Belgium  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Bruges to Paris
    (5/5) David Reynolds 3 weeks ago

    Wonderful Bike and Barge Trip from Perrone to Bruges

    · · Bruges to Paris by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    This was our first bike and barge trip. A couple of our good friends were also on the trip. We were so fortunate that there were only seven guests on the barge and four crew members! The barge could accommidate 14 guests. All seven of us became good friends and enjoyed all parts of the trip together.
    The crew was fantastic! Our guide, Sietse, made sure that we had a safe and memorable biking trip. He is very knowledgable about the route and the history of the region. Our chef cook, Hilde, is a gourmet cook and made every meal special. Henk, the mate is a jack of all trades helping navigate, take care of the barge and help Hilde in the kitchen. Marius, the captain, is a very knowledgable navigator and made sure that all aspects of the trip were comfortable.
    Our cabin was small but comfortable and very clean. Each cabin has its own bathroom with a walk in shower.
    The bikes were well maintained and if there was a problem, Sietse took care of it.
    We did have rain off and on for a couple of days so make sure to take rain gear. The biking was not difficult but e-bikes are available.
    We'd highly recommend this trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first bike and barge trip.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique III
    (5/5) Dawn Richardson 3 weeks ago

    Unique Vacation Experience

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique III (and reverse)

    We had a great time on our first Boat Bike Tour and enjoyed the new traveling experience. I've never been on a cruise and was slightly intimidated by the prospect, but the small boat/barge and biking all day was a great way to see from a new perspective. I enjoyed the guided biking all day and the food on the boat was exceptional. The whole crew was great and it was fun being with folks from all over the world. Definitely considering another tour in the future! We had to postpone twice with the pandemic and were thankful to be able to go and feel safe a couple of years later. Thank you!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Cate Adams 3 weeks ago

    Loved every minute. Can’t wait todo another

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    My husband and I booked this trip with several friends but we made many new friends on the trip. The guides were so knowledgeable and they too became friends. Each day we would start with a delicious breakfast, make our sack lunch and head out to get our bikes. The days were filled with wonderful cities and gorgeous countrysides. I don’t think you could have this kind of experience in a car or bus. We would have a morning break for coffee and later a stop for lunch either in city pubs or country inns. We returned back to the boat to find appetizers and the bar ready to receive orders. We could return to the comfort of our room for a hot shower or go in the hot tub. Always places you could find to be alone. The days followed the same routine, but the sites an food were always changing. Speaking of food, our chef did a fantastic job cooking for all 30 of us. The ship Captain and crew all pitched in to get our meals out quickly. Evening were sometimes optional tours or casual strolls along the water. Each day was magical.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Vickie Brunstetter 3 weeks ago

    The perfect way to experience the Netherlands and Belgium

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    I highly recommend this bike and barge. It is so nice to have the barge to come back to every night with food and drinks waiting. To not have tool pack up each day made for a much more leisurely trip. The weather was perfect and the guides excellent.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    (5/5) Casey York 1 month ago

    Amazing way to travel!

    · · Bruges – Antwerp – Amsterdam by Bike and Boat

    Can’t wait to go on another trip! The barge was comfortable, food tasty, guide and staff wonderful and I really enjoyed the whole itinerary. The fortified cities shaped like stars were so unique and I enjoyed sailing on the boat, enjoying a happy hour glass on the deck after a long day biking.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique III
    (5/5) Donna Turner 2 months ago

    Great Trip In Every Way

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique III (and reverse)

    We had a great time biking from Amsterdam to Bruges. For those concerned about biking so much, this is a very flat ride; easy on a road bike in my estimation, though many had E Bikes. The Magnifique III was beautiful, comfortable, and offered a great team of guides and hospitality professionals who took great care of us. A few of the days of the tour were not as exciting of a ride as far as what you see, but most days were beautiful, varied and offered unique experiences such as a bike museum where we got to ride some crazy bikes, a canal tour in Ghent, a city tour in Antwerp, a visit to an incredible workshop of a local craftsman. It rained a few days but we were prepared and it didn't bother us. So much fun. Get out there and enjoy an active vacation on a bike; you will not be sorry!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Eileen Provost 2 months ago

    Fantastic trip!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique III (and reverse)

    The crew, barge and guides were all top notch and the food was really good. Beautiful bike routes took us through lovely local scenery! Enjoyed walking tours in Antwerp and Bruges. Guides were super flexible and offered different options on a day with bad weather. Highly recommend!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
  • Highlights of Flanders
    (5/5) Amy Smith 2 months ago

    Great way to explore Belgium!

    · Highlights of Flanders: Belgium’s History, Art, Nature, and Cuisine

    We enjoyed this tour greatly. Peter Fos, who owns the company, welcomed us in Bruges and gave us great bikes for the week. The tour included a Garmin Oregon 700, which is necessary to follow the route's many turns and bridges. One thing we really enjoyed was that each day's route ended at our hotel, which has not been the case on other tours. We appreciated the opportunity to shorten a couple of days by train. Hotels were nice, especially in Mechelen and Hasselt. All were located near the city center - not always the case on other self-guided tours. Be sure to request the brewery tour of Het Anker - it was one of our favorite parts of the trip and others on the tour who had not previously booked were unable to purchase tickets (sold out). We chose this tour in early September, which was a blessing and curse. Temperatures were comfortable, but there were several days with rain, although not the full day.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 4, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Roberta King 2 months ago

    A Splendid Ride

    · Highlights of Flanders: Belgium’s History, Art, Nature, and Cuisine

    This was a great, straightforward ride across Belgium.
    We arrived in Brugge a day early to enjoy the town and met with Peter to get our bikes and gear for the ride.

    The navigation tool (a GPS) proved to be problematic, it was quite small and for us to read as we ride and was hard to follow and the paper map provided was not detailed enough to use for navigation.

    We picked up a local bike map in Ghent and then a map book in Antwerp. With the map book we ditched the GPS and designed our own route on Belgium’s super amazing cycling network.

    The bike network in Belgium is fantastic and we ride on dedicated roads, two tracks and canals to the Netherlands.

    The bikes were great, belt drives instead of chains, which took some getting used to, but were comfortable and easy to use.

    The hotels were super charming , unique and for the most part easy to find with help from google maps. Breakfasts were excellent on all stops.

    Memorable moment is taking our bikes down and up two escalators to ride the river tunnel into Antwerp, slightly terrifying as we’d never done that before (and hope to not repeat).

    The terrain was mostly flat with a few hills on the last day. The towns are lovely and we had fun exploring them.

    Highly recommend this adventure, but secure the maps or books before you go.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    Five
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Bruges to Paris
    (5/5) David Reynolds 2 months ago

    Met our expectations!

    · · Bruges to Paris by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    This was our first bike and Barge trip. We enjoyed all aspects of the journey from Perrone to Bruges except for the rain the last day of biking. The crew was excellent!e was an excellent cook and provided a variety of excellent meals. The captain Marius took good care of us as did Henk the first mate. Our guide Sietse was excellent. He enjoys history and was able to tell us many things about the history of the countries we traveled through.
    The Feniks can accommodate 14 guests but during this trip there were only seven guests. This allowed us to make good friends and be able to stay together while we were biking. It would have been crowded if there had been 14 guests on board.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first bike and barge trip.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique IV
    (5/5) Lynn Danford 3 months ago

    Wonderful trip

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique IV (and reverse)

    Terrific guides and a perfect mix of time in rural and urban areas. Enjoyed the beauty of the countryside plus some of the great cities of Europe. Surprised that so many in the group were using e-bikes. The frequency of rest stops was perfect. Food on the boat was excellent.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    seven
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Linda Vied 3 months ago

    My First Bike Trip

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique IV (and reverse)

    This was my first bike trip and whilst i am not an "avid" cyclist i do consider myself to be a regular cyclist and having paid attention to some prior training i thought i would be OK to do this trip and keep up with everyone. However, i found the pace to be difficult and was unable to keep up with most of the group due to the fact that at least 50%/60% of them were riding E Bikes!!
    This trip would have been more enjoyable for me if the group had been split between regular and E Bikers.
    The boat was above expectations in every respect and the captain and crew were amazing and created a very comfortable, warm and inviting atmosphere. The chef is a wonder and served some truly wonderful dishes. I thought i would return from this trip having lost some weight but instead i have gained!!!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
  • Amsterdam to Bruges on Magnifique II
    (4/5) Thomas Kruse 4 months ago

    Wonderful boat and great memories

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique II (and reverse)

    The boat and crew were terrific. The rides were really fun. We did not ride with the guides bu t the Ride with GPS worked really well. We thought the food was somewhat disappointing. Pretty unexciting. That's why 4 stars

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Lucille OShea 4 months ago

    Wonderful trip!!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Magnifique II (and reverse)

    We had an amazing time on our Amsterdam-Bruges Bike and Boat trip on the Magnifique II! The boat was very comfortable, the food was delicious, the staff was amazing, and the guides were terrific! It was a very unique way to see the Netherlands and Belgium. We will be back again!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Jennifer Hinchman 4 months ago

    Beautiful trip!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    Our guides were so knowledgeable and fun-as were the rest of the crew. We had a great week!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Eric12302 October 28, 2019

    First biking vacation but won't be our last!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    This was our first biking vacation and what a wonderful time we had. The Magnifique 111 was a beautiful barge with all the amenities. The crew and guides were excellent. Thank you Bas, Ingeborg, Sigrid, Alexandra, Derk Jan, Marnik, Corrie and Wilmie. A special thanks to Corrie and Wilmie (our bike guides) who got up a 5:30 am on our last day to see us off and make sure our taxi showed up to take us to the airport. The meals on board were excellent as well as the service. The whole crew went above and beyond all week. The biking route was very scenic and was a route for beginners. It was mostly flat as described with a few inclines mostly going over bridges. Looking forward to another biking trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    10/5/2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • Photo 1 (photo by Eric12302)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Eric12302)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Eric12302)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Eric12302)
    • Photo 5 (photo by Eric12302)
    • Photo 6 (photo by Eric12302)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Joe1 October 20, 2019
    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 1, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Densi October 14, 2019

    Lovely bike trip

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 25 - Oct 2
    How many tours have you completed?
    Several self-guided tours.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Mardi October 13, 2019

    Magnifique II bike trip

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    The staff and barge accommodations were excellent. Our chef prepared gourmet meals every night that were delicious. The bikes were very comfortable and easy to ride. It was a great way to see the countryside. We went from Amsterdam to Bruges and had a head wind most of the way. I might do the reverse trip if I had known. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. Couldn't have asked for a better trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    9/25-10/2 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    this was my first time
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    (5/5) Razz October 12, 2019

    Bruge to Amsterdam by Bike & Boat

    · · Bruges – Antwerp – Amsterdam by Bike and Boat

    I loved seeing Belgium and Netherlands by the calm pace of the bike and barge. It was exciting to see and experience the cities, small towns and villages, countryside, canals, forests, and farms & communities where people lived. The barge was comfortable, staff was great and the food on the barge was fabulous. I would definitely consider another trip by bike and barge.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 21-28, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)