Rhine  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Paul Miller 3 weeks ago

    Fantastic bike trip through Germany

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Our group of 3 all loved this trip. It's beautiful, a good balance of riding and interesting activities (like a wine tasting one evening). The hotels were all very good - ranging from extremely nice to more modest. The scenery and towns were terrific. Of course the food, beer and wine were all terrific. Highly recommend this for anyone who enjoys a bike trip. Super easy to navigate and the bikes were top notch. (from 3 sort of picky New Yorkers!!)

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    10 bikes tours before this one.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Strasbourg to Mainz
    (4/5) William Sholten 2 months ago

    Our Alsatian Bike Trip

    · Strasbourg to Mainz: Imperial Cities and Charming Landscapes Along the Rhine

    We have enjoyed 2 other bike trips in the past. This route was not easy to follow without GPS. We used a Garmin GPS to help confirm our path along the way (and highly recommend this). There are many intersecting bike paths around towns, so we had to stop often to determine which route/path to take. There were several detours due to construction (not indicated on our route plans) which made travel both longer and more challenging to navigate.
    We cycled on gravel roads in addition to the bike paths, making the ride somewhat longer than anticipated.

    Hotels were comfortable, but not all hotels in Category A had air conditioning. Hotel staff and breakfasts were first rate!

    Rental bike performed well but were heavier than expected.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    third tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (2/5) Christopher Blair 2 months ago

    Strasbourg - Mainz

    · Strasbourg to Mainz: Imperial Cities and Charming Landscapes Along the Rhine

    It was okay.
    First day, bags were not picked up. Had to call. Delivered after dinner time. Expected some explanation or perhaps an apology. Nothing.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Germany
    • 3/5 Value
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • Rhine Bike Path
    (4/5) Jeffrey Kuhl 3 months ago

    second tour

    · Rhine Bike Path: Mainz to Cologne

    Day 1 - 3 were fantastic.
    Day 4 was too long partly because of route, a few mistakes and a long detour to local bike repair shop. Broken seat was replaced quickly, but caused 3 or 4 stops to attempt to tighten seat with tools that didn't fix the problem. I could only ride a short distance before stopping to flatten seat. The issue was a broken ratchet that had to be replaced. Local tour company worked to find repair and notify them I would be there. I arrived right before closing.
    Day 5 I just wanted it to be over.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 3
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Rebecca Heersink 4 months ago

    Great family vacation

    · Rhine Bike Path: Mainz to Cologne

    We completed this tour with our 2 year old in the infant trailer. The route provided great stops for everyone in the family including great playgrounds for the little one and wine/beer for mom and dad. We enjoyed visiting castles, small medival towns and cable cars rides. The bike riding was manageable but pulling the bike trailer in the heat wave did prove hard some days, maybe an ebike would have helped in retrospect. Hotels were nice and all provided an infant bed. Can't wait to do another cycling tour!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    •  (photo by Rebecca Heersink)
    •  (photo by Rebecca Heersink)
    •  (photo by Rebecca Heersink)
    •  (photo by Rebecca Heersink)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Jessica McAdam 4 months ago

    Castle Heaven!

    · Rhine Bike Path: Mainz to Cologne

    We loved nearly everything about this trip! The route was perfect! It delivered days of delightful excercise, followed by late afternoons exploring the next lovely overnight stop. Breakfast was always a feast and a deliciously fun way to start each day. We diverged off the path to explore a few castles and were Wowed! One small change could make this THE perfect bike tour: do NOT book lodging in Rudesheim during the annual Harley Festival. Distressingly loud people kept us up all night. It was unbelievably noisy, leaving us sleep deprived—sadly, not a fun night at all.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
  • Strasbourg to Mainz
    (4/5) Rob Gage 4 months ago

    Great, but different from expectations

    · Strasbourg to Mainz: Imperial Cities and Charming Landscapes Along the Rhine

    The mapping software was essential in staying on the recommended path, as sign posting wasn't always clear. The whole trip was more variable than we had expected, both from road quality and scenery.
    One suggestion is that the instructions on picking up the bikes could have been sent out ahead of time and made clearer.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Germany
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (3/5) Richard 69 6 months ago

    A nice ride

    · Strasbourg to Mainz: Imperial Cities and Charming Landscapes Along the Rhine

    This is our eighth time cycling in Europe so we are experienced cyclers. This is the first and only time we had any problems. When we arrived in Strassbourg in the evening and checked our bikes we noticed right off that one of the bikes had a problem. We called Eurobike the next morning to resolve the issue and we were underwhelmed by their response. After several phone calls and two and a half hours taken out of the day we planned to spend sightseeing in Strassbourg I finally demanded that they bring us another bike which they reluctantly agreed to do. If we had not taken an extra day in Strassbourg there would have been no way for us to complete the first leg of our tour. So there was that.
    We have always chosen the B level hotels and have always been more than satisfied. This tour the hotels were hit and miss. The Hotel Ibis in Heidelberg gave us a room that was literally the size of a closet nd it was more than a mile walk to get to the historic old town. The hotel Asgard in Worms was also a long way from the city center. I will say that all the hotels served a good breakfast.
    The bikes were the typical rental bikes that we always get so they are a little heavy and slow so no surprises there. But we found the road surfaces to be very rough in many places which made for very slow travel and we found ourselves reaching our destinations much later than we planned.
    We cycled through forests and lots of farmland which was fine but we really did not cycle along the Rhine as much as we would have liked. The scenery was pleasant enough but not nearly as spectacular as other tours we’ve taken.
    The printed directions are always confusing and at times our route was not as well marked as we would have liked so there was a lot of stopping to check our phones. We found the app that we downloaded to be very helpful.
    It’s always fun and exciting to be cycling in Europe and we did enjoy ourselves and had many fine meals along the way. Unfortunately this ride did not compare favorably with the other seven tours we’ve taken.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 18-25 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 1/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 2/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 1/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (4/5) Hiker Ann November 4, 2019

    Self Guided Mosel River

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Wes and the team at BikeTours.com were amazing helpful in planning our self guided trip. We were so lucky too that the weather was pleasant every day of our bike tour. This made the well planned tour even more special! We only experienced one late afternoon of rain in Sept..I would definitely contact Wes if we plan another bike tour in Europe, as he was attentive and friendly throughout our months ahead of planning.

    The Mosel is a lovely ,calm river with various birds and river boats, plus vineyards up the hillsides on both sides to admire. The beginning of the tour is more peaceful than the latter part as the highways and roads follow the river and bike paths too and are closer in those parts. The towns in the middle of the tour are smaller and very interesting, and often we wished we had more time to explore them as some are historic and scenic. Faster riders and those with Ebikes may have had more time to visit these villages. The hotels especially Richtershof in Mulheim and Romantik Jugenstillhotel in Traben were places I would have loved to stay longer! .All hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The managers/staff at Hotel Schwarzen Baren in Koblenz were most personable, but please know if lodged there you have a longer distance to the hotel from the bike path and to the river boat and return the next day.

    I would recommend that the first day not be the longest distance to bike for this tour. You are getting familiar with the heavier bikes, unlike ones you may own at home, taking multitudes of photo stops, and the hotel, restaurants, and area in Mulheim are a treat to behold after Trier. Getting there late afternoon left us less exploration and relaxation time. Otherwise the mileage per day was adequate for us. Do plan to have time to explore historic part of Cochem. It is a tourist stop and the Hotel Kebler Meyer is not in this part of town. My husband had an Ebike, I did not. Of course this review is personal, and I do prefer smaller villages to cities. Overall, we were most pleased with the tour arranged by BikeTours.com.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Setpt. 9 through 14
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Peter and Joyce November 3, 2019

    Birthday treat

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    The hotels booked were excellent and the luggage transfer was seamless. Bicycles were a little heavy but the range of adjustment allowed an ideal touring position.

    What was the date of your tour?
    9th Oct 2019
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Bayer55 October 27, 2019

    Vineyards, vineyards, vineyards!!

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Great tour for independent traveler. Well marked, easy riding, great maps and assistance if needed. First day was a bit long at 40 miles. Would have liked to have done tour in 5-6 days, to take in more sights and relax a bit more. But we are not seasoned bicyclists, so took a bit longer to travel the route.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 14-18
    How many tours have you completed?
    4 (but last one was 4 yrs ago)
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) 1961flyer October 14, 2019

    Great time riding the Mosel!

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    This is a beautiful piece of German wine growing region. The path was well mark and there were plenty of towns and restaurants along the route. The hotels were exceptional and the included wine tasting was informative and fun. We were skeptical about staying on the other side of the Rhine in Koblenz but this was a lovely hotel and a great place to stay!

    What was the date of your tour?
    25th - 31st August 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by 1961flyer)
    • Beautiful evening in Koblenz. (photo by 1961flyer)
    • The path and scenery were fantastic. (photo by 1961flyer)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Gerhard October 13, 2019
    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    How many tours have you completed?
    one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) CynFul September 24, 2019
    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    The scenery along the route was breathtaking and every town on the tour was welcoming.
    Most of the riding was on a well maintained bike path (many taking us through wine vineyards) although we were diverted to the road (both in-town and along busy thoroughfares) a time or two but besides the rides through the towns the riding along the roads was along a designated area for bikes and the vehicular traffic was mindful of the cyclists. The accommodations were very comfortable and having prepaid for daily breakfast and dinner we didn't have to make any choices where to eat and all-in-all each of our meals were satisfactory at minimum. Although the pre-tour preparation for our self-guided bike tour was very detailed with BikeTours.com the execution (by the German based company) left something to be desired. The riding instructions/maps we were given were based on the standard route so they didn't take our particular stops into consideration; we therefore spent a good amount of time lost on our bikes. This was also because the general riding directions/instructions provided by the German tour company were not very detailed and again, did not provide specific details relative to our daily stops. The equipment provided by the German tour company was fair; the two women's bikes were like beach cruisers so easy to get on/off, the e-bike was fantastic (appeared to be brand new) and the other men's bike worked fine although it seemed a bit big for the rider and it was the smallest men's frame the local company had available. The handlebar box and panier for each bike was adequate for transporting our personal items.

    We LOVED the area, just wish we had spent less time being lost and more time exploring the beautiful, friendly towns scattered along the Moselle.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 6-13, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was the first for me
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe September 25, 2019

      Thank you very much for the review. The Mosel is a lovely tour and region, and we're delighted you enjoyed it. We sincerely appreciate your compliment that we were detailed in preparing you for your tour. Thanks for noting the directions and bikes are aspects of the tour which may be improved upon. We will share this evaluation with the tour operator. We're so glad to have assisted you with booking this tour and that you enjoyed the scenery and towns.

    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Bob and Barb September 11, 2019

    Wonderful Trip

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Everything about the trip was perfect especially the accommodations and bike supplier who was very helpful. The only problem was the trip itinerary schedule did not match the actual hotel destinations which caused considerable confusion for the first day. Once that was realized the trip was perfect..

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 29, 2019-Sept 3, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jim Gr August 24, 2019

    Wonderful Experience

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Wonderful bike tour. Beautiful scenery, riding along the Mosel River on a well marked bike path. Lovely towns and villages. Hotel accommodations were everything we expected, all 4 star superior. Recommend going with the dinner package option. Food was exceptional.
    Again, Thank You Bike Tours Staff for another wonderful and relaxing trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • Ice coffee & apple strudel stop (photo by Jim Gr)
    • Castle on the Mosel River (photo by Jim Gr)
    • Beautiful Mosel Valley (photo by Jim Gr)
    • Accommodation’s on the Mosel River (photo by Jim Gr)
    • Roman Amphitheater in Trier, Germany (photo by Jim Gr)
    • Mosel River tour (photo by Jim Gr)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe August 25, 2019

      Thanks, Jim, for the review. We're delighted to have assisted you and can't wait for the next one!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Rhine Bike Path
    (5/5) Jim Gr August 21, 2019

    Magnificent Rhine

    · Rhine Bike Path: Mainz to Cologne

    Wonderful scenery including vineyards, castles, lovely towns and history dating back to the Roman occupation.
    Well organized, nice hotels, great bike path and directions.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • Photo 1 (photo by Jim Gr)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Jim Gr)
    • Koblenz, Germany (photo by Jim Gr)
    • Koblenz, Germany (photo by Jim Gr)
    • Rhine River (photo by Jim Gr)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Richard 69 July 18, 2019

    Gute Fahren along the Rhine

    · Rhine Bike Path: Mainz to Cologne

    This was a most picturesque tour along the Rhine. The ride was gentle and we mostly rode on dedicated bike paths. Most of the ride was right along the river except when the path took us through one of the many well preserved medieval towns. The tour company was great and our bikes performed well. Our luggage was always delivered on time. Our maps and printed materials were very helpful, especially the recommendations for restaurants for lunch and dinner. Our hotels were very comfortable and they were all air conditioned. They also served lovely breakfasts. This was a very memorable ride that compared favorably with other European rides that we have taken. I highly recommend this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 29 - June 5
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection