Client Favorites  Bike Tour Reviews (page 4)

  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Halle96 September 26, 2016

    One of Top 5 trips in 30 years travelling

    · Danube Bike Path 8 Nights (Upscale Lodging)

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    Just this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 2/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) Ron1 September 26, 2016
    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    What was the date of your tour?
    9-8 to 9-16
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) nino September 26, 2016

    mystery ship

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    I saw how civilized people should live. great country great food great people!

    What was the date of your tour?
    first 2 weeks of september
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Loire a Velo
    (5/5) CJ4EY September 27, 2016

    Highly Recommend to Every Cyclist!

    · Loire a Velo: Orleans to the Atlantic

    Great Overall Biking Trip. The scenery was splendid and loved cycling up to chateaus. As an intermediate cyclist it was a relatively easy trip. The bikes and navigation signs/written information was the best we've had (and this was our 6th trip.)

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 6, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Bolzano – Verona – Venice
    (4/5) Yeenie September 27, 2016

    Bolzano to Mestre, Italy bike trip

    · Bolzano – Verona – Venice

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 11th -- 17th, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    Nine
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Algarve Coastal Route
    (4/5) Shifty September 27, 2016

    Good trip

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    The scenery, transportation and accommodation were top notch. Several of the bicycles were difficult to shift, no water bottle holders and poor tread (five punctures). The GPS supplied did not always follow the route. The comment about most road riding is on traffic calmed roads is not correct. If any of your group has trouble riding in traffic you may want to look elsewhere. Having said all that I would repeat the trip after addressing the comments above.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) roadrider56 September 28, 2016

    Alittle bit of heaven

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    We had an amazing time. This is our third tour with BTD and will definitely plan another tour in the future . The hotels were wonderful with amazing breakfast and some hotels had pools and offered spa packages. The routes were great although rated a level 2. I found a couple days a bit challenging considering I live in the low country yet I appreciated the challenge. The bikes were excellent considering their weight.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September8, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    four
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Algarve Coastal Route
    (4/5) PeteN September 30, 2016

    Algarve Coastal Route

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    Very enjoyable scenic route. Great seafood, excellent weather (September). Good logistics. Challenging in parts however, due to traffic on roads and more hills than expected. We were glad to have ebikes. Tires supplied were not up to the trails and we suffered several punctures. I recommend checking equipment carefully before setting out.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 12, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was the third
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • Nature Preserve along Algarve (photo by PeteN)
    • Photo 2 (photo by PeteN)
    • Tavira (photo by PeteN)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Treasures of the Donegal Coast
    (5/5) PennyDreadful October 1, 2016

    Lovely and Idyllic Trip!

    · Treasures of the Donegal Coast

    Such green vistas, amazing coastal scenery, contrasted by the ubiquitous sheep splashed with color (never did manage to get a satisfactory picture of their markings), happy cows and Justin Bieber-looking Shetland Ponies. Fantastic side trips to solitary beaches & caves, a rowing trip to a ring fort island. Make sure to stay out late one night and marvel at the local and family feel of the music-makers at the pubs.
    Recommend the trip in late May, we had almost perfect weather.

    What was the date of your tour?
    late May
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • Photo 1 (photo by PennyDreadful)
    • Photo 2 (photo by PennyDreadful)
    • a beach literally all to ourselves (photo by PennyDreadful)
    • caves! (photo by PennyDreadful)
    • so many happy sheep (photo by PennyDreadful)
    • Photo 6 (photo by PennyDreadful)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Mosel and Saar
    (5/5) Debi October 3, 2016

    Wonderful trip

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    Great boat staff and excellent dinners, wonderful scenery, excellent on board guide. Overall a great trip. I would highly recommend this trip if you want to see beautiful German villages, wine country, biking along a lovely river and learning German history.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept. 17-24
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Laners October 6, 2016

    Everything I expected and more!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    I hate to write reviews but this one deserved a moment of my time. A great trip, a beautiful barge, a unique way to see this part of the world. I can truly say this was a trip I will remember for years to come.
    Not recommended for children.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 10, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) Mary October 10, 2016

    60th Birthday Ride!

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    Just returned from our ride around the Lake and it was the best way to celebrate my 60th birthday! The ride as outlined is pretty accurate with regards to level of difficulty, with the first two days of the ride the most challenging - only because of the two "hills" as we approached our hotel - we ended up having to walk the bike. The bikes were great and in top notch shape and there was more than enough storage for our 'stuff'. Each day, we started off with a healthy breakfast buffet which included options for everyone (even gluten free). Hotels were wonderful (however, if you like having a washcloth or hair conditioner; I'd suggest you bring your own as these are a little on the rare side). The trip book given to you at the start gives some wonderful 'to see' sights and is very much worth taking the time to read and review before each day's journey. Terrain was varied, as was the ride, itself. We went through villages, farm lands, the lake, campgrounds and monasteries. I felt very safe on the ride with both my personal safety and property. Very bike friendly countries and tour. Pictures show some of the sights we rode past. Enjoy the ride!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September/October 2106
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • The bridge to the monastery outside of Stein am Rhine. (photo by Mary)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Mary)
    • On the road to Konstance (photo by Mary)
    • Hotel Stop (photo by Mary)
    • Lindeau Island (photo by Mary)
    • From the west side of the Lake (photo by Mary)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Barbarella529 October 10, 2016

    RideEurope2016

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    A most delightful week meandering through the countryside in both The Netherlands and Belgium. Fabulous bike trails, perfect weather, great group, and an outstanding tour guide. Exceeded my expectations for sure. The barge was superb, the bikes easy to manage, the briefings each evening were thorough and precise. Simply wonderful experience.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 17-24, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • Photo 1 (photo by Barbarella529)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Barbarella529)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Barbarella529)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Barbarella529)
    • Photo 5 (photo by Barbarella529)
    • Photo 6 (photo by Barbarella529)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Venice to Mantua
    (5/5) Catlover October 17, 2016

    Absolutely fabulous

    · · Venice to Mantua by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    The barge was small and intimate,comfortable and well maintained,the meals were to die for ,thank you Sylvie and Irene. The whole trip was wonderful,bikes were fine,so much to see,our guide was so much fun,he worked tirelessly to make the trip memorable,and made us a video at the end.Thank you Hugo.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 17 to Sept 25 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Prague to Vienna
    (3/5) The dozer October 18, 2016

    Challenging to peddle to fairy tale cities.

    · Prague to Vienna via Cesky Krumlov

    The route was challenging, navigation difficults, but beautiful UNESCO sites each night. We were just dropped off with the wrong bikes, a Garmin we could not use, and one sheet of paper with directions and overview of route. If it had not been for 5 Irish ladies on the same route we would have really struggled. They had a Garmin that worked and with intense map study did not get lost as often as we did. VERY few people spoke English. Our pick up person was very rude to the Irish ladies.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2015
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Lindsay Nash October 19, 2016

      Hi! Thanks so much for sharing your experience. We're glad to hear you had a good trip overall. Aren't the UNESCO sites just fascinating?
      We're sorry to hear of your trouble with the bikes and Garmin along the route. We'll share this feedback with the local operator and work to improve this service!
      Thank you again for sharing your experience and helping us to spread the joy of bicycle tourism.
      Kind regards,
      Lindsay

    • 4/5 Value
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Mosel and Saar
    (5/5) PattyN October 18, 2016

    Mosel Wine and Cake

    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    The staff on the boat spoke English and most, including our guide were completely fluent. Language was not an issue. The food was varied and healthy, although favorite part of the services onboard was tea and cake at 3pm. Although they were comfortable to sit on, the bicycles were quite heavy. Not a big deal on the flat route we were biking, but they did require more effort to pedal than I would have preferred.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 24
    How many tours have you completed?
    Scores
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Treasures of the Donegal Coast
    (5/5) bluewindows October 19, 2016

    Well wasn't that fun!

    · Treasures of the Donegal Coast

    My wife and I decided to try our first biking vacation in Ireland. As we're both over 60 we found the hills to be a bit challenging at times. But when we needed a rest we'd just stop and be amazed at the views in every direction. From our first ride around Lake Eske to the cliffs near Carrick to the descent towards Ardara, we enjoyed all the memorable stops on our adventure. As another writer encouraged, try to catch some local music. Just excellent!

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Ireland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Best of Catalonia Cycle Touring
    (5/5) Pablito October 23, 2016

    Great Trip

    · Best of Catalonia Cycle Touring

    We had a large group (16!) with varying levels of ability. All aspects of the tour were great. Logistics worked well: pick up and fitting of bikes went without a hitch. The rides were very scenic and covered a range of terrain, from mountains to the flats. All hotels were very nice and Creative Catalonia booked a couple of very fine meals in Olot and Llafranc at truly world-class restaurants. Scenery on the rides was fantastic, and the routes had little traffic and were often off the roads altogether.

    The only hiccup of the trip was that only 4 map packages were provided to our group. Would have expected that each rider would get a full pack of maps.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 9-16
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) GatorDavid October 24, 2016

    Fantastic Way to Tour Netherlands and Belgium!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    We had never been on a barge trip, and did not know what to expect. The boat was very well maintained, the food was great, the cabin was clean, comfortable, and adequately sized so that we could sit in the cabin when we didn't want to be in the common spaces. The crew, staff, and guide were friendly, approachable, accommodating .... they really went out of their way to make guests comfortable. The bar was well stocked, and very reasonably priced. The guide (Paul) was knowledgeable, patient, and was fine if we rode with his group or out on our own (which we did most days). Overall, this bike tour was a great value considering the accommodations, service, food and quality of food, bikes, guide services.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 8 - 15
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)