Austrian Alps  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Innsbruck to Lake Garda
    (5/5) Shelley Vercoe 6 months ago

    Great trip

    · Innsbruck to Lake Garda Across the Southern Slopes of the Alps

    We enjoyed this trip very much. The small medieval town centers were beautiful. Nice hotels and the tour company adjusted the schedule so we could visit Otzi. The scenery is gorgeous especially when the route veers away from the main roads.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Italy
    • The cathedral in Innsbruck has spectacular statues. (photo by Shelley Vercoe)
    • Old town Neumacht (photo by Shelley Vercoe)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Salzburg Lakes Tour
    (5/5) Steve and Marty 7 months ago

    Salzburg Lakes Tour

    · Salzburg Lakes Tour: Around the Lakes within the Foothills of the Alps

    This was probably the most scenic tour we've taken. Lake Constance a close second. Hotels, E-bikes, orientation, the navigation app were all as advertised --- 5 star!! Of course we did have perfect weather for the entire trip except for our planned rest day in Bad Goisern. Hallstatt has become a tourist hotspot and I would suggest spending your time at the Dachstein Ice Caves instead of too much time in Hallstatt. The last day riding back into Salzburg was the best with lots of climbing but worth the effort for scenery and the downhill switchbacks. Ebikes are definitely recommended even if you are an avid and fit biker.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    •  (photo by Steve and Marty)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Lake Garda
    (4/5) Jane Fletcher 7 months ago

    Good trip - lots of orchards and vineyards

    · Innsbruck to Lake Garda Across the Southern Slopes of the Alps

    I enjoyed this trip through the Dolomites but didn’t see as much of the craggy Dolomites as I expected. We were almost always in the flat valley with the mountains along the side of the valley. As we went south the mountains seemed to shrink. I enjoyed the Germanic nature of northern Italy and was very interested to learn more about its history and how Austrian the residents still feel. It didn’t feel like we were in Italy until we arrived in Trento on market day. And then it was almost like a switch flipped and we were in Italy. The architecture as well as the countryside changed and became more Mediterranean influenced. Our ride was generally on bike paths that were very busy with cyclists. Weekends were especially busy but even during the week the paths were busy but it was great to see so many people out riding their bikes. Along the paths we found several bike bars that served drinks and snacks to cyclists and they were perfect places to find a WC. We enjoyed the scenery and marveled at the thousands of acres of apple orchards that we rode through. The hotels were generally fine but the hotel in Riva del Garda was a disappointment. I paid extra for single rooms after a friend had to cancel her trip and this room was a real disappointment, it was more like a cell.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    20+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Italy
    •  (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    •  (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    •  (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    • Apple orchards are grown much differently, straight up skinny trees many of which were heavily laden with fruit (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    • Trento piazza (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    • My single room in Riva del Garda, a disappointment (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Salzburg Lakes Tour
    (5/5) Glen Kropp 7 months ago

    Amazing bike tour

    · Salzburg Lakes Tour: Around the Lakes within the Foothills of the Alps

    The trip was amazing, like riding in a postcard the whole time. Bike touring was the perfect way to experience Austria. Saw so many wonderful places, stayed in different hotels each night and got to experience all the different little towns. We had great fall weather for our trip and made for a perfect time!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) Kirk R 7 months ago

    Beautiful riding in Austria

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    The scenery on the ride through the Austrian Alps was amazing! Bike paths and trails on nearly the entire ride. The bikes we rented were in excellent condition. There was plenty of time to stop and explore the small towns along the route. The transfer of luggage was seamless, with prompt pickup and drop off each morning. The breakfast provided was very good and a great way to start the day. We will definitely consider another European bike tour in the future.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
  • Tauern Bike Path
    (4/5) Stacey Davey 7 months ago

    Beautiful countryside and charming hotels

    · Tauern Bike Path (Salzburg-Salzburg)

    I thoroughly enjoyed the villages and sights along our six day Tauren/Salzburg self-guided trip. The countryside was breathtaking, our hotels were charming and our hotel bookings and luggage transfers were seamless. The route also took great advantage of the amazing bike routes and on our 300 kM journey, I think only 10 or 15 kM was on a major highway. The trip was considered “moderate” and involved some climbs on the first few days of our trip—particularly if you wanted to visit some of the suggested sights along the way. The one detracting factor to our experience was the quality of the bikes. They were extremely heavy and cumbersome and did not help with navigating some of the hillier terrain. The bells and the odometers (essential for way finding) did not work properly on the two women’s bikes. The vast majority of the people we came across were on e-bikes and while the route was doable on what I would consider steel townies, it limited some of the sights we visited as after we climbed the almost 4 kM hill to visit the salt mine, we started considering elevation gains before deciding which sights to take in. However, I will say that the seats were comfortable! All in all, I enjoyed the trip and would definitely recommend it to others.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) chuck hughes 7 months ago

    Innsbrock to Salzburg

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    Great way to see Austria, really enjoyed the trip, and would recommend it to others. Everything was very well planned and it went very smoothly.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Innsbruck to Lake Garda
    (4/5) Paula Zoccano 7 months ago

    Beautiful trail

    · Innsbruck to Lake Garda Across the Southern Slopes of the Alps

    Pros:The hotels were very good. Wonderful cycle routes. Lovely towns.
    Cons: In Riva I would have preferred to be in the old town beside the water. We had 2 hotels who did not have all our group booked. Unfortunately one couple had to stay by the airport a taxi ride to join us in Innsbruck (still trying to get reimbursed for hotel and cabs) and in Riva another couple were not booked but the hotel was able to give them a room. We also learned in one town we were not booked in the same hotel, our group of 5 couples were split up. I found that strange.
    The meet and greet at the beginning was not at the hotel the company booked us to stay. We were expected to go to another location to get our briefing and bikes. I’ve never had that when booking with other cycle companies. We missed that in our notes and not until 7:00pm when the hotel gave us our booklets did we realize we should have been somewhere else. As a result we never had a meet and greet and bikes fitted to us. My husbands bike had a brake dragging and he needed a torque head screw driver to make adjustments and no torque head screw driver was supplied. He had to find one. The bikes should have been tested,
    No water bottle cages on the bikes.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Italy
    •  (photo by Paula Zoccano)
    •  (photo by Paula Zoccano)
    • Passing Apple and grape orchards (photo by Paula Zoccano)
    • Beautiful ride (photo by Paula Zoccano)
    • Rainy day. (photo by Paula Zoccano)
  • (4/5) Glen Field 7 months ago

    Very scenic biking tour

    · Innsbruck to Lake Garda Across the Southern Slopes of the Alps

    The trip was very good, excellent bike paths, great scenery, very good hotels, excellent breakfast at all the hotels. A few communication problems stop me from giving this a 5 star review.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 9-16, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Italy
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Tauern Bike Path
    (5/5) Peter Van Zoost 7 months ago

    Beautiful trip

    · Tauern Bike Path (Krimml-Passau)

    The first 3 days of biking were beautiful in the Alps. We stayed a couple extra days in Salzburg. Everything was well organized and went smoothly.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) Nancy Nestler 8 months ago

    Where's the sun?!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    Even though we were a bit unlucky with the weather, the trip was fabulous!! The trails were leisurely and well marked. I know we missed out on some views because of our weather, but what we saw was amazing!! I loved staying in different cities and lodging each night. All places were clean and staff was friendly. I'd love to go back and do this trip again -- hopefully with clearer skies.
    I would suggest being sure all bikes are equipped with odometers and a front basket that has a place to display the written directions so they are easily accessible. I had this on prior tours and missed it greatly this time. But overall -- very excellent!! I'd do it again in a heartbeat!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Lake Garda
    (5/5) Anthony Ladson 8 months ago

    Wonderful bike tour

    · Innsbruck to Lake Garda Across the Southern Slopes of the Alps

    I had a great time. Everything went well. The scenery was great. The biking was just at the right level of challenge. Hotels were comfortable. I loved it all and highly recommend this tour to others.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Italy
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) Lauren Brzozowski 8 months ago

    Exceptional Scenery

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    This trip delivers epic views from start to finish. We were constantly in awe of the Austrian countryside and quality bike paths. This trip was enjoyable with a good amount of riding and opportunities for site seeing. It felt like a vacation. Hotels and villages were charming and well selected. We chose to add extra days in both Innsbruck and Salzburg. This was the right choice for us because it allowed more time for sightseeing. As mentioned in other reviews, the route book was challenging to navigate/ ride with, so we downloaded their GPS tracks which made navigation a breeze.
    We loved the extra info in the route book such as places of interest along the route. We stopped at most and would recommend trying to see as many as possible. On a past biketour.com trip, the route book also included recommendations for restaurants. That would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for a great trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 15 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    •  (photo by Lauren Brzozowski)
    •  (photo by Lauren Brzozowski)
    •  (photo by Lauren Brzozowski)
    •  (photo by Lauren Brzozowski)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Tracey Thiele 8 months ago

    Fabulous Tour

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    Tour through the Austrian Alps was fabulous! The scenery gorgeous, accommodations and breakfasts lovely, and the ease having our luggage picked up and delivered made for a lighter and joyful time on the bike. Recommend this trip to anyone wanting the independence of a self-guided tour along with the ease of having a tour company provide the GPS, make hotel reservations and shuttle bags.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    about 10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Lake Garda
    (5/5) Anthony Ladson 8 months ago

    Wonderful trip

    · Innsbruck to Lake Garda Across the Southern Slopes of the Alps

    I greatly enjoyed this ride and highly recommend it. The recommended routes were scenic and you could explore more if you wanted. The hotels were excellent and my gear was picked and moved every day without issue. I also loved the bike that was provided.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Italy
  • Tauern Bike Path
    (5/5) Robin Walton 9 months ago

    Most scenic bike tour

    · Tauern Bike Path (Salzburg-Salzburg)

    This was our 4th European bike tour and definitely the most scenic! The ride was a little more hilly than mentioned in the website, but fortunately I had an e-bike which made it no problem. My husband did not have an e bike and had no problem.
    Each day was a very different route and made it exciting for what the next day would be. Beautiful Alps, waterfalls, villages with so much charm. We opted to upgrade to the deluxe tour and was well worth the money. Wish we would have stayed an extra day in Kaprun as there was much to see there. Would definitely recommend this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) DORIT AVIELI 10 months ago

    Beautiful area

    · Tauern Bike Path (Salzburg-Salzburg)

    We disappointed from the bikes, very heavy, not comfortable not properly handling .
    Hotel das berau was a shame to your company!
    All other details were taken care of perfectly

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
  • (4/5) DORIT AVIELI 10 months ago

    Beautiful area

    · Tauern Bike Path (Salzburg-Salzburg)

    We disappointed from the bikes, very heavy, not comfortable not properly handling .
    Hotel das berau was a shame to your company!
    All other details were taken care of perfectly

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
  • Innsbruck to Lake Garda
    (4/5) Thomas Albrecht 10 months ago

    Fantastic Trip!

    · Innsbruck to Lake Garda Across the Southern Slopes of the Alps

    The route is wonderfully scenic, riding through endless apple orchards and vineyards, with many picturesque villages along the way. Plenty of opportunities to stop for a nice piece of strudel and coffee/tea. The hotels were very nice, in fact a bit nicer than the BikeTours trip we took last year (Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled), and the bicycles were good quality and in perfect repair. Navigation on this trip is a bit challenging (although we were always able to figure things out using the various resources available — phone ap, map, and route signs. Once you get into Italy, the route signs are less helpful, since there are often multiple routes to the destination, and following signs won’t keep you on the recommend route (which usually really is better than the alternatives). One part of the route that perhaps should be simplified is the section just south of Merano, which seems needlessly complicated (for example, the southern part of Merano, and the diversion to Lana). It would be nice if printed maps showed locations of hotels in each town; we had to find them ourselves using our phone maps.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Tauern Bike Path
    (4/5) gerald murphy 10 months ago

    Tauren bike path

    · Tauern Bike Path (Salzburg-Salzburg)

    The ride through this part of Austria was great - the snow capped mountains, green countryside and friendly people made for a great cycling adventure - the only disappointing aspect was the poor detailing in the maps that were provided.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria