Bike Tour Reviews: Split To Dubrovnik  The Islands And Coastline Of Croatia


Split to Dubrovnik: the Islands and Coastline of Croatia

COUNTRY: Croatia

5 nights
4.7/5 (17)
Rider Level: Active Electric bike tours Client favorites
Rider Level: Active Electric bike tours Client favorites

4.7/5 (17)
5 nights

Self guided from EUR € 2440

Self-guided:
Daily: Apr 01-Oct 31, 2023

Description:
This self-guided bike tour covers the most important and most beautiful sites of Dalmatia, the coastal part of Croatia. Spend two evenings in Split, discover beautiful Diocletian palace, once great and important roman site, with historical sites dating…

View Tour

  • (4/5) Sandra Page 3 months ago

    Trip of a lifetime

    Two weeks of heaven. !! Was the perfect way to experience the coastline of Croatia and experience Split and Dubrovnik. Plenty of history combined with cycling, cruising and culinary delight. Wine, olives, chocolate, pottery and lavender for the local flare . Quaint towns, beautiful sunrise and sunsets from the boat. Our guides where amazing getting us to the best spots and being extremely knowledgeable and kept us safe !! Our guides we’re able to shift gears when needed and in the heat of July we’re able to accommodate a comfortable swim in a quiet cove everyday. The beautiful coves and swims turned out to be some of our most memorable moments.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Jo Ribordy-Christofferson 5 months ago

    Can't Wait for the 25th Anniversary Trip

    The trip was fantastic in every detail.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Sandra Page 6 months ago

    Never would we have ever dreamed !

    This tour is the best way to see all the Croatia has to offer, mountains to the coastline and everything in between! Get up close and personal with the Croatian history that dates back to 300 BC. We were on San Snova the boat was very comfortable and space for everyone to spread out. The crew made it even more special ! Tending to our every want and need ! Everyone should have an Andro in their life at least once! There was always plenty of tasty food you won't lose any weight on this active vacation. Our guides (Ivan and Helena) were very knowledgable. They always got us safely to the best spots. They were very proud of their home country and happy to share all of it with us. The visit to the bee keeper, lunch on the local farm,city tours,winery and white water rafting trips were among our favorites besides the cycling of course. The cycling is challenging you start at sea level and go up from there to a beautiful view point. The e-bike was a lifesaver and allowed for an enjoyable cycling experience. Never would we have ever dreamed we would have a trip like this one !

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Jelsa (photo by Sandra Page)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Lindsay Alaishuski 6 months ago

    Great taste of the country!

    Well thought out itinerary to see the larger cities and explore the islands as well. Great GPS routes. We came, we saw, we ate, we drank, we cycled! Plenty of sun! Quality bikes, friendly tour operators. Would highly recommend.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Terry Whittaker 6 months ago

    Croatia At Its Best

    Extremely well organized; guides were knowledgeable and clearly loved Croatia. Bikes were comfortable and the day trips offered stunning vistas. The lunch at the organic farm was like something featured in Bon Appetit. White water rafting was an added bonus. The boat crew were courteous and professional; room was small but comfortable. Nothing but positive memories.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Girowise July 26, 2019

    Dream Tour

    We have done about 10 bike tours in Europe, so we have seen and experienced a wide range of things. This tour was wonderful. The tour company was extremely organized, the tour was well-designed, the hotels were great. In addition to the maps and instructions, the tour company made many valuable recommendations for things to see, restaurants, etc. There are several serious but not terrible climbs (~400 m elevation) on the tour, which people should be aware of. They yield amazing views.

    What was the date of your tour?
    11 July 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    12
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Meri November 10, 2018

    Well done

    Great rides, great bikes, great support, perfect weather and wonderful food and wine. Hotels were beautifully situated, clean and comfortable

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 8
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Brent September 30, 2018

    Croatia cycling

    Excellent support. The scenery is as remarkable as on the adverts of Croatia tourism - stunning! The cycling is extremely challenging, particularly in very warm weather.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug. 28-Sept. 2
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) Brent September 30, 2018

    Beautiful scenery

    Excellent support
    Really challenging cycling
    Doublecheck that inner tubes have been properly fitted before you start

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug. 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jake October 5, 2017

    Great Trip

    4 star hotels were great. Do not see the need to go with 5 star. Luggage transfer was a concern but went off without a flaw. Luggage showed up right on time.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    12 +
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) BusterBrown September 29, 2017

    A great way to see Croatia

    Meridian Ten is the local company that built and ran the tour. Our hotels were first class and all the bag transfers and water taxis were flawless. The bikes weren’t new but were well maintained and worked without any problems. Tom met us at our start point and gave us a briefing and a book describing all the suggested routes and options, There are also recommendations for dining and other activities in the book that came in handy.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 20-26, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Lots of coastal riding and gorgeous beaches. (photo by BusterBrown)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Jim Johnson, Founder and president September 30, 2017

      Thank you for your feedback and photo. Looking at the photo, I think I was there two days ago, just south of Orebic near Korcula! What a beautiful region!

      I'm glad you had a great time and that Meridien Ten provided you the great service we've come to expect from them.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Tottie July 13, 2017

    Stunning!

    Fantastic hotels, service, information. Amazing scenery and routes on well maintained comfy bikes. Truely a trip in a million

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 29- July 5th
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) nlparker June 16, 2017

    Gorgeous Country; Warm, Welcoming People; Challenging Climbs

    Right choice for our family of 6. Cycling on islands was scenic and safe. Routes through small villages, wineries, along crystal blue Adriatic coasts. Thorough orientation by MeridienTen staff including additional & alternate route choices. Good bikes and good decision to bring our shoes & pedals for the climbs. Dependable transportation among islands. Excellent lodging & breakfasts especially in Dubrovnik, Korcula, Split. Furnished materials included informative Croatian history & culture. Perfect weather. Thanks to MeridienTen staff.

    What was the date of your tour?
    5.29-6.4.2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) brad rass July 18, 2016

    Great ride with great food and even better scenery

    I am just back from my trip to Europe which included an altered bike tour from Dubrovnik to Split. I had shortened the trip to 4 days so to fit my other plans in Italy. What a mistake! Mistake 1. Make sure you have time to tour and visit Dubrovnik. We arrived in the late afternoon and had no time to visit the old city. It looked gorgeous as we passed it in a bus from the airport. Our hotel was very nice but a way from the old city. Mistake 2. Make plans to see the walls in Ston. They are stunning. Mistake 3. I dropped the extra day in Hvar. Lots to do in this fun packed town especially if you like the night life. Only spent about three hours in Split and it was very hectic compared to the other towns. Overall, what a ride! There are a number of climbs each day so the rating of 3 out of 5 should be closer to 4 out of 5. The route has limited traffic so safety is not a concern. The pre-ride prep on site was excellent. The bikes were in good order.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 5 to 9
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 2/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Lori July 11, 2016

    Canada meets Croatia!

    Croatia is a beautiful, welcoming country with so much to offer travelers from all over. The people, sights, cuisine and water (both drinking and swimming) of Croatia will not disappoint. BikeTours helped us have a see the country we wanted easily! If you are a 'recreational' rider I would highly recommend their e-bikes. There are some serious climbs and we were thankful for them daily! If you're a veteran, serious rider you're going to get the workout you're looking for. The hotels were all awesome, we felt spoiled and appreciated at each stop and our luggage was always there well ahead of our arrival. It was easy, fun and all in all a trip to remember! Put this part of the world at the top of your must see places!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • We're off! (photo by Lori)
    • All smiles (photo by Lori)
    • Perfect pit stop (photo by Lori)
    • Biking on water :) (photo by Lori)
    • Cheering for Croatia! (photo by Lori)
    • An excellent description of what's to come. (photo by Lori)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) none July 10, 2016

    Best Possible organization!

    Aside from the beautiful scenery of Croatia, Tomislav and the folks at Meridien Ten travel provided really outstanding material for our self-guided tours. The route sheets were easy to follow and much clearer than I have seen on other tours, and all the arrangements were faultless. Also, our group had some complications during the first day, and Tomislav went out of his way to help us out. This involved some extra driving on his part and when I attempted to at least pay for the gasoline, and he refused. Really fabulous folks - I definitely recommend traveling with them in Croatia. The only thing I would change was the selection of the hotel Lacroma in Dubrovnik - for me this hotel was too large and crowded. The front desk was overwhelmed with tour groups and could not keep things straight.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 10, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Split to Dubrovnik
    (5/5) Donnan Party June 30, 2016

    Amazing Trip With Lots of Hills

    Our Croatian adventure exceeded all expectations! The routes were very scenic, the locals were so friendly, and the food was delicious and totally fresh! We've done several bike trips in Europe, and this was definitely one of our favorites.

    We paid a little more for the hotels and were very pleased with the accommodations. The breakfasts were very generous, and the rooms were spacious and clean. Hotel staff was great at all locations, too. There were two nights at each hotel, which was nice, since we weren't constantly packing and unpacking.

    Our booking experience was great. There were 8 in our party, with all different itineraries, and everyone signed up at different times, which created hotel booking challenges. Brittany was so patient and answered all of our emails promptly. Most of us needed to add nights onto the basic package, and Brittany took care of that for us, too.

    I can't say enough good things about the local tour company. We were self-guided, but when we ran into a little trouble on our first day (someone in our group fell off the bike), the local company was incredibly responsive and there when we needed them. There was constant communication throughout the trip, and they made sure everything went smoothly. Our luggage was transferred without incident and was always waiting for us in our room at the end of our travel days.

    The directions on the route sheets were easy to follow, and with odometers on all the bikes, we never really got lost (which is a first for us). Having a choice of rides on most days, and the details on restaurants and points of interest in each of the towns we passed through made the rides even more enjoyable. The bikes were comfortable and everything we needed was supplied: tire repair kits, spare tubes, pumps, locks, etc. The collapsible panniers were awesome and transported wine very nicely!

    The only negative thing I could say about the trip is that we were on main roads more than I would have liked. On previous trips to Italy and France, there were more back road options. But there wasn't a whole lot of traffic, and the cars generally gave us a comfortable amount of space when passing. The ride was definitely hillier and more difficult than we expected from a difficulty rating of 3, but the uphills weren't too steep and they were definitely worth it for the views!

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/11/2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection