Bike Tour Reviews  UNESCO Sites Of Albania


UNESCO Sites of Albania

COUNTRY: Albania

9 nights
4.7/5 (36)
Rider Level: Enthusiast Electric bike tours
Rider Level: Enthusiast Electric bike tours

4.7/5 (36)
9 nights

Guided from EUR € 1190
Self guided from EUR € 950

Guided:
Apr 5, 11, 21, 30*; May 12, 15, 20, 23; Jun 1, 6, 22; Jul 1; Aug 24; Aug 31; Sep 9*, 10, 19*, 20, 27, 29; Oct 6, 8, 15, 17, 2024. (* indicates fully booked)

Self-guided:
Daily, upon request: Apr 1 - Jul 1; Aug 25 - Oct 25, 2024.

Description:
The highlights of this magical bike tour include three UNESCO sites, snow-capped mountains, inviting beaches on the Albanian Riviera, a genuine, untouched subsistence culture, and exceptionally friendly local people. Some say that visiting Albania is as…

View Tour

  • UNESCO Sites of Albania
    (5/5) Richard Radonis 6 months ago

    Albania unleashed

    From sea level to 7000 feet, Ionian Sea to hairpin mountaintop switchbacks, beautiful countryside abound.
    Lodging was so different from the day before with local cuisine 3x a day. Vineyards, olive orchards, apple orchards, etc, fruit trees everywhere. Ebikes made it all possible for the average biker, but doable for the hard-core pedal pusher. Arjan, our guide, was awesome. He made it so much more enjoyable and seamless

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    •  (photo by Richard Radonis)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Richard Radonis 6 months ago

    Majestic Albania

    Wow, we biked 300 miles in so many different terrains, saw how the rural Albanians live. They were very friendly. Seeing castles, monasteries, historic homes and beautiful countryside. One particular day we coasted downhill for about 20 miles
    What a rush. Tour guide Arjan was awesome, fun, personable and knowledgeable.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    •  (photo by Richard Radonis)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Sharon Charpentier 6 months ago

    Only One Road - biking in Albania

    Great 10 day cycling vacation in Albania. Our Guide, Arjan was amazing. He thoroughly reviewed each days bike route the night before and morning of to be sure we understood the plan for the day. He would tell us “only one road”. That was pretty accurate in the country side. I loved seeing the locals living a simple life with their mules or donkey with a hand made saddle, or the Shepard with his flock of sheep and sheep dogs to corral them in. The Mountain Views were incredible as well as the lake and sea views. The food was plentiful and served family style. Wine and beer for purchase was very reasonably priced. Most accommodations were nice and comfortable. One night we stayed in cabins on a farm! We saw so much- toured ruins from 400 BC, toured a castle and homestead as well as a monastery. The ride was well supported. Our van driver was always close by should we need assistance with our bikes or a fill up of water. I chose to rent an e-bike and glad I did as many roads had a steep incline. The e-bike allowed me to enjoy my vacation and not struggle to make it through the day. I’m glad I chose this tour!

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Ionian sea (photo by Sharon Charpentier)
    •  (photo by Sharon Charpentier)
    •  (photo by Sharon Charpentier)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) David Hodgson 6 months ago

    Challenging cycling

    Physically challenging; 14 of 18 folks on our tour used an e-bike and were glad they made that choice. The guide was excellent and I would recommend the guided package rather than self guided, especially as the meals were included. Excellent scenery. We traveled in mid-September and the weather was comfortable, not too hot. The bikes were of good quality compared to those provided on other European bike tours.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    •  (photo by David Hodgson)
    •  (photo by David Hodgson)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Betsy Alles 7 months ago

    Way Beyond Our Expectations

    From start to finish this Albania tour was excellent in every way. The guides. The support van. The itinerary. The details. The hotels. The food. I could go on an on! What made it great were the guides first and foremost. Dimitri, Mateo and our van driver VC...all were friendly, professional and made sure every special request was granted. Even the coffee stops were at magical places -- all selected for their views, their historic significance and the culture. I just can't even describe what a wonderful time we had...and the group we traveled with were wonderful too! No whiners!! I had suffered a compression fracture in my back a few weeks prior to the trip so had to occasionally ride in the support van and Dimitri let me know if there were any rough roads that day. There were very few gravel sections, btw. The e-bikes we rented were top quality too! I say GO...before Albania is crowded with tourists!! We have traveled around the world and Albania was among the most gorgeous countries we have experienced! And you cannot beat the price of a guided trip!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    12
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Patricia ONeill 7 months ago

    Albania September 2023

    Good guides and routes. Somewhat unsatisfactory accommodations because on Day 5 and Day 9, there were not enough reserved hotel rooms, so 2 x I and another solo traveler had to share a room [and bathroom] because the hotel had given 1 of our rooms away. One night was tolerable, but not really acceptable 2 x. It was a large group with the majority of people on e-bikes but we spent a lot of time [sometimes almost an hour] waiting for the non-e bikers [no fault of theirs]. This put pressure on the non-e bikers, guide, and meant that we arrived at the hotels later than expected, with less downtime to enjoy the destination. Our guide was very good, but our group would have enjoyed more cultural and historical conversations since this was billed as the UNESCO tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Guy Levy 7 months ago

    Great trip with some annoying snags

    We were a group of 8 members who did a self guided tour with e-bikes. the route of the tour exposed us to Albania's beautiful landscape, heritage and lovely and warm people. The route is quite challenging due to the mountainous terrain and we were glad that we chose to use e-bikes. All in all we really loved it. Yet, we encountered a few troublesome matters that with due attention can be solved.(i) we had numerous problems with the e-bikes, mostly related to chain falling w/o any reason, back cog-wheel that became loose etc., that ended with replacing two of our bikes and a number cases where on road assistance was required. We understood from comments made by the local agents that these had been common problems with the type of bikes we had been given, hence either bike maintenance needs improvement or a different bike brand should be used. (ii) A much greater portion of the tour then described in the website was on main roads with heavy traffic, which we felt made cycling not very safe and certainly not relaxing/enjoyable. (iii) The maps provided together with the e-files of the routes were not always consistent with actual conditions. A more frequent adaptation, of especially the e-routes, to actual roads conditions seems in order. (iv) the hotels provided could be somewhat upgraded. In many cases they were not up to a par with 3 star hotels in Europe (this had been our 9th cycling tour in Europe so we do have some experience).

    What was the date of your tour?
    August-September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    9
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Michele Smith 9 months ago

    Loved it!!

    It was the perfect mix between challenging, beautiful, educational and pure enjoyment!! Our guide was extremely knowledgable and entertaining. There was great a mechanic for bike maintenance when there were any issues. Not only did I learn a great deal about the country I met a number of wonderful people throughout the trip. Food and lodging was great.

  • (5/5) Kevin Pazaski 10 months ago

    Outstanding Tour of Albania!

    Seven of us arranged a private "semi-supported" private tour. We had a wonderful Albanian guide, Nicu, assist us with shuttling our luggage, providing van support, giving us dining recommendations, and helping us navigate Albania's beautiful landscape. No significant issues along the route, zero mechanical problems, and well-designed routes.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 9-17, 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Karen Norlin 10 months ago

    Albania is a wonderful destination!

    The tour was great!. The bikes were in excellent condition. I didn't realize that the terrain was so mountainous, so I'm really glad I went for an e-bike. I really liked that most days included a side trip by bike or walking to explore the area. Each day had just the right amount of stops for coffee, snacks and lunch. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and courteous, and went out of his way to accommodate special requests. The food was great, all local, fresh, and authentic. Accomodations ranged from nice hotels in the cities to rustic cabins in the countryside to seaside resorts, which made me feel like I was experiencing the diversity of the country. One negative is that our group had 20 participants, which is the maximum for this trip. Although our guide and driver were able to easily handle this large a group, I would probably prefer being in a smaller group. I also would have liked a rest day in the middle of the trip, to allow some time to recover before the last 2 big climbing days, and provide an opportunity to spend a day exploring outside of the tour itinerary. I have been raving about this trip to my friends and family, and would not hesitate to recommend this trip to anyone looking for a biking adventure in Europe.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 3, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my fourth group bike tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • On the road to Sotirë (photo by Karen Norlin)
    • On the descent to the Vjosa River (photo by Karen Norlin)
    • Along the road to Gjiroikastēr (photo by Karen Norlin)
    • The countryside on the road to Sarandë (photo by Karen Norlin)
    • A view of the Albanian Riviera coastline (photo by Karen Norlin)
    • A view of the climb to Llogara Pass on the last day (photo by Karen Norlin)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Jeff Pinkerton 11 months ago

    .

    For half a century—in our lifetime--Albanians lived in a society not dissimilar to that of North Korea today—no freedom of speech, freedom of religion (in fact, Hoxha declared Albania to be the first “atheist state”) or even freedom of movement. People were encouraged to spy—then report—on their neighbors (even family members) who were subsequently detained and tortured; many executed. Factories were demolished; their education system was mostly just indoctrination. The citizens had little-to-no awareness of the outside world. The President convinced the citizens that they were under threat of attack, so they armed themselves and built defensive turrets pointed at the (ostensible) enemy. It’s only in the past quarter-century that the country emerged from darkness. Today it is a member of NATO but not yet a part of the EU; it is working its way back into the sunlight. Albania has a strong affinity for America. They thank Woodrow Wilson for ‘creating’ it following WW I and Bush I and Clinton for supporting their membership into NATO. We saw quite a number of American flags here.

    My image of the country was something more ‘basic’ than has presented itself here in the capital of Tirana. First example: When arriving at the airport in any foreign country, you go through immigration. Typically, it’s cumbersome, lengthy and heavy on the bureaucracy. Here, you approach a ‘gate’, and scan your passport; then that gate opens, and you move forward a couple of steps to a camera. The image from your passport matches the photo from the camera and you’re in. Nothing to it! The US could learn from them.

    The capital, Tirana, is fairly modern with notable architecture.

    Looks like there’s nothing behind Are there warts Did someone take a
    The façade growing alongside bite out of this one?

    Traffic moves swiftly, there are bike lanes and charging stations for taxis on the main drag downtown.

    I spent quite a bit of time wandering around town. As Anthony Bourdain says when visiting a new place: “Get curious, get hungry, get lost”. I did—especially the latter.

    We certainly don’t see these in Denver.

    They sell things in the capital of Tirana—but apparently you have to know what you’re looking for.

    Shoes Purses Jewelry

    This is a pop-up library in the middle of a park downtown. And this fellow is guarding a bakery.

    Why Albania, you may ask
    Actually, Kathleen found it; we were scheduled to come here last year, but her skiing accident postponed that by a year. That fall spooked her, so she hung up her biking helmet. My interest in coming is to offset some of the recent experiences in Asia. This time I wanted a ride that was, shall I say, ‘civilized’ unlike the stupidly long days in Thailand, the humidity of Borneo, the challenging trails of Madagascar, the ineffective guide of Vietnam or the absolutely stupid obstacle course of Laos. Albania—being European—seemed to be more civilized’ and promised to be none of those. It’s also a place I’ve never been and heard that it had great scenery and great food. Both of which were born out.  SHOW MORE 

  • (5/5) Roberta Lowe 11 months ago

    UNESCO Sites of Albania

    Both the guide and the driver/mechanic/doer of countless other chores were superb. Had to van much of each day and they were totally supportive about this. Route showed off the lovely and impressive southern part of Albania. The food was unfailingly delicious and the overnight accomodations were all good, ranging from charming to grand for the final night. Much uphill and long distances. Most of the miles of road surfaces are good but there are sections that are no problem with a hybrid but not really suitable for a road bike.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    15
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Bob Anderson October 25, 2022

    Best Albania bike group!

    This was our first group bike tour and we could not have been happier. Albania is an amazing country to visit.

    Biking- the daily biking takes you through outstanding scenery ranging from lake views, forest, mountain views, rural agriculture farms to palm tree lines views of the Ionian Sea. The roads were generally great with some rough spots in the mountains. Traffic was light, just needed to share the road with goats, sheep and horse drawn wagons.

    Food- the meals were served family style giving us the opportunity to try lots of different thing we would not normally be able to do on our own. We were served lots of fresh vegetables, cheese and bread. No one ever went away from the table hungry. Would love to get recipes for several of the dishes we were served. We visited several outstanding restaurants with service and awesome decor.

    Lodging- the hotel selection was very comfortable with good beds and pillows. Location and views very good. One area that could use improvement is the shower facilities in a few of our lodging locations. The service provided by our Albanian lodging owners was very friendly and helpful.

    Guides- our biking guide was Demetrie and he did a fantastic job, I can not say enough good about his job performance. His historical knowledge of the country was outstanding. We really appreciated the personal insights he contributed every day of our tour. We learned so much about the country that we never would have without taking a guided bike tour. The support vehicle driver, Bato, was always there when you needed him. Constantly filling water bottles and helping with luggage all with a smile.

    I encourage you to take advantage of this outstanding tour. It was great to met fellow bikers from around the world and share time and make new friendships.
    Tour time- first week of October, 2022
    Bob Anderson
    Iowa - USA

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is our third European bike tour.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Roxana Miranda September 21, 2022

    Great adventure to be discovered, amazing places, people and food

    The tour is perfectly described online and the guides are excellent; same for food which was above average at every location; accommodations are perfect. Suggest renting e-bike unless you bike 7/365 on uphills; we had very hot weather (up to 37C) and it was hard even on e-bike just because of the heat, hard to find shade! We were 19 people in our tour and the guides (Erlis and Rimi) were wonderful, friendly and knowledgeable. Albania is waiting for you to discover, laid back people, excellent food and very cheap compared to other European cities. Highly recommend.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 3, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    first one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • on way to Permet from Sotire, great routes (photo by Roxana Miranda)
    • Leskovic range (photo by Roxana Miranda)
    •  (photo by Roxana Miranda)
    • on route to Permet, very good road conditions (photo by Roxana Miranda)
    • on route from Pogradec to Korcë (photo by Roxana Miranda)
    • on route from Korce to Sotire, biking through mountain ranges (photo by Roxana Miranda)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Rhonda Aliah August 3, 2022

    Fantastic adventure!

    The perfect way to experience Albania from the saddle of great bikes. Erlis and Tani were wonderful, caring, capable and very courteous. I was the slowest cyclist and their reassuring presences made the trip very enjoyable. Had a great time! Would love to explore more someday.

  • (5/5) Bill P November 1, 2019

    Better than I ever imagined.

    This tour is a great way to experience the beautiful country of Albania- a fascinating country I knew very little about. Our local tour leader was resourceful, knowledgeable, and passionate about both biking and his native country. The bikes were very good; I had and e-bike; even so, the biking was challenging, but definitely worth the challenge. Very good local meals with lots of camaraderie with my fellow travelers- an interesting and lovely mix of people from all ages, countries, and biking abilities. I have long been a passionate biker, but this was my first organized bike tour, including first one in the mountains! It won’t be my last. I can’t wait to go on my next one! Kudos to both Bike Tours and Cycle Albania.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 12-20, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    First organized tour.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Time to enjoy an evening in the historic city, Gjirokaster. (photo by Bill P)
    • Great local meals and camaraderie throughout 8 days. (photo by Bill P)
    • Our amazing tour leader, overall historian and guide. (photo by Bill P)
    • Plenty of local flavor on this trip. Albania is fascinating! (photo by Bill P)
    • Looking at mountains separating Albania from Greece. (photo by Bill P)
    • Looking across the Ionian Sea to the island of Corfu. (photo by Bill P)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Elaine October 28, 2019

    A Fabulous Trip

    First time biking as a way to visit a country and it was fabulous! I chose Albania as it was still untouched by tourism, the reviews were good, and it looked beautiful. Experiencing this beautiful country and its people while biking through its landscape fufilled my expectations beyond what I could imagine. The scenery was spectacular! And biking is a way to go! Our guide, Arijan and his assistant, Bato, were organized, patient, helpful, informative, and fun! We were in good hands! We had a group of 4 Americans, 4 Brits, and 2 Germans, which resulted in good exchanges and great conversations. I was thrilled with the variety and challenges of the varied terrain, but at age 70 an electric bike made the trip possible and enjoyable. The climbs would have been very difficult without one. I had read some reviews before signing on and took the good and necessary advice of training before going. Without training, this trip would be difficult. The bikes were in good condition and worked well considering a few of the rough roads we encountered. Our guides handled the varied paces of the group very effectively. The hotels were quite adequate with the exception of one mountain guest house, which was minimally adequate. The food was
    abundant and very good. I highly recommend this tour company and the tour of Albania specifically! You will not be disappointed! It was a most memorable travel experience!

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 12-21, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Timr October 27, 2019

    Beautiful Country, Great Cycling Excellent Value

    So much fun. Friendly people, great food, some challenging rides and bumpy roads, but that just made it more interesting. Learned so much history of this area. Tour provider was very attentive and helpful. Bikes were excellent touring hybrids (all were new or nearly new Giant bikes. Bring your sunscreen, appetites and climbing legs!

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (3/5) WSTraveler October 22, 2019

    An Unusual Experience Not to Be Repeated

    The sag driver was great despite limited English in that he was always available to help in any way possible. The tour guide was good and worked very hard but was not good at listening to understand problems with the bikes and was at times totally dismissive. The difficulty of the ride was enormously underrated and BIkeTours was evasive about providing advanced information. The road conditions were in areas extremely poor and the advertised grades were just lies. BikeTours advertised the trip as a max of 16 riders, although there were 20, considered a small group by the guide. Again, less than honest disclosure.

    The experience of the country was worth the trip. It was a fun collection of international participants. The accommodations were varied but appropriate to the locale and part of the fun. Food was good and the guide worked to arrange options for dietary restrictions. The sag support was excellent and eager to support the riders. The guide did a good job of keeping the group together and providing navigation guidance despite lack of any cue sheets or gps routes.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 23 - Oct 2
    How many tours have you completed?
    lots
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe October 23, 2019

      Thank you kindly for this review. Overall, we're glad to hear that the experience of the country was worth the trip. We appreciate you sharing with us details regarding the guide and that information provided to you did not match up with your experience. We will follow up with the tour operator regarding the road conditions, grades, and group size to ensure the details provided to future clients are accurate. Thanks again for your feedback.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)