French Alps  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Three Lakes Tour
    (5/5) Kim Hopkins 2 days ago

    Simply Magical!!

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    It's difficult to find words to adequately describe this bike tour… 'Magical' is the one that comes the closest! We found breathtaking beauty and so much history at every turn on our trip. We couldn’t believe that each day could bring more wonderment than the last. We had to pinch ourselves on a regular basis to make sure we weren’t dreaming. The route was stunningly beautiful with distances of 30-50 miles per day. We upgraded our accommodations on day 3 to A+ and spent the night at Château de la Tour du Puits and would definitely recommend spending the extra money to do this! We would also recommend staying a few extra days in Annecy at the end of the tour. It is a beautiful city and there is much to experience and explore. The tour staff was very helpful and responsive whenever we had questions and communicated with our group via WhatsApp. Our group of 4 rented 2 gravel bikes and 2 ebikes. This was a great combination for us that allowed our group to keep the same pace. We are already brainstorming our next European bike tour!

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 3-6, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Kim Hopkins 2 weeks ago

    Simply Magical!!

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    It's difficult to find words to adequately describe this bike tour… 'Magical' is the one that comes the closest! We found breathtaking beauty and so much history at every turn on our trip. We couldn’t believe that each day could bring more wonderment than the last. We had to pinch ourselves on a regular basis to make sure we weren’t dreaming. The route was stunningly beautiful with distances of 30-50 miles per day. We upgraded our accommodations on day 3 to A+ and spent the night at Château de la Tour du Puits and would definitely recommend spending the extra money to do this! We would also recommend staying a few extra days in Annecy at the end of the tour. It is a beautiful city and there is much to experience and explore. The tour staff was very helpful and responsive whenever we had questions and communicated with our group via WhatsApp. Our group of 4 rented 2 gravel bikes and 2 ebikes. This was a great combination for us that allowed our group to keep the same pace. We are already brainstorming our next European bike tour!

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 3-6, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Kim Hopkins 2 months ago

    Simply Magical!!

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    It's difficult to find words to adequately describe this bike tour… 'Magical' is the one that comes the closest! We found breathtaking beauty and so much history at every turn on our trip. We couldn’t believe that each day could bring more wonderment than the last. We had to pinch ourselves on a regular basis to make sure we weren’t dreaming. The route was stunningly beautiful with distances of 30-50 miles per day. We upgraded our accommodations on day 3 to A+ and spent the night at Château de la Tour du Puits and would definitely recommend spending the extra money to do this! We would also recommend staying a few extra days in Annecy at the end of the tour. It is a beautiful city and there is much to experience and explore. The tour staff was very helpful and responsive whenever we had questions and communicated with our group via WhatsApp. Our group of 4 rented 2 gravel bikes and 2 ebikes. This was a great combination for us that allowed our group to keep the same pace. We are already brainstorming our next European bike tour!

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 3-6, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • Day 1 — Galliard to Seyssel (photo by Kim Hopkins)
    • Day 1 — Galliard to Seyssel (photo by Kim Hopkins)
    • Day 1 — Galliard to Seyssel (photo by Kim Hopkins)
    • Day 1 — Galliard to Seyssel (photo by Kim Hopkins)
    • Day 2 — Seyssel to Aix-les-Bains (photo by Kim Hopkins)
    • Day 1 — Galliard to Seyssel (photo by Kim Hopkins)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Amy Lynch 2 months ago

    It was a beautiful trip! Well organized and easy to follow!

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    It was an amazing vacation. The route was charming, beautiful and somehow more spectacular every day. We had great weather which made for great photos! It was a special way to explore France and love it even more.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Tonja clark 2 months ago

    Best trip ever!

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    This was a perfect trip! The scenery was amazing, the weather perfect, and the length of the daily rides was very doable.
    The entire trip was made easier because of how well it was organized.
    I love the self guided, without the hassle of moving our bags from place to place. Annecy is a wonderful city, so I recommend spending extra time there. We returned to Geneva by bus which went very smoothly.
    I recommend doing the A+ hotels, you won't want to miss the Chateau; it was a treat. It's beautiful, the staff was incredibly friendly and the food was delicious.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    One
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • Beautiful scenery (photo by Tonja clark)
    • Annecy (photo by Tonja clark)
    • We enjoyed biking through the vineyards and stopping at a local vineyard for a glad of wine. (photo by Tonja clark)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Amy Lynch 2 months ago

    It was a beautiful trip! Well organized and easy to follow!

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    It was an amazing vacation. The route was charming, beautiful and somehow more spectacular every day. We had great weather which made for great photos! It was a special way to explore France and love it even more.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Amy Lynch 2 months ago

    It was a beautiful trip! Well organized and easy to follow!

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    It was an amazing vacation. The route was charming, beautiful and somehow more spectacular every day. We had great weather which made for great photos! It was a special way to explore France and love it even more.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Three Lakes Tour
    (4/5) Mary Partheymuller 2 months ago

    Wonderful way to bike through this Lake country of France from Geneva.

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    Loved the choices of sport versus moderate rides on several days, which satisfied all participants. As a single participant, the last hotel was disappointing, but satisfactory . Most accommodations were quite nice.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Three Lakes Tour
    (4/5) Arik 4 months ago

    Nice ride. Two complaints.

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    1) The phone app didn't work at all (for three of us who tried). And the GPS they gave us as a backup is a decade outdated. Thank goodness for Google Maps, though that didn't always yield the most scenic routes.
    2) Too much time spent on bike routes that were really highway shoulders, with a bicycle silhouette stenciled on the asphalt.

    Great hotels, fantastic food, (and priceless company we provided ourselves).

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Kirsten August 4, 2022

      Thank you for leaving this feedback. We are working with our local partner to improve the phone app and GPS for this tour. We are glad you still had a memorable time and hope to help you plan your next trip!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
  • (5/5) Ginger10 5 months ago

    Perfect bike tour through stunning countryside

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    My husband and I completed this self-guided tour in June 2022. Everything about the trip was perfect. We went for the higher level accomadations and were very pleases, especially with the Chateau. Much of the trip is on bike paths which makes it more enjoyable. Luggage transferw were flawless and the e-bikes were terrific.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • French Alpes Tour
    (5/5) mdoyler September 5, 2019

    Once in a lifetime

    · French Alpes Tour: Alpes and Ventoux

    What an amazing trip. My wife and I will be talking about these rides for the rest of our lives. The accommodations were great, and the meals were an absolute delight. Don't be afraid to do an unguided trip such as this, it was incredibly safe and easy to navigate

    What was the date of your tour?
    8/22 - 8/29
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • Croix de Fer (photo by mdoyler)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Three Lakes Tour
    (5/5) Becky August 26, 2019
    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 9-13
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) KellyS August 7, 2018

    Amazing Cycling Adventure

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    This 4 day/5 night cycling trip was the highlight of our summer trip to Europe. The variety of beautiful scenery during each day's bike ride was amazing. We loved stopping mid-day on days 2 and 4 to swim in the gorgeous lakes we were cycling next to (also don't miss the small lake next to the hotel at the end of your ride on day 3.)
    We chose the A level accommodations and each was comfortable and quirky, with very friendly staff/hosts. And the local bike tour company (cyclomundo) did a very thorough job of reviewing maps, demonstrating the GPS, checking our bike fit, and answering questions on the first morning.
    Two recommendations, consider carrying a picnic lunch with you on your daily ride (baguette, cheese, fruit, chocolate) so you can stop and eat at any of the picturesque places along the route. Also, your final stop, the city of Annecy, is a gem! If time and budget allow, plan to stay an extra day or two.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 15-20 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    First time!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • Hotel and Restaurant at the end of cycling Day 1 (photo by KellyS)
    • Stopped for a swim and picnic on lake Bourget - cycling day 2 (photo by KellyS)
    • Savoie wine country scenery - cycling day 3 (photo by KellyS)
    • Beautiful city of Annecy...final destination - cycling day 4 (photo by KellyS)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) sacman July 12, 2018

    Organized Adventure

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    Well organized trip down to the street. While normally I stay in design hotels, due to the nature of the trip and the remote locations, the team did a superb job in accommodating us. The Chateau was certainly the highlight.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • French Alpes Tour
    (5/5) oldjoe June 19, 2018

    Fantastic scenery!

    · French Alpes Tour: Alpes and Ventoux

    A great mix of Alpine and Provence scenery. Wonderful small hotels with charming hosts and gourmet food! Challenging but not intimidating terrain with easy navigation. Would love to go back!

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/1-7/18
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Three Lakes Tour
    (5/5) SarahG August 17, 2017

    Great Trip!

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    It was everything I thought it would be.. beautiful French countryside, vineyards, fields of sunflowers, quaint villages, beautiful scenery. The weather was hot and that made the 1st day more challenging than I think it would have been otherwise

    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first bike tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • Seyssel, the first stop. Our hotel on the far right. Dinner on the Rhone! (photo by SarahG)
    • The path to Annecy (photo by SarahG)
    • The Rhone below. (photo by SarahG)
    • Lake Bourget out of Aixe Les Bains (photo by SarahG)
    • Lake Annecy (photo by SarahG)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) gsf1 August 8, 2017
    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    What was the date of your tour?
    7/9/17
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • Stage 1: Near Ft. L'Ecluse (photo by gsf1)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Becca August 8, 2017

    Savoie self-bike

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    Taste the cuisine and drink the wine of Savoie, swim in pristine lakes, visit medival villages, castles, and vineyards.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Jul 30
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection