Bike Tour Reviews  Lake Constance Bicycle Path


Lake Constance Bicycle Path

COUNTRY: Austria, Germany, Switzerland

6 nights
4.7/5 (58)
Rider Level: Recreational Electric bike tours Primarily bike paths Family-friendly bike tours Client favorites
Rider Level: Recreational Electric bike tours Primarily bike paths Family-friendly bike tours Client favorites

4.7/5 (58)
6 nights

Self guided from EUR € 799

Self-guided:
Daily: Mar 18 -Oct 22, 2023

Description:
The Lake Constance cycle route is one of the most popular bicycle routes in Europe. On this tour you will cycle around the entire lake and get to know three countries and four islands (Reichenau, Mainau, Lindau and Werd). The main highlights are the…

View Tour

  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) Layne Perry 3 months ago

    Lake trip of your dreams!

    A wonderful and unique way to experience Lake Constance, with wonderful food, beautiful water, and relatively flat bike path! A place to stop and eat lunch or take a swim practically anywhere! Opportunities to stand up paddle board or play volleyball!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    First!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) John Thell 3 months ago

    Great adventure

    Wonderful experience. Using ebikes made the trip very doable. The hotels were great - locations,food, service, and comfortable. Not having to worry about luggage was a great relief. The only thing that was frustrating was poor maps in a couple of the larger towns - finding the hotels can be a challenge. Usually the locals were very helpful in giving directions. Would recommend a gps system for our next trip. We were very pleased overall and biking around Lake Constance was more than we imagined.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    One
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Karen and christy October 21, 2019

    Fantastic!

    My friend and I did a self guided tour around Lake Constance-gorgeous! And such fun. The bike people were fabulous and fitted us and gave us crucial directions. Had a blast and will definitely be doing this again :)

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 4-9,2019
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) gt00000 October 14, 2019

    Bodensee ride

    Fun, very scenic ride, fairly easy. You can see why this route is so popular.

    What was the date of your tour?
    28/09/19 to 4/10/19
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) KfromPhiladelphia October 12, 2019

    Very enjoyable bike ride around Lake Constance

    This was our first bike trip, but won't be our last - what a great experience! We loved exploring the towns the towns around Lake Constance via our ebikes! (This was our first time on ebikes and I'd highly recommend those as well)

    The hotels were all excellent - we couldn't have chosen better for ourselves. Our luggage was always waiting for us upon arrival each day. The information on what to see was very helpful.

    We made a couple changes to our itinerary which were handled effortlessly by BikeTours. We appreciated all the assistance in initially planning our trip and thank everyone who helped me put this together. We had a great trip.

    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) colrip7 October 11, 2019

    Great area for a bike tour

    6 of us made this tour. None of us were "experienced" riders, but we all had fun. A couple of things I would change if it were up to me - the ParkHotel St Leonard in Uberlingen is a little over 2km, all uphill from the main town. The hotel is very nice, but we didn't like the uphill ride and all of us wanted to go into town, but none of us wanted to redo the uphill ride. The other thing is the third day ride from Uberlingen to Lindau was too far for us to do in one day while trying to see all the sights along the way. We cheated and took the ferry from Friedrichshafen to Lindau.
    All of the hotels were very nice, clean and very accommodating. Our luggage was always at the hotel before we were.
    The bikes were in fine shape and we had no trouble with the bikes. We had a mixture of regular bikes and ebikes.
    All in all we had a great time and would recommend this trip, but I would look for a slightly different itinerary.
    Liv at BikeTours was extremely helpful and we are grateful to her for her help.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 17, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) ireneski October 5, 2019

    Great trip except for first destination.

    This is the second time I've taken this tour with my friends. We liked it so much 6 years ago that we were interested in returning. All the destinations and accommodations were better than previously except for the first destination. Instead of stopping in Stein am Rhein, a beautiful medieval town, they booked us into Gailingen, a town that took us another hour to get to, and was not the charming experience we had to forgo. The trail up the steep hill was more suitable for a mountain bike, not the hybrids that we had. As we came down the steep hill the next morning one of our group had a nasty fall and had to rent an ebike to complete the trip. The hotel staff was also not friendly. They refused to serve us tap water and would only offer bottled water at 6 euros/bottle. This was a terrible way to start our trip. If you go around this beautiful lake, insist on staying in Stein am Rhein.
    Also, we stayed an extra night in Uberlingen. Definitely worth an extra day to spend time at the thermal baths.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept. 12, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe October 6, 2019

      Thanks kindly for this review. We're sorry to hear about the hotel experience in Gailingen. We'll be sure to inform the tour operator this is not the preferred choice when booking this tour. (But sometimes, it may be the only option available.) We hope that your group member has recovered! And we're so glad they were able to complete the tour via ebike! Thanks again for your feedback, and we're overjoyed you had a great trip.

    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Laird September 29, 2019

    Beautiful scenery and fabulous destinations!

    Great time exploring southern Germany around Lake Constance. The bike path was well signed for easy navigation. Our group stopped often for photos as we passed through lovely villages and beautiful scenic lake views. We had the opportunity to go up on a gondola for a view of the Austrian mountains, visited the Thermal Spa in Uberlingen and saw sculptures the public gardens at the Wurth Building. All in all a lovely trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Simona September 7, 2019

    Amazing bike holiday

    Our bike holiday this summer was a perfect way to discover and enjoy the wonderful landscapes and sights of Germany, Switzerland and Austria, riding along Lake Constance in five days, between August 21 and August 25. The weather was excellent: no rain and not very hot, just perfect.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 21-August 25
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Bregenz (photo by Simona)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Susana August 29, 2019

    Great option for families with small childrwn!

    The scenary is great, the path is easy and the signals are very clear, the villages are beautiful and with a lot of options for fun (playgrounds, pools, baths on the lake...) . People are very helpful. We decided to spend two days in Uberlingen and it is a very beautiful village with fantastic therms and gardens. It is very easy to shorten the initial route taking a train or a boat (we did it one day that it rained a lot!). I recommend this route for families with small children (7-14 years)

    What was the date of your tour?
    August
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Uberlingen (photo by Susana)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) nunn July 28, 2019

    Wunderbar

    The tour was as described. The ferry came in handy one of the days. Directions were a problem. Once we got our of Konstanz and figured out what we were to follow it went better. Thanks to all the people who helped us along the way. Very helpful and friendly. The lake was delightful to swim in and cycle along. The scenery was delightful. We had ebikes and that's the way to go.

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/30/19
    How many tours have you completed?
    10+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 2/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) eliza July 22, 2019

    Fun for the whole family

    We all loved it!!! Beautifully organized, great accomadations and food, the scenery was beautiful and plenty of gelato and swimmming along the way

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 4th, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) PeterP June 30, 2019

    A Ride to remember

    I did the tour on my own. Weather was great except for one day of showers The first day was the most difficult because there were a number of towns and the directions were not detailed Highly recommend using GPS in the towns Which of the route is bicycle paths which are very easy to navigate. The hotels were excellent particularly Uberlingen and Lindau. The Zepplin museum is a must Highlight destinations were Stein am Rhein and LIndau.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 5 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    None
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Photo 1 (photo by PeterP)
    • Photo 2 (photo by PeterP)
    • Steckborn (photo by PeterP)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Woohoozen June 28, 2019

    Epic

    Gorgeous ride! Perfect stops. Nice accommodations with plenty of good food options. Well maintained bikes. Trip of a lifetime!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Dave and Chris June 15, 2019

    Lake Constance/Bodensee

    This was our third tour as a couple, and my fourth. My favorite was Croatia bike/boat in 2006, followed by Danube - Passau to Vienna, and Saar/Mosel (tossup). This tour was excellent too, but many of the paths/roads weren't along the lakes. The first day from Konstanz to Stein am Rhine and the second back towards Konstanz again was a little hilly, and we had to wait out a thunderstorm with small hail at the border crossing into Stein am Rhine. All the hotels were excellent. Remember to use the boat voucher crossing to Ueberlingen. I didn't, costing me extra. Some interesting birds and wildlife will be seen in the Rhine Delta on the third day, and we often heard cookoos. After we picked up bikes, we were suggested by the tourist office to see Mainau Island after 5pm when admission is half-price. Meersburg Castle is well-worth seeing. The Zeppelin Museum in Friedrichshafen was someone interesting, but only for transport fans like me. We enjoyed the tour very much.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 25-30 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) The mangles cycle group June 14, 2019

    Story book stuff

    What a fantastic way to explore the German/ Swiss border area. Absolutely fantastic to see so much with no stress of driving or timetables. Brilliant

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) Horned Frog June 4, 2019

    Fun time... but

    I enjoyed the tour a great deal, but the route instructions were sketchy at best, and the bike weighed only slightly less than a Sherman tank.... which would not have been much of a problem except that the route had more hills than expected. The hotels selected were all very nice.

    What was the date of your tour?
    21 May
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe June 5, 2019

      We appreciate the feedback on this tour. We agree... the bikes on tour are often heavier than the ones you may use at home, and the first few days of this tour are moderately hilly. We will pass your notes regarding the route instructions on to the tour operator. Overall, we're glad you had fun and enjoyed the hotels!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Two Floridians September 30, 2018

    Exceptional biking vacation!

    The Lake Constance ride was much nicer than we anticipated. Unlike the US, the area caters to cyclists with a significant portion of the ride on dedicated trails. The towns are charming and the open area between was beautiful. We recommend having GPS accessible as navigation was a bit confusing at times, but very doable. The trail is very flat and suitable to riders with moderate athleticism. Enjoy!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection