Bike And Boat Tour Reviews

  • Bike and Boat Croatia’s Dalmatia Coast
    (5/5) Ellen Meyer 1 week ago

    Great trip

    · · Bike and Boat Croatia’s Dalmatia Coast

    We all had a great time despite most of us getting mild cases of COVID. Our local tour guides were excellent and always happy to help us with whatever we needed. Of course Croatia's Dalmatia Coast is absolutely beautiful. The additional outings (wine, chocolate, olive oil tastings) were all very well planned and enjoyable.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    0 before this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Bruges to Paris
    (5/5) David Reynolds 3 weeks ago

    Wonderful Bike and Barge Trip from Perrone to Bruges

    · · Bruges to Paris by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    This was our first bike and barge trip. A couple of our good friends were also on the trip. We were so fortunate that there were only seven guests on the barge and four crew members! The barge could accommidate 14 guests. All seven of us became good friends and enjoyed all parts of the trip together.
    The crew was fantastic! Our guide, Sietse, made sure that we had a safe and memorable biking trip. He is very knowledgable about the route and the history of the region. Our chef cook, Hilde, is a gourmet cook and made every meal special. Henk, the mate is a jack of all trades helping navigate, take care of the barge and help Hilde in the kitchen. Marius, the captain, is a very knowledgable navigator and made sure that all aspects of the trip were comfortable.
    Our cabin was small but comfortable and very clean. Each cabin has its own bathroom with a walk in shower.
    The bikes were well maintained and if there was a problem, Sietse took care of it.
    We did have rain off and on for a couple of days so make sure to take rain gear. The biking was not difficult but e-bikes are available.
    We'd highly recommend this trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first bike and barge trip.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique III
    (5/5) Dawn Richardson 3 weeks ago

    Unique Vacation Experience

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique III (and reverse)

    We had a great time on our first Boat Bike Tour and enjoyed the new traveling experience. I've never been on a cruise and was slightly intimidated by the prospect, but the small boat/barge and biking all day was a great way to see from a new perspective. I enjoyed the guided biking all day and the food on the boat was exceptional. The whole crew was great and it was fun being with folks from all over the world. Definitely considering another tour in the future! We had to postpone twice with the pandemic and were thankful to be able to go and feel safe a couple of years later. Thank you!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
  • (4/5) Peter Keithly 3 weeks ago

    Well Organized Bicycle Tour of Dalmatia Coast

    · · Bike and Boat Croatia’s Dalmatia Coast

    Very well organized and comprehensive adventure. Probably best for those who want to use E-Bikes. Guides were energetic and fun to be around. Waiter was wonderful and very entertaining. Food was well prepared and plentiful. Our room was comfortable and kept cool for sleeping with A/C. Top deck could have been a bit more user friendly as there was no shade provided.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
  • Danube Impressions
    (5/5) Debby Schlesinger 3 weeks ago

    1st bike/boat tour.....best time ever.

    · · Danube Impressions Bike and Boat Passau – Vienna – Passau

    Touring by bike with support from boat was a wonderful way to see the countryside, experience local culture, and sightsee without having to do HOURS & DAYS of research on routes, sites worth stopping at, and logistics of lodging, and biking. The tour was a great value too. It was a wonderful way to have an active vacation....so much better than a cruise or bus tour. Really appreciated the route reviews, maps, and suggestions for the next day's route each evening. It was apparent that the routes chosen offered scenic value, as well as ease of access, and worthwhile sights to see. The crew were very helpful at getting the bikes set up for rider proportions, comfort and preferences. There were even opportunities to meet with local experts and experience a more "in depth" tour with history and background. The food was absolutely sumptuous!! Meals were expertly prepared, featured local cuisine at dinners, as well as "American" favorites at breakfast in addition to "Continental" breakfast foods. The "Picnic" lunches provided for were a bonus too. Cabin accomodations were comfortable, adequate, and served our needs well; albeit the small space. (We had a "lower deck" cabin... the most economical). That being said, there wasn't much time spent in the cabin other than sleeping, and preparing for the next day's ride. Really enjoyed the spa on the top deck to ease sore muscles & relax. Altogether, a wonderful vacation in a beautiful location.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Along the Danube (photo by Debby Schlesinger)
    • In the town of Linz, Austria (photo by Debby Schlesinger)
    • On the Danube locks. (photo by Debby Schlesinger)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Cate Adams 3 weeks ago

    Loved every minute. Can’t wait todo another

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    My husband and I booked this trip with several friends but we made many new friends on the trip. The guides were so knowledgeable and they too became friends. Each day we would start with a delicious breakfast, make our sack lunch and head out to get our bikes. The days were filled with wonderful cities and gorgeous countrysides. I don’t think you could have this kind of experience in a car or bus. We would have a morning break for coffee and later a stop for lunch either in city pubs or country inns. We returned back to the boat to find appetizers and the bar ready to receive orders. We could return to the comfort of our room for a hot shower or go in the hot tub. Always places you could find to be alone. The days followed the same routine, but the sites an food were always changing. Speaking of food, our chef did a fantastic job cooking for all 30 of us. The ship Captain and crew all pitched in to get our meals out quickly. Evening were sometimes optional tours or casual strolls along the water. Each day was magical.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • South Dalmatia
    (5/5) Ethyl Will 3 weeks ago

    Wonderful Trip

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Yolo

    Beautiful countryside and great biking. I loved every moment of it. We had a wonderful group on our boat. I particularly loved the long downhills into the towns (not as thrilled with the climbs out!).

    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
  • South Dalmatia
    (5/5) Donald Woodhouse 3 weeks ago

    A wonderful way to see the islands and small towns

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    Croatia has always had good reputation for an early and late season vacations. Our trip in mid-May was perfect, the Adriatic was warming up every day and the 75 degree weather was ideal. This affordable trip suppled us with comfortable rooms, a nice dining area and a shaded sunning area on top. The National Parks were beautiful and relatively uncrowded compared to the larger cities and the parks in the rest of Europe. We didn’t know anyone else on the tour when we arrived but soon found new friends for future travel experiences. Our guides were fun and helpful and e bikes made hilly sections much easier to navigate and quality of the bikes were first rate. We look forward to catching another tour on the Magellan or their sister boat in 23!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Vickie Brunstetter 3 weeks ago

    The perfect way to experience the Netherlands and Belgium

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    I highly recommend this bike and barge. It is so nice to have the barge to come back to every night with food and drinks waiting. To not have tool pack up each day made for a much more leisurely trip. The weather was perfect and the guides excellent.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat
    (4/5) Puiyee Tse 3 weeks ago

    Too short of the bike ride

    · · UNESCO Highlights of Dalmatia by E-bike and Boat

    The bike ride was too short. I would like to have double the bike ride time instead of staying on the boat. The island are great but not enough time to explore each place. The boat food was terrible.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Holland’s Super Tulip Tour
    (4/5) Frank Vaughan 3 weeks ago

    Very nice trip

    · · Holland’s Super Tulip Tour

    We had a great time on the trip. Small boat with not a lot of people, and the guide was very good. We got to see some amazing places and he even took us on some side trips. The riding was easy just as described, and after each ride the guide offered an optional walking tour of the area. We feel we really saw Holland! Our only complaint is the boarding instructions had us going to the wrong dock. Give yourselves plenty of extra time to board!

    What was the date of your tour?
    March 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    (4/5) PegS 1 month ago

    Wonderful Guides, Lovely Tour

    · · National Parks of Dalmatia by Bike/E-bike and Boat

    Great way to experience Croatia. Our wonderful local guides, Dora and Mario, were cheerful, infinitely patient, organized, and full of helpful and interesting information. Improvements could be made on the boat with the WiFi, which was spotty, and the food, which was bland with lots of white sauce. We were surprised that the rides were so short, typically finished by noon. This was our first bike tour on an ebike, and that was fun. Some days we rode with it completely off to get a better workout.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    12
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Tina Vessels 1 month ago

    Excellent guides disappointed food

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    There was a great discrepancy between the quality of the guides and the quality of the food on our boat. The guides the tour the islands were magical howeverMost of the dinners were uneditable Somewhere in the description there was a note about quality shifts however that was not the case for us

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    20
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 3/5 Value
    • 1/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Mary Stewart 1 month ago

    Island hopping Croatia

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    The best part of this bike tour was the country, islands, guides and weather. The food was not as advertised ( highlighted a gourmet chef ) The best meals were not on the boat. The guides and scenery were outstanding. The boat was ok. I felt that bike tours did not offer the same service as we would have had if we booked directly. I highly recommend doing a bike tour of the Croatia islands but with a premium boat and a better chef

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    50 plus
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 1/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Maureen Zaccardi 1 month ago

    Great bike and boat!

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    The trip was really a lot of fun. The guides were enthusiastic, knowledgeable and willing to do anything for us. The scenery was fabulous. Croatian islands are fantastic. The biking was less rigorous than I expected. Trip was good for first time cyclists. The boat was good.
    The only ISSUE was the food! It Was r terrible. We did NOT want to eat on the boat.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    60-70
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 1/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • South Dalmatia
    (4/5) Maureen Zaccardi 1 month ago

    Great bike and boat!

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    The trip was really a lot of fun. The guides were enthusiastic, knowledgeable and willing to do anything for us. The scenery was fabulous. Croatian islands are fantastic. The biking was less rigorous than I expected. Trip was good for first time cyclists. The boat was good.
    The only ISSUE was the food! It Was r terrible. We did NOT want to eat on the boat.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    60-70
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 1/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • South Dalmatia
    (5/5) Lynne Niemeyer 1 month ago

    Great trip Bike/boat

    · · South Dalmatia Bike/E-bike and Boat, Magellan

    The guides were terrific. Croatia is beautiful and we has some wonderful biking on the islands. Trips were well planned and other interesting activities were included. Sedad and team were quite knowledgeable on some of history in the area

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    A lot
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)