Bike Tour Reviews  Medieval Villages Of Catalonia


Medieval Villages of Catalonia

COUNTRY: Spain

6 nights
4.8/5 (27)
Rider Level: Recreational Electric bike tours Bike and Hotel tours
Rider Level: Recreational Electric bike tours Bike and Hotel tours

4.8/5 (27)
6 nights

Guided from EUR € 1750
Self guided from EUR € 1250

Guided:
Daily, upon request: Mar 1-Jun 30; Sep 1-Nov 15, 2022 (additional dates in Jul-Aug available upon request for a surcharge)

Self-guided:
Daily, upon request: Mar 1-Jun 30; Sep 1-Nov 15, 2022 (additional dates in Jul-Aug available upon request for a surcharge)

Description:
This Medieval villages cycling tour is a perfect way to explore the quieter and less traveled areas of this fascinating region of Catalonia. The tour starts in Girona city and winds its way gently through the undulating and ever-changing scenery of the…

View Tour

  • Medieval Villages of Catalonia
    (5/5) Kathryn Staropoli 2 weeks ago

    This trip exceeded all expectations!

    This was the perfect trip! I love biking on a recreational level, and the friend I went with is a more avid biker, but it was great for both of us. It was challenging without being too difficult. We rode 20-25 miles a day on the self guided tour and loved it. We were on bike paths, trails, and dedicated bike lanes for almost the entire trip. We rode through farms and fields, along the sea, and through beautiful medieval villages without ever feeling like we had to rush to reach our destination, and we always felt safe. We met Daniel from Creative Catalonia, who set us up with the bikes, and he was incredibly kind and helpful. We had no trouble at all, so we never had to reach out for assistance, but I'm sure he would have been able to help us out if we were ever in need. They did let us know that the hotel restaurant where we would be having dinner was hosting an event the night we were staying there, and asked if we wanted them to make a reservation for us so we would still be able to eat there. We said yes and enjoyed a wonderful dinner thanks to their considerate outreach.
    The GPS worked very well. My friend is very good with directions and she did a great job navigating. Some spots, those intersections with a number of options, were sometimes hard to correctly discern, but if we did choose the wrong path, the GPS quickly corrected us and we would be on our way after only a few extra minutes. The route they programmed for us was really great. We loved going through fields, farms, and wooded areas, riding along the Mediterranean was just beautiful, and we stopped in several of the medieval villages to explore, shop, or grab lunch. We didn't typically stop where they suggested we go for lunch or a coffee, but we were always able to find food and drink along the way. The stops they recommended for sightseeing were really great and we did stop for all of those. They were fun and varied. They included a botanical garden, the Dali museum, the ancient ruins of a city, and a lighthouse! The route they chose was exactly what we were hoping for.
    They were also great about the luggage transfers. It was always at the hotel when we arrived and the hotels themselves were really nice, they were clean and comfortable, and each included a delicious breakfast.
    We did go in the off season and really lucked out with the weather considering we were there the last week of October. It was perfect biking weather for me, clear and sunny, with temperatures in the high 60s and into the 70s every day. The fact that many cafes and restaurants were closed was not a big deal, we always found a place to eat. Quite honestly, it was a small price to pay for the lack of tourists. Everywhere we went was far less crowded than it would have been in season.
    I highly recommend this tour and Creative Catalonia.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Evelyn Savage 3 weeks ago

    Adventure

    Medieval Villages of Catalonia was an adventurous, fun and challenging bike tour. The villages were very interesting, the hotels very nice, the ebikes great and self guided directions mostly good. We had a few challenges finding some of the paths and the terrain was much more mountain biking than expected. But we found our way and enjoyed the beautiful countryside. One should be an experienced cyclist or mountain biker to enjoy the trails have some experience with directions to do self guided. Overall a very good way to experience the Baja Emporda coast and Medieval towns.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Christopher Attwood 1 month ago

    The Coast and Medieval Catalonia

    What a lovely cycle tour. Mostly on cycle tracks that avoid the hustle and danger of busy roads. We were in an exclusive group of 10 which does add to the flexibility and fun of the ride. Riding with GPS is a game changer. So easy and allows for "self-guided" tours. I do think more variations should be incorporated on the routes to allow one to tailor make the ride for distance and substance. All the suggested restuarants and photo opportunities were spot on. If "Unguided", a better backround pack of stops and their historical significance could be prepared. Great holiday and experience.

  • (5/5) Melanie Wood 2 months ago

    Lovely scenery and great Accommodations

    Lovely to ride all those miles on paths and low traffic roads. The ebikes were super and welcomed on a couple of paths that had been damaged by a huge storm the first night of the ride. Our hotels were great and got better further in the trip. Nice rooms and very helpful staff.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 7 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    Total about 12, but this is the 4th with BikeTours.com
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • One of the off road bike paths from Girona to Sant Pol beach resort, day 1 ride. (photo by Melanie Wood)
    • The view out front of our hotel. (photo by Melanie Wood)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Veronica Calderon 2 months ago

    Better than expected!

    Very organized, hotels were amazing, people were friendly. Never felt lost or like i didn't know what to do. Couldn't recommend more, will definitely using biketours.com again. Thanks for everything!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Sharon Roberts 3 months ago

    Beautiful Spain!

    Best curated trip I’ve been on so far. Hotels were pretty and comfortable and had wonderful staff. Bikes were in great shape and loved the electronic gps devices provided. The creative Catalonia folks were over the top helpful. Great mix of beaches, medieval villages and scenic views of the mountains and the med. Highly recommend.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) marka3 8 months ago

    wonderful bike tour

    Medieval Villages of Catalonia was a great cycling tour for us. We went in late March, and had very little rain and no traffic/crowds. Daniel was an excellent tour organizer. Very friendly, helpful , organized. The GPS systems( 2 of them) along with the maps made it impossible to get lost on our self guided tour. The hotels were good, and the bikes were very good. Highly recommend this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    19/3 to 1/4
    How many tours have you completed?
    4 others
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) WilcoxTandem November 10, 2019

    Great Bike Ride with our 20 year old Grandson

    Our Grandson is attending a College Semester in Barcelona and had a week off. Since we have done 4 other tours with Bike Tours we contacted them to find the right ride. Right away Taylor did a very good job of directing us to the Medieval Villages Ride. We wanted to take our own tandem and she contacted Lucy and Daniel to make sure it would work on the non asphalt paths.
    During the ride Lucy and Daniel did and outstanding job of supporting us even though it was a Self Guided ride. The second day there was a huge lightening/thunder storm with lots of rain. They contacted us that morning and we mutually decided to not ride and they transported us along with our tandem to the next hotel.
    The rout, scenery, and historical value was out of this world. Thanks everyone for a great ride---Barrie and Susan

    What was the date of your tour?
    October, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    15
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe November 11, 2019

      Barrie and Susan, thanks kindly for this review. We're delighted you guys got to spend some time with your grandson in Spain -- what a lovely family adventure! We're delighted (but not surprised) to hear that Taylor was very helpful, and the tour operator, supportive. We're so glad you loved the route, scenery, and historical value and that everything went smoothly with the tandem. We can't wait to book the next one!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) kathy60 October 1, 2019

    Beautiful coastline & Great Hotels

    We have done many trips with biketours and this will be remembered as a very special one. The hotels were very good and we even had ocean view rooms! This is extremely rare on packaged bike tours, even when upgrading hotels. The old town of Girona is fun to explore. Daniel provided a good briefing and even though this was September, his bikes were excellent and seemed brand new. This is a rarity for September tours as usually it's evident the bikes have already been used all season. As someone else mentioned, Daniel provides both a gps and an adroid with the routes on maps.me. This makes the trip so much more enjoyable for the navigators! The Brava Costa coastal area in early September was beautiful and we swam every day. The restaurants are still open, but not as busy as in August. The Arc Hotel in Monells is a little gem and very relaxing. The route itself has some dirt roads and some hills ... and even though the distances are shorter, if it's hot you'll feel like you've had a good ride, with time for a swim after each day.

    What was the date of your tour?
    early September, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    15+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Gabby September 30, 2019

    Perfect trip and ride for vacation

    We loved the rides, and places to stay on this trip. Daniel did an excellent job prepping us and providing us with a gps and a smartphone with a map that made this the easiest self guided tour we have done. The hotels we stayed at and the towns were beautiful. Do not pass up eating at Hotel Arcs in Monells. Best meal of trip and we had a lot of great meals.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 16-21
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) sharon November 11, 2018

    beautiful scenery, perfectly planned route

    This is one of the most organized self-guided tours we have taken. The map and accompanying photos and tips were terrific. In addition, one bike had a Garmin GPS device, the other a smart phone with Maps.me. Great bikes, high-quality accommodations...It was a wonderful trip. We have several friends who are considering doing it.

    What was the date of your tour?
    10/4/18
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) pam123 September 5, 2018

    Beautiful landscapes - amazing way to see Catalonia

    Our second trip through biketours.com did not disappoint. We did the peak season self-guided trip in August 2018. Our orientation guide was extremely kind and took a lot of time with us to get us oriented to the materials and the bikes. There was a hiccup on the first day with the bag drop off, but Daniel, the head of the local tour company, was responsive and immediately worked to rectify it. We were pleased that they gave us both a GPS device and an smartphone with the routes outlined in the maps.me app - so both of us could follow our route in real time. We had a few times where we had to backtrack just a bit to make a different turn, but we were never lost -- and the GPS-enabled devices meant we could venture off the course when we liked and then find our way back to the pre-determined route pretty easily. Bikes were very good. Roads were a mix of paved and dirt (about 60/40 I'd guess). We had one flat just before the last day but we were able to fix it with just tire inflation. All in all, we liked the routes and the suggested stopping points, as well as the hotels we stayed in -- especially the first and the last hotels. One thing that would have made the trip better would have been some information on each daily route, with more suggestions/options on places to stop in the various towns or along the way -- e.g. churches, museums, other points of interest.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Maria June 24, 2018

    Beautiful coast and villages

    What a fantastic trip! We were 10 women all eager to see the Costa Brava and Creative Catalonia made it happen. First off the tour briefing in Girona with Lucy and Daniel before we set off was amazing. I've done 5 trips with Bike Tours and never have we had the tour operator go over so thoroughly our week at a glance. Very impressed with the time and care these two put into their clients' cycling experience.

    The hotels and restaurants were lovely and every attention to detail sorted before we set off. We can not thank you enough for your expertise and all the time and effort in creating our Catalonia experience. You had your work cut out for you and you delivered. It was outstanding. We will be back! Muchisimas gracias!!Example: The perfect way to experience Italy! Our guide was great - a very knowledgeable local. The hotels were charming, but wish we'd gone for....

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 31-June 6, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Cycling into Madremanya Day 6 (photo by Maria)
    • Team ECM's! (photo by Maria)
    • Up to the monastery on Day 6 (photo by Maria)
    • Countryside (photo by Maria)
    • Fleurs and a pannier:-) We LOVE Creative Catalonia <3 (photo by Maria)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Kimmer June 21, 2018

    Girona - Great Trip!

    This was my first bike trip so I was a bit nervous but Lucy was amazing, she kindly installed the upright handlebars that I'd brought so that I could ride more upright. Lucy and Daniel gave us a very thorough briefing with maps and GPS devices. We had such an amazing trip I would highly recommend them!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 1st, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) happyPedals December 2, 2017

    Variety, history, largely off roads

    I appreciated the variety in landscape, from hilly interior to craggy and beautiful coastline. The trails were varied, from slightly rough bike trails to quiet roads. Hotels were good. I went at the end of October. Some facilities were closed, but also this made things quiet which I like, and the weather was still warm. I would recommend this tour. The Creative Catalonia owners were very helpful.

    What was the date of your tour?
    29 Oct start
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Badger biker October 26, 2017

    Good trip

    A very interesting ride along the shore of the Costa Brava and by a number od medieval towns. Generally not a difficult ride however much of the ride is on unpaved lanes and quite of bit of that is on rough roads, with sand and big rocks and large potholes. The tour company Creative Catalonia was very good. The hotels were excellent.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 5 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Cowboybob October 17, 2017

    Off-Road Adventure

    My first tour with Creative Catalonia tours, and I would consider another. I was with a group of eight friends, one who managed the Garmin about 90% of the daily routes were on off-roadway, gravel trails through beautiful countryside. Staying on route required close reading of the route maps at times. The villages toured are amazing for their age and charm. Plenty of great cafes and restaurants along the way. The arranged hotel lodging was very good.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 6, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Bonita September 25, 2017

    Great scenery, great food & good biking trails

    Our guide, Daniel with Creative Catalonia, was always aware of our safety. He was knowledgeable about the things we were seeing. If he didn't know the answer to questions, we'd often receive an email that evening containing an answer. We got to see some amazing sites. The hotels were very nice & resturants we were directed to were usually really good. He made sure that our bikes were all in good, working condition.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Jim Johnson, founder and president September 26, 2017

      Thank you for your review and ratings! Daniel is great, as is the Creative Catalonia organization. I'm glad you were able to have such a positive experience with them.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)