Bike Tour Reviews  Dolomites To Trieste Via Lake Bled At The Foot Of The Julian Alps


Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

COUNTRY: Italy, Slovenia

7 nights
4.7/5 (29)
Rider Level: Recreational Electric bike tours Primarily bike paths
Rider Level: Recreational Electric bike tours Primarily bike paths

4.7/5 (29)
7 nights

Self guided from EUR € 699

Self-guided:
Fridays and Saturdays: May 13 - Aug 10, 2023, Aug 19 - Sep 30, 2023 ; Wednesdays: May 17- Jun 28, 2023 (additional dates available for groups of 5 or more)

Description:
Starting in the northeast Dolomites, the first part of the tour follows the River Drau through the same-named valley, and then on through the Gail Valley on comfortable bike paths in Austria. After a short detour to the Italian border town of Tarvis, you…

View Tour

  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Dayna Stern 3 weeks ago

    My favorite bike tour

    I love this trip! Gentle cycling, stunning scenery and nice accommodations. We requested half board which exposed us to south Tyrolean food. Highly recommended! Remember to dress warmly because you’ll be in a wooded valley part of the first few days.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Dayna Stern 3 weeks ago

    My favorite bike tour

    I love this trip! Gentle cycling, stunning scenery and nice accommodations. We requested half board which exposed us to south Tyrolean food. Highly recommended! Remember to dress warmly because you’ll be in a wooded valley part of the first few days.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Aaron Schwartzbaum 3 weeks ago

    What a fun trip!

    My partner and I had a ton of fun on this trip, which was our honeymoon. The stops were nice, especially with the ability to upgrade accommodations. I'd highly recommend doing the extra day in Bled if you're looking to get some relaxation in, too. Some parts of the route, especially if you're not taking the train into Bled, are would be extremely strenuous without an electric bike, I'd highly recommend one in general. There are a couple of points where there's a bit of car traffic, but I felt safe enough in a high viz. But what a fun way to travel, we saw a lot of things we wouldn't have ordinarily and the route is SCENIC as can be!

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Nancy Nestler 2 months ago

    Even better than I imagined!!!

    We did the self-guided tour. The routes were well described. They were beautiful and varied, from bike paths in remote areas to bike lanes in busy cities. I always felt safe. The scenery was amazing from river valleys to mountain views. There were options to explore along the way. The length of each day's ride was a good amount, and it often offered a shorter or longer version so you could decide along the way what you wanted to do. The hotels were also a nice variety. I thoroughly enjoyed each day. I would highly recommend this tour. I went with a friend, but hope to do it again and take my husband.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jean Olson 2 months ago

    Beautiful Scenery

    The Dolomites were amazing. The bike paths were good and traveled through some beautiful areas. The hotels were all great. The drections from the maps and app were good, we only got a little off track a couple of times. We rode regular bikes and although the hills were tough, they were doable. I definitely want to go back to the area between Toblack and Bled and explore more.

    The roads into Trieste were busy but there was a good shoulder most of the time. The views were worth the busy road. Castello Duino was cool.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Scott Eckhoff 3 months ago

    Three countries with great scenery and variety.

    We experienced a true feel for three countries as we biked through this amazing area. There is much variety with this trip. We experienced small quaint villages, ski towns, beautiful mountain scenery, quiet forests, beautiful lakes and rivers, great restaurants, nice accommodations, mostly safe biking on trails and quiet roads. We took the slightly longer route through the hinterland into Trieste which gave us a peaceful ride until the city of Trieste. The App which was provided gave us peace of mind that we were always on the correct route. There were no worries about getting lost. We would advise having a phone holder that fits on your handle bar. We highly recommend this trip and would recommend Ebikes. There are many up and down slopes on a few days.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Kathy D 4 months ago

    MIghty Dolomity

    Truly enjoyed the trip. Great bike paths for most of the route. Beautiful scenery and great overnight stays. A few hotels didn't have air conditioning but that is not unusual in this part of the world. Unfortunately, Europe is experiencing a very hot summer in 2022. We greatly enjoyed the route and all there was to see and do along the way. The bikes were not what we had expected. Very heavy, more like a beach bike w 21 gears. If you take this trip and are used to a better bike, as we are, upgrade the bike you use. Very difficult riding these very heavy bikes up some of the hills. We took a train on Day 3 for a break - mostly because of the bikes. Saving grace - the train system is fantastic and they all have capacity for bikes at a minimal cost. The app was very good once we figured out how to use it. Would have been helpful if FunActive Tour Company had given us some instruction on how to use it prior to us departing.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Kirsten August 5, 2022

      Hi Kathy! Thank you so much for leaving such detailed feedback. We are sorry you were surprised by the type of bike. We list the bike info under the Dates & Prices tab and will always try to upgrade when possible. We are working with our local partner to get app instructions so we can share them before travel. We are so glad you enjoyed your trip and hope to help you plan your next one!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Nils Martin Sellgren 4 months ago

    A wonderful trip through an amazing landscape in early summer blossom.

    We had an easy descent down a long valley from Toblach into Austria. Options with bus and train for mountain climbs. Experienced beautiful towns, among beatiful town of Bled, and even exhibition at a roman town excavation in Slovenia.

    •  (photo by Nils Martin Sellgren)
    •  (photo by Nils Martin Sellgren)
  • (5/5) Thomas Albrecht 4 months ago

    Beautiful, well-organized trip; good value for the money

    We enjoyed our tour very much. We opted for the unguided version, which suits our tastes well, and found the maps provided to be good enough to guide us. The bikes were good quality and comfortable. The hotels varied, but we enjoyed them all and thought they were a good value for the price. The luggage service each day was perfect -- never late or unclear where to put the luggage for pickup.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 1-8, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Stanthepianoman October 8, 2019

    It was the trip of a lifetime.

    The scenery was amazing! The bike paths and back roads were awesome. With a couple of changes I would give the trip a 5 star review: First, they shouldn't give an option to ride the train to Jessenice to Bled. This town is scary and hard to navigate. The ride over the pass was minor from what we were told.
    Second, the Hotel Roma in Civedale is a dump. Hard beds and rude employees. All the other hotels and inns ranged from nice to awesome.
    Third, we should have stayed in Bled and extra day. Our own fault on this one.
    Last, the ride in to Trieste was dangerous. It was like riding the gauntlet. I would have liked to drop off our bikes out of town and walked or Ubered in to the city. This is a big busy city and many in our group were unhappy with the danger involved.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe October 9, 2019

      Hi Stan, thanks so much for this review. We're overjoyed to hear you thought this was the trip of a lifeitme. That's what we are striving for! We appreciate you sharing your thoughts regarding the Hotel Roma and the ride to Trieste. We haven't heard it described as dangerous before and will surely pass your feedback onto the tour operator. Thanks for noting that you wish you had stayed an extra day in Bled - perhaps future clients will opt to do so.

    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (2/5) GregR October 6, 2019

    Too much highway biking

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe October 7, 2019

      Hi Greg, we're sorry that you felt this tour had too much highway biking. Feel free to reach out if you'd like to provide more details.

    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 2/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
  • (5/5) Ron S September 30, 2019

    FINE RIDE

    A wonderful way to experience the Dolomite and end up in a superb Italian town. (Trieste) There are many different parts of Italy to see, but this trip might be the epitome of experiencing the Dolomites. I have taken many trips with Bike Tours, but this one may have been the finest. Good hotels, a superb route, and exquisite scenery made this trip four star. Renting an electric bike might be a nice option for the last parts of the trip. So would a G.P.S. as the directions can be a little hazy. Getting to the start of the trip could be a little dicey for the traveler but public transportation prevails.. Do this trip..AND TAKE THE 2 DAY OPTION IN BLED

    What was the date of your tour?
    SEPTEMBER 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    MANY
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) IanandNancy September 29, 2019

    Mountains to Sea

    Three countries with all the beauty of countryside , towns and cities.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 11
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) San2C July 16, 2019

    Wonderful Experience

    The greatest surprise was that every day was a different experience. Hotels were comfortable, and the change in landscape was delightful. A few of the days would have been extremely challenging for us without E-Bikes and a GPS for guidance.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 28
    How many tours have you completed?
    this was first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) debor July 1, 2019

    Dolomite to Trieste was varied and interesting

    I thought the design of the route was excellent. We spent much of the first 2 days on bike paths. I loved the small towns we stayed in. The range of hotels was quite broad-from very family run and quaint, to lavish. I quite liked the variety-that someone else chose them for me. I appreciated the list of recommended restaurants-we never went wrong using their recommendations, and frequently did when we used our own. I should have chosen to spend an extra day in Bled. We arrived in a thunderstorm in the afternoon and evening, and early the next morning we had to bike to catch the train-so I don't think I really got to experience any of Bled. I loved staying in the old city in Cividale. There was quite a bit of detailed route finding on the last two days, that kept you watching the map, but we succeeded fine. The last day we chose to take the short route along the Adriatic to Trieste and the traffic was not nearly as bad as I thought it might be-the tunnels can be negotiated by walking your bike along the pedestrian way which keeps you completely out of the traffic.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 8, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    none
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Donna T April 30, 2019

    Fabulous trip!

    Excellent cycling paths, gorgeous scenery, outstanding accommodations and delicious breakfasts. Our trip was in mid September and the weather was lovely. Our group of four had a few mechanical issues with the bicycles, but the local tour company was responsive and resolved the problems. Some of the maps and written directions were confusing especially in the larger towns which lacked bike path signs. Getting lost occasionally added to the adventure! Overall, we had a wonderful experience!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Photo 1 (photo by Donna T)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Donna T)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Donna T)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Donna T)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Inga September 25, 2018

    Fantastic trip !

    We were very pleased with everything. All information from Bike tours was 100% reliable. It was great to visit three countries in 6 days on bicycle. Every day was spectacular and different from each other, but always with beautiful scenery and we felt very safe on the cycling paths. Hotels had good standard, especially the last four hotels, and every village charming and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this trip !

    What was the date of your tour?
    7.sept-13.sept 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection