Bike Tour Reviews  page 3

  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Miles September 17, 2018

    Exceeded our expectations!

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    With perfect weather, my wife and I had a great ride. The first three days, about 44 miles each, was tiring but the last couple of days were just about right. Be warned that about 15-20% of the bike paths/roads next to the Danube were shared with cars and no designated bike lanes. They were more like side access roads to properties on the Danube but cars don’t slow down for bikes.
    The rental bikes looked like they were new and performed flawlessly. We used one regular bike and one e-bike and charging the e-bike at each night at the hotels wasn't an issue. Although the entire ride was essentially flat, there were a couple of hotels (Maria Talferl and Hotel Steigenberger in Krems) which required quite a bit of effort to get to because they were up on a hill.
    Each of the selected hotels were an added special experience as they were surprisingly high quality and provided a great breakfast.
    Of special note on the hotels, the Schloss castle in Aschach was quite an experience with 15 foot tall ceilings and a main residence floor which was a museum. The hotel in Maria Talferl, which is up on a hill, had spectacular views of the Danube and the valley below.
    We took our first bike trip with Biketours.com last year down the Neckar river where we ate and slept on a boat each night as we rode our bikes down the river. Although this time we were on our own when it came to lunch and dinner, we preferred this type of trip over the boat as you get to sleep in a nice, comfortable hotel at night and eat where you want in each town. Looking at Yelp reviews, we were able to find great restaurants in each destination town and that really added to the experience of getting to know the local environment.
    Overall, this was a memorable and very enjoyable trip and one which we would highly recommend.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug. 25-31 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    2 including this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Best of Catalonia Cycle Touring
    (5/5) Anne52 October 2, 2017

    An idyllic, romantic and gorgeous bike trip!

    · Best of Catalonia Cycle Touring

    This was our first self guided bike trip and what a lucky choice it was! Daniel and Lucy of Creative Catalonia are a dynamic couple who were so personable and helpful. They have organized a fascinating and beautiful bike trip. We were amazed at the often paved bike paths that wound through gorgeous country side, from the mountains to the sea. The places we stayed were super, we were often alone on the paths, the side trips were interesting, the restaurant recommendations were outstanding... We can't rave enough about this outstanding bike tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 14 - 21, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Venice
    (5/5) j59fj2046r July 28, 2019
    · Dolomites to Venice Along the Old Dolomites Railway Track

    Great cycling and and absolute best way to see the Dolomites. The routes are great, with a little bit of climbing and some fun downhill sections each day. I commute to work and found the riding matched my ability, leaving enough time to stop here and there, and explore the city at the end of each stage.

    TIP: The routes are mostly intuitive and easy to follow, but there are some challenges and confusing areas. If you ride this tour, skip wrestling with the paper map and use a GPS. I set aside some time before each ride to plot my route using the Komoot cycling app on my phone - I found I made fewer wrong turns and had more confidence to have fun with the ride and take in the scenery.

    What was the date of your tour?
    2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) MichaelandErin September 17, 2018

    Spectacular Scenary

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We thoroughly our cycling trip between Innsbruck and Salzburg. Day one was a nice scenic warm up ride mostly along a river. The second day ride, heading 'up' another valley (still fairly flat in valley, with beautiful mountains on either side) was enjoyable....but the highlight of that day was after the ride. Our transfer minibus picked us up (promptly) that took us up and over to another valley to the town of Krimml. Fortunately, we had enough energy left to hike up to the top of the Krimml falls (tallest series of waterfalls in Europe). Spectacular. Down another valley the next day to Zell am See, where we spent our rest day. Lot's to do there, if it's sunny....but alas, we were rained out (which we were relieved we were not cycling that day). Our highlight day followed, with the combo of stops...one heading inside an extensive cave network (trails inside for the public to travel a fair distance into the mountain), and another stop after that one involved a short hike trail up into a narrow gorge (bring rain gear, waterfalls and mist made it like walking thru a shower in places). Again, unexpected and very, very scenic. Our wrap up in Salzburg we were glad we tacked on a extra day to see some of the local sites.
    Overall, we had a great time. The accommodations were just the right fit to our tastes...friendly, cozy and comfortable. The rental bikes sturdy. The route is mostly bike trails, usually paved, but not always...and with only modest time on side roads. The self guided bike map book was pretty good (although we did have to pull out our smartphone map app to clarify some directions at times). The distances were long enough to feel like we'd traveled someplace, but short enough that we still had time to enjoy the sights.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Venice
    (5/5) Anne52 October 2, 2017

    A gorgeous and adventurous trip!

    · Dolomites to Venice Along the Old Dolomites Railway Track

    This tour took us through stunning scenery on bike paths and small, very quiet roads where we were often out of sight of other bikers. The hotels we stayed at along the way were comfortable, often in beautiful settings and all had fantastic breakfasts. We loved the small towns and off the beaten track places that we were led to. Despite some lack of stickers where they were needed, we generally found the directions and maps to be fairly good. We opted for 7 gear bikes but we would highly recommend the 21 gear bikes. There were more uphills than we had expected and we had to push our bikes at times as 7 gears weren't adequate. Overall, we had a most enjoyable experience.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 6 - 13, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    One other
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) dmshimizu May 24, 2017

    Amazing trip!

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    Great way to explore the boarder region amongst Italy, Austria and Slovenia. The scenery is amazing, and it is a great opportunity to enjoy some towns and places that are not widely seen by regular tourists.
    Travel documentation supplied by the local tour company is very good with complete information about the route. I'd recommend the investing on the GPS too, as it helps a lot with navigation activity.
    The accommodations and the included meals were really good, perfect for those who would like to spend some days away from crowd and large cities.
    In summary, it was a great experience, I'm looking forward for another bike tour like this one.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 6th, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    Video: Cycling in Austria, near Thal
    • Lake Bled (photo by dmshimizu)
    • Arriving to Mojstrana (photo by dmshimizu)
    • Triglavski Narodni Park (photo by dmshimizu)
    • Arriving to Feistritz an der Gail (photo by dmshimizu)
    • Trieste (photo by dmshimizu)
    • Feitritz an der Gail (photo by dmshimizu)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Berlin – Copenhagen
    (5/5) Pedaler December 28, 2015

    A wonderful – easy bicycle tour

    · Berlin – Copenhagen

    This tour through northern Germany and into Denmark allows one to discover the comfort of bicycle travel in countries that support bicycling. The bicycles supplied by Mecklenburger Radtour were comfortable and perfect for all the surface conditions we encountered as we traveled through towns, many parks and nature areas, agricultural regions and coastal plains on our way between Berlin and Copenhagen. The maps and cue sheets as well as the additional information supplied by the company were complete and well thought out. Our lodging ranged from very comfortable to fantastic and always included bountiful breakfasts. The route was well planned and signed to show us much of the natural beauty along the way and to allow us to learn more of the cultural and natural history of the region. Much of the route was on dedicated bicycle trails through the many parks, forests and natural areas.

    How many tours have you completed?
    More than 10!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark, Germany
    • Olaf Nagel, the rep from the Mecklenburger Radtour arrived with our bikes and went over the details of the tour with Ann (photo by Pedaler)
    • We left Oranienburg on a trail through a nature area along Lake Lehnitz (photo by Pedaler)
    • North of Zehdenick is the former Mildenberg brickworks, now an open air museum (photo by Pedaler)
    • A view of our hotel, Landhaus Serrahn, a lovely resort (photo by Pedaler)
    • It is so easy to take bikes on a train in Germany and Denmark (photo by Pedaler)
    • We continued along the trail through the dunes and marshes towards Copenhagen (photo by Pedaler)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Lake Garda
    (5/5) Margareta Hefti August 6, 2022

    Great scenario! Biketrails where very good

    · Dolomites to Lake Garda: Picturesque Cities and Stunning Scenery

    Perfect way to experience Italy!
    Tirol was our favorite !

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique IV
    (5/5) Patricia Barbour 11 months ago

    Amazing trip!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique IV (and reverse)

    We had a wonderful trip with an amazing crew who worked in unison to make all the guests feel welcome. The tour leaders, Tammy and Peter, were fantastic and had intimate knowledge of the communities and sights along the bike routes. Their personal connections provided unique experiences that would otherwise have been missed. They were patient and personable even after their very long days!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    Just this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • A thrilling descent from Mount Dajti
    (5/5) Jermey Hoffman 1 month ago

    What a way to see Tirana!

    · Tirana to Mount Dajti Downhill MTB Tour

    Thank you so much to Ermal for showing me around on two wheels - the views on this ride are spectacular, the riding is fast and flowy, and you never know what you’re going to see in the mountains! The whole day was easy thanks to Ermal and his team. Highly recommend this tour for people wanting a special way to see and experience Tirana.

  • Aare Cycle Route
    (5/5) DDMac July 27, 2019

    Beautiful trip

    · Aare Cycle Route: Along the Jura, Aare, and Rhine Rivers

    BikeTours provided a great experience for our tour. When we encountered a mechanical problem they paid for the fix of the bike without hesitation. The hotels were very comfortable and well located each evening. One bag did go missing but caught up in time to make the flight out; they were very accommodating in all respects.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 9 - 16
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Four Countries
    (5/5) Ratty May 23, 2017

    I want to do this again and again!

    · · Danube Delights: Biking through Four Countries

    Rides were well chosen; route booklet detailed; food, service and staff on boat all excellent. Varied terrain of forest, towns, vineyards made for interesting biking. Europe knows how to accommodate bikers; RadReisen knows how to cater to them. Fab trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    7 May 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    14
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Natalie123 December 28, 2015

    Laid-back riding in scenic German wine country

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member. It's long been a popular choice for our clients due to the leisurely riding and low price tag. It turned out to be the perfect combination for me of relaxed cycling, off-bike sites and diversions, and plenty of wine tastings.

    The Mosel valley is known (along with the nearby Rhine valley) for producing Germany's beloved riesling wines. As a white wine lover myself, it was a little slice of heaven! There's no shortage of opportunities to stop in at wineries and tasting rooms to sample the local fare. Some even have stands right on the bike path to bring the tasty wares right to you! It was lovely to stop at these stands and enjoy a glass of the sweet wine while sitting on the riverbank and chatting with other cyclists.

    If you hit bad weather or want to shorten a day's ride, there are good alternative transportation options in this region. An injury from a recent mountain bike crash made longer rides uncomfortable for me during this trip, so I took advantage of a ferry one day to roll my bike aboard and enjoy a little river cruise for several stops before deciding where I wanted to hop off and start riding again.

    Another day I took a regional train to shave off a few miles. I bought a ticket for myself and one for my bike, then boarded the car clearly marked for bicycles and rode a few stops.

    The dedicated bike path makes for care-free riding: well marked for directions and distances, no vehicles apart from an occasional slow-moving tractor (since you're often riding through farmland and vineyards), and paved almost the whole way. The path hugs both banks of the Mosel River, and your map book shows any unpaved sections so you can cross the river in advance if you don't want to ride on short segments of dirt or gravel.

    I found the directions and maps to be reliable, but it's quite difficult to get lost anyway -- all you have to do is point your bike back toward the river and you'll eventually intersect the bike path!

    I was very pleased with the accommodations, a mix of comfortable hotels in larger town centers and family-owned winery guesthouses in the smaller villages. All had hearty breakfasts to fuel a day of cycling and exploring.

    I did this tour solo, as a female in her thirties, and felt safe and secure (of course taking reasonable precautions). I liked that it was in mostly rural areas, but never terribly remote. There was always a farmhouse nearby, and the bike path was traveled enough that I was passing someone at least every few miles. Having the emergency hotline is a good reassurance as well.

    The locals seemed a bit amused by a young(ish) American woman riding the Mosel Bike Path by herself, mostly because the usual clientele is composed more of families, couples, and Europeans. But it was always a good conversation starter to make new friends!  SHOW MORE 

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, Families with young kids, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    Video: A typical scene from the bike: a river boat, a castle, and pedestrians promenading along the Mosel.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BEO6hbkAsw (404)

    • Photo 1 (photo by Natalie123)
    • Vineyards line the valley as far as the eye can see! The green bike signs let you know you're still on the right track. (photo by Natalie123)
    • A view from the balcony at my hotel in Cochem. The bike path runs along the water on both sides of the river. (photo by Natalie123)
    • Waiting for the passenger/bike ferry (over my shoulder) to cross the river and pick me up to reach that pretty little village and a few miles of riding on the sunny side of the river before crossing back again later in the day to reach my hotel. (photo by Natalie123)
    • The bike path sometimes diverts away from the Mosel for a haunt through lush vineyards like these. (photo by Natalie123)
    • Time to break for a riesling tasting! Nice of them to place picnic tables right alongside the bike path for cyclists to relax. (photo by Natalie123)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Lindsay Alaishuski August 6, 2022

    Great taste of the country!

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Well thought out itinerary to see the larger cities and explore the islands as well. Great GPS routes. We came, we saw, we ate, we drank, we cycled! Plenty of sun! Quality bikes, friendly tour operators. Would highly recommend.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Make the most of the midnight sun
    (5/5) Jill Bue 11 months ago

    Family Fun through Tromsø

    · Midnight Sun Tromso E-Bike Tour

    If you want to experience Tromsø as a local, this tour is a can’t miss experience. Our family of 5 riders ranged in age from 13 to 66. We have biked together before on city tours throughout the U.S. Everyone rated this one a favorite! First, the e-bikes were top of the line and our guide, Espen, took the time to show how to use them properly . He had us practice before beginning the rise. We appreciated his patience and focus on safety. We traveled along the shoreline and through local parks. We were lucky to see groups of families together celebrating Midsommar with bonfires on the beach. It was so special to see this annual event. Our journey continued through the more wooded areas of Tromsø and we all appreciated the e-bikes on some of the tougher hills. We saw many local areas and sites that showcased Tromsø as a great location as a place to live or for travel. Espen was a wonderful guide for this tour! As a native son of Tromsø his love for his community was evident at every stop. The Tromsø tourism board should have him run all of their tours! If you are looking for a fun ride exploring the city of Tromsø with a friendly and knowledgeable guide, this is it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    •  (photo by Jill Bue)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Delights
    (5/5) Moo6 July 26, 2019
    · · Danube Delights: Cycling and Cruising in the Footsteps of Royalty

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 13-20.
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Bolzano to Verona
    (5/5) Lizk May 23, 2017

    An Amazing Trip in Beautiful Italy!

    · Bolzano to Verona: Orchards, Mountains & Timeless Culture

    We loved our bike trip from Bolzano to Verona! The scenery was stunning. We were very happy with the accommodations and the breakfasts!
    We got lost a few times but the GPX helped to know where we missed a turn. Also when we asked the local bikers they said follow me and got us back on track.

    We stopped in many of the small towns to some vino Rossa and lunch including Mezzocorona, Olios, and Borghetta!

    We were amazed how easy it was to take the boat trip and train with the bikes.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 10-16
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • Vineyard on the way to Auer from Bolzano (photo by Lizk)
    • Ice cream on the way to Lake Garda (photo by Lizk)
    • From the boat in Lake Garda (photo by Lizk)
    • Trento Roman Coliseum (photo by Lizk)
    • On the way to Verona (photo by Lizk)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Venice to Mantua
    (5/5) mountain broad December 9, 2015

    Perfect Pleasure Times Two

    · · Venice to Mantua by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    This was such a wonderful trip when my husband and I experienced it the first time for our thirtieth wedding anniversary, we took it again, in the opposite direction, two years later!
    The small towns we traveled through were charming and welcoming. We saw places that were unique and off-the-beaten path of the general tourist. Chioggia, Ferrara, Zelo: they each kept beckoning us back.
    Then, too, the Vita Pugna was any thing but "hard life". The staff treated us like treasured family members. The fed us local cuisine that was fresh, creative, and oh, so satisfying. They were enthusiastic and welcoming every day of the journey. Our bicycling guides, on each trip, revealed history, culture, and sites, that only the well-informed local would usually enjoy.

    My husband and I have traveled on five bike trips with biketours.com, and we have plans of cycling again to an, as yet, undiscovered destination. The company makes our travel dreams affordable, successful, and worth repeating.

    These memories are golden!

    How many tours have you completed?
    six
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • Sailing into Venice. (photo by mountain broad)
    • To Venice! (photo by mountain broad)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Rebecca Heersink August 6, 2022

    Great family vacation

    · Rhine Bike Path: Mainz to Cologne

    We completed this tour with our 2 year old in the infant trailer. The route provided great stops for everyone in the family including great playgrounds for the little one and wine/beer for mom and dad. We enjoyed visiting castles, small medival towns and cable cars rides. The bike riding was manageable but pulling the bike trailer in the heat wave did prove hard some days, maybe an ebike would have helped in retrospect. Hotels were nice and all provided an infant bed. Can't wait to do another cycling tour!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    •  (photo by Rebecca Heersink)
    •  (photo by Rebecca Heersink)
    •  (photo by Rebecca Heersink)
    •  (photo by Rebecca Heersink)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Janice Render 8 months ago

    Mosel bike Path

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    We had no guide but 4 of us, we enjoyed doing it on our own with all hotel booked and ready for cyclists. The maps and instructions are a good idea but need to be updated we got lost and spent a lot of time trying to figure out where we were and how to stay off roads to get there. Hill in Cochem to hotel was not pleasant. Needed better instruction on getting there and to garage

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 11,2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection