Bike Tour Reviews

  • (5/5) Patrick Fenton 2 days ago

    Portugal bike trip

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    It was a great trip. We loved learning about castles, marble, cork, wine and Portuguese food.

    What was the date of your tour?
    February 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Algarve Coastal Route
    (3/5) John Matthew Schley 4 days ago

    Both really great and just OK

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    The weather in February was perfection. We saw many beautiful sights. Each days biking was varied. We stayed in very large hotels/spas. They were objectively good hotels. We hated them. Really felt separated from environment. Felt I could have been anywhere. Restaurants we visited along the way were all excellent. My wife had a problem with her bike. The team handled it wonderfully. Every person who we interacted with on their team were gracious and helpful. While there are many examples of natural beauty in the Algarve , the amount of development, both miles of very expensive holiday homes, and strips of pizza joints and t-shirt stores made the trip not completely what we hoped for.

    What was the date of your tour?
    February 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac February 27, 2024

      Hi John, thank you for providing your feedback! While we were surprised by the 3-star rating, we genuinely appreciate your detailed description of your experience. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the scenic views and diverse biking routes. We look forward to helping you organize another trip again in the future.

    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 1/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Discover all of ancient Athens by bike, with a guided tour of the Acropolis
    (5/5) Mirjana 7 days ago

    A fun and educational bike plus walking tour

    · Athens Acropolis Bike Tour

    We were in a 4-day visit of Athens, and had a blast of stay in general, while this was definitely a highlight of our trip. The tour includes around 3 hours of bike tour to all major city sights, after which the bikes are left at the starting point, and from there on, a guided Acropolis walking tour takes on, which entrance is just like 10-min on foot from there. Very inclusive tour, and highly recommendable.

    •  (photo by Mirjana)
    •  (photo by Mirjana)
  • (5/5) Bozena 7 days ago

    All-inclusive tour of Athens

    · Athens Acropolis Bike Tour

    The perfect way to combine and experience the highlights of Athens city centre and Acropolis all at once. Our guide, Demos, knew a lot about the city, and shared a lot of interesting facts with us. A plus was also that our group was not too big, so we were able to move around easily.

    •  (photo by Bozena)
    •  (photo by Bozena)
    •  (photo by Bozena)
  • Best of the Algarve
    (5/5) Mark Eisenberg 2 weeks ago

    Fabulous bike trip

    · Best of the Algarve by Road Bike

    This was our 4th self-guided European bike trip and was our favorite. We’ve never used e bikes before but we’re glad we did as there were lots of hills and 80 kilometer days. We were mostly on back roads with gorgeous vistas of hills, orange orchards, white villages and the sea. There was some traffic but we never felt unsafe. The hotels were nice and the food and wine was fabulous. My wife and I would highly recommend it.

    What was the date of your tour?
    February, 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    •  (photo by Mark Eisenberg)
    •  (photo by Mark Eisenberg)
    •  (photo by Mark Eisenberg)
    •  (photo by Mark Eisenberg)
    •  (photo by Mark Eisenberg)
    •  (photo by Mark Eisenberg)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac February 14, 2024

      Hi Mark! Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience! We're thrilled to hear that your 4th European bike trip was your favorite yet. It's fantastic that the e-bikes made tackling those hills and long distances more enjoyable. The scenic back roads, stunning vistas, and delicious food and wine sound like the perfect recipe for an unforgettable adventure. Those photos look amazing! We truly appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back for another amazing journey soon!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • The best of the ‘Birthplace of California’
    (5/5) Bill 1 month ago

    Great Tour to Overview a great city.

    · Best of San Diego E-Bike Tour

    The tour provides a great overview of San Diego - this should be the first thing you do when you arrive in SD to be able to orient yourself within the City. The tour covers a lot of ground and places that and will help you organize your time for the balance of the visit. If this is the only thing you do in SD - you will have seen up close the best that San Diege has to offer in 2.5 hours or so.

    Our guide Zach was great and very knowledgeable.

    What was the date of your tour?
    January 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Soak up Southern hospitality in Savannah
    (5/5) Janet Williams 1 month ago

    Interesting, fun ride through beautiful Savannah

    · Savannah City Bike Tour

    We thoroughly enjoyed this guided bike tour through Savannah. So much history and beauty.
    Had perfect weather and had a great guide, Sophie.

    • Biking through the squares of Savannah (photo by Janet Williams)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac January 29, 2024

      Hello Janet! We appreciate your review, and we're delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your tour. There's truly nothing like exploring a new city on a bike, especially on a sunny day.

  • Sardinia: A Mine of Memories
    (5/5) Dwight Chapman 1 month ago

    Quiet streets in the offseason

    · Sardinia: A Mine of Memories

    We had a great tour. The local operator provided excellent support throughout. Though many restaurants are closed in the winter (we went in January), one can always find something. And the tradeoff is no traffic on the roads. For the final day ride along the coast we only had a handful of cars. It would be crazy busy in the summertime.

    What was the date of your tour?
    winter
    How many tours have you completed?
    15 or more
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • The best of the ‘Birthplace of California’
    (5/5) Miles Wright 2 months ago

    Great Biking Experience

    · Best of San Diego E-Bike Tour

    Zac was a great guide, very knowledgeable and a fun trip. Great job and a good time for all.

  • Discover the true icons of Tallinn
    (5/5) Julien De Falkensteen 2 months ago

    Very fun and efficient.

    · Welcome to Tallinn Bike Tour

    Amazing tour. Very efficient. The reach bike is given on a short trip is just unbeatable. The tour covered all of the monuments we expected to see and more. Enough time to observe, read and talk about the history of each monument. Joe our guide was amazing !! I recommended him highly.

  • Pedal through the Palmeraie Oasis
    (5/5) Pam 2 months ago

    Great way to explore Marrakesh and outskirts!

    · Desert & Oasis Bike Tour Marrakesh

    Mo and Nisserine are fantastic guides and took very good care of us! We learned so much during our bike ride, we got water and had this fantastic local breakfast- a great way to support some local families … we learned about the bread baking tradition in the villages… All in all an excellent experience!

    • Bread baking outside the village! (photo by Pam)
    • … in the outskirts of Marrakesh (photo by Pam)
    • With Pikala Bike Tours you support many locals! (photo by Pam)
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) Thomas Schulte 3 months ago

    A Family Aventure

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    This is our 9th European Ride and was truly a pleasure. Accommodations were 1st class in great hotels. Tour operator couldn't have been nicer or hospitable
    in setting us up with our bikes and getting us on our way. They were an easy walk from our first night accommodation.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    9
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    •  (photo by Thomas Schulte)
    •  (photo by Thomas Schulte)
    •  (photo by Thomas Schulte)
    •  (photo by Thomas Schulte)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Nathan Hale 3 months ago

    Beautiful!

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    This is a gorgeous route that really lets you see the changing terrain and cultures as you bike from the Dolomites down to the sea. It's gorgeous throughout, but the highlight is definitely Bled and we were glad to take the extra day there to explore some of what it has to offer.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Unearth Istanbul’s cultural confluence
    (3/5) Anonymous 3 months ago

    Nice (but expensive) way to explore Istanbul

    · Europe & Asia Istanbul Bike Tour

    Pro: friendly guide, exploring a big part of Istanbul, Easy going
    Con: Very expensive (especially because even lunch is not included), sometimes a bit too long at one spot

    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 2/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Pedal around Pisa’s icons
    (5/5) Janet Jayne 3 months ago

    Interesting ride through Pisa

    · Pisa & Leaning Tower Bike Tour

    Guide was well informed and made sure to take us through safe areas. We were able to see many things outside the main square and learned alot of great info.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Lakes and Valleys of Scotland
    (5/5) Marie Collier 3 months ago

    On the bonnie bonnie banks...

    · Loch Lomond to Edinburgh: Lakes & Valleys of Scotland

    The company was very accommodating! We attended the Scottish Wild Foods Festival before the start of our tour and this just made the trip! We were shuttled from our hotel to the start of the tour at the Hotel in Balloch on the bonnie banks of Loch Lomond and pretty much from there had the smoothest trip! We had rain, yes, but we had the appropriate gear and we were in Scotland!!! The route took us past all sorts of gems, castles, distilleries, standing stones, stone circles, historical sites, gravesites, and amazing eateries. The hotel choices were top-notch! We loved every hotel each was different, unique, and had character (but not too much character!). The drivers who transported our luggage were prompt, attentive, and helpful. We really could not have enjoyed ourselves more. We found all sorts of treasures to stop and admire along the way, botanical gardens, ruins, waterfalls, and ancient archeological sites. Wow! I have fallen in love with Scotland! The train back to Edinburg at the end was perfect the station was close to our final hotel and the driver was there to collect our bikes literally right as we pulled in. When we arrived in Edinburg, the hotel was so close to Waverly station, so easy!
    The one suggestion I would make to make the trip a little more stress-free...Puncture-resistant tire liners and "slime tubes" just switch them out before you start off on your journey. We did have a couple of flats, but we had spares, a pump, and a puncture kit, however just started off in a nice dry and warm place by switching out the tubes and putting in some liners. That was really the only thing I wish I'd had. Note: I did bring my own saddle (Terry Butterfly Ti gel) and the bike shop switched that out for me as well as my own clipless pedals. I also had rain shoe covers (which many folx stopped me to ask where to buy them). I was comfortable, dry, and warm. Could not have been a better trip! Thanks so much!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Scotland
  • A Taste of Italy
    (3/5) Moira Quigley 3 months ago

    Interesting part of Italy

    · A Taste of Italy: Emilia-Romagna

    Well organised, GPS system worked well for us most of the time, person greeting us and setting us up was fantastic, bikes excellent. Loved the parmesan and balsamic vinegar factory tours - wonderful hosts. We did not enjoy the route as much as other tours we have done. There were more main roads and traffic than we were expecting and have experienced on previous bike tours. The agritourismo accommodation was so nice we did not want to leave.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    Three
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection