Hungary  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Danube Cycle Path
    (5/5) Jesus Edgar Albo Dominguez 6 days ago

    One of the Bucket List!

    · Danube Cycle Path Passau – Budapest

    The hotels were great, the app very easy and useful. The program was really good.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • The end! (photo by Jesus Edgar Albo Dominguez)
    •  (photo by Jesus Edgar Albo Dominguez)
  • Bike to the best of Budapest
    (5/5) J. Hengel 3 weeks ago

    super cool way to see Budapest.

    · Budapest Highlights Bike Tour

    I traveled there another time and randomly got to spend all day biking through Budapest on an earth day ride where they closed the streets...was awesome This is a really fun way to see Budapest and the guides really know the town and history.

    •  (photo by J. Hengel)
    •  (photo by J. Hengel)
    •  (photo by J. Hengel)
  • Danube Four Countries
    (5/5) Sorin Siegler 4 weeks ago

    One of the best trip I ever had.

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    Combining biking with boating created a unique experience of physical activity combined with comfort and with a unique social experience. The entire staff was excellent and their attitude was to go out of their way to accommodate our wishes and produce a high quality experience. Starting with the director Leslie, there are not enough words to describe how professional, positive, full of energy and accommodating this quality individual is. He was not alone, all the staff, including the wonderful guides, servers, cleaning staff, entertaining individual , in short the entire team was wonderful. I will certainly sign again for a boat bike trip with your excellent first, rate company and I can’t wait for next year to come back.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 16
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) AYCA KASIKCI 4 weeks ago

    Great trip!

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    Everything was great @Vivienne! We stayed at master suite. Ship selection is important.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) AYCA KASIKCI 4 weeks ago

    Great trip!

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    Everything was great @Vivienne! We stayed at master suite. Ship selection is important.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Bike and Boat
    (4/5) Robert Arnold 1 month ago

    A geart trip!

    · · Danube Discovery: Bike and Boat through Enchanting Capitals

    Excellent for the most part. Some issues with the boat. 1) Our cabin air conditioning did not consistently work. 2) We shouldn't have to pay for water at meal time. 3) Our group wasn't allowed to change tables at dinner which is something we would have liked to do since we were a group of 40.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 25 - June 1, 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    2 bike-boat tours
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) John Schwartz 1 month ago

    First trip to Europe riverboat cruise

    · · Danube Discovery: Bike and Boat through Enchanting Capitals

    Perfect way to experience Europe for the first time. A nice mix of biking and off days to explore cities and see lovely countryside and smaller towns. Riverboat cruise was very scenic and well planned.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Mary Arnold 2 months ago

    Cask and Castle 2024

    · · Danube Discovery: Bike and Boat through Enchanting Capitals

    Wonderful experience of the Danube! So beautiful along the river! I wish we could have biked more.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Experience
    (5/5) Amy Jenkins 2 months ago

    Great trip!

    · · Danube Experience Bike and Boat Passau-Vienna-Budapest-Belgrade-Iron Gates-Passau

    Great trip with a lot of variation. The crew on the Swiss Crown was wonderful, the food was very good and the cabins comfortable

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Amy Jenkins 2 months ago

    Danube Experience

    · · Danube Experience Bike and Boat Passau-Vienna-Budapest-Belgrade-Iron Gates-Passau

    This trip was great! The boat was very nice and comfortable, bikes were sturdy and visits with local guides outstanding. The paper route was not great but the app seemed to be more accurate. The daily briefings could have been more detailed.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    10+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Four Countries
    (5/5) Frances Clemo 2 months ago

    Wonderful trip

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    What a wonderful way to experience sites of the Danube. The staff and cruise director (Leslie) of Vivienne were great and very helpful. Our tour guide (Barbara) did a great job and took care of us so well.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 05, 2024
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Bike and Boat
    (5/5) DENNIS UMANZIO 2 months ago

    Excellent bike and boat trip. Great Food.

    · · Danube Discovery: Bike and Boat through Enchanting Capitals

    Great bikes. Good batteries. Ship is very nice, great crew, great food for breakfast and dinner and guide on ship was friendly.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    •  (photo by DENNIS UMANZIO)
  • Vienna to Budapest 5-nights
    (3/5) Josée 3 months ago

    Not our dream trip

    · Vienna to Budapest 5-nights (Active)

    We booked the active tour because we did not have time to do the classic. 80-100 km per day were too much, specially when 1 day/4 was 100% rain. We cannot control temperature on a cycling trip, but to cycle 50-60 km in the rain would have been much better than 100km that day. On top of that, our hotel was booked at 130km instead of 100 by mistake. The hotel was nice enough to send a van and a trailer to pick us up. We were soaked!!! Out of 5 hotels, I would consider that 3 nights were more 3.5 stars than 4 and the 2 other nights were 4 to 5 stars. In some small towns, where nobody speak English, it would have nice have more guidance to know where to go to buy the ferry tickets and to know that not all countries use Euros and where to change money for cash only situation. Also, the ferry schedule was not clear, and found out that they take breaks in the morning and can cause a delay.
    We were 3 (1 road bike + 2 e-bikes). The roads were rough in some areas with deep puddles of water during the rain. Of course, a flat happened and we struggled to find a pump for the road bike. The pumps that were given to us were for the e-bikes and did not fit. In a small town with no English speaking around, we managed to resolve the situation. Also, the first morning we started the trip, we had to go to a bike store to ask for extra tires in case of a flat. There were not given to us at the beginning. Thank god we went! Having done 2 cycling trips (Portugal and Croatia) in the past year, we found that the Vienna to Budapest was a bit boring. The landscape was not very different from start to beginning and the distances were long in between the little cities we visited.
    Minimum information were given to us and it would have been nice to have suggestions for restaurants and more details, etc, etc. We received that info with the other companies we used for the other trips.
    A water bottle or a shirt from your company would have been also a nice surprise.
    The trip was OK, but can be improved in many ways for the price we paid.
    We were happy for the quick response when we had the issue with the hotel at 130km instead of 100
    The NH Danube or NH Budapest (We had to change room at 11h00 pm because there was a heating problem that made the room like a sauna and the window handle was broken, so we could not open it….) are more 3 stars hotels. The loft in Bratislava was VERY VERY Nice and the Barok in Gyor was great also. We expected more at the to pass on Esztergom, because we could not come back the next day to visit. I heard that the 30km we missed were worth the views and cycling.
    I would recommend the trip to people that did not cycle in Portugal, Croatia and want a flat route.
    4 days were a lot concerning the distances, but 6 days would have make it long for the lack of change of scenery. This is my opinion!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary, Slovakia
  • Vienna to Budapest
    (5/5) DANNY OPACIC 9 months ago

    Trip to remember

    · Vienna to Budapest (Classic)

    We traveled as a couple (82yrs oldest) and had an enjoyable time. It would have been more enjoyable if the bikes we hired were lighter. The navigation software was excellent. A couple of sections were difficult to negotiate due to strong headwinds, but the rest of the tour required only a moderate effort to complete. Accommodation and associated service were excellent throughout.

    We were most impressed with the initial communication with biketours personnel.

    What was the date of your tour?
    16.09.2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 1/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Bike and Boat
    (5/5) William Wilson 9 months ago

    Adventure

    · · Danube Bike and Boat: Passau-Budapest-Passau – MS SE-Manon

    Overall, it was a great experience. Unfortunately, there was one large group of passengers that took over the lounge and dining room each night. Their behavior was loud and obnoxious. It would have been nice if someone if someone in authority could have spoken to them about the disruptions they created for others.
    Our waiter, Emrah, was amazing. He was most attentive.
    I was disappointed with the cost of the drink package. It was more expensive than I expected.
    The entire crew worked very hard to ensure we all had a wonderful experience.

    What was the date of your tour?
    10/1-10/8
    How many tours have you completed?
    One
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Bike to the best of Budapest
    (5/5) Anne Considine 9 months ago

    Fun and informative

    · Budapest Highlights Bike Tour

    We saw places that we never would have seen or known about if we didn’t do the tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable, easy to understand and flexible with time. The bikes had get most comfortable seats - a big bonus! Would highly recommend this tour.

  • Vienna to Budapest 5-nights
    (5/5) Gina Kelley-Smith 9 months ago

    Bike Snob pleasantly surprised at Bike Quality and Great Hotels

    · Vienna to Budapest 5-nights (Active)

    Overall a great trip. My husband, best friend & her mate rode the beautiful Danube winding through the small towns along the way. We did have a small glitch with our Estergrom Hotel given the Prime Minister Viktor Orban was booked. Our new hotel was another 15 miles away after the longest pedal day but BikeTours took care of it. I would recommend this outfit. Thank you!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    None but been on a couple dozen century, multi day bike rides
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Wine & Bike Hungary’s Balaton Uplands
    (5/5) Gudrun Agisdottir 10 months ago

    Nice trip 👌

    · Wine & Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    Very beatyful landscape all the hotel was and the local vine was so good.
    Gàbor our guide was so nice and helpful.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    •  (photo by Gudrun Agisdottir)
  • Danube Four Countries
    (5/5) Thayne Lyman 10 months ago

    What an awesome trip!

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    This was our first bike and barge tour and it didn't disappoint! We found that we prefer it to regular river cruising. The tour was very well organized, the bikes were always ready and in great condition. The balance of cycling vs site seeing was perfect for us. We loved it so much that we plan to return next year!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 24, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1 including this tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike and Boat
    (5/5) Cynthia John 10 months ago

    Fascinating trip through beautiful countryside

    · · Danube Bike and Boat: Passau-Budapest-Passau – MS SE-Manon

    This was an amazing trip! From Passau to Bratislava, Budapest to Vienna and back to Passau. We had fantastic weather. The only challenging aspect was lack of clarity on the bike routes. The tour directors were challenged in explaining the routes; and the booklets were confusing because they did not shoe the entire routes.
    The meals were great; our room service were very responsive, and the bar servers were great.
    I do wish we had had more time at each of the ports.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 8, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)