Bike Tour Reviews  Emerald Tour Of Slovenia’s Gems


Emerald Tour of Slovenia’s Gems

COUNTRY: Slovenia

7 nights
5/5 (10)
Rider Level: Recreational Electric bike tours Family-friendly bike tours
Rider Level: Recreational Electric bike tours Family-friendly bike tours

5/5 (10)
7 nights

Self guided from EUR € 860

Self-guided:
Daily: Mar 25-Oct 14, 2023

Description:
On this classical Slovene bike tour, you will visit the most known Slovene historical attractions and natural points of interest. The tour starts in Ljubljana, the capital of Slovenia. After exploring the capital's old town center and mighty fortress…

View Tour

  • Emerald Tour of Slovenia’s Gems
    (5/5) Amy Reller 2 weeks ago

    Epic trip!

    We did a self-guided tour (two couples) and it could not have been better! From the first night trip orientation in our Ljubljana hotel to our final stopping point in Piran, we couldn't stop talking about how smoothly everything went. The hotels were well familiar with the electric bike routine, our luggage was always waiting for us upon arrival in the lobby, the routes took us through beautiful Slovenian countryside and stopped at points of interest and historical sites that were worth the side trip. Our detailed route map (provided by local bike tour group Helia) was experienced enough to mention ideal locations to stop for lunch along the way which proved helpful when traveling through small villages with limited spots to stop to eat. We lucked out on the early October weather and had no rain which was a bonus. Having breakfast in our hotel before departing each morning made it easy to pack up and get back on the road. Would highly recommend this trip!

  • (5/5) Gail 1 month ago

    Beautiful Slovenia

    This was an excellent tour to see the diversity of Slovenia's landscape! I highly recommend the e-bikes as it was hillier than expected (and e-bikes are just fun!) Everything went smoothly, especially the weather this late in the season (we went in mid October). Highly recommend!

  • (5/5) Anne52 October 15, 2019

    A Gem of a Tour!

    We have been on five tours with Biketours.com now and although we have loved every one, the Emerald Tour of Slovenia was one of the best. The route was extremely well chosen with a huge variety of terrain, several interesting and worthwhile side trips and lovely hotels with friendly service.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 28 - October 5, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) NancyLouWho October 13, 2019

    Nice way to experience Slovenia

    Two couples decided to do this trip together and I considered myself the weakest link - but thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it!

    Being a non-biker with a dodgy knee and several decades on me, I feared I was in over my head. I relied on BikeTours assertion that reasonable fitness and good attitude would carry me through, and they were right! (I started riding my bike for an hour or two a few times a week about two months before the trip, which was an excellent idea.)

    This was a level two trip, about 30 miles per day with some long hills included. I was able to ride it all, and readily agreed to every side trip included in the itinerary. Those added anywhere from 3-7 miles to the day’s riding - and also added some special experience to the trip. (Postojna Cave and the nearby castle were my favorites.)

    Bikes were in excellent condition, comfortable and well-maintained, and the overnight accommodations everywhere were very nice. I especially liked the guest house in Kodreti, Hiša Posebne Sorte, where the meal was entirely locally sourced. The combination of maps, turn-by-turn instructions, odometer, and strategically placed stickers along the route made way-finding pretty straight forward. We only went off once, but realized it after about a mIle, and quickly got back on track.

    Seeing this country by bicycle allowed us to get a real feel for the variations of city vs village, and hilly regions with an Austrian flair vs Mediterranean coast with an Italian vibe.

    The couple we traveled with had done a few other trips with Bike Tours and say the quality has been consistent in each. I look forward to traveling with Bike Tours again!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept. 28- Oct. 5, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Stopping in a Slovenian village (photo by NancyLouWho)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe October 14, 2019

      Nancy, thanks so much for this review. We love hearing a success story! Thanks for providing insight regarding your concerns and the preparation measures you took - a good attitude and time spent on a bike go a long way. Thanks for the details about the bikes, navigation, and overall experience. We hope some future clients opt to enjoy the locally sourced meal at the guest house in Kodreti (Hiša Posebne Sorte) thanks to your review. We can't wait to book the next one for you!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) GobaGirl June 11, 2019

    An absolutely fabulous cycling experience.

    Cycling from Ljubljana to Piran, from the Julian Alps, through the Karst region, past vineyards and little villages, by caves and castles and eventually down a stunning descent and along the Adriatic Sea was a stunning experience. We cycled along back roads, cycle paths, through kilometer long tunnels, along gravel trails and even made a short jaunt through a flooded marsh! We have cycled in France and Germany and the Czech Republic and this beats them all. The tour company did a fine job - wayfinding materials were a bit intimidating at first but the Route was marked with stickers placed on sign posts and the written directions were (usually) accurate. Accommodations were good (Mantova not so much but Hisa Posebne Sorte blew us away). Stop and see the sights - the castles the caves the museums and the Lipizzaner farm. We had a breakdown one day but the company has mechanics at the ready with a voucher system - we were back in the road in no time. MY ADVICE: rent the Ebike. There were 14 people doing the same ride as us and 9 used ebikes. Three of the days have LOTS of feet of climb. I have done many, many weeklong bike rides and thought these climbs were challenging (I used the regular bike). Unless you are a pretty experienced cyclist, rent the ebike and enjoy the ride. This is a MUST vacation for everyone.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 1, 2019 - June 8, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Along the path (photo by GobaGirl)
    • Dinner at Hisa Posebne Sorte (photo by GobaGirl)
    • View from the Castle in Piran (photo by GobaGirl)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) arfarb March 28, 2019

    Exceeded expectations

    Some of the best cycling I have ever done. The food and people are just as amazing. Great options for nature and culture lovers.

    What was the date of your tour?
    March 20, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) TJS53 November 22, 2018

    Loved Slovenia

    We toured June 21st – 27th in wonderful Slovenia. The tour combined urban and rural riding on a mix of bike paths, bike lanes, country roads, natural surface forest tracks and a little busy urban riding. We enjoyed challenging climbs and at least one white knuckle descent, under mostly deep blue skies in very comfortable temperatures. Two mornings we delayed our departures until rain ceased, but we always had plenty of time to make the next hotel before nightfall. On the first three days we dealt with hills and pedaled through rolling hills with views of the Julian Alps on the horizon. We stopped to tour castles, churches, and caves. We rode with old friends and met some new ones along the way as well. The accommodations were always adequate and often very nice. In all this was a really fine tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 21, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Riding in Slovenia (photo by TJS53)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) JHSMTB July 15, 2018

    A beautiful ride!!

    Excellent tour. Beautiful roads with wonderful views. Mostly low traffic roads. Not too hilly. A little bit of gravel roads and a little bit of bike path. Views/landscape changed every day as we moved from (nearly) alpine to Karst to coastline.
    Hotels were good to excellent (Vrnika hotel was so-so).
    Guidebook was excellent - no problems following it, and there were even stickers on road sign posts that directed you for straight/left turn/right turn. Tour operator briefing was good.
    Bikes were fine - shifting worked and brakes worked.
    Make sure you visit the caves at Postojna and Skocjanske Jame. They are awesome.

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/21/2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) WLG63 August 19, 2017

    Love Slovenia!

    The trip is a wonderful overview of Slovenian geography and culture. The biking is varied and not too difficult, and the routes incorporate stops and side trips to interesting cultural sites. We had 1/2 board and the breakfasts were average to better than average and certainly enough to feel satiated. We had to do some route finding...day 2 was particularly confusing, however, on day 3 we learned of the app Bikemap which is fantastic and we highly recommend....far easier to follow than the included materials (the Slovenian tour does not offer a GPS option). Though the printed material was a nice addition, we relied on Bikemap for the remainder of the trip. The lodging was average to nice, depending on the area, and all places, with the exception of one, had good air-conditioning in the rooms (we were there in August during a heat wave) and we were able to comfortably relax and sleep. Our only complaint was with the hotel in Piran...it was noisy, run down, and did not have air-conditioning though they claimed to. We were hot and tired after a day of biking and unable to relax in the stuffy, dumpy rooms (we had 2 rooms and both were bad). The staff was very nice but the overall experience was a disappointment after and otherwise great trip (our experience at this hotel was not unique, I discovered many negative reviews on the internet). We were particularly frustrated because in Piran and Potoroyz there are many lodging options. I suggest the company charge
    more and put clients in a nicer hotel. It's best to have clients end on a positive note. If the tour company continues to book this hotel I suggest guests find alternative lodging for the last night. Otherwise, Slovenia was wonderful and the tour a fantastic family vacation. We travelled with our 19 year old daughter.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Julie November 4, 2015

    Europe's hidden gem

    A great trip! Explored big cities and small town! A little bit of everything! Busy city life, quiet cafes, horses, cobbled streets, castles, caves...

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection