Bike Tour Reviews  page 5

  • Portugal's Atlantic Coast
    (5/5) Joanne Nordeen 2 months ago

    Variety and views

    · Portugal's Atlantic Coast

    Wonerful way to experience a vaiety of towns, scenery, coastlines, hills, lodging, food and Portuguese hospitality. Local operator set us with high quality road bikes and all the info and support we needed for a smooth self guided trip. Some steep hills.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    •  (photo by Joanne Nordeen)
    •  (photo by Joanne Nordeen)
    •  (photo by Joanne Nordeen)
    •  (photo by Joanne Nordeen)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Medieval Villages of Catalonia
    (5/5) marka3 April 4, 2022

    wonderful bike tour

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    Medieval Villages of Catalonia was a great cycling tour for us. We went in late March, and had very little rain and no traffic/crowds. Daniel was an excellent tour organizer. Very friendly, helpful , organized. The GPS systems( 2 of them) along with the maps made it impossible to get lost on our self guided tour. The hotels were good, and the bikes were very good. Highly recommend this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    19/3 to 1/4
    How many tours have you completed?
    4 others
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Tauern Bike Path
    (5/5) Jim G September 16, 2018

    Going back in time.

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    We have ridden many bike paths in Europe. The Tauren Bike Path to date is our favorite. Dedicated bike path makes the trip totally relaxing, riding through the valley from up in the Alps, through small towns and village’s, pastures, forests, along the Salzach River, etc. Very well maintained and safe path to ride.
    This was our second time riding the Tauren Path.
    Strongly advise spending extra days in Krimml, Salzburg, and Passau.
    Tour operator has done superior job with this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    9
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Burghausen, Germany (photo by Jim G)
    • Burghausen town square. (photo by Jim G)
    • Special Friends. (photo by Jim G)
    • Starting another beautiful day. (photo by Jim G)
    • Salzach River/ Magnificent ride. (photo by Jim G)
    • Salzburg, Austria (photo by Jim G)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Delights
    (5/5) Jaya May 18, 2017

    A dream come true

    · · Danube Delights: Cycling and Cruising in the Footsteps of Royalty

    What was the date of your tour?
    6 may 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    Two
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by Jaya)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Natalie123 December 7, 2015

    Leisurely luxury through classic Europe

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member. I was excited to check out this ever-popular bike and boat tour because our clients usually give it rave reviews. Now I know why!

    Biking is such a part of Dutch culture, so we got to explore the country like the locals live it while benefiting from great infrastructure (dedicated bike paths, good signage, friendly drivers). The landscapes were charming: gardens around every cottage, wide green fields divided by canals, windmills. The Belgian countryside was also beautiful and you're often following river paths, but the Netherlands' villages stole my heart.

    The cycling is leisurely: flat, distances not too long, plenty of breaks for snacks and stretching. The guide was great, but my friend and I decided to go off on our own a couple of days, armed with the route numbers that the group would be following so we could catch up to them if needed and find our way back to the boat. We got a bit lost one day on our own, but that became its own adventure and we didn't mind at all.

    The Magnifique is cozy. The cabins are small (as expected) but comfortable, the dining room and bar are nice communal spaces for relaxing with new friends, and the hot tub on deck is the very best place to watch the passing scenery! The food is excellent, and the guide took us on a walking tour each night after dinner to learn about whichever city we were docked in overnight.

    The thing I like the least about touring is having to pack and unpack every day, so it was a small luxury to be able to unpack on day 1 and not think about bags again since we were in the same cabin all week.

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    Video: Pedaling along a canal-side bike path in Bruges

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1WgZNJQ3t40 (404)

    • Photo 1 (photo by Natalie123)
    • The Netherlands look shockingly just like what you imagine - lush greens, canals, windmills. Accompanied on this trip by my best friend and traveling companion, Kelly. (photo by Natalie123)
    • A short test ride on day 1 aboard the boat to get comfortable with our bikes. Check out that beautiful castle! (photo by Natalie123)
    • A view from the dining area through the bar and sitting area. Our fellow travelers are relaxing between ride time and dinner. (photo by Natalie123)
    • A quiet morning of cycling in Bruges before the tour buses arrived and the streets became crowded. Highly recommend early a.m. or late night jaunts! (photo by Natalie123)
    • The bike paths make it pretty clear which way cyclists should go! (photo by Natalie123)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) Sandra Page August 7, 2022

    Never would we have ever dreamed !

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    This tour is the best way to see all the Croatia has to offer, mountains to the coastline and everything in between! Get up close and personal with the Croatian history that dates back to 300 BC. We were on San Snova the boat was very comfortable and space for everyone to spread out. The crew made it even more special ! Tending to our every want and need ! Everyone should have an Andro in their life at least once! There was always plenty of tasty food you won't lose any weight on this active vacation. Our guides (Ivan and Helena) were very knowledgable. They always got us safely to the best spots. They were very proud of their home country and happy to share all of it with us. The visit to the bee keeper, lunch on the local farm,city tours,winery and white water rafting trips were among our favorites besides the cycling of course. The cycling is challenging you start at sea level and go up from there to a beautiful view point. The e-bike was a lifesaver and allowed for an enjoyable cycling experience. Never would we have ever dreamed we would have a trip like this one !

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • Jelsa (photo by Sandra Page)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Josh Shupack 12 months ago

    Great bike paths and views

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    My wife and our boys ages 7 and 11 went on this tour. Most of it is on fabulous bike paths. Occasionally you have to bike through a town on roads or places with a lot of pedestrians. We had to skip a day and a half via trains and boats because it was a little much for our boys, but we still managed 150 km. I would recommend a day off in the middle.

    The views are great, lots of places to stop for a swim, museum, or just a walk through a neat town. We found that it took a lot of the day just to bike and we didn't have as much time as we had liked for playing and exploring.

    The distances for each day depend on what cities you're staying in.

    Overall a really good experience for the whole family.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike and Boat
    (5/5) Joyce Winough 9 months ago

    Best Holiday

    · · Danube Bike and Boat: Passau-Budapest-Passau – MS SE-Manon

    this tour really was fun, exciting and restful all together. I really enjoyed being on the boat as it made it's way down and up the Danau.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) Amanda M 2 months ago

    Biking with a View!

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    We had a range of weather--from sun to hail to rain to snow--and still every day was great on this trip! The path around the lake was well marked and easy enough to navigate. The hotels were lovely with a great breakfast spread every morning. Our luggage was always waiting for us when we arrived at the next location. Overall, we really enjoyed our little adventure!

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
  • Nature, Villages, and Castles
    (5/5) Susan B March 22, 2022

    Best time ever on a bike tour

    · Nature, Villages & Castles of the Loire River Valley

    We had the most wonderful time on this tour. We are 73 and 75 years old, fairly frequent bike riders at home, and were completely capable of doing this easy route. Mostly flat, had to walk a couple of minor hills, very little riding in traffic. The route was beautiful (we were blessed with great weather in late September), the hotels were outstanding (I recommend taking the dinner package option with the tour; we didn't but ate at the hotels because several were in very small towns. The food was absolutely gourmet.) Our bikes were first class; the whole trip was just magic. People at Biketours.com are super easy to work with. Will definitely use them again.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • We made it to Amboise! (photo by Susan B)
    • Chambord (photo by Susan B)
    • Early morning along the Loire (photo by Susan B)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) RiderSA July 25, 2019

    It was a dream cycle ride!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    What a beautiful way to experience Austria and the Austrian Alps. The journey was well-planned, there was a lot of time to enjoy the scenery and cuisine, and the hotels were all great.

    What was the date of your tour?
    1-8 July 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was the first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) BusterBrown September 29, 2017

    A great way to see Croatia

    · Split to Dubrovnik: The Islands and Coastline of Croatia

    Meridian Ten is the local company that built and ran the tour. Our hotels were first class and all the bag transfers and water taxis were flawless. The bikes weren’t new but were well maintained and worked without any problems. Tom met us at our start point and gave us a briefing and a book describing all the suggested routes and options, There are also recommendations for dining and other activities in the book that came in handy.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 20-26, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • Lots of coastal riding and gorgeous beaches. (photo by BusterBrown)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Wild Atlantic Way Cycling
    (5/5) JimJ December 3, 2015

    Far exceeded my expectations--which were already high!

    · Wild Atlantic Way Cycling

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member and was joined by a friend. More than a year later, we still talk about it: the quiet routes, the lush rural settings, the seaside views, the welcoming villages, the wonderful lodging, the charming people, the superbly attentive tour company and the tasty Irish cuisine (far tastier than I expected). Everything exceeded our expectations. I have the opportunity to go on tours all over the world, and I rarely do "repeats." I'd repeat this tour with joy. The daily distances were perfect for our leisurely cycling, the terrain mostly flat to rolling with just a few longer or steeper climbs that challenged us.

    The Wild Atlantic Way is an amazingly scenic route covering the western coast from north to south. I've done not the whole route, but I'd rate this segment a 10 for sure. The mix of countryside, seacoast, farms, woodlands, rolling hills and even a spectacular fjord and a remote island (with overnight) made this bicycle tour one we'll remember even above most others.

    How many tours have you completed?
    35
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • Photo 1 (photo by JimJ)
    • Remote island of Inishbofin (accessible only by ferry) offered some of the more memorable scenery of the tour. (photo by JimJ)
    • Inishbofin harbor at low tide (shot from hotel room) (photo by JimJ)
    • The ruins of Murrisk Friary overlook centuries of tombstones. (photo by JimJ)
    • No bicycle tour to Ireland is complete without visits to local pubs--with live music, of course. (photo by JimJ)
    • Very content coastal cows roam the beaches. (photo by JimJ)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Jason Hartford August 7, 2022

    Memorable trip well organized

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    We had a great experience with Bike Tours. Positive: good communication pre trip and the night before. Good pre-trip description of the hotel locations, hotels, and what to expect from the bikes. Night prior, very good review of what to expect. We rented the premium bikes and glad we did--worked very well. On the tour, very good ideas of what to see, and the distance between towns seemed to be well thought out with the first and last legs the shortest. Hotels were great. A diversity of new and classic and all had more to them than what I expected. Often ate at the hotel restaurants which were very good.

    On the negative side, not much. Directions into and out of town accurate except the last leg going into Vienna -- on that one Google maps was much better.

    We will definitely do another trip with Bike Tours and even this exact one-- it was memorable and fun and want to experience it with more friends.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Royal Zealand & Copenhagen
    (5/5) e 12 months ago

    Danish delight

    · Royal Zealand and Copenhagen

    Copenhagen and Zealand is a delight. We did the independent tour. Biketours did what it is supposed to do: it booked good hotels, it moved the suitcases every day. and it delivered good sturdy bikes. that is why I came back to this company for a third tour.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark
  • Bruges to Paris
    (5/5) David Baker 9 months ago

    Great experience for first time bike tourists

    · · Bruges to Paris by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    The tour met and exceeded our expectations for a first time bike tourists. The barge captain had to make a detour due to construction which required changes in the itinerary but the crew and guide took it in stride and still gave a great experience.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    One
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Castles and Wines of Portugal
    (5/5) Catherine Buckley 2 months ago

    Honeymoon biking

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    This was such a a great way to see Portugal. Because of the bike trip we stayed in some towns much less travelled - full of culture, wonderful people and astounding views/ old castles.
    Would highly recommend

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    First bike tour ever
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Baltic Capitals
    (5/5) Yeow September 16, 2018
    · Baltic Capitals: Historic Cities of Vilnius, Riga and Tallinn

    What was the date of your tour?
    2 september 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Tauern Bike Path
    (5/5) Jim G September 29, 2017

    Beautiful scenery

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    The scenery on this tour is magnificent!
    Including the largest waterfall in Europe, snow covered Alps mountain tops, lush green valleys, small towns and villages. We even encountered and made friends with some lovely cows.
    For "Sound of Music " fans , we recommend staying an extra day in Salzburg, and going on the Sound of Music bicycle tour. Very enjoyable and informative.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September, 2017
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Krimml Waterfall (photo by Jim G)
    • Krimml, Austria (photo by Jim G)
    • New friends (photo by Jim G)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Jim G)
    • Photo 5 (photo by Jim G)
    • Burghausen, Germany (photo by Jim G)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Nancyhj May 15, 2017

    Beautiful ride through three countries

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    The scenery was ravishing, the directions got us where we needed to go, the breakfasts and hotels were delightful. We opted to rent e-bikes which allowed us to keep up with the stronger riders on our group. The main drawback was the lack of directions for getting from the train station in Trieste to our hotel. Not knowing the lay of the land, which streets were apt to be steep or major thoroughfares, it took us 3 times what it should have to get to our hotel. Also Bled is a charming little town, but had we realized it is a major tour bus destination we would not have opted to spend the extra night there.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 5-12, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    • Biking through valleys with snow capped mountains in the distance (photo by Nancyhj)
    • A side trip to Roman Aguntum (photo by Nancyhj)
    • The island in Lake Bled (photo by Nancyhj)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection