Belgium  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique IV
    (5/5) Barbara Kirkham 2 days ago

    Amazing Adventure!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique IV (and reverse)

    What a great biking experience, from the moment we were welcomed onboard. We were always greeted with a smile, and were well informed about next steps: the staff team were awesome! Because the tourist group is small, there was time to find friendship with like minded people from around the world.

    The barge is beautiful, and the cabins very efficient. We enjoyed gourmet meals daily, and my food allergies were never a problem thanks to the very creative and talented Chef Jules.

    I had never experienced ‘rush hour’ on bicycles, and was in awe that bicycles often get the right of way: so different in Canada! The busy cities gave way to daily rides through true countryside farms and water systems, with interesting stops. A great combination of riding.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    My second bike tour - very relaxed tempo
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    •  (photo by Barbara Kirkham)
    •  (photo by Barbara Kirkham)
    •  (photo by Barbara Kirkham)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges: South Holland and Zeeland
    (5/5) Wendy Geiger 7 days ago

    Lovely Tour of South Holland and Bruges

    · Amsterdam to Bruges: Cycling through South Holland and Zeeland

    This was my first supported bike travel vacation and it was lovely. Although the GPS stopped working on day 4, we were able to use the previously downloaded Maps on Ride with GPS. Luckily I brought my phone holder so it was convenient. There were some routes that were a bit more complex than necessary with the route going off on a tangent and then coming back to the original roadway- most likely to provide more scenic byways or to add mileage. We were often able to stop along the way at a cafe to have a drink or dessert or even lunch. I recommend using the ebikes for Holland due to the wind. We had great weather in early/mid- May but missed the blooming tulips. Next time we'll go in April to see the tulips (although the weather might offer more rain). We had beautiful weather with sun and 70 degree days (one into the 80s) with only 1-1/2 days with rain. Loved that someone took our bags on to the hotels for us and the charming B&Bs were luxury. Loved, loved, loved the last B&B (De Zomere) in Bruges. It was quite unique and my sister and her hubby were jealous of the accommodations as they were placed in the non-descript Martin's hotel along with half of Bruges' tourists! I would recommend for future bike tours that you list bringing along some anti-chafing "butter" for your derriere. The upright position of the bikes is a different sensation for those of us used to Road bikes and it made for a few uncomfortable days in the saddle. Overall, a wonderful way to spend part of a vacation.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 11-16, 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique IV
    (5/5) Patricia Doody 1 week ago

    Amazing bike and barge trip!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique IV (and reverse)

    My husband and I loved every minute of it! Fantastic crew, who looked after every single thing on our bike and barge tour.
    Love cycling every day through beautiful historic areas and quiet countryside. Couldn’t get over the green lush areas, and always fun to cycle by the many canals!
    The barge was spacious and had many very nice outdoor areas to lounge and relax.
    Very talented and hard-working guides, hostesses, chef and captain!
    Can’t wait to book our next tour!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    My first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (4/5) Wendy Drysdale 2 weeks ago

    Amsterdam -gouda-Bruges

    · · Amsterdam – Gouda – Bruges by Bike and Boat

    A wonderful experience. Our guide was great. Boat captain very friendly and helpful. Chef was excellent.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Bike through bustling Bruges
    (5/5) Hazel Mackie 2 weeks ago

    Such fun - the highlight of our stay

    · Bruges City Bike Tour

    Jos, our guide, was excellent - funny, knowledgeable, and a champion of his beautiful city. The cycle tour was the perfect way to orientate ourselves and learn some of the rich history of Bugges.

  • (5/5) Mary Stavrou 2 weeks ago

    What a great tour!

    · Bruges City Bike Tour

    Our tour guide was a seasoned local who shows his passion for his city of Bruges through his wealth of knowledge. We developed a great appreciation for the struggles of Bruges through its history, it beautiful architecture and the wonderful attractions happening today. Also his bikes are in perfect working order! He makes sure of it. No rattles!

  • (5/5) Mark F 3 weeks ago

    Cycling around Bruges

    · Bruges City Bike Tour

    Joost was our tour guide. He's local and speaks English very well. Joost used stories to tell us about the history of Bruges. The ride is on cobblestone, but the bicycle seats are very comfortable so I did not notice any discomfort. We traveled about 7 or 8 km. It was an easy ride with many stops. We never felt rushed and was free to ask any questions. We had time to take photos at each stop. A very nice tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 29, 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Bruges to Paris
    (2/5) Margaret Farran 7 months ago

    Not Really What We Expected

    · · Bruges to Paris by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    We are seasoned bicyclists and have taken many bike tours. This tour was disappointing on a few fronts. The course of the tour had to change due to construction on the canal. This would have been fine except the guide, Harm, frequently did not seem to know where he was going. There were a couple of visits to places of interest (mining museum and a short stop at a WWI cemetery) but most times it felt like we were putting in time so as to not arrive hours before the boat arrived at its destination for the night. Our guide never led strolls around a town or provided much history. One evening when I asked if he could show us a pub to have a drink before dinner he said it was not his responsibility. We asked if we could bike on our own (as we have done on many other boat/bike tours in Europe) and were turned down. I pressed on quoting the description for the tour which read: "provide us with maps and all the information you'll need" to do a different distance. At that point Harm back tracked and said he'd provide this info. He never did. I've been biking for over 20 years on tours around the world and I have never had a guide so unhelpful and disengaged.
    The food was adequate. Nice dinners but breakfast and lunch were lacking. We needed more sustenance for biking in October. Most tours provide a snack after a day of biking but we could not rely on one each day on this tour. The group bought our own snacks when we could but it was all rather odd. As if this tour had never hosted bikers before.
    There was no wi-fi although the description said there would be. We at least had a data package, other people did not. What really gave us all pause was the captain's comments (1) it was too difficult to install wi-fi (I've never found that to be true on a boat) and (2) we really did not need it as we should not be on our phones during a tour. Rather presumptuous I thought. Don't advertise you have wi-fi when you don't.
    We had some rain which was to be expected in October. One day it was just too wet to bike. We all stayed on the boat - no wi-fi, cabins too small to lounge in them, and while there was a large library of DVDs the captain announced the monitor did not work, therefore no video watching.
    It felt like the boat was tired and the tour and crew either winding down for the season or going out of business.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    20+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, France
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac October 24, 2023

      Hello Margaret! We're so sorry to hear about your disappointing experience. We deeply regret that it did not meet your expectations, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you encountered. We truly value your feedback and are committed to improving our services. Your input is crucial in helping us refine our services. Your comments about the tour route, lack of historical information, and guide foremost, are duly noted. We will address these concerns diligently and work on providing a better experience in the future. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We value your 20 years of biking experience and hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a more engaging and rewarding tour in the future.

    • 2/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Route selection
    • 1/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Bike through bustling Bruges
    (5/5) Margaret Medernach 8 months ago

    Bike tour

    · Bruges City Bike Tour

    Great tour. Guide was very informed and knew the city well. Very enjoyable ride through Bruges

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 5 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Bruges to Paris
    (5/5) David Baker 8 months ago

    First time bike-barge touring

    · · Bruges to Paris by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    This was our first time doing a bike-barge tour. We chose this tour based on positive recommendations from friends who had been on it before. Their recommendations and suggestions were spot on so when we took the tour we were well prepared. The crew of the barge were very pleasant and accommodating. If you're expecting five star cruise accommodations you'll be disappointed, but the dinners were outstanding and the cabins fulfilled our needs. There was maintenance on our original route so the captain had to take another route which meant all our rides had to be redone by the ride leader. We still had interesting and enjoyable rides. It's important to be a flexible traveler in order to truly enjoy this type of tour. We stayed in Bruge two days before the trip and we stayed two more days in Belgium after the tour and would recommend anyone taking this trip to do likewise.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, France
    • American military cemetery in France (photo by David Baker)
    • Typical group riding day (photo by David Baker)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) David Baker 8 months ago

    Great experience for first time bike tourists

    · · Bruges to Paris by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    The tour met and exceeded our expectations for a first time bike tourists. The barge captain had to make a detour due to construction which required changes in the itinerary but the crew and guide took it in stride and still gave a great experience.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    One
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Linden Bentley 8 months ago

    Great organization, fantastic biking.

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Fluvius (and reverse)

    The biking staff we very helpful and knowledgeable. King and welcoming, understanding of all levels and the territory. The daily rides by digital “ride with gps” was pretty much flawless, and the app staff very fast and helpful when a problem arose.
    The boat staff very warm and helpful. The cleaning staff timely and great for cabin cleaning. The chef; warm, funny and talented. Food delicious.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 10, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges: South Holland and Zeeland
    (5/5) Frank Boyle 8 months ago

    Beautiful & flat ride across the Netherlands

    · Amsterdam to Bruges: Cycling through South Holland and Zeeland

    The scenery was spectacular, as was immersion into the historic towns and restaurants. The local tour company was particularly wonderful, reimbursing us no questions asked for the cost of repairing a worn out tire. I HIGHLY recommend downloading the optional GPX file to your phone and making sure you can use it before you arrive, we found it much easier to see the tricky navigation turns on the phone than on the small (and often hard to see) screen of the small Garmin GPS device provided.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (4/5) Tom Hawkins 8 months ago

    Trip postponed

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Fluvius (and reverse)

    We were unable to do this fantastic trip due to an injury. We are how every very excited about doing it next year. It sounds like a fantastic experience!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
  • Germany, Netherlands, Belgium by Bike/E-Bike and Boat
    (5/5) Richard Goldsmith 8 months ago

    A step into the world of Germany

    · · Germany, Netherlands, Belgium by Bike/E-Bike and Boat

    The A-Rosa Sena is a brand-new river boat. It is great. Every spacious room has a balcony. The food, all served buffet style, is abundant and delicious with many choices. The biking was well-planned and executed. They took very good care of us English speakers. The pace was fine. The countryside was beautiful. The trailside lunches they prepared were lovely. The leaders were knowledgeable and friendly. All around it was a great trip. Oh, there were only three passengers on the boat and one in out tour, who spoke English but we enjoyed that as we got to brush up on our Gremna.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany, Holland, Belgium
    • Amsterdam (photo by Richard Goldsmith)
    • Sitting by the shipboard pool (photo by Richard Goldsmith)
    • Near Delft (photo by Richard Goldsmith)
    • On the road (photo by Richard Goldsmith)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique II
    (5/5) Larry Siegler 9 months ago

    Great trip

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique II (and reverse)

    The bike and barge trip exceeded our expectations greatly. We highly recommend this trip. The crew was wonderful and the meals were delicious. There were many additional items that made the trip memorable ie canal cruise, nightly walking tours of the towns, great stops on the cycle ride. It was a spectacular experience.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (4/5) Allen Terrell 9 months ago

    Great sites, good value

    · · Amsterdam – Gouda – Bruges by Bike and Boat

    We had a wonderful trip. Many Thanks to your staff, Mariam and Taylor, in helping us..

    For the price, the barge was fine, the food excellent and the barge crew terrific.

    Caution you to except overly positive reviews from passengers who all filled out reviews on the last night while receiving free champagne. Aliso, while nice, the leader was not too helpful and not much of a mechanic [4 of the E bikes were not charged on our first ride].

    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique IV
    (4/5) Karen Donnelly 9 months ago

    Beautiful biking and barge

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique IV (and reverse)

    The biking was easy and rode most of it unassisted with 3-5 others. But the first day was with a guide, who was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The App we were provided was very good and gave us various lengths of the routes we could follow and places to stop along the way.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Ina Graham 9 months ago

    Beautiful scenic biking

    · · Amsterdam – Gouda – Bruges by Bike and Boat

    Fun, knowledgeable guide. Great travelling companions. Amazing gourmet suppers on boat. Extremely helpful crew when husband needed medical attention.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland