Sweden  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Sweden’s West Coast
    (5/5) Christopher Mauriello 3 months ago

    Great paced trip

    · Sweden’s West Coast: Helsingborg to Gothenburg

    This trip meets all expectations.
    The trip features a good mix of Swedish shoreline, farms and great towns.
    The Kathegattleden trail is well marked and mostly paved but made much easier to navigate with the GPS app.
    Very little road riding but where it exists is very little traffic. Totally recommend a night or two on Copenhagen at the end of the trip which is also a great place to bike.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept. 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Sweden
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) Kevin Rudd 3 months ago

    Could have been better

    · Sweden’s West Coast: Helsingborg to Gothenburg

    The ride was generally good. The route was relatively remote with few points to stop and places along the route to interact with the citizen of the areas visited. Poor preparation of the e-bikes two of the 6 bikes were not at the pick up location and not properly charged. The first day was difficult riding heavy bikes without power. Very disappointing start to our trip.

    Hotel accommodations were fair. The opening property was excellent, while the balance were two and three star quality properties. That said, all the people at the hotels and the bike rental location were friendly and helpful. I would have welcomed better hotel locations and would be willing to pay more. Self-guided does not need to be budget.

    In general, of the other guided and self-guided rides in Europe this ride was 4th of 4.

    How many tours have you completed?
    4, 2 guided and 2 self-guided
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Sweden
    • 3/5 Value
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Sweden’s West Coast
    (5/5) Charles Russo 4 months ago

    Going Home to the Motherland :)

    · Sweden’s West Coast: Helsingborg to Gothenburg

    The tour was an excellent way to meet people and see the country. We thoroughly enjoyed it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Sweden
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Emily Eich 4 months ago

    Kattlegattleden

    · Sweden’s West Coast: Helsingborg to Gothenburg

    Kattlegattleden was such a safe, beautiful, biker friendly trail. Our two favorite towns were Varberg and Falkenberg. If we could we would have stayed in Varberg a second night. Each destination was easy to locate and most days our luggage was waiting for us upon arrival! Everyone we met was kind and patient with us as Americans. Just be warned: don’t try to short cut by taking bikes on the train on a beautiful beach weekend! The one day we wanted to do 40 miles, instead of 60 we waited for 2 trains in Bastad and finally gave up; the train conductors told us there was no way we were getting bikes on!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Sweden
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) David Roberts 4 months ago

    Great Bike Trip

    · Sweden’s West Coast: Helsingborg to Gothenburg

    Great route - well marked, easy to follow, mostly paths and safe (little "on-road" riding with very light traffic). Easy terrane with very manageable riding distances for most cyclist. Accommodations were clean, comfortable, friendly and above average, although not luxurious. Bikes were good quality and well maintained. Beautiful country and friendly people. I've done more than 20 European cycling tours and I'd rate this as very good value given the modest price point

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    20
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Sweden
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Daniel Harrison 4 months ago

    Beautiful Bicycling

    · Sweden’s West Coast: Helsingborg to Gothenburg

    I used BikeTours.com to book a memorable six-day, self-guided bicycling vacation in Sweden, where four members of my family travelled in late July 2022. The tour, named “Sweden’s West Coast: Helsingborg to Gothenburg,” provides a nice introduction to Sweden’s rural areas, towns, and the city of Gothenburg. Throughout our 242-mile journey, I was reminded of a popular nursery rhyme that begins “Jack be nimble, Jack be quick,” thanks to the excellent pre-trip support provided by our bikeTours.com trip consultant, Kirsten.

    Kirsten used her nimble planning skills to help us avoid unexpected logistical challenges with our tour. Multi-day concerts in Gothenburg meant most hotel rooms were booked well in advance, and Kirsten worked with us to devise alternative travel dates that made this trip feasible and affordable, with roofs over our heads. We spent each night in a different hotel, and check-in was always easy.

    She was quick to respond to my inquiries on a variety of issues, including preferred types of bicycles, location of our hotels, desire for non-smoking rooms, and access to map routes.

    The nursery rhyme ends with these words: “Jack jump over the candlestick.” On our bicycling vacation, we jumped numerous steams and other bodies of water on the well-maintained bridges on the national bike trail, the Kattegattleden. Mostly flat, the route is typically separate from roads, and traverses farmland and charming seaside towns along a pristine coast, ending each day’s journey at a centrally-located hotel.

    The final word in the rhyme is “candlesticks.” The design of many restaurants and hotels included lit candles, and contributed to the Scandinavian “hygge” lifestyle. The staff at places where we stayed and dined were welcoming and efficient, though none could hold a candle to the excellent service provided by Kirsten. (DH)

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Sweden
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Keith Raymond 4 months ago

    A Swedish Delight

    · Sweden’s West Coast: Helsingborg to Gothenburg

    We really enjoyed this late June trip on the west coast of Sweden. It was well organized, very scenic, lovely towns and hotels. Excellent restaurants and beer to be found along the way. Cycling is not difficult. Would recommend.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Sweden
  • Stockholm Round Trip Across Swedish History
    (5/5) RachelB November 5, 2019

    Gorgeous scenery and very fun tour

    · Stockholm Round Trip Across Swedish History

    This was my first self-guided bike tour, and I was traveling alone. The experience cycling in the countryside and through the smaller cities in Sweden was incredible. Because the tour leaves once each week, most days I was able to enjoy breakfast and short sections of the route with others on my trip. I made a friend out of one of the other solo travelers, and we ended up cycling together the last few days! Sweden is astounding--the rolling terrain, agriculture, and architecture were exactly what I needed on this trip. Everything felt cozy and welcoming to me. The tour documents recommended lunch stops or places to enjoy fika (breaks for coffee and cake!) for each day. Accommodations were terrific as well. I was able to use the turn-by-turn directions, maps, and GPS unit with no issues.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Sweden
    • Photo 1 (photo by RachelB)
    • Cycling beside so many lakes (photo by RachelB)
    • FIKA! :) (photo by RachelB)
    • Drottningholm Castle (photo by RachelB)
    • Cycling between wheat fields (photo by RachelB)
    • Country views (photo by RachelB)
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Stockholm and Sormland
    (5/5) BRAG September 4, 2019

    Beautiful scenery, quiet roads, a well-organized tour.

    · Stockholm and Sormland

    Our custom group tour of 20 was guided with most meals included and luggage transfer. Our bicycle tour guide, who biked with us each day, and his assistant were experienced, competent leaders, and paid close attention to every detail. Our bicycle guide had a good knowledge of Sweden's history and culture and provided us with information along the route. The luggage van driver prepared 3 gourmet picnic lunches, some of the best ever on a bicycle tour. Our 2 guides went above and beyond keeping our group well-informed of each day's activities and on schedule. We enjoyed having both guides join us for dinner. We were met by a local tour leader for 2 castle tours and an excellent harbor tour of Stockholm was organized at the end of the bicycle tour. The guest houses in the countryside were lovely 4* accommodations. The food was excellent and well presented. The routes were safe on secondary roads and paved bicycle paths for the most part, with some roads gravel and packed dirt. If I could have changed anything, it would be less gravel roads. Most of our group did not object. Seven riders in our group rode hybrid bicycles, others requested an electric assistant bicycle. The terrain was gently rolling with a few surprise short hills. Either way, it's a very pleasant ride with picturesque scenery. There were no complaints from our group on this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 3, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    15
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Sweden
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Stockholm Round Trip Across Swedish History
    (4/5) Wild women September 4, 2019

    Wonderful trip

    · Stockholm Round Trip Across Swedish History

    Sweden was wonderful and I'm so glad I went on this tour.
    My problem was with the navigation and the appropriateness of costing an electric bicycle.
    Like my tour to Holland 4 years ago, no one actually sat down with any of us and went over the navigation materials beforehand. I think that it was expected that we'd simply be able to follow the path. Of 3 GPS devices, only 1 worked. Additionally, the odometer reading didn't correspond to the written materials or the GPS. It is, I find, essential to have someone from the tour group go over all those small details, and not assume that it is clear to the group.
    Secondly, the GPS wasn't replaced till day 3, and I had to struggle with it to find a way to make it work. The Garmin devices were useless. Again if someone had taken the time to show us how to make them work, that may have been much better.
    Thirdly, one of the women in our group ordered an e-bike. This proceeded to be a disaster - a suggestion for arranging this next time would be to help someone distinguish an e-road bike from an e-touring bike. Myself, I don't think an e-touring bike is appropriate for this trip - it's too heavy, more like a moped and not good news the gravel roads.
    Once we got the hang of it, had two functioning GPS systems that functioned the entire day, and figured out how to coordinate the odometer with the GPS/written materials, it was all good. And in spite if these
    difficulties, I had a fab trip!!!
    The hotels/inns/route was great as well!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug19-23
    How many tours have you completed?
    One other
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Sweden
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe September 5, 2019

      So glad to hear you enjoyed Sweden and your tour! Thanks for the notes on the GPS functionality and suggestions for instruction - we'll pass this onto the tour operator so that they may improve this. We're sorry to hear your friend did not enjoy the e-bike; they do tend to be heavier as they have a battery, etc. Thanks again for your feedback; we're so glad you enjoyed the hotels and route and had a fab trip!

    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) victoria August 30, 2019

    Great way to see region around Stockholm

    · Stockholm Round Trip Across Swedish History

    This tour was a great way to see the region around Stockholm. Very scenic routes to view the landscape and good opportunities to see palace and historical buildings along the way. We were very happy with the hotels. It was difficult to shift gears on the bike that I rode because the bike was not properly tuned and the seat was uncomfortable because it wobbled. We were a group of four who requested four GPS units and received only one that functioned--an older model that does not offer the amenities of newer models. The written instructions they provided were sometimes hard to follow, which sometimes made it difficult to be sure we were on the right path. However, this could be easily fixed if they included more detail about the different kinds of roads and paths we would be take. All in all, I had a fantastic time and have no regrets.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 18, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Sweden
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe August 31, 2019

      Victoria - thanks for the review. We'll be sure to pass your details onto the tour operator regarding the bikes, GPS, and written instructions. It sounds like a few simple adjustments could take this tour up a notch. We're delighted to hear you had a fantastic time and liked the hotels, sights, and route!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 1/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Sweden June 23, 2019

    Stockholm and beyond

    · Stockholm Round Trip Across Swedish History

    Cycling in the area south of Stockholm was very pleasant. Empty roads and beautiful scenery, lakes, forests, rocky hillsides and the occasional herd of deer. Route directions were generally clear and easy to follow and the hills mentioned were far less intimidating than we had expected. Some of the gravel roads were ‘interesting’, but nothing that the hire bikes couldn’t cope with. The local rep, Frank, was excellent both for his briefing and for seamlessly transferring our luggage every day. I would have added some photos but unfortunately this part of your review specification doesn’t seem to work!

    What was the date of your tour?
    10 June 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Sweden
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection