Germany  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Stephen A 2 weeks ago

    Quiet roads and beautiful scenary

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    What a great way to see the sites along the Danube! Starting out the last week of September, the bike trail was very quiet. I enjoyed the solitude and how easy it was to just stop along the way and take in the sites. While the trail was nearly empty, the agricultural fields were busy with harvest activities.
    Logistically, everything worked great. The accommodations were all nice and directions to them clear. My bag arrived at every stop.
    I would take another tour with BikeTours!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September/October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Quiet roads through farming areas (photo by Stephen A)
    • I enjoyed a glass of wine right in the field where the grapes were grown! (photo by Stephen A)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Cycle Path
    (5/5) Fady Abiassaf 3 weeks ago

    nice trip

    · Danube Cycle Path Passau – Budapest

    nice trip, nice company, good organization, almost perfect, nice company people and always worry about every detail of our trip. Nice views along our trip, nice towns, nice people in Austria, Slovenia and Hungary.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) James Davidson 3 weeks ago

    Our Danube Cycling tour - Sept 20-29

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    Before I get started I wanted to thank Penelope for all her help and assistance.

    We had a fabulous time. We flew into Vienna and took the train to Passau
    where our hotel shuttle picked us up at the train station. The Hotels that
    were set up for us were great although there were some minor snafoos along the way.
    The bikes were delivered along with maps and itenerary for us with path suggestions
    hotel locations and contact information.

    When we got to our hotel in Ashach, the hotel looked closed and the hotel door was locked.
    There was no note on the door as to what to do. We called the contact number and was
    told how to check-in remotely but we had to wait until someone walked out of the
    door to be able to go in. The placed still looked closed, no lights, etc, but we
    did find our room keys at the front desk. Just a little weird but we got through
    it.

    We ride a lot at home so 20-25 miles isn't a lot of distance for us so we opted
    for the 7 day ride (6 actual days riding). We realized that riding some days
    at 40+ miles, although easy to ride, really wasn't enough time to stop and smell
    the roses! Our fault for picking this plan but I would suggest to others that
    riding 8 days would give you more time to see the sites.

    We didn't think a lot of things through, like riding through the Wachau region on Sunday
    when everything was closed! Bummer. Beautiful but not a lot open that day. I guess
    that is why they ran the Wachau Marathon on that day. Being an ex-marathoner, it was
    fun to see all the runners.

    We had an issue with the brakes on my bike and we were directed by the Eurobike contact
    where to go for the repair in Kremms. It didn't cost a lot and not enough to be reimbursed,
    just some time lost.

    The hotels really were marvelous and directions to them couldn't have been better.
    Our ride day into Vienna was raining and cold so when we got to our hotel, they
    were sorry for us as we shivered and had a coffee in the bar, so they upgraded our
    room! Score!

    The path is fabulous on both sides of the Danube. There were "Donauradweg" signs everywhere,
    maps of the path and areas, path suggestions into and our of the towns if you wanted to
    get off the main path. Guesthouses and cafes along the path were great. We had a fabulous time
    and would suggest it to anyone else who might want to ride this route.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 20, 2022 - September 29, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is the only 'tour' but have ridden many 400-500 mile week long cycling events in the United States
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Great day to hike up to  Donauschling Schlogen, it was a great view! (photo by James Davidson)
    • Riding into Grien to see the castle (photo by James Davidson)
    • Wachach Valley (photo by James Davidson)
    • Vienna, city center (photo by James Davidson)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (4/5) Sandy Anderson 3 weeks ago

    Lake Constance Upscale

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path (Upscale Lodging)

    This trip was good overall, yet we made a mistake by choosing Upscale Lodging because most of the hotels were not in the old towns, and we had to go through the city at rush hour with unclear directions. We would have preferred staying along the river in the old towns. Upscale lodging was not necessary.
    Secondly, the KaMOOT app that we bought and tried to use was a disaster. It lead you along any trail that came up...whether it was for hikers, or a dog path, so we were constantly rerouting on the first day, until we gave up on it and used the written guide.
    The bikepaths were wonderful and scenic and we loved that part of the ride.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Berlin – Copenhagen
    (3/5) Alex Beresniewicz 3 weeks ago

    Nothing Special

    · Berlin – Copenhagen

    Mostly flat riding through the countryside without much opportunity to see anything historic or even scenic outside of the cities where you start and finish. The bikes provided were excellent and the hotels were for the most part good, (sometimes daily distance seems to have forced the choice of where to stop for the night, and that means hotel choices are few...). I didn't choose this tour, my partner did, and it's not one I would consider repeating or recommending.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    20
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark, Germany
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 1/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Brianna Oehm 3 weeks ago

    First solo trip & first bike trip!

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    Absolutely would recommend this tour for anyone! I went in April which was a bit chilly, but had the trails to myself. I felt very supported by the staff if I needed, but was independent the whole time. Fairly flat and easy trail, but the mileage added up throughout the week. Hotels were easy to find and lovely to stay at!

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Munich and the Bavarian Lakes
    (4/5) Amir Zomer 3 weeks ago

    Excellent ride with stunning views

    · Munich and the Bavarian Lakes

    The trip was wonderful –
    Stunning views along the way with lakes, mountains, forests and colorful villages.
    We upgraded the bike and were very pleased with their quality and comfort.
    The hotels were adequate for that kind of trip.

    Downside (The reason I gave it only 4 stars):
    - The hotels were not always close to the end of the daily route.
    Some days it was 2-3 Km away and in the worst case it was 20Km away!!
    Just imagine thinking you’re done with your daily route after planning the riding times and then you have to ride additional 20 Km.
    - The maps that we were given were not aligned to our trip – we used the App.
    - The App can be improved – a sound should be added to alert when you’re off the route.
    We sometimes found ourselves out of the route without noticing it because we can’t have our eyes on the screen all the time.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    •  (photo by Amir Zomer)
    •  (photo by Amir Zomer)
    •  (photo by Amir Zomer)
    •  (photo by Amir Zomer)
    •  (photo by Amir Zomer)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Tauern Bike Path
    (5/5) Marlys Manthei 3 weeks ago

    The Family trip of a lifetime!

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    My husband and I did this self guided tour two different times in the past. We loved it so much that this time we wanted to share the experience with our entire family: our four adult children and their spouses and our nine grandchildren, ages 9 through 21. There were 19 of us and we all had a fabulous time. We shortened the trip to just biking from Krimml to Salzburg on a 6-night tour.
    We did this tour in June of 2022. The tour. company graciously arranged for a bus to take us from Salzburg to Krimml at the start of the tour. Even that was fun for the group. On the bike ride, everyone enjoyed stops for apple strudel, swimming in the lake, riding the gondola on the ski hill, the hike to Krimml waterfall and much more. Every day we were surrounded by the most amazing beauty. The kids and teens were never bored. 22 miles a day was just right for our group and we stayed together in a long line. We opted for a night in Zell am See and that was the favorite overnight - a beautiful town on a beautiful lake.
    We were blessed with perfect weather every day. One evening it rained and we found a bowling alley right in our hotel so that was fun for everyone. We highly recommend this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Debby Schlesinger 3 weeks ago

    1st bike/boat tour.....best time ever.

    · · Danube Impressions Bike and Boat Passau – Vienna – Passau

    Touring by bike with support from boat was a wonderful way to see the countryside, experience local culture, and sightsee without having to do HOURS & DAYS of research on routes, sites worth stopping at, and logistics of lodging, and biking. The tour was a great value too. It was a wonderful way to have an active vacation....so much better than a cruise or bus tour. Really appreciated the route reviews, maps, and suggestions for the next day's route each evening. It was apparent that the routes chosen offered scenic value, as well as ease of access, and worthwhile sights to see. The crew were very helpful at getting the bikes set up for rider proportions, comfort and preferences. There were even opportunities to meet with local experts and experience a more "in depth" tour with history and background. The food was absolutely sumptuous!! Meals were expertly prepared, featured local cuisine at dinners, as well as "American" favorites at breakfast in addition to "Continental" breakfast foods. The "Picnic" lunches provided for were a bonus too. Cabin accomodations were comfortable, adequate, and served our needs well; albeit the small space. (We had a "lower deck" cabin... the most economical). That being said, there wasn't much time spent in the cabin other than sleeping, and preparing for the next day's ride. Really enjoyed the spa on the top deck to ease sore muscles & relax. Altogether, a wonderful vacation in a beautiful location.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Along the Danube (photo by Debby Schlesinger)
    • In the town of Linz, Austria (photo by Debby Schlesinger)
    • On the Danube locks. (photo by Debby Schlesinger)
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Brianna Oehm 3 weeks ago

    First solo trip & first bike trip!

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    Absolutely would recommend this tour for anyone! I went in April which was a bit chilly, but had the trails to myself. I felt very supported by the staff if I needed, but was independent the whole time. Fairly flat and easy trail, but the mileage added up throughout the week. Hotels were easy to find and lovely to stay at!

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Carol McClennan 3 weeks ago

    Very relaxing and scenic

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    We thoroughly enjoyed this trip toward the end of September, specifically Sept. 22 was the day we started cycling. It was just my husband and myself. We had no issues with our bikes, or with the maps and directions. Our hotels were excellent with the upgrades. It was relaxing in that we took in the sites, chatted with occasional folks along the way and ate well! And enjoyed extra time in Vienna..

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
  • (5/5) Carol McClennan 3 weeks ago

    Very relaxing and scenic

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    We thoroughly enjoyed this trip toward the end of September, specifically Sept. 22 was the day we started cycling. It was just my husband and myself. We had no issues with our bikes, or with the maps and directions. Our hotels were excellent with the upgrades. It was relaxing in that we took in the sites, chatted with occasional folks along the way and ate well! And enjoyed extra time in Vienna..

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
  • (5/5) MF 3 weeks ago

    Made for an unforgettable honeymoon!

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    This was a great tour through Austria and the upscale markup was definitely worth it. The trip went exceptionally smoothly and we had a great time! Great food and scenery that changed every day of the trip, comfortable accommodations, and no worries. Having the luggage forwarded each day made for an easy trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Lake Constance Classic
    (5/5) Robert Hardies 3 weeks ago

    Fantastic service and a great tour

    · Lake Constance Classic (11-nights)

    Radweg Reisen is by far the most organized and efficient tour company we have used. The ride was fun and interesting. The path is fairly simple to find and the grade is level and easy. Each hotel and transportation ticket worked perfectly. I just want to rave about a job well done.

    How many tours have you completed?
    Five or more
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Paul Miller 3 weeks ago

    Fantastic bike trip through Germany

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Our group of 3 all loved this trip. It's beautiful, a good balance of riding and interesting activities (like a wine tasting one evening). The hotels were all very good - ranging from extremely nice to more modest. The scenery and towns were terrific. Of course the food, beer and wine were all terrific. Highly recommend this for anyone who enjoys a bike trip. Super easy to navigate and the bikes were top notch. (from 3 sort of picky New Yorkers!!)

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    10 bikes tours before this one.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Cycle Path
    (3/5) Ricardo Hein 3 weeks ago

    Nice biking vacation

    · Danube Cycle Path Passau – Budapest

    The Danube is beautiful and the Austrian portion is beautiful. After Vienna it turns flat and less developed. The opportunity to share with people is limited by the places to stay, I didn't like to stay away from the towns in isolated guest houses, when guest homes were available in small towns.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia
    • 2/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
  • (5/5) Layne Perry 3 weeks ago

    Lake trip of your dreams!

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    A wonderful and unique way to experience Lake Constance, with wonderful food, beautiful water, and relatively flat bike path! A place to stop and eat lunch or take a swim practically anywhere! Opportunities to stand up paddle board or play volleyball!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    First!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) John Thell 1 month ago

    Great adventure

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    Wonderful experience. Using ebikes made the trip very doable. The hotels were great - locations,food, service, and comfortable. Not having to worry about luggage was a great relief. The only thing that was frustrating was poor maps in a couple of the larger towns - finding the hotels can be a challenge. Usually the locals were very helpful in giving directions. Would recommend a gps system for our next trip. We were very pleased overall and biking around Lake Constance was more than we imagined.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    One
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Romantic Road and Bavarian Lakes
    (4/5) Robyn Larkin 2 months ago

    More challenging trip than we thought thanks to rainy, windy, cold weather

    · Romantic Road and Bavarian Lakes

    We knew this would be a challenging cycle, but we weren’t prepared for the terrain + lousy weather for the entire trip. The first few days were a good workout - and very pretty. Not many places to really stop, though, during the day (so plan to bring picnic lunches & snacks!). Definitely check on when places you hope to stop for a meal are open as we found many places closed on random days.

    There is an app that you can download to get the route, details, and info for the trip that we didn’t know about until we met the guide on the first day. If you use this on your phone to help ensure you stay on course, be sure to bring extra battery packs for your phone!

    Also, we didn’t know we needed to get tickets for the castle in advance and this were not able to visit. As this was the one thing we wanted to see, we were rather disappointed to have to miss it as all morning tours were sold out.

    While we enjoyed it and came through the deluge of cold, rain & wind during our week in Bavaria with our marriage intact, you definitely need to be ready for a challenging ride. If you aren’t in excellent shape, consider getting the electric bike as some of the hills are extremely intense.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Tauern Bike Path
    (5/5) Anne Stanek 2 months ago

    A gorgeous trip!

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    This was a beautifully planned trip - such amazing views, peaceful rides, comfortable hotels. We have done many of these bike tours now and this rates as one of our most favorite. We highly recommend it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 9 - 16
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    •  (photo by Anne Stanek)
    •  (photo by Anne Stanek)
    •  (photo by Anne Stanek)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection