Ireland  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Connemara Lazy Days
    (5/5) Nicole Thomas 14 hours ago

    Wonderful trip !

    · Connemara Lazy Days Cycling

    Really enjoyed the trip and Connemara Adventures was amazing! Very helpful and responsive. The first day was quite the challenge but beautiful and we stayed at lovely accommodations! My boys said they felt like princes at Renvyle House Hotel and Resort because they staff was so welcoming.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first. It was unguided I accidentally hit wrong button above
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Treasures of the Donegal Coast
    (5/5) Carol 9 months ago

    2nd Ireland west coast tour - love this country

    · Treasures of the Donegal Coast

    Really enjoyed this tour and Ireland by Bike does a great job of providing clear maps and detail on each leg of the journey to explore. The county is beautiful with an amazing variety of landscapes from cliffs to valleys to amazing remote beaches. Hotels and their proprietors were all terrific, made if especially nice to stay extra nights in some.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    •  (photo by Carol)
    •  (photo by Carol)
    •  (photo by Carol)
    •  (photo by Carol)
    •  (photo by Carol)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Connemara Lazy Days
    (5/5) Christine Wilson 9 months ago

    Stunning self guided trip through Connemara

    · Connemara Lazy Days Cycling

    Cycling was the perfect way to see Ireland. We loved everything about it..our accomodations, the locations, landscapes and the food! The first day was the most challenging of the cycling days with the hills & terrain. My only suggestion is to confirm your bike size is correct. Mine was a medium upgraded hybrid bike which should have been a small. The bike was to big & heavy making the first day's ride more challenging for me, but I wouldn't have traded my experience of riding that day for anything! I did receive the correct size bike for the remainder of the trip. We had three exceptionally beautiful clear days and two very rainy days, which we were prepared for since we brought rain gear suggested for the trip. We had a true experience of Ireland weather! I would definitely recommend this cycling trip for anyone who is looking for an amazing adventure!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Highlights of the Highlands
    (5/5) John Maxfield 10 months ago

    Beautiful Irish coast and fabulous cycling roads

    · Highlights of the Highlands: Donegal by E-bike

    This was an outstanding tour! The coast of County Donegal was breathtaking, and the roads / routes well chosen, with clear directions using both maps and GPS. I would suggest adding a longer mileage option for the circuit ride (Day 4) from Glenties; I did part of the circuit twice to get in a full day of cycling while my wife enjoyed the beach, waiting for the tide to go out for our walk to the island.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • Cliffs at Sliabh Liag (photo by John Maxfield)
    • Over the boglands (photo by John Maxfield)
    •  (photo by John Maxfield)
    •  (photo by John Maxfield)
    • Above Poisoned Glen (photo by John Maxfield)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Katya Spielberg 11 months ago

    Fantastic Introduction to Ireland Countryside

    · Highlights of the Highlands: Donegal by E-bike

    A wonderful way to experience Donegal County in Ireland!! In spite of high winds 2 days and some rain most days, the beauty of the landscape and the loveliness of the Irish people made it one of my all-time favorite bike trips. Moreover, the customer service provided by Ireland by Bike was top notch -- from the maps and GPS to the history and daily recommendations provided, everything was made easy and accessible. Definitely appreciated the e-bikes given the number of hills and strong breezes on the coastline!! The quality of the B&B's did vary by location, but all were clean and hosts were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to my friends and family!!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
  • (4/5) joseph eberly 12 months ago

    Amazing scenery and people

    · Highlights of the Highlands: Donegal by E-bike

    The North West coast of Ireland is breathtaking. For the most part, quiet country roads or bike paths. Our B&Bs were very nice and the hosts even nicer. There are some areas that were quite challenging and we were very happy to have e-bikes. A little rain but nothing that kept us from riding. We had a fun and challenging ride through the national park with a dirt path and a steep climb on a gravel path. We had some equipment issues that slowed us down but operator got us going again. The Garman GPS was amazing. We made plenty of wrong turns, but it always got us back on track. All in all, this is the most beautiful part of Ireland and we had great food at every stop.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is our second trip with Bike Tours
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Wild Atlantic Way Cycling
    (5/5) Lucy Fraiser November 8, 2022

    Eliminated by Covid

    · Wild Atlantic Way Cycling

    I am sure this would have been an incredible trip but I tested positive for covid the day before the trip was to start. I plan on rescheduling the trip. Please remember to get travel insurance when you book active vacations. In Ireland, doctors would not see you if you were positive for covid, so the travel insurance co. (AIG) put me in touch with a doctor that did a virtual visit and got me all the documentation I needed for my insurance claim. We were able to get most of the money spent on the vacation back and all of the extra expenditures made necessary by the lengthy quarantining.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
  • (5/5) Donald Allen November 8, 2022

    Bike Trip V

    · Wild Atlantic Way Cycling

    Scenery was breathtaking, people were extremely accommodating and app was excellent for this type of route. Tour company was quick to deal with initial problems we had with bikes. The Ireland biking experience exceeded our expectations.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Boris Kustin November 3, 2022

    Great trip

    · Wild Atlantic Way Cycling

    The trip was delightful. My wife and found each day a bit short, but there was always an option to add a few miles along the way. The places to stay were very comfortable and the proprietors always very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this trip to just about anybody.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
  • Highlights of the Highlands
    (3/5) Marge Anderson October 5, 2022

    Lots of friendly people

    · Highlights of the Highlands: Donegal by E-bike

    We had beautiful weather. This helped make the trip really nice. We had very nice hosts at our accommodations. Some of the places were much nicer than others. The Brennan B&B was excellent. Other places had some problems like plumbing, but in general the accommodations were fine. We did arrive in one town (Glencolmcille) to find there weren't any restaurants open. We thought this wasn't very good planning on the part of the bike company.
    The roads were ok. Some of the roads were a bit busy. Some were very nice country roads. There was a section that was gravel that was a bit tricky. The scenery was lovely.
    There were some errors in directions that should be fixed.
    I've been on a few other biking trips. This was my least favorite.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from JV October 6, 2022

      Thanks for sharing this feedback with us. We are working on improving the directions to make them more clear and fix errors. We hope you travel with us again.

    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (2/5) David Anderson October 4, 2022

    Pretty location, ok organization

    · Highlights of the Highlands: Donegal by E-bike

    In general, it was a great experience. I'd never been on a bike tour, and this was a load of fun. My wife and I plan to do more bike tours. However, if I had to choose between bike tours, I wouldn't recommend this specific one.

    Going over this bike tour's organization.

    GPS / Directions.

    A few things here to complain about.

    1. The printed directions were inconsistent between people on the tour. Some printed directions said left at an intersection, others said right. They were simply out of date, and the tour didn't re-print everything. Old printouts = old directions.

    2. The printed directions were inconsistent with the web directions. We were sent PDFs of directions. Those didn't match up with the printouts. Again, likely because they were older or newer (we couldn't figure out which). Different roads sometimes, different turns.

    3. The printed and web directions were inconsistent with the GPS tracks. This was super annoying, because we were biking along listening to the GPS directions (on the unit provided), and the GPS would say "turn here!" and the printed directions indicated we should go another few blocks.

    4. The printed / web / GPS directions were out of date for actual road conditions. In two different locations, the road was literally closed, and we had to detour around an area using Google maps. In one place, the GPS road literally had grass growing on it, and had obviously moved at least 5+ years before. These directions are *very* out of date at times.

    These direction inconsistencies didn't mean we got lost, but it did mean *daily* stops to consult our map, Google maps, GPS directions, and try to figure out where the tour intended us to go, regardless of all the inconsistencies. I'd highly suggest having offline Google maps if you're going to take the tour.

    Lodging.

    Some places were outstanding and high quality. Other places were lower quality. One place in particular stank heavily of peat smoke, with smoke literally billowing in through our windows. I don't know how often the tour company inspects the places they're sending people.

    Food.

    The tour included breakfast. It was sometimes great, mostly fine, but sometimes a bit low quality. Again, perhaps a lack of inspection on exactly what they're paying for.

    While the tour didn't provide dinner, we sometimes had trouble finding any place which was open. In one town, we got *lucky* that there was a food truck open, because otherwise every single restaurant in town was closed down. The locals all said that it made no sense that we hadn't planned on dinner, because their town didn't have restaurants open in this season. Many locations only had a single restaurant option. I think if you're going to operate a tour this late in the season, you need to scout out restaurants which will actually be open.  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Bike Tours Team Member October 19, 2022

      Hi David,
      Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback - we really appreciate it! For future bike tours, I do recommend following GPS tracks OR printed instructions. They can sometimes vary depending on updates but do not necessarily mean one or the other is wrong (I recommend GPS over printed instructions). It's a fair assessment that all hotels are not equal (i.e. breakfasts, amenities), sometimes our options are limited in certain towns. Unfortunately the same goes for restaurant options in certain towns. I would agree that an e-bike battery should never run out if it is properly charged. However, if the battery is being heavily used or is getting too old, it can run out and should be replaced. Although we know you can't fully inspect the ebike battery, we do recommend you do a good inspection of your bicycle before starting the tour, so we can try to address any issues before you get cycling. In the 2023 season we will offer 24/7 hotline to our local office so that we may be able to assist you immediately when any issues arise. I hope you had a great trip despite the the issues.

    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 1/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Treasures of the Donegal Coast
    (5/5) Stu Davidson September 13, 2022

    Time to enjoy Ireland!

    · Treasures of the Donegal Coast

    We opted for a customer 12 day option, with an extra day (well, a 13 day option?). The extra day was special for 2022 - with stories of airlines canceling flights. We wanted to be sure we arrived in time for our tour!
    Ireland by Bike (the tour operator) delivered our bikes a day earlier, effectively extending our tour, and provided an extra route! I thought that was a very thoughtful surprise. We found that Ireland has lots or wonderful, thoughtful, friendly people, which made our tour enjoyable and low stress.
    I rode a hybrid bike and certainly noticed the tour routes were not flat; my wife had an ebike and climbed hills faster than I did. We both loved the varied terrain. Doing the tour self-guided let us set our own pace with no pressure.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    10+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    •  (photo by Stu Davidson)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Nancy Tiernan August 31, 2022

    Beautiful, friendly country

    · Treasures of the Donegal Coast

    Ireland is a lush and gorgeous country, and Donegal especially so. This trip is well planned to maximize the scenic and minimize time on busy roads. Our local coordinator, Seamus, was responsive to our needs along the way, quickly showing up to make what would be a critical bike adjustment for the day’s ride.
    Our self-guided group of four senior citizens - very FIT senior citizens! - had 3 hybrid bikes and one e-bike. Although the distances were shorter per day than we did on the Slovenia bike trip three years ago, there were lots more hills in Donegal. I was VERY glad to have the e-bike, and my mighty mates envied me…

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 22-29
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Anne Stanek August 31, 2022

    Gorgeous views most of the time!

    · Treasures of the Donegal Coast

    We had a wonderful trip. Seamus was a super introduction to Donegal -such a friendly person who gave us a clear and detailed introduction to the bikes and the trip. The map and instructions were clear. Our bikes were comfortable and worked well - although the hills were intense and constant. I have done six previous bike trips with a standard bike but I would have opted for an E bike on this one had I known how difficult the hills were going to be! One of our group of four did opt for an E bike and she was very happy she did so! The routes were quiet and mostly on back country and farm roads. There always seemed to be beautiful or serene views. There were several very interesting side trips. The accommodations were very comfortable. The breakfasts were great. The pubs and music were such fun. And everyone we met was friendly and sunny (the Irish people are "always sunny on the inside despite the weather," so someone said and it seems to be true!). It did rain a lot - but it was always a gentle and warm rain. With rain gear it was quite manageable. I would highly recommend this trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    Six others
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • St. John's Point (photo by Anne Stanek)
    • Cill Charthaigh - Derrylahan (photo by Anne Stanek)
    • Silver Strand Beach (photo by Anne Stanek)
    • Sliabh Liag (photo by Anne Stanek)
    • Kilcar (enroute to Teelin Harbor) (photo by Anne Stanek)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Dublin and West Ireland
    (5/5) Tim and Priscilla August 22, 2022

    Best Ebike trip ever: Irish countryside with adult children

    · Dublin and West Ireland E-Bike Tour

    We just wanted to thank you. Our recent Ireland ebike tour with Stephano as guide and Sarah as driver/picnic arranger was too perfect for words. Although the guides spoke in German and in Italian, Stephano also spoke exceptionally well in English. We were worried due to reading another guest review and as the other 10 bikers were Swiss or German. However, half of the guests also spoke English. We connected well and had a most enjoyable time with a lovely group of strangers that got along amazingly well. Our hotels were wonderful and varied from a charming inn to a mansion - and all very clean and lovely. The food was simply the best at each place of lodging, and included. We especially enjoyed the amazing picnics the two guides arranged for us so we could bike on the most scenic roads with numerous cows, sheep, horses and boats etc - and not worry about where to eat. Stephano was exceptionally knowledgeable and happy, sharing interesting history along our route and equal kindness for all the guests. He was an expert biker and made 30-40 miles of biking up and down hills easy and fun - and, we were on terrific ebikes. He encouraged us to stop whenever we wanted, and we did, to take many photos along the way. Sarah as the driver brought extra bikes in case we needed them (we did not) and prepared amazing picnics in lovely shady spots, as well as had our luggage waiting in our rooms at each inn upon arrival. They worked as a seamless team and were happy everyday not letting us know how much work they did behind the scenes making sure our bikes were all in tiptop shape. We stayed 2 nights at each inn/hotel as we came in a night earlier to Dublin to see the Book of Kells. However, the biking on quiet lanes and the ferry with hike on Inishmore (Aran Island) was more beautiful than we expected or we can describe. The weather was sunny everyday - in Ireland! But we were prepared with rain gear just in case too. We could not have asked for a better trip for our two adult kids and us (ranging in age from 40 - 70.) The trip had 14 guests (ages 19 -81) and two well experienced guides. So much fun! Ireland is so beautiful. I would highly recommend this trip, and hope to ebike with Stephano and Sarah again.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is the first guided ebike tour we have gone on. We love biking, and recommend bringing padded bike liners/pants. ;D
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    •  (photo by Tim and Priscilla)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from taylor August 22, 2022

      Thank you so much for providing this lovely feedback!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Treasures of the Donegal Coast
    (5/5) Gretchen Jones August 8, 2022

    Stunning trip through the coast of Ireland

    · Treasures of the Donegal Coast

    This was my fourth bicycle trip in Europe and was one of my favorites. We used ebikes which made the entire trip enjoyable and manageable (altogether, we rode about 130 miles and had just under 10K feet of climb). Scenery was unsurpassed. Just stunning. Area is very remote. Accommodations were fine but nothing special (except the beginning/ending B&B). We did self guided and directions/Garmin were impeccable. Just a great way to see Ireland

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    9+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Wild Atlantic Way Cycling
    (5/5) LR cycle June 29, 2022

    Wild wind on the Wild Atlantic Way!

    · Wild Atlantic Way Cycling

    Two couples cycled the Wild Atlantic way for 6 days in June. It turned out we had to contend with tropical storm Alex but fortunately we had rented e-bikes for the often head on strong winds. The b&bs and hotels were great along the route. A highlight for all of us was the ferry to and from Inishbofin Island, the cycling on the island and the stay there. We also took advantage of hiking in the Connemara National Park along the way. All in all the tour was great!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 6, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection