and out of Salzburg, Austria was my 5th bicycle trip in Europe and once of the most scenic and beautiful bicycle tours I have experienced. The bicycle route itself is usually a paved path and primarily follows along river valleys, so the difficulty is easy to moderate and very manageable for a recreational rider like myself. I only walked my bike on a few short climbs and my 18-year old son had no issues with the difficulty. Navigation-wise, the tour company materials were fine and the route is well-marked, although I would recommend keeping a backup navigation aid or two in the form of google maps and perhaps a cycling map app. I was impressed by the high percentage of local Austrians cyclists who were using e-bikes along the path. So, if you are considering an e-bike but wondering if you would stand out - no worries, you will blend right in with the locals!
    The thing that probably sets this tour apart from others in my mind is the impressive number interesting side adventures that you can have along the way - right next to the bicycle path. For us, these included medieval castles and falconry shows, hiking, waterfalls, mountaintop tram rides, and underground cave hiking - and we probably still missed a couple of other excursions we could have done along the way. Some of these are free and most do not cost more than the price of a tram ride.
    As far as food and accommodations, they were excellent. I did the upgraded lodging option because I have back issues and I was thoroughly impressed. I would note that some the spa and health facilities at the properties are world class. The included breakfasts are great and we had no trouble finding restaurants with great food and drinks.
    Overall, I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants a scenic ride through Austria without too much difficulty, especially if you want to be able to hope off your bike once and a while and do a few side hikes and other adventures.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    •  (photo by Adam Pernsteiner)
    •  (photo by Adam Pernsteiner)
    •  (photo by Adam Pernsteiner)
    •  (photo by Adam Pernsteiner)
    •  (photo by Adam Pernsteiner)
    •  (photo by Adam Pernsteiner)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Carol McClennan 3 weeks ago

    Very relaxing and scenic

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    We thoroughly enjoyed this trip toward the end of September, specifically Sept. 22 was the day we started cycling. It was just my husband and myself. We had no issues with our bikes, or with the maps and directions. Our hotels were excellent with the upgrades. It was relaxing in that we took in the sites, chatted with occasional folks along the way and ate well! And enjoyed extra time in Vienna..

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
  • (5/5) Carol McClennan 3 weeks ago

    Very relaxing and scenic

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    We thoroughly enjoyed this trip toward the end of September, specifically Sept. 22 was the day we started cycling. It was just my husband and myself. We had no issues with our bikes, or with the maps and directions. Our hotels were excellent with the upgrades. It was relaxing in that we took in the sites, chatted with occasional folks along the way and ate well! And enjoyed extra time in Vienna..

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Aaron Schwartzbaum 3 weeks ago

    What a fun trip!

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    My partner and I had a ton of fun on this trip, which was our honeymoon. The stops were nice, especially with the ability to upgrade accommodations. I'd highly recommend doing the extra day in Bled if you're looking to get some relaxation in, too. Some parts of the route, especially if you're not taking the train into Bled, are would be extremely strenuous without an electric bike, I'd highly recommend one in general. There are a couple of points where there's a bit of car traffic, but I felt safe enough in a high viz. But what a fun way to travel, we saw a lot of things we wouldn't have ordinarily and the route is SCENIC as can be!

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) MF 3 weeks ago

    Made for an unforgettable honeymoon!

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    This was a great tour through Austria and the upscale markup was definitely worth it. The trip went exceptionally smoothly and we had a great time! Great food and scenery that changed every day of the trip, comfortable accommodations, and no worries. Having the luggage forwarded each day made for an easy trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Salzburg to Vienna
    (5/5) Hilary Powell 3 weeks ago

    Amazing

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    This trip was amazing! I had so much fun and it was very well organized. Any problems we ran into we were able to get answered quickly through email or a phone call. Someone was always available. I had never been to Austria and in one trip I saw a little bit of everything the country had to offer.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
  • Loire a Velo
    (5/5) John Rosenfeld 3 weeks ago

    Thoroughly enjoyable

    · Loire a Velo: Orleans to the Atlantic

    Will plan by the tour group. Beautiful scenery. Many interesting sized to see that were both historical and educational. The bed and breakfast is that were selected were outstanding. Food along the way was outstanding. The directions were easy to follow

    Countries included in this tour?
    France
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) Layne Perry 3 weeks ago

    Lake trip of your dreams!

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    A wonderful and unique way to experience Lake Constance, with wonderful food, beautiful water, and relatively flat bike path! A place to stop and eat lunch or take a swim practically anywhere! Opportunities to stand up paddle board or play volleyball!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    First!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) John Thell 1 month ago

    Great adventure

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    Wonderful experience. Using ebikes made the trip very doable. The hotels were great - locations,food, service, and comfortable. Not having to worry about luggage was a great relief. The only thing that was frustrating was poor maps in a couple of the larger towns - finding the hotels can be a challenge. Usually the locals were very helpful in giving directions. Would recommend a gps system for our next trip. We were very pleased overall and biking around Lake Constance was more than we imagined.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    One
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Loire a Velo
    (5/5) Murray Goring 2 months ago

    Tours to Anger 4 day bike ride

    · Loire a Velo: Orleans to the Atlantic

    We went with our son and his wife. It was their first longer bike ride. They loved it. We did too but felt our previous Danube trip from Passau to Vienna was better. The hotels and food was good but the bike route was boring at times.
    We missed not having a spa hotel included.

    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection