Denmark  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Royal Zealand & Copenhagen
    (1/5) Sam Fleischacker 7 days ago

    Denmark is great; BikeTours is not

    · Royal Zealand and Copenhagen

    Are you looking for a tour company that will send you bike directions to the wrong hotels, follow that up with a condescending note when you complain rather than apologizing and correcting their mistake, book you in charmless corporate hotels way outside of the towns you're headed for, and delete your GPS tracks before your trip is finished? If so, this is the trip for you! If not, look elsewhere. My wife and I had some wonderful biking on this trip - but that's because of Denmark, which has beautiful and very well-marked bike trails everywhere (running through forests often), not because of BikeTours: indeed, we sometimes needed to correct the GPS tracks we were sent by the Danish markers, or by asking locals for help. Our previous experience on a self-guided bike tour, in France, was magical: with lovely, varied hotels in beautiful places at the end of each day, a well-crafted route accurately represented on the GPS tracks, and good help available by phone if we needed it (to be fair the Copenhagen representative of this local bike company, Sofia, was very friendly and helpful). This was a great disappointment after that. If you're looking for a tour that is geared towards your enjoyment, rather than the bottom line of the tour operator, I'd avoid BikeTours.com.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark
    • The bathroom in one of our hotels (the shower runs via the sink) - not sure how this hotel managed to eke out 3 stars ... (photo by Sam Fleischacker)
    • 1/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 1/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Your all-encompassing Copenhagen bike tour
    (4/5) E Robertson. 3 weeks ago

    super easy town to bike in

    · Copenhagen Highlights Bike Tour

    Next to Amsterdam, Copehagen is a super bike friendly town. If cycling in a group bothers you, you can also just rent your own bike to see the sights...I believe they also offer private tours.

  • Royal Zealand & Copenhagen
    (5/5) Liliane 9 months ago

    great family experience

    · Royal Zealand and Copenhagen

    We had a great family time. Following the tour was easy - one followed the map, the other the instructions - it was worth following the proposed route and not google maps.
    On the 65km day, we arrived late at our destination and one of the highlights was already closed. Including a bit of info of the main cultural attractions would be helpful. Have Pellerines ready in your bile box - the weather changes quickly. Tanja was of great help and very responsive! Thank you!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark
  • (4/5) Phyllis Bressler 11 months ago

    Bike tour in Denmark

    · Royal Zealand and Copenhagen

    First, the positives - and there are many. The route took us through some beautiful historic towns and gorgeous countryside. We even took the ferry over to Sweden on the first night so that we could add another country to our list. The bikes were very good. Comfortable and sturdy on the somewhat bumpy gravel roads. The hotels we were booked at were all fantastic and in great locations to enable us to explore each town at night.
    We do have some comments about things that might be improved:
    - we arrived in Copenhagen on Thursday, 3 days ahead of the start of our bike trip, and were told our bikes would be delivered ~ 7pm on Sunday. They arrived on Thursday afternoon - with no advanced notice. It was fine, it just would have been nice to know to expect them.
    - We received absolutely no orientation on the bikes, the route maps, etc. On prior trips we've had people quickly walk through the route, pointing out some recommendations, etc. Only when I asked were we given the opportunity to check the fit of the bikes before the delivery person left them. Fortunately, we've been on 6 or 7 other bike trips with biketours.com, so we were familiar w/ the operation of the bikes, and how to read the directions. We were lucky that we reviewed the daily routes before the start of our trip - otherwise we would not have known that on 3 of the 6 nights we were booked at hotels other than the ones listed in the daily directions.
    - There were no 'addenda' to the bike routes to provide directions to the alternate hotels so we had to find them on our own.
    - On a similar trip in Portugal we had the opportunity to use a GPS mapping system. Using that, we could immediately tell if we were, or were not on the proscribed route. On multiple occasions this trip the bike routes were overlapping. We went many kilometers without seeing the route number that was listed in the directions - never knowing for certain if we were on the correct path. On the last day, between Roskilde and Copenhagen, we somehow lost the trail just before the start of the C99 superhighway and spent ~ 2 hours trying to find that route again. Fortunately after asking several people we found an individual who knew exactly what we were looking for and put us back on the right track. Using the GPS system that one time enabled us to know in real time whether we were, or were not on track.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    7 self guided and 1 guided
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Your all-encompassing Copenhagen bike tour
    (3/5) Kirsten Tollefsen 11 months ago

    Ok experience

    · Copenhagen Highlights Bike Tour

    There were 16 people on the tour which was too large a group. The entire group could not get through the lights together resulting in some crossing against the light even after being told the leader would wait. A little hard to hear the leader, but what she said was interesting.

  • Royal Zealand & Copenhagen
    (5/5) Liliane 11 months ago

    great family experience

    · Royal Zealand and Copenhagen

    We had a great family time. Following the tour was easy - one followed the map, the other the instructions - it was worth following the proposed route and not google maps.
    On the 65km day, we arrived late at our destination and one of the highlights was already closed. Including a bit of info of the main cultural attractions would be helpful. Have Pellerines ready in your bile box - the weather changes quickly. Tanja was of great help and very responsive! Thank you!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark
  • (3/5) Edward Baker 11 months ago

    Could Have Been Amazing

    · Royal Zealand and Copenhagen

    The routes took us through some very interesting landscapes and towns. It would have been so much better if our daily information included more specifics about the areas where we traveled. Knowing more about the trails would also have been helpful. At one point, the directions were extremely confusing and led us onto an impassable trail. We understood that in some towns where we stayed the accommodations would be limited and might not have all of the amenities to which we are accustomed. With that we were fine. However, it was disappointing to see better accommodations that were available. Even worse was when the directions sent us to the better hotels only to be told that our reservation was not there and when we arrived at the hotel that was reserved, it was of a much lesser quality. This happened to us twice. At the very least, the route directions should list the correct destination hotel. We should not have to consult two different documents to find our hotel for the night. In our case, we had specifically explained that we would pay more, but wanted to have the best accommodations in each location. This did not happen, although we did pay a higher rate. Fortunately the staff at all of the hotels were exceptionally helpful, friendly, and professional. We were given very limited orientation before beginning the ride and felt that this company was unresponsive and left a lot for the rider to figure out alone. No helmets were provided which wasn't significant for us because we brought our own, but there was no communication indicating that helmets would not be provided. Having notes in the daily plan that noted restaurants along the way and at the destination each day would have been most helpful. In addition, it would have been nice to have known that in serveral locations, the only dining option would be at the hotel. We had a very enjoyable experience, but feel that it could have been far better with more information provided by the organization.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Royal Zealand & Copenhagen
    (4/5) Joseph Braun 12 months ago

    Scenic journey but you better know how to read a map

    · Royal Zealand and Copenhagen

    The bikes were excellent and the company representative was helpful, knowledgeable and more than willing make sure we had a good trip. The hotel in Copenhagen was an average room but noisy and poor ventilation. Other hotel rooms were mostly average. Breakfast was excellent at all the hotels. Directions were average but confusing. It would be helpful to include city maps with the information so tourists can find street names instead of following the directions. Also, be warned that several routes are on gravel paths, not paved.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark
    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Best of Northern Zealand
    (4/5) Bruce Kozarsky July 8, 2023

    Terrific trip under unexpected circumstances

    · Best of Northern Zealand

    One week before our trip was to start, something happened that made it impossible for my wife to bike. The tour was non-refundable at that point, and while we had purchased travel insurance, we weren't sure what they would cover. So we went ahead anyway and in retrospect, we're glad we did. Thanks to Denmark's remarkable rail network, it was very easy (and cheap) to go from hotel to hotel via train. We decided that I would bike for two of the five days and the local tour operator, Ruby Rejser, was wonderfully accommodating, delivering my bike at the start of my two biking days and picking it up at the end. Whether riding or not, the luggage transfer was seamless. The destinations were great, specially the Louisiana Museum, Helsingor (Elsinor), the day in Helsingborg, Sweden, and the Fredericksborg castle in Hillerod.

    On the two days that I rode, the routes were great, combining seaside vistas with forests, parks, farmland, small towns and castles. Most roads have dedicated bike lanes and the bike trails were great, too.

    My only complaints were two: the bike I rode was OK but not in optimal shape because the gears occasionally slipped, and the Garmin didn't always work properly. Written cue sheets would have served well as a backup but there were none -- just some printed maps. Still, I was able to get where I needed to go with just a few wrong turns and confusing moments. Nothing wrong with a couple of extra miles given the short routes on this tour.

    All the hotels were great except for one (Best Western in Hillerod, though that was still fine). And the breakfasts were great.

    Overall, we had a great time and I want to give a special shout-out to the Ruby Rejser representative in charge of the tour who was exceptionally flexible and accommodating to our unusual circumstances.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Royal Zealand & Copenhagen
    (5/5) Patti Hinsdale July 7, 2023

    Perfect

    · Royal Zealand and Copenhagen

    A few mistakes with our booking. The last night Comwell Portside did not have our booking. They straightened it out fortunately.
    The downloaded electronic trail quide was incorrect for two of the hotel locations we were to stay at.

    Still the trip was more than I expected Absolutely, lovely!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark
  • (5/5) e June 27, 2023

    Danish delight

    · Royal Zealand and Copenhagen

    Copenhagen and Zealand is a delight. We did the independent tour. Biketours did what it is supposed to do: it booked good hotels, it moved the suitcases every day. and it delivered good sturdy bikes. that is why I came back to this company for a third tour.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark
  • Berlin – Copenhagen
    (4/5) Andrew Avramides June 16, 2023

    Great way to see Germany and Denmark off the beaten track

    · Berlin – Copenhagen

    Enjoyed the trip -some days were very long and so we caught the train to reduce the fatigue
    The tour notes were very helpful to help us decide on the train option
    We used the train twice but still cycled when we got the the town -this way we could enjoy the town
    Some of the hotels were ordinary and I think they could be improved

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (3/5) Alex Beresniewicz November 8, 2022

    Nothing Special

    · Berlin – Copenhagen

    Mostly flat riding through the countryside without much opportunity to see anything historic or even scenic outside of the cities where you start and finish. The bikes provided were excellent and the hotels were for the most part good, (sometimes daily distance seems to have forced the choice of where to stop for the night, and that means hotel choices are few...). I didn't choose this tour, my partner did, and it's not one I would consider repeating or recommending.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    20
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark, Germany
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 1/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
  • Southern Fyn
    (5/5) Eliza Bennett August 24, 2022

    Family trip to Denmark

    · Southern Fyn: A Tour Around Denmark’s Fairytale Island

    We are a family of 4, kids are 10 and 12.
    We usually bike a lot and the climate and terrain were very easy for the kids to handle. It was a beautiful country to bike around, with lovely paths, rolling hills and wild blackberries abound along the trails. All of the cities were charming. The accomodations were nice, we stayed in a hostel in Svenborg that was very lively and a fun change for our kids to be around Danish kids. Bike helmets ended up included so that was a nice surprise. The bikes worked great. Navigation was easy to follow and the recommended App was helpful to not have to pull the map out constantly. I would have biked for another week.

    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark
    •  (photo by Eliza Bennett)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Tour Advisor August 24, 2022

      So glad you had an amazing time! Those blackberries look so delicious. Can't wait to help you plan your next trip!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Berlin – Copenhagen
    (4/5) Ron Walker August 18, 2022

    Beautiful Ride; a Bit More Challenging Than Expected

    · Berlin – Copenhagen

    The area between Berlin and Copenhagen is gorgeous, and this is a great way to experience it. It was a bit more challenging than the website description led me to believe; it's important to remember that this is a route, not a path. Some of the surfaces you'll ride on are not great and that impacts the fatigue factor. 50 miles on new asphalt is easier than 50 miles on patched roads, gravel paths and even some cobblestone. I'd estimate two-thirds of the trail surfaces were very good. Don't be dissuaded; just consider this when deciding if you're up for the distance. I agree with another reviewer who suggested packing a lunch each day -- it took us a few days to learn that, and it was helpful since sometimes finding lunch was inconvenient and time-consuming. The navigation factor of a self-guided tour can occasionally be tedious. This route is very well marked but not perfect. The printed materials provided by the tour operator were good; they were supplemented by GPS files that were excellent and extremely helpful. The rental bikes were high quality and a pleasure to ride. Overall the hotels exceeded expectations, but there were exceptions, and be prepared for stairs. If I could do this again, I'd bring less stuff -- this was complicated by the fact that it's a one-way trip and we were spending a week on either end. But you don't need much for riding, and I wish we'd figured a way to send some of our stuff to the final hotel.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Best of Northern Zealand
    (4/5) Bryan Whited August 6, 2022

    Beautiful scenery along popular tourist areas (except the last day)

    · Best of Northern Zealand

    This tour was a lot of fun and we got to see a lot of interesting places. The hotels were amazing and you get to stay in some very interesting towns/cities. The scenery along the trail was nice, although for many portions the view was blocked by either privacy walls or thick foliage on one or both sides of the trail. Most of the areas are popular with tourists, so don't expect to see many "hidden" gems or explore backwater areas off the beaten path.

    I highly recommend the tour, but there were a few things that could be better.
    First off, the GPS worked 90% of the time with the remaining 10% very wrong (with directions to go round in circles, pull into random driveways or repeatedly make u-turns). Unfortunately the 10% where it was wrong was often in the areas where you needed it the most (like dodging traffic in the industrial part of Copenhagen or where the trails were confusing)
    Second, the last day just wasn't much fun at all. It was one of the longest days, the scenery wasn't all that great and and much of the trail was along highways and roads with heavy traffic. The paths were still nice and safe but the constant noise and exhaust got old and I got frustrated with how confused the GPS was. (Also the weather was bad that day and the path was covered in slugs and snails.)

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is our fourth unguided bike tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Royal Zealand & Copenhagen
    (5/5) Mary Rankovich August 4, 2022

    Great trip in spite of challenges

    · Royal Zealand and Copenhagen

    We thoroughly enjoyed,this,trip in spite of illness, injury and weather challenges. While we were not able to complete the entire bicycle tour, the days we did ride were very good. The local tour company was outstanding, going above and beyond in time of need. While some hotels were better than others, all were very comfortable, and we had some outstanding meals along the way. Route guidance material was good, however the maps were a bit difficult to read because they were a bit small. We would definitely recommend this tour to others.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
  • Southern Fyn
    (5/5) Paula Meyer August 4, 2022

    Enchanting tour of Fyn!

    · Southern Fyn: A Tour Around Denmark’s Fairytale Island

    The lime green bikes were easy to operate, the route was clear, the hotels comfortable. We loved the easy self-guided pace and the places we visited in Funen. This was my first experience with Bike Tours and I would totally do another self-guided biking trip with them. Great memories!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark