E-bikes Available Tour Reviews

  • Tuscany Getaway
    (4/5) Tera Hurst 21 hours ago

    Amazing trip, highly recommend

    · Tuscany Getaway: 4 Nights in Siena, Montalcino & Pienza

    My brother wanted to do a bike trip for his 50th birthday. After months of research I finally landed on this itinerary and I am so glad we did it! Leading up to the trip bike tours staff was very responsive. The info they sent took awhile and wasn’t tailored to our trip, but they make up for that by answering all questions promptly and without making you feel like a burden!! We had some last minute changes they were very accommodating with as well. The local tour company was wonderful! They were very patient with all of our anxieties and questions. We had never done a trip like this and in a foreign country self guided was intimidating. They broke it down for us and it was amazing. The routes they gave us were stunning and we only made a few quick wrong turns. GPS app they use was helpful and easy to use and follow. We were directed to a different hotel than the one we were staying at twice which was a bit annoying but once we found our place it was lovely and so nice to jump in a cold pool after a hot long ride. Their lunch and dinner recs were delicious! And the one time we had an issue where our bike lock wouldn’t unlock they came out to our remote spot and helped! It’s such a magical place to experience by bike! They never made us feel like a burden and were so professional, accommodating and supportive. I highly recommend this trip. It’s totally worth the price.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • Day 4 in Montelciano (photo by Tera Hurst)
    • Heading to Siena (photo by Tera Hurst)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Wild Atlantic Way Cycling
    (5/5) Pauline Keener 24 hours ago

    Great experience

    · Wild Atlantic Way Cycling

    Tour operator so helpful and adjusted to me having an injury which actually kept me from riding. I would go again when my leg is healed.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
  • (5/5) Pauline Keener 1 day ago

    Great experience

    · Wild Atlantic Way Cycling

    Tour operator so helpful and adjusted to me having an injury which actually kept me from riding. I would go again when my leg is healed.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
  • Emerald Tour of Slovenia’s Gems
    (5/5) Suzanne Kellett 2 days ago

    Great ride through beautiful scenery

    · Emerald Tour of Slovenia’s Gems

    A great ride for everyone even those who may not be regular cyclists. The schedule is not too taxing for e bike riders who only cycle occasionally. The route takes you through some really beautiful scenery albeit a bit hilly at times and the hotels were all in great locations.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    Five
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Prague - City of a Hundred Spires Bike and Boat
    (4/5) Barry Nashen 2 days ago

    Pros and cons, as in most tours

    · · Prague - City of a Hundred Spires Bike and Boat

    Pros: Flawlessly organized, excellent food options, very attentive service, comfortable cabins, excellent choice of cycling itineraries.
    Cons: 100% of passengers were couples (50 yrs+), no possibility for changing tables at meal times for a variety of interactions, lack of events to encourage mingling/meeting others.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Charles Eberhard 3 days ago

    Fabulous Ride, Scenery and Hotels

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    Just a fantastic ride down the Danube. The river valley scenery was especially beautiful, but we all also enjoyed riding through the small towns along the way. Great choice of hotels which all had excellent breakfasts to start us on our day. The only real disappointment we had was the introduction to the tour and bikes by the representative of the tour company. He was late, didn't seem too interested in helping us, and didn't check that the bikes were adjusted correctly for each of us. We had to do some additional adjustments ourselves the next day which caused some problems and could have been totally avoided if he had just checked each of us and had tools to make final changes. That wasn't a good start, but after that, the ride, directions and hotels were all great. Also glad we did an unguided tour as we really didn't need a guide for this trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June '24
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) Marek Hartleb 3 days ago

    Alpine pastures

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    Although we went through all climate zones during our ride we find this vacation awesome. Selection of hotels and planning of bike routes was very good. Riding 40 to 65 km each day with e-bikes took 2-3 hours, therefore we had enough time to walk alpine pastures taken up by cable cars in Zell am See or Lofer. You may believe me that alpine meadows settled only by Milka cows is something that gives the best break from noisy and busy life.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    •  (photo by Marek Hartleb)
    •  (photo by Marek Hartleb)
    •  (photo by Marek Hartleb)
    •  (photo by Marek Hartleb)
    •  (photo by Marek Hartleb)
    •  (photo by Marek Hartleb)
  • Pearls of Dalmatia
    (5/5) Andrea Johnson 4 days ago

    Wow, unforgettable adventure!

    · · Pearls of Dalmatia by Bike and Boat, Romantica

    Loved every moment, fantastic guides Ana and Srdan, wonderful traveling companions, delicious and plentiful food, great boat crew, and knowledgeable city guides. We loved seeing Croatia and would delight in a future trip with Bike Tours.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June/July 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Peter Wiedenbeck 4 days ago

    Wonderful week of biking in a beautiful place

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    I’d like to give a 4-1/2 star rating because, although it was wonderful and we definitely recommend it, there is still room for improvement

    Pros: Wonderful route – the vast majority of the time you are biking on paved dedicated bike paths along the river, separate from the roadway and train tracks. There are a few areas where the bike path is adjacent to the road (especially along the Rhine from St. Goar to Koblenz) and at least one short stretch on packed dirt through the woods. Most of the routes are extremely well-marked. You have to be watchful for turns in towns, where it can be easy to miss the small sign with the arrow to turn, especially when looking at all the sites in the towns. We did better when we stopped at each signpost and made sure we were headed the right way. The Hotels were all very nice and had generous breakfast buffets, which made for a great start every morning. Note that hotels in Germany don’t have AC and often don’t have fans. I had a spray bottle to mist myself while riding and that helped at night, too. Next time, I’ll bring a small fan to help on those hot nights. We didn’t opt for the dinner plan, but did eat in the hotels several times and had excellent meals and service. The organized wine tasting was fun and we did a few more on our own. Luggage transfers all went very well. We added an extra hotel night at each end (Trier and Koblenz), which we would do again. Trier has an amazing amount of Roman history and fabulous restaurants. The extra day also gave us time to ride the other way (upstream on the Mosel) to Saarburg. In Koblenz, we spent an entire day at Ehrenbreitstein Fortress (take the cable car up and across the Rhine to get there). The map book was very helpful and detailed the type of trail for each section. But, oops, one page on the Rhine was replaced by a duplicate page along the Mosel. The specific directions packet included detailed distances between towns and possible sites to see. But…. See cons below.

    Cons: Bikes: we had conventional bikes (not ebikes), and they could have been better maintained. The chains were a bit dry and downshifting often didn’t work. That was not a huge issue on the flat trail, but in towns, it was a problem. The odometer on one of the bikes quit working after 3 days. The seats are not touring seats – they are wide and therefore chafed. Despite doing lots of riding in prep and wearing padded shorts, we were painfully chafed by the end of the trip. We couldn’t figure out how to use the pump without letting out air, but were able to use a pump at one of the hotels. Detours: Our biggest issue is that it is clear the route was not checked early in the season and the directions adjusted. There was a lot of construction in many of the towns that invalidated the directions in the packet. Construction that clearly would be going on all summer. For example, Day 1, leaving Trier, the booklet says: “Start at Kaiser-Wilhelm bridge and cycle along the left bank of the Moselle” Well, the bike path itself is being reconstructed beneath the bridge - it is down to dirt, covered with equipment and bike path entrance blocked off. No detour signs giving you an alternate route. It took us an extra 10 km of going one way then another over a frustrating hour before we were on our way. Not a great start to the trip. There were similar long-term construction issues in at least two other places (Karden and Koblenz). If the route had been checked, a single sheet in addition to the bound booklet could have provided alternate ways to leave town/get to hotels with much less frustration.
    All that said, it was a wonderful experience and we highly recommend it. It is beautiful country, well-maintained bike paths, lovely vineyards and great wine. Being able to have the hotel reservations and luggage transfers all done for us was a pleasure. When there was an issue with the ferry to St Goar, customer service was very responsive and got things straightened out right away. Transportation to Trier and from Koblenz was very easy to arrange on the regional German trains.  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • Basilica in Trier (photo by Peter Wiedenbeck)
    • Villa Rustica in Mehring (photo by Peter Wiedenbeck)
    •  (photo by Peter Wiedenbeck)
    •  (photo by Peter Wiedenbeck)
    • Cable car to Ehrenbreitstein in Koblenz (photo by Peter Wiedenbeck)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Prague to Dresden
    (5/5) Johann Hjaltdal Thorsteinsson 4 days ago

    The perfect bike holiday

    · Prague to Dresden Along the Vltava & Elbe Rivers

    Everything was as good as described. Beautiful bikepaths, easy navigation, sturdy bikes and good quality hotels. I can recommend this trip for others to enjoy. Thank you.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Tuscany Getaway
    (5/5) Aaron Hurst 5 days ago

    A perfect week

    · Tuscany Getaway: 4 Nights in Siena, Montalcino & Pienza

    The team was so friendly and helpful. The hotels were clean. The bikes worked great. Routes were incredible.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
  • The true taste of Tallinn
    (5/5) Lis Ellis 5 days ago

    A splendid tootle around town ending with an incredible meal

    · Tallinn Bike Tour with Market Visit & Food Tasting

    Enjoyed a small group ride. Roland was a top notch guide. Well informed about the history and culture but also had a great sense of humor. An easy pace ride through various Tallinn neighborhoods. Mostly outside of old town which is appreciative since old town is cobblestone heavy. A 20 mins stop at the market which was lovely so a nice bathroom break and quick refreshment but don’t eat to much because is coming! 90% flat but we were doing well on time so our guide took us to the top of Toompea area so we had a tiny portion of incline but well worth it. I am absolutely loved the food tasting was a sit down meal made by local chefs. The food was incredible and we enjoyed the fellowship and conversation with other travelers. Highly recommend.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    Over 15
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    •  (photo by Lis Ellis)
    •  (photo by Lis Ellis)
    •  (photo by Lis Ellis)
    •  (photo by Lis Ellis)
    •  (photo by Lis Ellis)
    •  (photo by Lis Ellis)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Bike Path
    (3/5) Jay Bonitt 6 days ago

    Easy But Hard

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    The App for the bike path route was VERY GOOD. However, at the end of each day the app and map took us to the city for that day's destination, NOT to our hotel. The hotel in Aschach was not near where the app ended the day; and the hotel in Enns, while on the bike path, was several miles (and across major highways). If the hotel was on he bike path, why didn't the app take us directly to it? Finally, when entering Vienna the end of the app was no where near the hotel (a 20 minute taxi ride in heavy traffic). This glitch could easily be fixed by the tour operator by guiding riders directly to their hotel each night. As it was, after a good day of cycling, the day often ended in confusion and nowhere near the destination hotel. The bikes (one a road bike the other an e-bike) were excellent. If the app took us directly to our hotel each day instead of guiding us to the center city, I would rate the trip excellent. Unfortunately the hotel destinations were left to us to figure out, and Google maps did not always work.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Jan July 12, 2024

      Thanks for your review. We are actively trying to standardize the apps used for rides like this and their configuration among all of our partners (and the industry in general) but this has been a slowly not always perfect process. Thanks for traveling with us and we hope to see you again!

    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Baltic Capitals
    (4/5) Marilyn Miller 6 days ago

    Great combination of antiquities and nature

    · Baltic Capitals: Historic Cities of Vilnius, Riga and Tallinn

    All three Baltic countries were fascinating. We were happy we decided to go guided when we became acquainted with our guide, Minda. He is a great asset to the trip. So well organized, cordial, and full of interesting history and other facts.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania
    •  (photo by Marilyn Miller)
    •  (photo by Marilyn Miller)
  • Balkan Treasures
    (4/5) Mary Lynn Griff 6 days ago

    Our Balkan Adventure

    · Balkan Treasures

    We really enjoyed our bike tour of Croatia, Montegreno and Albania. The hotels were great as were the transfers. My notes of caution; first I suggest bringing mirrors and/or suggest they be provided. This tour was entirely on narrow roads with little or no shoulder so being able to see what is coming behind you is better for your safety. Drivers were very patient for the most part but a few of our patty were not used to riding on roads with traffic however after a few days they adapted well. The first day was the most difficult in my opinion but none of the days were as difficult as I had myself mentally (and physically) prepared for but for the casual rider I suggest the e-bike option. Otherwise, prepare for long climbs of 8-10%. I am 6'4" and my road bike was a bit too small but workable however the tires were not worn but had very little trend and were very slippery on some surfaces especially the decent into Kotor. If it had been raining it would have been very unsafe. I suggest tires with a bit more tread to provide better footing. Lastly, a couple of our hotels had live music that normally would have been great however it was very hot during our tour (100 degrees) so we were up and out early before the heat set in making the live music at 11:00 pm not as fun. The navigation was spotty on my android but others had better connections on their phones. All in all, a great trip. We loved finding our own way and being in control of our time and pace. We look forward to doing another trip sometime soon.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Albania, Montenegro
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (4/5) Greg Scheurich 6 days ago

    ??

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    The App was great Difficult to locate hotels. Many hotels resturants were closed

    What was the date of your tour?
    June/July
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
  • Pedal along the Puccini Cycle Path
    (5/5) robert cenna 7 days ago

    Book this trip—it’s exceptional!

    · Pisa to Lucca Bike Tour

    Our guide Dani was wonderful. The bikes were in great condition. The process was easy. Everyone we dealt with was friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique III
    (4/5) Donnan Sharp 1 week ago

    Fun!!!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique III (and reverse)

    We biked on our own so probably missed some highlights, but GPS helped us follow same routes. Local bikers very fast so needed to pay strict attention!! But in all, totally awesome.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June ‘24
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique III
    (5/5) Vicki Vinton 1 week ago

    We had a great team from stern to bow. Super weather

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique III (and reverse)

    The ship was beautifully equipped, our room was comfortable, quiet and perfectly attended to every day

    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland