Bike Tour Reviews: Swiss Lakes By E-bike  Lake Geneva To Lake Lucerne


Swiss Lakes by E-bike: Lake Geneva to Lake Lucerne

COUNTRY: Switzerland

7 nights
4.7/5 (14)
Rider Level: Active Electric bike tours
Rider Level: Active Electric bike tours

4.7/5 (14)
7 nights

Self guided from CHF 1770

Self-guided:
Daily: Mar 30 - Oct 13, 2024

Description:
Beginning in Lake Geneva and finishing at Lake Lucerne, the Lake Route earns its name from the many lakes the route touches from beginning to end. This route leads through outstanding touristic regions with great sounding names: Montreux, Gruyères…

View Tour

  • (5/5) Jane Fletcher 7 months ago

    My favorite bike trip

    This year I did 4 European bike trips and this was my favorite. The scenery was gorgeous, the emerald pastureland, the craggy mountains some of them snow capped in august were amazing. We also loved all the bright flowers and the chalet style Swiss architecture that was everywhere. We were often serenaded by cow bells as we rode by. The roads were generally very low traffic. I’d do this tour again in a minute! There were significant hills to climb but the e-bikes we rented made the hills very doable for our group of active 67 to 82 year olds. We even conquered the approx. seven mile uphill with relative ease, no walking required. Since we are from florida we were worried about our ability to train for 4,000 feet of climbing but the e-bikes made it all doable. We didn’t take any of the possible short cuts (train or funicular) to eliminate hills as we didn’t want to miss any of the scenery. Instead of using the provided app for navigation we put the route in ride with gps so that we would have specific turn by turn direction to our hotel as well as the daily route. That worked really well for us. We also used the recommended Swiss mobility app and that was a very important tool as it shows biking and walking routes all over Switzerland. Of the many many bike tours I’ve done over the years this was my absolute favorite.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    20+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    •  (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    •  (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    •  (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    •  (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    •  (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    •  (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac October 4, 2023

      Wow, those photos look amazing! It sounds like you had an incredible and memorable biking experience in Switzerland! We're absolutely thrilled to hear that it was your favorite and that you thoroughly enjoyed it. The sights and sounds of Switzerland truly make for an unforgettable biking adventure. We look forward to welcoming you back for another incredible biking adventure whenever you're ready to explore more places on two wheels!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Carol Peckham 7 months ago

    Exceeds expectations

    Switzerland is beautiful and what a spectacular way to see it. We took an unguided tour with turn by turn directions that kept us off the beaten track. Our trip was very well planned with wonderful accommodations each night. The e-bikes we rented were excellent and with the ups and down of our route, also appreciated.
    We have become real believers in bike tours as a relaxed way to see the world. This was our third trip through Bike Tours and we are already planning our next one.

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Timothy Ricks 7 months ago

    Spectacular beauty

    Outstanding vistas! Spectacular beauty!
    Pros: 1. Some really fine hotels, many with great views. 2. Reliable luggage transfers. 3. Reliable bikes. No mechanical problems with either e-bike or regular bike.
    Cons: 1. Eurotrek’s maps and gps often do not match up with the routes you need to take to navigate each day. Result is that it is essential to bring your own Garmin device AND your smartphone in order to navigate when your hotel may not even be in the same town as the gps would take you. 2. Most Swiss hotels have no A/C, and with climate change, they are too hot. Open windows bring noise and insects, so not great sleep. 3. Eurotrek’s non-electric bikes are sturdy, reliable, heavy and slow. Be prepared for a good workout and slow riding.

  • (4/5) Linda MiolaFurrier 8 months ago

    Great views - beautiful countryside

    For the most part, this touring company did a good job. They dropped the ball a few times, but were quick & responsive to repairing the issues. Chosen navigation software did not work for us, thus we were forced to use our own - which was fine but not ideal. Definitely bring a backup phone battery on every ride. Hotels were adequate, clean, well positioned for our enjoyment of the area. We have done other bike trips, and this Swiss Lakes trip was the most scenic. We would do it again.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    •  (photo by Linda MiolaFurrier)
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Christine Downing 9 months ago

    Wonderful trip full of amazing cycling

    We had a wonderful time! I rode an e-bike and my husband got the touring bike and that was perfect for us (as was the self-guided tour)! The tour company worked with us on changing our rest day location (to Lauterbrunnen, highly recommend) and everything was seemless. The hotels were very nice, although some of the places you stay are a little more ‘resorty’ then we would have preferred (although spending one afternoon in several saunas at a spa was perfect after some hard rides and a very hard hike—on our rest day). The provided guide and route and GPS is very easy to follow (it’s basically just an established bike route with signs). We appreciated the warnings about busy areas and climbs (although we ended up never taking any of the short cuts and we were fine)! I highly recommend the trip, if you want spent most of your days cycling with beautiful scenery (seriously amazing) with time each day to see a site or go for a bit of walk!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Waterfall along the route (photo by Christine Downing)
    • Lucerne (photo by Christine Downing)
    • Vevey (photo by Christine Downing)
    • View from our hotel in Gruyères (photo by Christine Downing)
    • Chataeu Chillon, on Lake Geneva (we made a special trip morning of the first ride) (photo by Christine Downing)
    • From top of the Schilthorn, on our rest day (photo by Christine Downing)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Emily Hyde January 24, 2023

    Fun trip but bikes too heavy

    All aspects of the trip were very well organized. The packet we were given was great. We had a problem with one of our bikes, and had a new one the next day! The tour company did a good job with helping when needed. Each hotel we stayed at knew we were coming. Check in was always smooth. Even though we arrived early each day, the hotels were very accommodating and our room was always ready. They all were prepared for our bike storage as well.

    We wished we would have covered more mileage each day. Other than scenery, there wasn't much to do in some of the towns, so we would have liked to have covered more mileage. The last day was only a twelve mile ride, which was disappointing. That distance is covered in no time at all on an e-bike. We checked in to our hotel by 1 pm each day. Unfortunately for us it rained everyday except the last, so we didn't meander around as we hoped, we made it as fast as we could to each location. It took us about 3 1/2 hours each day to cover the distance we were supposed to ride. We probably would have stopped along the way had the weather been better.

    Hotels:
    Again, ALL were accommodating. Staff at every location welcomed us warmly!
    The Hotel Ermitage in Schonreid was truly exceptional in each and every aspect. Will be going back one day! Wish we could have had our rest day there! The Gruyere Hotel staff went above and beyond. They welcomed us with hot cocoa when they saw how wet and cold we were. One of our group twisted their ankle, they helped with what we needed. They contacted the bike company for us with picking up one of the bikes that wasn't working. We also sent our bikes instead of riding because of the rain and they helped us arrange that.
    We were very disappointed in the Seegarten Marina Hotel in Spiez. It was definitely not up to the quality of our other hotels. The room was incredibly small, as was the bathroom. We should have been given the option of two rooms in that hotel. We had three people with us on this trip, and it was the only time it was really uncomfortable. The third person slept on an actual cot. Unfortunately, it was also our "rest day," so we had two nights at that hotel. We were given the hotel list about two weeks prior to our trip. Perhaps a list of hotels ahead of time would be nice. It would have give us the option of making plans for things to do at each location, especially on the rest day.

    Bikes: Although we wondered before our trip about the mileage we would be covering, that, we found, was of no concern on an e-bike.
    Didn't need to train, or get ready to sit for a long time on the seat each day. Those ended up not being an issue at all. The BIG issue was the weight of the bike. All three of us felt we would probably never do one of these tours again-completely because of the bike. We had rented e-bikes in the states before we came. Totally different. Your bikes were very, very heavy. We felt off-balance on the bike--ie--couldn't look back on the bike for fear of falling. Two of us did fall(just lots of bruising.). We all thought that should be mentioned somewhere in your literature.  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 1/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Clifford Davis September 23, 2022

    Epic beautiful tour

    This is a great way to get out of the main cities and see some of the most incredible Swiss country. Spectacular lakes and mountains and wonderful towns on every day of the ride. Unless you are a very well trained cyclist accustomed to bigger climbs, go for the ebike option. I didn’t and had to walk some hills. Hybrid bike could have used some maintenance - the front brake pads were nearly completely gone. Also navigating requires paying close attention to the route markers. Do download the Swiss mobility app and be aware of your route throughout your ride. All in all a fabulous trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Brittany Allred September 19, 2022

    What’s better than perfect?

    I can’t put into words how amazing the trip was for us. I felt like we had private, backstage passes to Switzerland. The e-bikes were so fun, the hotels were great, and the views were too good to be true. It’s hard to imagine a trip that will top it.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept. 10 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Rob Sudekum August 23, 2022

    Stunning landscapes

    Overall, a super great trip. The route is stunning. Navigating is super easy, just follow the number 9 signs and that’s it. I think the printed maps provided should be rethought, if anything they make life more confusing. The recommended app is better but still not perfect. I think it’d be super helpful if biketours.com provided a few highlights for each day. There is a lot to see along the way. I think the suggestions to take a train in spots because of busy traffic is unnecessary.

    Overall, I loved the ride and would recommended it to anyone. Note: we opted for electric bikes and would definitely recommend it.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Cindy23 September 3, 2019

    We can't wait to schedule our next trip!!!

    This was a trip of a lifetime. My husband and I have never done a bike tour before, and we were so impressed with Switzerland. It has to be one of the best countries to bike in--they have fresh spring water all over the countryside (see pic), bike route signs that are more visible than the street signs, and views that are absolutely breathtaking. I'm still trying to soak it all in and we went a month ago in July/August. My husband is a professional photographer so we stopped constantly to take pictures. Now on to more details...
    We arrived a day early so we could rest and get used to the time change. We decided to fly into Zurich and take a train to Montreaux. We got a hotel right on the water--and it was SO worth it. Montreaux has a walking path all along Lake Geneva and it's just gorgeous. A great way to start your trip.
    We brought our own helmets, pedals, and shoes. We figured it would be better on the hills to be able to push and pull. The tour company was willing to let us bring a suitcase and a backpack for luggage transport (we had the extra helmets and pedals). We opted for the hybrid bikes vs the e-bikes. My husband mountain bikes every day. I did about 80% of my training on a peloton stationary bike.
    The first day of biking it takes awhile to get used to the bike and the signs. We got a little lost because of detours. We also weren't familiar with the maps provided. We thought we were supposed to stay on Route 9, but day 1 and 2 they had us going on route 59. We didn't realize this until we finally found our hotel the first day. Our luggage wasn't there yet at 5:00 so I highly recommend bringing something light to change in to so that you can shower if you beat your luggage.
    Day 2 we basically just did route 59 until it met back up with route 9. The only booklet we had was for route 9 so I wasn't aware that it would be a 3500 foot ascent. We climbed...and climbed and climbed. The bike has plenty of gears though--so I just put it on the lowest gear and balanced going 2 mph. Gstaad was just gorgeous--as was Schoenreid. We LOVED the hotel there. They were amazing. Our luggage wasn't there yet but they greeted us with a warm towel and champagne.
    We had a rain delay on day 3, but we ended up getting out by 11 that morning and we are glad we did. We saw some amazing views and only had to go a little over 20 miles--flat miles.
    Day 4 we decided to skip the boat to Interlaken and just follow route 9--which added about 10 miles. The 4 lakes you bike along are just stunning. The water color is Caribbean blue! That day is relatively flat other than a pretty long climb up to a gorgeous waterfall. So worth it. We stayed in Wilen, but I would recommend going 2 extra miles and staying in Sarnen. There weren't any restaurants or anything in Wilen. We ate at our hotel--which was AMAZING though. We had a 2 course steak dinner. I've never had that before.
    Day 5 we biked to Lucerne. It was a pretty easy day. Lower mileage and pretty flat. We took the advice from a previous review and stayed in Lucerne. I regretted it. It's a nice city--but it was so crowded and over priced compared to the serenity we enjoyed the other parts of the trip!!
    Day 6 we started in Lucerne vs Zug which is 100km from Rapperswill. My husband convinced me to bike the entire thing since it was our last day. We did it! It wasn't easy but what a way to go out. The last climb into Lake Zermatt is a giver--but the view at the top of the hill is breathtaking.
    We got alot better at reading the signs. Someone gave us a tip at the beginning--if you don't see a sign for awhile, you probably missed one--because there are so many. You definitely need to download maps.me and make sure you download all of the Switzerland maps (6) so you don't end up in an area you haven't downloaded yet when you need it. (day 1 for us!)
    There was more of a language barrier than I expected. They spoke french the first day or two and then German. Many people in the country don't speak English; however they always seemed to know what "beer" was. :)
    Things would have gone smoother if the travel documents had just a simple bullet point or two rather than an arrow buried in the map. We were so set on Route 9 that a simple note that told us to look for Route 59 here and here would have been really helpful. Every single time I emailed before the trip asking questions, the staff responded quickly. It was great. They are also pretty flexible so if you want to stay in one place vs another or want to spend a couple days in one city--let them know, chances are, they can probably accommodate your request. We upgraded to the Class A hotels and definitely recommend that. We also took everyone's advice and got sandwiches for lunch, so we could stop anytime we needed to. There were quite a few places along the way to grab a quick sandwich though. It seemed like kitchens closed 2-6. Coops will become your friend fast!
    We definitely recommend this tour and we plan on possibly doing it again soon!!!  SHOW MORE 

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 28-August 3
    How many tours have you completed?
    this was our first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • View from the climb on Day 2 (photo by Cindy23)
    • Spring water would be coming out of things like this all over! (photo by Cindy23)
    • So glad the rain cleared up so we could see this amazing landscape.  (Day 3) (photo by Cindy23)
    • The color of the water is just unbelievable!!! (photo by Cindy23)
    • The view after the climb on Day 2 (photo by Cindy23)
    • What an overlook....  These are the bike signs that guided us along our journey. (photo by Cindy23)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Grasshopper August 28, 2019

    Amazing Trip on an e bike through Switzerland

    We really loved this trip. We were very concerned at first as the maps we received were not well marked and the information from the help line contradictory. Then out of the Blue our savior Rudie came along and we managed to hitch onto the group he was guiding. From there all was well. Thank you again Rudie for your help. The guide book was not provided in English. Apparently there are limited editions. The hotels we were booked into went from fantastic to three start ordinary. The bikes were good enough and did the job. I loved this trip and would recommend it but it needs refining ...

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2018
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Loving it (photo by Grasshopper)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Traveling Jackie November 28, 2018

    Cycling doesn't get more beautiful than this!

    I can still hear the cowbells! I thought I knew what to expect coming into this tour, but I completely underestimated almost everything about this trip. The scenery blew my mind every second, the hotels were MUCH better than I realized they'd be (Category A all the way), the hills were steeper, the fondue tastier, and the rejuvenation and "reset" for my well-being... I just didn't even realize how GOOD I would feel just from saying yes to this experience.

    I loved it and would recommend making it longer if you can, add a day to the middle somewhere (possibly Lucerne) to allow yourself more time to soak in the beauty that is Switzerland. My only complaint is that it went too fast.

    I've been on 3 bike tours and used a hybrid touring bike for each of them (I opted NOT to use an e-bike on this trip). This was definitely the most challenging itinerary I've experienced with a hybrid bike, but I would choose a hybrid again if given the chance to do it again, because I loved the challenge. If you aren't a strong rider, definitely get an e-bike, we are talking about the Swiss Alps!

    I also recommend buying a picnic lunch everyday (there is a store called Coop that is found all along the route) because timing your hunger with open restaurants and backcountry trails is almost impossible. And the picnic views are unbeatable.

    Also, be sure to download the Swiss Mobility app and I also recommend Maps.me, both work offline and with the two of them we found our way just fine. Definitely choose Category A hotels, don't think twice! Also I would skip Zug and stay in a different town instead. Find more tips and stories from my experience at https://travelingjackie.com/swiss-alps-by-bike/

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Video: Swiss Alps by Bike: A MUST-DO For Adventure Lovers
    • Ladies trip! (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • Endless scenery (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • You can't get here by train. (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • How this trip made us feel everyday! (photo by Traveling Jackie)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) CarleyC November 16, 2018

    Outstanding!

    I didn't know how much I would fall in love with a trip by bike. In fact, I hadn't even been on a bike in years, but when your friend says "come to Switzerland and bike with me," you go. This region of Switzerland is so very beautiful, it wowed me at every turn. And if I was worried about biking over the ALPS, well, e-bike for the win. An electrically-assisted bike really made this trip for me, since I am not in biking shape. I was able to fly right up those alps with ~almost~ no problems at all (some are pretty steep). I am absolutely in love with the pace of a bike trip. Wind in your face and views all around, but can stop for a scenic vista or a cup of coffee whenever you like. I cannot recommend this route enough. If you are even considering it, just go. You will not regret it.
    Having your luggage transported for you every day is great! You just take what you need with you for the day, and when you arrive at your hotel on the other end, your stuff is waiting for you. Also, we had one bad weather day, and we were able to send our bikes with the luggage with no problems, which was a treat. I highly recommend downloading the app of the route, it was very helpful for figuring out where we were at times. All in all, a stellar trip, and I would do the exact same trip again right now.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 30th
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Photo 1 (photo by CarleyC)
    • Photo 2 (photo by CarleyC)
    • Photo 3 (photo by CarleyC)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Swiss Lakes by Ebike
    (5/5) apitzer October 19, 2017

    I went on a portion of this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member from Geneva to Lausanne and Vevey. The Lavaux Vineyards, on the Swiss side of Lake Geneva, are a stunning UNESCO World Heritage site. The wine has been produced in this region since the 11th century. Alpine views and the stunning, clear Lake Geneva are other highlights. This level 2 tour is relatively flat with a few hilly sections up by the vineyards. You can experience Switzerland without having to pedal up mountains, and an e-bike makes the journey even more accessible for all. The Schweiz Mobil national network of cycling paths is well-maintained and clearly marked. In my 8 days of cycling, we were confused about signage only a handful of times. Be sure to plan for lunch or attractions before you begin cycling, as restaurants are generally only open from about 11:30 - 2:00 for lunch and they may not be able to serve lunch at 2:00. We had to do a lot of research ourselves about site-seeing, lunch stops, and directions to each point of interest along the way. Don't miss the Old City in Geneva, the Promenade du Lac with the famous Jet d'Eau (Jet of Water), the Olympic Museum in Lausanne, or Charlie Chaplin's estate in Vevey. The combination of the lake, vineyards, mountains, French-inspired cuisine and culture, and well-marked bike route make this tour a wonderful first tour in Switzerland.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 3, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Photo 1 (photo by apitzer)
    • Classic Swiss Cows, Buildings, and Mountains outside of Gruyères (photo by apitzer)
    • Spiez (photo by apitzer)
    • Spiez (photo by apitzer)
    • Route Sign by Lake Geneva (looking in the direction of Montreux) (photo by apitzer)
    • Eurotrek Bikes (photo by apitzer)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection