Bike Tour Reviews  Holland’s Super Tulip Tour


Holland’s Super Tulip Tour

COUNTRY: Holland

7 nights
4.2/5 (20)
Rider Level: Leisure Electric bike tours Bike and boat tours
Rider Level: Leisure Electric bike tours Bike and boat tours

4.2/5 (20)
7 nights

Guided from EUR € 1740

Guided:
Apr 03, 10, 17, 24; May 10, 2025

Description:
Between April and mid-May, we offer special tulip tours. The program of this Super Tulip Tour is totally dedicated to this beautiful flower. You will cycle through the fields spring flowers and tulips, learn all about growing tulips in a tulip park and…

View Tour

  • Holland’s Super Tulip Tour
    (4/5) Heather Reynolds 1 month ago

    Fun time

    The tour was fun but the company had one of our main itinerary items (the flower auction) scheduled during a time that it was closed so it just was not part of our tour even though it was on the itinerary. Our guide made the best of it for us by finding a substitute activity (once we complained that it was being skipped and was a huge part of our overall trip)but the company should be accountable for its agreed upon itinerary.

  • (3/5) Kelly Kimbler 2 months ago

    Fun with friends

    The weather was not great so we had to roll with it. For it being a super tulip tour I thought we see more tulip farms and maybe visit one to see the inner workings of how tulips are produced and sold.
    Our guide was trying hard but with a group the size of ours I’m sure that was difficult. I think it was her first time doing the super tulip tour. We missed both the flower market and the cheese market from them being closed on the days we were there. I think the cost of admission into keukenhof should have been included instead of us each having to buy ours individually online the night before. The flower parade was a nice bonus since we didn’t get to see the flower parade.
    The food was good. The accommodations were basic but clean.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Neil Tardiff 2 months ago

    Awesome Bike Tour

    This was a wonderful way to see the country with your friends. The bike tour staff were wonderful. The food was fantastic and the scenery was gorgeous.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Kassandra DiMaggio 2 months ago

    It was fun

    What made it really fun was renting the whole boat and biking with a bunch of friends and being able to share the experience. The employees were very friendly and accommodating. Our guide was very sweet and tried really hard but had difficulty navigating the route, which became frustrating at times

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 18
    How many tours have you completed?
    None
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 2/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (3/5) Kelly Kimbler 2 months ago

    Fun with friends

    The weather was not great so we had to roll with it. For it being a super tulip tour I thought we see more tulip farms and maybe visit one to see the inner workings of how tulips are produced and sold.
    Our guide was trying hard but with a group the size of ours I’m sure that was difficult. I think it was her first time doing the super tulip tour. We missed both the flower market and the cheese market from them being closed on the days we were there. I think the cost of admission into keukenhof should have been included instead of us each having to buy ours individually online the night before. The flower parade was a nice bonus since we didn’t get to see the flower parade.
    The food was good. The accommodations were basic but clean.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Garry Goudie 2 months ago

    On the go discovery tour of Holland

    The cycling was great, the barge accomodations were great, food was fantastic, crew was exceptional. Couldn't have had a better experience in the Netherlands. Our first trip to Europe was excellent. Many interesting stops along the cycle tour, worth the effort of cycling to places we wouldn't have seen otherwise

  • (5/5) Marie Jane Goudie 2 months ago

    Most memorable way to sight see

    The barge was exceptional with a welcoming crew and fabulous 5 star meals. Our guide tailored our bike tours to our requests and needs. Adri went over and above what was expected of a bike leader. We had much stronger winds than I had expected so for 2 days riding our bicycles was challenging (we did not have e-bikes), but it was well worth the effort as the sights we saw were so beautiful and I felt that we travelled to places that most tourists never get a chance to see or experience. Our coffee and lunch stops were often at interesting places. We stopped at churches, markets, cheese & clog store, windmills and sometimes just to take in the scenic views. There was always something new to see and discover in each place we stopped. I think one of the most interested things we saw were 2 volunteers in a small town running a channel lock. We watched them hoist the bridge and then shut the gates of the lock and the water level lowered to meet the upcoming canal. The couple in the boat chatted with them as they waited for the water to come to equilibrium and then the doors were opened and off they went. The volunteers collect 3 euros for every vessel that comes through the lock and then at the end of the year that money is used for a big party for the volunteers of the town. Of course the greatest day was the Keukenhof Gardens which was the most breathtaking gardens I have ever seen. Even more beautiful than the acres of tulips we had ridden past on the days prior.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    •  (photo by Marie Jane Goudie)
    •  (photo by Marie Jane Goudie)
    •  (photo by Marie Jane Goudie)
    •  (photo by Marie Jane Goudie)
    •  (photo by Marie Jane Goudie)
    •  (photo by Marie Jane Goudie)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Kathy Sommer June 6, 2023

    Wonderful tour!

    This tour was so much fun!! Our week was May 6-13. The weather was cool (50-65 degrees) and cloudy, some rain but no matter, we were prepared. Our guide Rosanne was fabulous, always cheerful, full of information and always willing to talk and be with us. The boat crew was equally wonderful - Hans, Tessi, Jon - we enjoyed each of them completely and felt completely taken care of. Meals were meticulously prepared, the tables set with touches of flowers, special napkin folds, cookie-cutter butter chunks, chocolates, just charming touches. The chef Hans always provided tupperware with salads or delicious leftovers for lunch, or we could make sandwiches from the buffet table. We were never hungry! Jon the skipper came and chatted with us daily, always with a big smile.
    The Holland terrain and bike paths were positively delightful. Rosanne took us to numerous small museums during the days of riding as well as after the rides. The Anna Antal barge was delightful as well. Small rooms as expected but completely fine and comfortable. Thank you for such an enjoyable trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 6-13
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Picnic time (photo by Kathy Sommer)
    • Anna Antal dining lounge (photo by Kathy Sommer)
    • Our group on the path (photo by Kathy Sommer)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (3/5) Russ Deuell May 23, 2023

    Trip of a lifetime that the guide fell short on!

    Biking through Holland was an amazing adventure. Having an E-Bike made it much more relaxing since you could always turn on the power assist if needed, which we didn't need. THere were many great biking trails that were very relaxing to ride on and see the great scenery of Holland.
    The boat, captain, chef and serving assistant made the trip very enjoyable.
    The guide, well it seemed like it was the first time Annette did this trip. She easily got lost 3-4 times a day. She would ask for input on what we wanted and then ignore the input if it didn't match what she had planned for the day. Several times she ignored the bike crossing lights and almost got riders that were following hit. This made the rides very stressful. The group also asked to bike faster so we could spend more time at some of the sights. She insisted this was not possible but managed to do exactly that on the last day when weather was going to be an issue later in the afternoon. We also had a flat tire one day and she didn't have a replacement tube. She had to go find another group that had one and then had to have someone from the group change the tube because she couldn't do it herself She managed to make the daily rides very stressful. I would not recommend a trip with her.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    •  (photo by Russ Deuell)
    •  (photo by Russ Deuell)
    •  (photo by Russ Deuell)
    •  (photo by Russ Deuell)
    •  (photo by Russ Deuell)
    • 2/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 1/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Carla Myers May 18, 2023

    Windmills & Tulips

    The perfect way to experience the Netherlands. The guide was great, but if you wanted to go off on your own the roads/paths are marked, and you just follow what the book says.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 6, 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (2/5) Rebecca Norman May 17, 2023

    Was lovely. Nice country.

    Boat, Food, Captain, Chef, First Mate… Wonderful…. Now the tour guide.. hum not so much… First my bike was not the right size for me!! Way to tall!! First day I did ask for some help on getting a safer bike.. Did change but still to tall. I didn’t ride many days not feeling safe!! One’s feet should not be 6 inches off the pavement. I would hop loft to stop. I did fall twice. She didn’t know the route. Turned around afew times.. Always a problem finding a toilet to stop at… Would I go on another tour? Up in the air. Can’t say I would.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 29
    How many tours have you completed?
    First
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Jan May 17, 2023

      Rebecca,

      We truly appreciate your honest feedback and sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced with your bike and the guidance during your tour. We are committed to enhancing our services for a more comfortable and safe adventure, and we'll take your comments into consideration for future improvements. We hope that despite these challenges, we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back on another tour and provide a better experience.

      Jan

    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 1/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
    • 1/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Gail Nawrock May 10, 2023

    Terrific Tulip Trip

    We had 15 cyclists, a crew of 4 and the best experience. While Holland is flat, making the actual cycling fairly easy, the number of cyclists on the road presented a learning curve for many of us. But our guide, Niels, taught us about the rules of the road and we all biked safely. While I signed up for this because I wanted to see the tulips, it was much more. Riding through nature reserves, having our picnic lunch at the beach on the North Sea and more. Our crew was fantastic - personable and efficient. The meals were delicious. We packed picnic lunches each morning, enabling a more relaxed and flexible lunch break. Our original route was changed in order to avoid Keukenhof Gardens on a Sunday. Any alterations to the route only improved the ride. It was a great group to ride with and a great overall experience.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (3/5) Ronald Rettig-Zucchi April 26, 2023

    Super tulip

    A bit like giligan’s island. It was staffed by excellent people but the boat was substandard. It seems the boat was rented by the outfitters on April 1 but not really checked out for fitness. They did a cruise on April 6 during which plumbing problems developed which they did not completely fix before starting pour cruise on April 15. The problem continued and we had to spend a night in a hotel. A very nice hotel provided by the outfitters. In all it was okay but still avoidable.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Frank Vaughan November 4, 2022

    Very nice trip

    We had a great time on the trip. Small boat with not a lot of people, and the guide was very good. We got to see some amazing places and he even took us on some side trips. The riding was easy just as described, and after each ride the guide offered an optional walking tour of the area. We feel we really saw Holland! Our only complaint is the boarding instructions had us going to the wrong dock. Give yourselves plenty of extra time to board!

    What was the date of your tour?
    March 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) MarcieB May 22, 2022

    Tulips, Windmills, Canals and Camaraderie!

    The Super Tulip Tour (Barge: Zwaan @ 14 passengers and 4 crew) was truly a delight from beginning to end. Our group of 8 Americans, 2 Canadians, 2 Norwegians and 2 French enjoyed polder pedaling, canal crossings and windmill wonders while taking in the tulip fields/gardens. The meals were served family style and were amazing! The rooms were well equipped with wifi, hair dryers, etc. and the crew was eager to please.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 30 - May 7, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    More than seven!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Our happy peddlers are ready to disembark! (photo by MarcieB)
    • Early May tulips were still blooming! (photo by MarcieB)
    • We called ourselves "Team Yellow Jackets" . . . (photo by MarcieB)
    • Lunch on the beach at Egmond am Meer (photo by MarcieB)
    • The Zwaan featured its namesake "Swan" in the dining room for all to enjoy. (photo by MarcieB)
    • The magic of the Keukenhof Gardens, Lisse, Netherlands... (photo by MarcieB)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Jfletc3233 May 16, 2019

    The tulips were beautiful

    Overall the tour was very good. The ship’s crew was excellent and the food was wonderful. We were able to see a lot of tulips even though the tulips bloomed early this year. The tulips at Keukenhof were fabulous and not to be missed. I wish we could have had more time there. We saw lots of windmills and also happened upon a miller setting up his mill for operation it was fascinating. We learned about the creation of polders from sea and spend a fair amount of time on the polders. The scenery was really beautiful. On the negative side, we had to do a lot of riding in congested areas that weren’t especially interesting or historic. I wasn’t expecting this. Some of that may have been because a canal was closed and the boat couldn’t meet us where it was supposed to. Additionally, we had two guides during our tour one who started off with us for 2 days and another for the rest of the tour. Neither of them taught the inexperienced riders in our group how to ride as a group, communicate with each other about hazards coming up or when the group was slowing or stopping. As a result several people fell during the ride. Some of the riders on the tour explained those things to the newer riders and after that people rode better as a group.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 27, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    Many on our own.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Tulips in the fields (photo by Jfletc3233)
    • Windmill (photo by Jfletc3233)
    • Beautiful tulips st Keukenhof (photo by Jfletc3233)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Pat m May 4, 2019

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 20-27
    How many tours have you completed?
    Two
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Johni June 25, 2018

    Cycling around Amsterdam with Cycletours exceeded our expectations

    This trip was a memorable experience. The cycling guide, chef, barge 'captain' were all helpful, friendly, and nothing was ever too much trouble.

    What was the date of your tour?
    5 May 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    One
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Allan May 6, 2017

    Great way to explore a foreign country

    A really enjoyable way to discover a new country. We were fortunate to have a very helpful tour guide ,along with a first class chef providing excellent meals as well as very helpful barge staff. Our boat the Anna Anatel accomadated 17 guests and was an ideal group size for this type of activity.

    What was the date of your tour?
    22/4/17-29/4/17
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)