Bike Tour Reviews  Algarve Coastal Route


Algarve Coastal Route

COUNTRY: Portugal

7 nights
4.4/5 (37)
Rider Level: Recreational Electric bike tours Client favorites
Rider Level: Recreational Electric bike tours Client favorites

4.4/5 (37)
7 nights

Self guided from EUR € 1130

Self-guided:
Daily: Jan 1 - Dec 31, 2024 (minimum 2 persons)

Description:
Experience Portugal's 'Ecovia do Litoral', a cycle route linking Vila Real de Santo Antonio on the Spanish border with Cabo de Saifo Vicente (Sagres) in the west. The Algarve is often said to be Europe's sunniest spot offering year-round cycling for…

View Tour

  • Algarve Coastal Route
    (5/5) Llewellyn Fernandes 2 weeks ago

    Fabulous Trip

    One of the best cycling trips we've done! The weather as perfect, the route was great, the bikes were very good for the varied terrain and the hotels were lovely.

    Perfect time of year to go... end May, early June. Warmed up quickly in the mornings, so we headed out early as the afternoons would be much hotter to cycle. Arrived at hotels around noon and enjoyed the hotels and towns were would stay at.

    Only a couple of challenging hills (walked a bit), but that was just fine as we were there to enjoy our time....it was not a race. We relied heavily on the GPS as there were lots of twists and turns, and the written instructions were only so accurate. As other reviews mentioned, it did take us down a couple of one way streets the wrong way. Overall not many pure bike paths, but lots of quiet roads and highways with broad shoulders so felt very safe and comfortable. The route sometimes followed a posted EU bike route or the blue line on the road, but this tour doesn't always follow them, so always check GPS for this tour.

    Leaving the hotel early like 8 or 8:30 meant not much traffic in the towns at that time. Always stopped for a refreshment along the way...lots of cafes, beaches, etc. Just need to plan ahead so you don't arrive at the hotel too early. Lots of dirt/gravel/cobblestone roads so a good workout on the arms. Make sure you have lots of water as it gets dusty and dry. There was never a long stretch of the same terrain. Each day the views were spectacular!

    We brought a change of clothes/bathing suit in our panier bags, since we knew we would arrive at the hotel before our rooms were ready. Most hotels were resort hotels with spas, pools, restaurants. Very, very nice hotels. And located by the beach and/or close to everything you need. The hotels were very accommodating when we would arrive. We just stored out bikes, changed, left our panier bags with reception and went by the pool to cool off and have some refreshments and relax. Some would call us when our rooms were ready and luggage had arrived.

    The bikes were really good, built for the varied terrain. Not heavy. Many gears...and needed. And we were given lots of repair equipment ... that we NEVER had to use!!!! (we were three so only took a few things with us...the rest we kept in our luggage)

    The towns we stayed in were all different and lovely in their own way. There were always well-reviewed restaurants to go to, and easy to make reservations online. Most restaurants only opened at 7pm for dinner, which suited us fine, as they would get busy later. It was easy to get a reservation, time for a pre-dinner drink somewhere, they weren't crowded, allowed us to enjoy the rest of the evening and then up early for the next day.

    This was my sixth cycling tour, and it was the best so far. All aspects from weather, cycling route, hotels, restaurants and towns, were all just fabulous!  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Jan June 8, 2024

      Thanks for the fantastic review, Llewellyn. I have done many of the tours we sell but not this one...yet anyway. Appreciate the business and hope you have a great summer.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Margaret Penner 1 month ago

    Beyond Expectations

    Everything was efficient and effortless. We just had to focus on biking and route. Hotels were all lovely with wonderful breakfasts and welcoming hosts. We had no bike issues and all staff were on time and informative.

  • (5/5) Robert Anderson 1 month ago

    The Algarve didn’t disappoint.

    The bike tour was a fantastic experience with great views and fantastic food. Cycling through the small fishing towns and visiting with the locals is a great way to explore the cultural. On our first day we experienced some minor issues with one of our bikes. We were able to continue riding and within a short time had a replacement bicycle delivered to us. The local bike tour company was very helpful. The trails and path’s took us by so many amazing sights it was hard to take it all in. The hotels, with the exception of one, were fantastic and had in great locations. The dining options are plentiful and prices were very reasonable. We used GPS navigation which makes the ride much more enjoyable as you don’t have to constantly be stopping to read instructions. We used the Garmin device from the tour company and they also provided the daily route information for us to load in the Ride With GPS app. The last two days we did experience some hills. My wife appreciated the e-bike.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    Five
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Small fishing village. (photo by Robert Anderson)
    • Repairing octopus traps. (photo by Robert Anderson)
    • The beautiful coast. (photo by Robert Anderson)
    • Benagil cave. (photo by Robert Anderson)
    •  (photo by Robert Anderson)
    • Mile (KM) marker 0.0. The end of the road (photo by Robert Anderson)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Sue Collins 1 month ago

    Private tour with Fernando

    Such a fantastic day touring around Lagos area. Rose about 40km on mountain bikes through beautiful gravel trails and some roads. Stopped for lunch in Luz. Such a wonderful day!

  • (5/5) Terry Higgins 2 months ago

    First class all the way!

    Loved everything about this trip. We did a self guided which was a bit challenging at times but just added to our memories. We were fortunate to have good weather and our accommodations never disappointed us. All of the transportations set up for us were on time. Would highly recommend it to friends.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    •  (photo by Terry Higgins)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Margaret Penner 2 months ago

    Beyond Expectations

    Everything was efficient and effortless. We just had to focus on biking and route. Hotels were all lovely with wonderful breakfasts and welcoming hosts. We had no bike issues and all staff were on time and informative.

    • Starting out (photo by Margaret Penner)
    • Loving it (photo by Margaret Penner)
    •  (photo by Margaret Penner)
  • (3/5) John Matthew Schley 4 months ago

    Both really great and just OK

    The weather in February was perfection. We saw many beautiful sights. Each days biking was varied. We stayed in very large hotels/spas. They were objectively good hotels. We hated them. Really felt separated from environment. Felt I could have been anywhere. Restaurants we visited along the way were all excellent. My wife had a problem with her bike. The team handled it wonderfully. Every person who we interacted with on their team were gracious and helpful. While there are many examples of natural beauty in the Algarve , the amount of development, both miles of very expensive holiday homes, and strips of pizza joints and t-shirt stores made the trip not completely what we hoped for.

    What was the date of your tour?
    February 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac February 27, 2024

      Hi John, thank you for providing your feedback! While we were surprised by the 3-star rating, we genuinely appreciate your detailed description of your experience. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the scenic views and diverse biking routes. We look forward to helping you organize another trip again in the future.

    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 1/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Angela Henderson 7 months ago

    Portugal is SPECTACULAR

    Portugal is beautiful, the people even more so! We will definitely be back!

    The bike tour needs some work. The GPS system is too small, half the size of my cell phone, and the written instructions not detailed enough, or accurate to what is happening on the ground around you. Because there are no consistent street signs, or bike tour signs through the entire route, the written directions that go along with the GPS are critical to guiding you on this tour. The number of u-turns, poorly written directions, etc., made what should have been a straightforward three hour bike ride into a 5 to 7 hour bike ride, not allowing us time to really enjoy the areas we rode through.

    The company also didn’t fit us to the bikes and one of our friends suffered with some pretty serious neck and shoulder pain as a result.
    I think the company is good, I just think they need to do some refining of their program.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    •  (photo by Angela Henderson)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac November 9, 2023

      Hello Angela, thank you for sharing your experience in Portugal! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the beauty and warmth of the country.

      We appreciate your valuable feedback regarding the bike tour challenges and will certainly use it to refine and improve our program. Your insights into the challenges with the GPS system, written instructions, and bike fitting are invaluable. We take your comments to heart and will be working diligently to refine our program in time to come. We hope to welcome you back for a smoother and more enjoyable experience in the future.

    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) Ann English 7 months ago

    Prefer not to be riding on hwys and in big cities

    The friendly people in Portugal, the delicious and nutritious food, and most of the hotels were wonderful! The e-bikes were fine and when needed I quickly got a replacement. However, the bikes should be fitted to each person as well as the replacement bike. That was not done so the inappropriate fit gave me much shoulder and back pain. The route had way too many hwy and larger cities round abouts for us. We prefer small towns and rural/ocean scenery.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    We have been on 4 bike tours
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Betty Ngan 9 months ago

    An adventure

    We have previously done the wonderful Danube tour and a guided boat bike tour in the Netherlands. We rode e-assisted bikes with the exception of 2 riders in our group.

    The Algarve bike tour was very different, and should be rated a 2 or 3 because this trail system is not as well developed. We found it challenging even with e-assist bikes. The tour has paved, gravel and dirt roads and even a boardwalk with gates. The segments of the trail were sometimes hard to locate on the gps and sometimes the maps did not agree with the gps. On the first day we followed the blue line on the map and rode over rough gravel roads until we encountered Angus, our coordinator, who informed us that that this was not the main route. But it wasn’t marked as an alternative route on the map.

    We loved the food that we found along the way. A lunch at a seaside restaurant between Tavira and Olhao was the highlight of the tour. We enjoyed the old Portugal that remains, but much of the area west of Faro has been developed for tourism, so there are large resort areas for golf and boaters. We loved the very sweet Hotel Belavista da Luz in Praia da Luz.

    We would recommend this self guided tour for younger more adventurous folks who can navigate and who don’t mind riding in rough loose gravel roads and highways with some rather harrowing highway crossings. The highways in the western part of the coast were not as busy, and we found drivers were generally respectful in the roundabouts. As our mileage increased we grew stronger over the 6 day ride, and we were proud to have made it to the 6 day when a broken chain stopped our progress.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Day 5 (photo by Betty Ngan)
    • Marina and cobblestone path (photo by Betty Ngan)
    • Fabulous food (photo by Betty Ngan)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) Jeffrey Yarne 9 months ago

    Do your research

    Note: we have ridden the flatter and paved bike trails of the Danube and Bruge to Amsterdam. If those rides are rated 1, this ride should be more than 1.5 primarily due to the amount of loose gravel paths coupled with deep ruts from cars. Also is you are close to 5’1” even the extra small bikes with narrow tires might be tough to handle. The area is warm in late Sept 2023. And if you are expecting smaller towns we found the stopping places generally large catering to many tourists which is the primary industry. There are some wonderful places to eat. All hotels had air conditioning although some were noisy others were nice and set back from the crowds. The Portugal people are very nice and the local tour company is as accommodating within reason although if you break a chain in the midst of no where it is a challenge. It would be good to bring at minimum a master link and chain river tool for a roadside repair.

  • (1/5) Amanda Jennings 9 months ago

    Serious amounts of traffic

    This ride has you in a lot of heavy traffic and even on the motorway at some places. The ride takes you through heavily touristed areas and then areas with nothing. This country very much highlighted the haves and the have nots in the country. I did not like the ride, it wasn't worth all of the traffic that we had to deal with.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Biketours Tour Advisor October 18, 2023

      Thank you, Amanda, for your honest feedback! Although we strive to provide the most safe and least-trafficked roads, in can be a challenge in certain countries and inevitably we have to link paths on roads with more traffic. We hope you were able to bring home some good memories of your trip. If you ever want to consider another one - we'd be happy to point you in the direction of tours with better bicycle infrastructure.

    • 1/5 Value
    • 1/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 1/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
  • (5/5) Carol Stack 9 months ago

    Fabulous Easy Biking Trip

    We were very impressed with the arrangements made for our self guided bike trip across the Algarve. All the staff we met were incredibly helpful (shout out to Angus and Curt), the e bikes were terrific, the route fun and interesting -- it was just a delight. One hotel (Jupiter Algarve) was too much of a party hotel for us -- but we survived the late night music. The route had originally been configured west to east and we rode east to west so there a couple instances in which we were riding the wrong direction on one way streets. We had a wonderful time and so enjoyed seeing Portugal up close and personal.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Paul Crisafulli 9 months ago

    Beautiful beaches, caves and countryside!

    The perfect way to see all that Portugal offers! Great people, great food and beautiful sights. Tour guide company provided best hotels, great towns to explore and great service.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Lowell Snow June 11, 2023

    Perfect Antidote to Winter

    Warm, clear days. Manageable daily miles all along the coast. Excellent food. Good bikes and great support. Can’t ask for much more than that

  • (5/5) John Koester May 25, 2023

    Great trip on the Algarve coast!

    This was a very enjoyable trip on the Algarve coast. The route was easy to follow on the GPS and the bikes worked flawlessly. But the accommodations were the real stars. Each place we stayed was superb. We had a great time and highly recommend this trip on the southern coast of Portugal.

    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection