Lake Balaton  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Wine & Bike Hungary’s Balaton Uplands
    (5/5) PattyN October 4, 2019

    Wine, Food and Culture - and a Bit of Biking

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    This was an amazing tour of the high quality food and wine in Hungary's Balaton region. There was a bit of biking involved, but mostly that was just to get to the next fabulous meal and wine cellar. My group also enjoyed the castles, monasteries and churches along the route, and Gabor's explanation of how they fit into Hungary's history and his family's experiences.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    hundreds
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Boise cyclist October 2, 2019

    Hidden Gem!

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    What a great trip - Gabor was an amazing host and guide. Bright, entertaining and so knowledgable about the history and culture of the area. Food and wine were plentiful and delicious. The scenery was wonderful, biking through the vineyards and along the lakeside delightful at a leisurely pace on great bike paths and low traffic roads. The hotel selections were great and the local people we met all gracious and friendly. The E-bike option makes this tour a really easy cruising pace, but is not necessary, as the mileage distances and routes never felt excessive. Our entire group of mixed level cyclists all handled the routes without difficulty. The highlight for me was Gabor's knowledge of his country. Every day we were treated to detailed discussions about the sites we visited as well as insight into the history, culture and economics of the area, both from his perspective and also that of his parents and grandparent's generation's experiences. Gave me new appreciation for the complex history of Hungary. Heartily recommend the guided version of this trip. Thanks Gabor!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    12-15
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • Photo 1 (photo by Boise cyclist)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Boise cyclist)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Boise cyclist)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Boise cyclist)
    • Photo 5 (photo by Boise cyclist)
    • Photo 6 (photo by Boise cyclist)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Marce August 9, 2019

    wonderful trip

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    Great experience, upscale accommodations, inviting and easy country to visit, stunning hillside vineyard scenery and lakeside vacation activity at once elegant, lively and easy going.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 21 -28
    How many tours have you completed?
    only this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Marce August 8, 2019

    Everything we were hoping for.

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    We both loved this trip great biking, lodging wine and food

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 19-26
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Ro Riders June 14, 2019

    Ro's Riders: Our Wonderful Journey

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    I want to start with appreciation for our in country tour operator. Gabor and his team went out of their way to make us feel at home (historical briefing, welcome drink, bottle of wine) in his country and to administer to all of our needs. (the weather was so bad one day (rain, 25 mile per hour winds, cold) that he arranged transportation to get us from one hotel to another). The countryside was beautiful and the route was easy to follow. The availability of bike paths for most of the trip was an added benefit. Very little road travel. The accommodations were well situated and excellent. The meal plan that we chose was a life saver. The food was very good and after a long ride, it's nice to have a drink, relax and eat in one place. We spent one night at a winery and that was special. We tasted all their varieties and then had the best meal of the trip. Having the opportunity to talk with the staff in a home setting was also special. The length and level of difficulty was as advertised and did not exhaust our 70 something group.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 12-19
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) clk14 September 7, 2018

    Beautiful and relaxing trip!

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    The Balaton is a beautiful area to bike in and to vacation where the Hungarians vacation. Hotel Olivia and the town of Veszprém were perfect places to start and end the trip and we had perfect timing with a weeklong jazz festival occurring on both our start and finish evenings in Veszprém. We liked the Anna Grand Hotel but loved the rest of the hotels and had many wonderful dinners. We chose to go unguided because this summer we needed/wanted to relax and go at our own pace. If you want lots of activities and wine tasting, then go for the guided tours--based on our experience with the tour company, we expect the guided tours would be wonderful.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Pamela Jo June 22, 2018

    Wonderful experience

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    We had a great time in Hungary. Gabor is a terrific host even for a self guided ride. great cycling and even better wine!

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/8
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) BruceB September 24, 2017

    Really great trip

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    We loved Hungary, it is a beautiful part of the world and riding through the countryside and winelands was just the break we needed. The bike tour organisation was great (we went self guided), the bikes were very well maintained and our hotels were perfect. What I enjoyed most was the food - we elected to go with the package inclusive of dinner. I would highly recommend this tour!

    What was the date of your tour?
    7 September 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Jim Johnson, founder and president September 25, 2017

      Bruce, thank you very much for your review and ratings. I'm glad you had a great time! I did the tour a few years back, and the food is indeed great. For this tour, we always recommend that clients take the dinner package.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) charles September 14, 2017

    `A relaxing week exploring good food great wine in good company

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    Gabor and his team plan and run this trip very well with a great eye for the detail and a passion for the region and region's wine.
    The cycling is generally on dedicated cycle tracks and the route has been well planned which helped us enjoy the views , good food, some interesting sights and the vineyards
    A mixed age group of 11 cyclists were all happy with the variety of the route and the pace was fine for all.
    Every day had different highlights of views , places to see and comfortable smaller hotels to stay together with around 30k of cycling.
    Equipment was excellent ( we chose electric bikes which were almost brand new and light in design and easy to use).
    Transfers to and from Budapest well organised and Gabor and team very knowledgeable to answer questions both on the balaton area where the cycling is and also ideas for onward travel and other areas in hungary.

    What was the date of your tour?
    26th Aug 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Jim Johnson, Founder and president September 15, 2017

      Dear Charles,

      Thank you for your feedback. I did this tour several years ago, and I'm glad to read you had as much of a great time as I did. And I agree that Gabor and his team do a great job!

    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Yuvi September 3, 2017
    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    What was the date of your tour?
    8/29-9/3
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (3/5) Icebiker1 August 22, 2017
    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    What was the date of your tour?
    1. week of July
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 4/5 Value
    • 1/5 Included meals
    • 1/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Icebikers August 8, 2017

    Hungary was on my list, cycling is good way to travel there!

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    The tour was wery well organized and a great way to see and visit many places. I did like very much the vine farms and restaurants on my bike tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    1. July to 8. July 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Aussie jeff August 8, 2017

    Top planning and execution

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    Perfect route to see Hungary and the elements of country\villages

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) ArmannI August 8, 2017

    Nice tour in beautiful country

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    Perfect way to experience wine tasting and beautiful country (north side of the lake Balaton )

    What was the date of your tour?
    1/7 to 8/7
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) peyster June 30, 2017

    I am 68, don't bike much, and loved the experience.

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    The tour was all that I had hoped for.
    I picked this tour in part because I am 68 years old and, because of where I live, don't bike much. I went self guided partly so as to not hold up a group. As it turned out the riding was no problem. The longest day was 50 K, and while there were some hills, nothng arduous. So my main consideration turned out not to be an issue and everything else was fantastic.
    The highlights, apart from the scenery, were the accommodations, the food, and the guys who ran the tour. The places we stayed, especially the Grand Anna Hotel, were outstanding. The breakfasts and food we ate on the way were what you would expect in Hungary: and since we were riding, we felt free to eat all we wanted. The tour operators were like friends or family; they couldn't do enough.
    My wife fell ill on the fourth riding day - not sure why, but those things happen when you travel and eat and drink freely. The host who would normally transport the baggage took her and her bike to the last two hotels and also took her to a doctor and got her a priscription.
    The biking might be too easy for someone more fit than I, but we were given good maps and could have explored all of the countryside we desired.
    We flew to Budapest five days before the tour started and took the train to Veszprem. Budapest merits at least that much time, and getting the train is a piece of cake.
    I don't make many good decisions, but taking this tour was one of my best

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 4, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    Two and RAGBRAI
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Agnes June 14, 2016

    Best girls biking trip to date!!!

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    This bike tour far exceeded our expectations. Our guides Gabor, Kornel and Akos were amazing. They treated us like royalty, the food was delicious, the wine tasting was great and the cycling was awesome. Hungary is a beautiful country and Gabor taught us so much about it's history. It is so nice to have all your meals and wine included. We had so much fun that is was very hard to say goodbye on our last day. I have done cycling tours in many countries and this is by far the best. Keep up the good work Gabor, don't change a thing!!! I highly recommend this tour to everyone!!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 25, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) NancyR June 11, 2016

    Fantastic trip with great biking and wine

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    This was a great way to explore Lake Balaton. Our guides were knowledgable, caring, and flexible. The biking was safe, the wine tours fun, the food and hotels beyond expectations. Learnt lots about the region and the history of Hungary.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 25-June 1/16
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) MeliBoiles October 19, 2015

    This tour was absolutely as dreamy as described!

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    Our family of four (age 68, 55, 26 and 24) from Nacogdoches, Texas took this tour and will remember it dreamily for the rest of our lives. It was our "last hurrah" before 20-something kids got married and started having kids. Our personable tour directors picked us up in Budapest and took us off to our starting point in Veszprem--a gorgeous medieval town with colorful skyline. Every day we had a manageable ride--even for 68 year old dad--giving us wonderful lunch stop suggestions, and winery options. Take the guides' suggestions--they are awesome places! We were definitely off the beaten path, with villages along cobblestone Roman roads and dedicated bike paths most of the way. Hotels were small but elegant and the breakfasts and dinners very nice with quality local wines included. We were given bikes in good condition and a well-programmed GPS that allowed our son to guide us along the way through the quiet countryside, many times with lake views of Balaton. The trip put this beautiful country on the map for us, along with empathy for its history and people and all the trials they have survived. We chose this tour because it was one of the more affordable ones, but it left us with a lifetime of rich experience.

    How many tours have you completed?
    This is our only one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • Veszprem (photo by MeliBoiles)
    • Wheee! Down the hill from Veszprem to Balanfured. With an unlocked phone, buy a local sim card and track your ride! (photo by MeliBoiles)
    • This hotel, the Anna Grand, even has a bowling alley! (photo by MeliBoiles)
    • It doesn't get better than this! (photo by MeliBoiles)
    • Szigliget Castle (photo by MeliBoiles)
    • Balatonalmadi after lunch and sunning lake-side (photo by MeliBoiles)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)