Bike Tour Reviews

  • Best of Holland South
    (5/5) Murphycreek September 18, 2018

    Can't think of a better way to see Holland

    · Best of Holland South: Canals, Windmills, and Historic Towns

    We did this tour in late August, 2018. We are reasonably fit early 70 year olds from California. Neither of us had been on a bicycle in years. We loved it. Some observations:
    -Probably the best, unique thing was the route. We were given a little GPS thing that told us where to go, turn by turn. It didn't just go from A to B. It took us through charming town centers, on farm roads through the polders, along rivers and canals, by windmills, through North Sea dunes, through tiny villages and suburbs. Even through an industrial park (think bulb and flower industries).
    -The hotels ranged from very charming to just fine, and all were within a stroll of the heart of town.
    -The bicycles were top notch, like new, lovingly maintained.
    -The distances were just right. At the end of each day, we felt exercised but hardly exhausted, and deeply appreciated a cold beer.
    -The weather was good. Pleasantly warm, some sun and some overcast. It started to rain just once, and around the next bend was an appealing hotel with a good lunch.
    -We liked Peter-the-bike-guy very much. He has a stringy tour de France look, speaks excellent Euro-English, gave us clear, concise instruction on how to do things, and was amusing. Also, he was quite gracious when we told him about the bike falling into the canal.
    -If we were doing the trip again (or knew beforehand what we know now), we would have made one change. We would have arranged to stay two nights in Gouda and Delft, and would have arrived a day earlier in Utrecht (we did stay an extra day in Leiden). This would have allowed us to spend time with the museums and other charms of these wonderful cities.
    -Finally, we loved being immersed in Dutch bike culture. Everybody bikes, bikes are everywhere, isolated bike lanes go most places, cars respect bike rights, and oh-by-the-way people looked conspicuously leaner than in the rest of Europe, let alone in America.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 19
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Alex655321 June 5, 2017

    Excellent mix of challenge, history and culture

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    Great way to experience the Danube area of Germany and Austria. Scenery was diverse and there were plenty of extra hills for those that wanted a challenge. Accommodations were clean, local and relevant to the area. Bikes were better than I expected. Looking forward to my next ride.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 22-29, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by Alex655321)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Alex655321)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Alex655321)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Alex655321)
    • Photo 5 (photo by Alex655321)
    • Photo 6 (photo by Alex655321)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Venice
    (5/5) Pedalann February 28, 2016

    A Spectacular Ride from the Austrian Border to Venice

    · Dolomites to Venice Along the Old Dolomites Railway Track

    This tour allowed us to experience the changing face of Italy from the quite Austrian north down though many medieval towns and into the coastal plain around Venice. The introduction and orientation by a representative from FunActive Tours was complete and included detailed maps, cue sheets and information about the areas and towns we would be traveling through. We enjoyed each day's ride and learned so much about the history of this part of the country as we went along. We were on the "self-guided" tour and were easily able to follow the route with our maps cue sheets and the route markers posted along the way. We missed our turns only a couple of times and quickly found our way again. The routes were mostly bikeways or very low traffic roads which made the ride especially enjoyable.

    How many tours have you completed?
    25+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 1 A look back a Niederdorf as we left in the morning (photo by Pedalann)
    • 2 Spectacular scenery (photo by Pedalann)
    • 3 A quiet trail along the Brenta River (photo by Pedalann)
    • 4 We followed the Sile River past Casale sul Sile (photo by Pedalann)
    • 5 Arriving at our hotel in Quarto d'Altino (photo by Pedalann)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Three Lakes Tour
    (5/5) Ginger10 5 months ago

    Perfect bike tour through stunning countryside

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    My husband and I completed this self-guided tour in June 2022. Everything about the trip was perfect. We went for the higher level accomadations and were very pleases, especially with the Chateau. Much of the trip is on bike paths which makes it more enjoyable. Luggage transferw were flawless and the e-bikes were terrific.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Rioja: Hidden Spain, Land of Wine
    (5/5) TJS53 July 29, 2019

    Amazing Scenery along the Ebro River

    · Rioja: Hidden Spain, Land of Wine

    The route takes riders through some of the most sparsely populated and beautiful parts of Spain. Much of the ride along the river winds through a deep canyon. Although the route follows the river downstream, there is significant climbing (and some of it steep) everyday, but the pay off, terrific views and then long downhill stretches, is well worth it. The tour is ranked 2?, but it is a 3.

    The route takes riders through interesting villages steeped in history. You'll see churches, castles, bridges, plenty of wheat and sunflower fields. There are quite a few opportunities to get off the bicycle, see the sites and interact with the locals. Be sure to see the castle and the cathedral in Frias. In Laguardia we arrived in time to witness the "running of the cows", an annual festival featuring a parade of town dignitaries and marching band that culminates with the release of cows that romp through the cobblestone streets. A good time was had by all, except maybe for the cows.

    We took the tour during a record-setting heatwave, three days of temperatures over 100 degrees, so we started early each day to get to the next hotel before the heat became unbearable. I'd plan to do this trip during a time of year more likely to offer moderate temperatures.

    The hotels were always good. However the Posada de Ormas, Hotel Romanca and the Hospederia de los Parajes in Laguardia were outstanding.

    All in all this is a good tour and a great value.

    What was the date of your tour?
    6-23-2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • The Castle in Frias. (photo by TJS53)
    • Orbaneja del Casillo (photo by TJS53)
    • Photo 3 (photo by TJS53)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Medieval Villages of Catalonia
    (5/5) HelC June 4, 2017

    Excellent from start to finish!

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    This is a great introduction to the region, mixing coast and countryside, modern and ancient. We took the guided option to spare ourselves the map reading, the routes are generally well signposted but a few turnings could be tricky to spot. We've done previous tours in Tuscany I'd say the grade 2 rating is appropriate for the length of daily ride (up to 40km) plus the hills are fewer and generally shorter than the grade 2 Tuscany rides. Recommend taking the coastal walk option on day three, the botanical gardens are lovely even for a non-botanist. Bikes are very high quality, not a single problem all week, and even at a leisurely pace we were at our hotels by 4pm and able to enjoy a relaxed evening. No complaints at all, it was a great week!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Wild Atlantic Way Cycling
    (5/5) LR cycle 5 months ago

    Wild wind on the Wild Atlantic Way!

    · Wild Atlantic Way Cycling

    Two couples cycled the Wild Atlantic way for 6 days in June. It turned out we had to contend with tropical storm Alex but fortunately we had rented e-bikes for the often head on strong winds. The b&bs and hotels were great along the route. A highlight for all of us was the ferry to and from Inishbofin Island, the cycling on the island and the stay there. We also took advantage of hiking in the Connemara National Park along the way. All in all the tour was great!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 6, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel and Saar
    (5/5) Joyce September 18, 2018

    The Mosel Valley Bike & Barge adventure is a perfect combination of stunning scenery, exercise and wine!

    · · Mosel and Saar by Bike and Boat

    Excellent help from the BikeTours.com staff – especially Liv! Comfortable accommodations aboard the MS Patria, delicious food, staff exceeded all expectations, bikes were good, pedaling was easy, scenery beautiful, route went thru interesting and historic villages and cities. With a group of 29, there was something for everyone – every day – and no complaints from anyone!
    BTC staff review “Liv helped our group of 29 get booked……and was accommodating with every change and request along the way. Everyone thought a group that large would be impossible to book…but, Liv made it easy!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 1 - Sept 8
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • The 'Hawaii Group'  gathered for one last photo 'up top' on the barge (photo by Joyce)
    • MS Patria with Cochem Castle in the background (photo by Joyce)
    • One of many delicious meals aboard the MS Patria (photo by Joyce)
    • Rest stop! (photo by Joyce)
    • Courtyard in Bernkastel (photo by Joyce)
    • Saarburg - a wonderful place to start the Bike & Barge adventure - spend at least a day or two there! (photo by Joyce)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Best of Catalonia Cycle Touring
    (5/5) george October 3, 2017

    Surprisingly luxurious biking

    · Best of Catalonia Cycle Touring

    the biking was largely on old railroad right of ways or farm roads. the sections on paved roads were nearly deserted of traffic. The Costa Brava was gorgeous. Lots of medieval stone hilltop towns. The hotels were just fabulous. Great lunches and dinners for relatively little money. A side trip to the Dali museum.

    What was the date of your tour?
    mid-September
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Zephyr February 17, 2016

    Excellent.

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    Beautiful scenery, mostly on cycle tracks, three countries, cultures and languages, nice weather, pleasant lodging.

    How many tours have you completed?
    six
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Sweden’s West Coast
    (5/5) Charles Russo 4 months ago

    Going Home to the Motherland :)

    · Sweden’s West Coast: Helsingborg to Gothenburg

    The tour was an excellent way to meet people and see the country. We thoroughly enjoyed it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Sweden
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Best of Holland North
    (5/5) Julane July 28, 2019

    Holland is better by bike!

    · Best of Holland North: Dutch Villages, Landscapes, and the Keukenhof

    We combined this tour with the Best of Holland South tour (Canals, Windmills, and Historic Towns), starting in Utrecht and ending in Amersfoort, The owners of Tulip Cycling, Peter Vos and Liesbeth van Vulpen, did a fabulous job arranging charming and centrally located accommodations and providing excellent bikes with spot-on GPS routing. These two tours offered everything (and more) that you expect to see in Holland: windmills, tulips, quaint towns, history, art, architecture. We recommend doing these tours in April when tulip, daffodil and hyacinth fields are at their peak and the Keukenhof is open.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    20+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    • Kinderdijk (photo by Julane)
    • Gouda (photo by Julane)
    • Keukenhof (photo by Julane)
    • Tulip, daffodil and hyacinth fields (photo by Julane)
    • Marken (photo by Julane)
    • Amersfoort (photo by Julane)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike and Boat
    (5/5) TJ8387 September 17, 2018

    My favorite way to travel!

    · · Danube Bike and Boat: Passau-Budapest-Passau – MS Prinzessin Katharina

    I loved this tour! The bikes and cycle routes were great. The food was very good but unfortunately the the dining room on the boat was SO HOT that we could not enjoy our dinners. Thank goodness each stateroom had its own air conditioner. Fellow cyclists were very friendly and always willing to help if needed. Our guide seemed angry when people asked questions and responded in an aggressive manner (which made people hesitant to ask questions). We were told that there was internet on the boat in Austria but it was non-existent ... so it would have been better to advertise that there is NO WiFi.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 21-28
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Salzburg to Vienna
    (5/5) Kretch October 3, 2017

    One of the most beautiful rides I have taken in Europe

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    I am so glad I elected to ride from Salzburg to Vienna rather than Passau. The ride was beautiful, mountains coming down to the bike trails and Alpine lakes to ride along. It was not difficult for the average rider and a ranking of easy 2 is fair. From Linz to Vienna was also very nice and it gave us enough river riding to make the trip a good combination of mountains and riverside.

    What was the date of your tour?
    9-5-17
    How many tours have you completed?
    15 non supported rides in Europe
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) go for it June 2, 2017

    Adventure of a lifetime!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    Everything could not have been better. The small group(30)was just right for riding and for socializing on the boat. The staff were so helpful and friendly. We had an excellent guide whose pride in his country and knowledge of history shone through.
    The bike routes and stops for lunch and for evening walks were idyllic. The bikes were well maintained and comfortable to ride. Coming to the boat for a first class meal at the end of the day, was a delight.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 6-13 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    none
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Lake Garda
    (5/5) Pekka60 January 5, 2016

    Hot hot hot

    · Lake Garda (based in one hotel)

    We knew that things can get very hot in Italy on august, so in 2012 me and my wife decided to book a Tour, where it is possible either cycle, or just spend time on the beach, if its too hot. We have heard that Lake Garda, and the hole area is very nice, so this Tour seemed perfect.
    We flew from Helsinki to Milano, then we had a train, approximately 2 hours, from Milano to Lake Garda. Our hotel was nice little family hotel in Desenzado, with a nice little own beach. On the first day our tour-operator came to meet us and brought our bicycles, maps and other equipment.
    As you know, it can be very hot, but its never too hot to cycle. Every morning we started from the hotel, and we had a nice cycling in the area. One day we took a train to Torino, and we cycled back, 80 km, temperature was 38 C, 100 F.
    Best day we had, was when our tour operator took us with a van to Trento. From Trento we cycled to Riva, in the north part of Lake Garda, and in Riva we took bicycles to a ferry, witch took us back to Dezensano.
    This is very easy Tour to recommend for anyone. If you don"t want to cycle, you can just relax and enjoy your holiday, good food and wine, and atmosphere.

    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • LakeGarda2012 (photo by Pekka60)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Lake Garda
    (5/5) Dwight Chapman 4 months ago

    All on bike trails

    · Dolomites to Lake Garda: Picturesque Cities and Stunning Scenery

    Seriously. First two days were outstanding forest and river stretches. Last couple of days were a bit more urban and flat, but still nice riding. And the towns were all beautiful.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    15
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 1/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Best of Holland South
    (5/5) Julane July 28, 2019

    Holland is better by bike!

    · Best of Holland South: Canals, Windmills, and Historic Towns

    We combined this tour with the Best of Holland North tour (Dutch Villages, Landscapes, and the Keukenhof), starting in Utrecht and ending in Amersfoort. The owners of Tulip Cycling, Peter Vos and Liesbeth van Vulpen, did a fabulous job arranging charming and centrally located accommodations and providing excellent bikes with spot-on GPS routing. These two tours offered everything (and more) of what you expect to see in Holland: windmills, tulips, quaint towns, history, art, architecture. We recommend doing these tours in April when tulip, daffodil and hyacinth fields are in peak bloom and the Keukenhof is open.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    20+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    • Kinderdijk (photo by Julane)
    • Gouda (photo by Julane)
    • Keukenhof (photo by Julane)
    • Tulip, hyacinth and daffodil fields (photo by Julane)
    • Marken (photo by Julane)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Rhine Bike Path
    (5/5) Lillee September 17, 2018

    Greatest family vacation!

    · Rhine Bike Path: Mainz to Cologne

    Rhine biking is perfect combo of castles, beauty, history, food, beer/wine, and fun! Great exercise, not strenuous biking. Four college-age kids and three parents--something for all everyday. We will be back for another trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    7/23/18
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Nancy May 26, 2017

    Beautiful ride through three countries

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    The scenery was ravishing, the directions mostly got us where we needed to go, the breakfasts and hotels were delightful. We opted to rent e-bikes which allowed us to keep up with the stronger riders on our group. One drawback was the lack of directions for getting from the train station in Trieste to our hotel. Not knowing the lay of the land, which streets were apt to be steep or major thoroughfares, it took us 3 times what it should have to get to our hotel. Also Bled is a charming little town, but had we realized it is a major tour bus destination we would not have opted to spend the extra night there.

    What was the date of your tour?
    5/5-12/2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services