Tuscany  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Florence to Rome
    (2/5) Mark Abzug 7 months ago

    meh

    · Florence to Rome

    great cycling, but eurotours was terrible. no orientation, routed us on some busy roads, no customer service at all. I've done 5 of these, and this group was the worst support outfit by far

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
  • Tuscan Wine Classic
    (4/5) Michael Burkardt 7 months ago

    Beautiful Countryside

    · Tuscan Wine Classic: Pienza to Castellina via Siena

    Our Bike Tour Company Cicloposse was exceptional, the best we ever had. There was not a single detail they missed, providing a booklet covering highlights for a given day of each town we'd pass through and as well as where to eat. We had a minor issue that was no fault of their own and the customer service was top notch. They're professional and knowledgeable. The only hiccup was a closed bridge that added a hour to our ride that day. Warning: unless you are a very strong rider get an E bike. Some climbs are miles long with a 14% grade.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
  • Tuscany and Umbria
    (4/5) Louise C van Vonno 9 months ago

    Fantastic but more challenging then we are used to!

    · Tuscany and Umbria: Cycling in the Heart of Italy

    My husband and I have done over 10 bike tours around the world and this was by far the most challenging. If we had received the itinerary earlier than 6:30pm the day before we started we might have requested some route adjustments but there just wasn't time. We were assured by the local cycling company that provided the excellent e-bikes that we should be careful about battery usage but we would be OK. We were ok but truly exhausted at the end of most days. The route was excellent and we wanted to go back to some of the towns we visited when we weren't so tired.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June/ July 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    10+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Cycling and Cooking in Tuscany
    (5/5) Paula Seliga 10 months ago

    Cycling and Cooking in Tuscany

    · Cycling and Cooking in Tuscany

    We had excellent guides, hosts, chefs, restaurants, sites to see, bikes, fellow tourists, and accommodations. The only thing I would have changed is to begin the cooking classes earlier, so we could have eaten earlier. Difficult to pass up all that gorgeous food, but if you ate it, difficult to go to sleep with such a full stomach, and then get up and eat again!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    •  (photo by Paula Seliga)
    •  (photo by Paula Seliga)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from JV July 5, 2023

      Thanks for your business, the pics, and a glorious review. Hope to help you again on another glutinous journey. :)

  • Tuscany Getaway
    (5/5) Juan Pablo Beca 10 months ago

    A nice and perfect organization

    · Tuscany Getaway: 4 Nights in Siena, Montalcino & Pienza

    Routes and the booklet given to us were very clear and helpful. We would have liked to receive details of each of our two bikes sot to ask for change. In fact we did not need so heavy bikes for the roads of our tour, and one as 27 and the other was 29" wheels for same height of the two of us.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
  • Tuscany and Umbria
    (4/5) KAY SINGLETON December 9, 2022

    Most challenging of all bike trips we've done

    · Tuscany and Umbria: Cycling in the Heart of Italy

    There was a great sense of accomplishment each time we reached the hilltop towns, often after an over 1000m climb; all of the towns were beautiful with awesome views; the accomodations were excellent; we found the descents scary at times and were glad to have good brakes; sooo glad we got the road bikes! would not do this trip without them!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
  • Florence to Rome
    (5/5) Michael Kelly November 8, 2022

    All roads lead to Rome

    · Florence to Rome

    This tour was spectacular. This trip checks all the boxes — it has the art, beauty and walkability of Florence; the majestic history of Rome; tied together by the bike ride that got us away from the crowds in both cities and into the countryside and small towns, traveling at a perfect pace to appreciate this beautiful region of Italy. The luggage transfer was seamless. The hotels were very comfortable and (except in Rome) all were small and conveniently located near each town’s important sites and central piazza.
    You asked for feedback.
    One layover day would have been great, probably in Assisi where we found there’s too much to see in just one afternoon/evening. I don’t know how you would make it work, but you asked for suggestions.
    The intro session on Day 1 was a serious weak point in the tour. The evening talk was cancelled and the bike distribution on the morning of Day 2 was handled by a nice employee who only spoke Italian. It could have been a disaster with no instruction about the route or the unfamiliar ebikes, but the group worked it out.
    The hotel in Rome was comfortable but it was the only one not located in a convenient part of town and it’s focus on large groups traveling by tour bus was a jarring contrast to everything else about the tour.
    Some of the hills were longer and harder than expected, and traffic on a few short stretches was difficult. But our lasting memories will be the vineyards and olive groves, the quiet side streets and bike paths, the breathtaking hill towns, and the flexibility to stop at a cafe for pastries, cappuccinos or afternoon beers.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 1, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our second
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Paul Clark October 16, 2022

    Cycling a Disappointment but Good travel Itinerary

    · Florence to Rome

    My partner had a biking accident and, after completing the first day’s 60 km ride nonetheless, we decided to take the train and just enjoy this lovely part of Italy. There was just too much traffic and too few shoulders on the roads for us to feel safe and relax. The hotels were comfortable and clean and typically in the historic centre of these charming little towns. There were many sites to see and the daily hiking up and down the local hills while site seeing provided more than adequate exercise. Overall, a wonderful experience-despite the biking misadventure-which we will remember forever.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
  • Tuscany and Umbria
    (5/5) Elizabeth Bevier October 15, 2022

    Tuscany Umbria biking

    · Tuscany and Umbria: Cycling in the Heart of Italy

    It was a fun experience although a bit more strenuous than we anticipated. Lesson learned - check the difficulty level when you book a bike tour.
    The ebikes worked well and we were able to follow the directions on our self-guided tour. Our luggage was always at the next hotel before we arrived.

    Looking forward to doing another bike tour at some point in the future.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Tuscany Getaway
    (5/5) Andrew Cochran October 5, 2022

    Wonderful experience

    · Tuscany Getaway: 4 Nights in Siena, Montalcino & Pienza

    My wife and I spent 9 days in Italy, with the first three days being our bike tour and that was by far our favorite part of the trip. The tour operators were so kind and friendly and helpful and were also very flexible as our travel plans were delayed last minute. We will absolutely being doing another one of their tours!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    One
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) VICTOR GONZALEZ September 21, 2022

    Very nice experience

    · Tuscany Getaway: 4 Nights in Siena, Montalcino & Pienza

    The trip was perfect. The hotels, the bikes and the support team, the routes, everything. I will strongly recommned the trip. The hotels locations, breakfasts, the retaurants recomendetions, the APP to get the indications during the routes.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • A nice lunch break at Montepulciano (photo by VICTOR GONZALEZ)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Tuscany and Umbria
    (2/5) John (Jay) Bonitt August 12, 2022

    Significant elevation!

    · Tuscany and Umbria: Cycling in the Heart of Italy

    This was our fourth self-guided Biketours.com trip, the firs three were five-star successes. This one was the most disappointing, not because of the region or places to stay…all were good! But, this trip had over 16,400 ft. Of elevation..even on E-bikes (for the first time) it was VERY difficult. We saw only one or two road bikers the entire trip, whereas on the previous trips we saw lots of road bikes. As experienced bike tours.com travelers we’re pretty attuned to following direction…this particular trip had poor written and app directions. If you are interested in this particular trip you had better be in the best shape of your life. It is not a moderate level trip…even on an e-bike.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Kirsten from Biketours August 19, 2022

      Hi John,
      Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback. We do realize this tour is difficult and that is a likely reason you saw fewer cyclists on the route than in past trips. We're sorry to hear you had trouble with the GPS application. For future, we'd be happy to review it with you ahead of time to ensure there are no troubles on your tour. And remember, help is always a phone call away! I hope you were able to bring home some good memories from this beautiful area.

    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Tuscan Wine Classic
    (5/5) Amanda De Wet August 10, 2022

    Best holiday ever!

    · Tuscan Wine Classic: Pienza to Castellina via Siena

    Tuscany is beautiful, and it was amazing exploring by bike. We had the best time! Organization was excellent, local company was amazing and helpful, hotel accommodation was perfect - really cannot fault anything. Highly recommended!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Umbria Road Cycling
    (5/5) Aging Cyclist October 27, 2019

    Great countryside, food and hotels

    · Umbria Road Cycling: Loop Tour Through Lush and Scenic Landscape

    We had a tremendous trip. The hill towns and mountain views were superb, our rental bikes were of excellent quality, and the hotels and breakfasts were terrific.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    this is the first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Florence to Rome
    (5/5) rubbernecker October 23, 2019
    · Florence to Rome

    What was the date of your tour?
    10/5 to 10/11
    How many tours have you completed?
    1st
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Tuscany Getaway
    (5/5) Gary O August 1, 2019

    An excellent bike tour to include

    · Tuscany Getaway: 4 Nights in Siena, Montalcino & Pienza

    This was our first time in Italy and the self guided trip was and excellent way to experience all the charms and challenges of this amazing place. Everything from our briefing to the charming and very comfortable hotels was excellent and exceeded our expectations. The bike ride was suitably challenging with regular touring bikes, and proved to be an excellent workout. Towns and villages along the way were all an added bonus. Our tour hosts were excellent and even provided a ride back to Sienna to gather my car on the last day. Thank YOU!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 10 - 14
    How many tours have you completed?
    over 12
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection