Bike Tour Reviews  Bolzano – Verona – Venice


Bolzano – Verona – Venice

COUNTRY: Italy

7 nights
4.5/5 (23)
Rider Level: Recreational Electric bike tours Family-friendly bike tours Client favorites
Rider Level: Recreational Electric bike tours Family-friendly bike tours Client favorites

4.5/5 (23)
7 nights

Self guided from EUR € 850

Self-guided:
Saturdays and Sundays: Mar 30 - Oct 12, 2024; Tuesdays and Wednesdays: Apr 30 - Sep 4, 2024 (additional dates available for groups of 6 or more)

Description:
Few landscapes in Europe match the unique beauty of the Dolomites, part of the UNESCO World Heritage list since 2009. Your cycling route starts in the heart of these superb mountains and follows the course of the River Adige towards the palm-lined shores…

View Tour

  • Bolzano – Verona – Venice
    (5/5) Laura Peck 7 months ago

    One of the best vacations I have ever taken

    We did the self-guided, and loved it, the maps were fantastic, only got a little lost a few times, someone has done a lot of work on getting the logistics of this week nailed down very well, including luggage being moved. Great way to see parts of Italy no one else sees. Some of the hotels were AMAZING, a couple were a little run-down and needed to be crossed off the list, got locked out of one and ended up having to get another hotel (at our own expense, and without all of our luggage as it was in the original) that night because the front desk clerk went home at 10 pm (this was also one of the run-down places). Breakfasts were perfect at all locations. Route was gorgeous, Italy is absolutely beautiful. Overall, this was great and we are already talking about our next one.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 20 - 27, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Kathleen Ball 8 months ago

    Wonderful way to experience Italy!

    Some days were harder than others but the views were grand. Hotels were charming and will choose to upgrade the hotels for our next trip. Looking forward to scheduling our next bike trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Michel 9 months ago

    Six days of great cycling!

    Beautifull scenery. Well organized despite my last minute booking. Most helpfull staff.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    Six
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Vijay DSouza September 19, 2022

    Very fun

    Trip was well organized and very scenic. Would recommend. Lodging was generally very nice. First couple days were most scenic. A lot of gravel and dirt surfaces which I’m not used to but was fine on hybrid bikes.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Kari Abrahamson August 7, 2022

    Amazing trip for the whole family.

    Excellent route. Family friendly. Good accomodations. Very happy we went with BikeTours again for yet another amazing family vacation.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    Three
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) MelT October 17, 2019

    25th Anniversary Trip

    A great way to see the beautiful smaller towns of Italy that you would normally drive right by!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 9, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Cycling into Lake Garda (photo by MelT)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Rach October 15, 2019

    Beautiful Italian countryside

    What a wonderful way to travel and see a country! This trip was wonderful! The weather was amazing (cool mornings and nice breezes mostly) we had one day of light rain, which some of the group opted to ride in it and some took the train to the next stop. Our group of 20 had two guides, Alain and Diego. These guys were so friendly, helpful, fun-loving, and personable. The riding each day was a little harder than I was prepared for, but it was worth all the effort. I would give it a higher difficulty level than 2- I would rate it a 3 as there are a couple of days with some longer hill climbs. Make sure you train on some hills...or get an e-bike to make it easier and enjoyable. Our group had fun together! My travel buddy and I loved meeting everyone in our group. I would love to do this kind of travel more often. I highly recommend this tour!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept-Oct
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Bolzano countryside (photo by Rach)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Rach)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Rach)
    • La Garda ferry ride (photo by Rach)
    • Photo 5 (photo by Rach)
    • Photo 6 (photo by Rach)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Jackie21 October 13, 2019

    Very Memorable

    Amazing way to see parts of Italy you couldn’t see any other way. I loved our guides and the fun places we stopped along the way, however, the biking was much harder and faster than expected. I was expecting to be able to stop and take pictures any time I saw something picture worthy, but that was not the case. I realized the first day that I was not as prepared as I should’ve been. We had a very large group and people of all skill levels and even though I bike regularly I was not prepared for all peddling and no coasting. I also found the bike trails to be very crowded and nerve wracking with racing cyclist both coming and going. I expected a relaxing daily 40miles and it was in fact rather stressful biking. We had an amazing group from all over the world and that really made the experience fun. Our guides, Alain and Diego, were very personable and fun. I would do it again, but I would get an E-bike for the hills.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Photo 1 (photo by Jackie21)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (3/5) US cyclist July 31, 2019

    Difficult to navigate

    I chose this tour because I was finishing up a week of hiking in the Dolomites in Balzano, and though that riding a bike back to Venice to catch my plane would be more interesting than taking the train. I saw that there were several reviewers who noted that they had difficulty navigating but thought, "I can just check Google Maps if I have a problem. How bad could it be?"
    Well, it was bad. I found the step by step directions to be indecipherable. The maps made it look easy, but there was not enough detail to actually use them to follow the route. Google maps did not pick up the bike paths, so could not provide a cycling route. I spent a significant part of each day lost and frustrated, in addition to inadvertently ending up on roads with heavy traffic and adding extra miles to the trip. Towards the end of the week I discovered that there were several people from Belgium who were riding the same route I was, but had booked directly with the tour company rather than going through a third party. They were emailed the routes in digital format, and were able to download them to their Garmin. This was not offered to me.
    The area is beautiful, bike paths nice, and local folks very friendly and helpful.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Ended July 28, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    20+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe August 1, 2019

      Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We'll pass the feedback onto the tour operator regarding their directions and will consider this in our yearly review of our tour portfolio. I'm sorry that you were not made aware GPS tracks are available for this tour. As a note for future clients, many tours do offer GPS tracks upon request. We're glad to hear that, regardless of your troubles, you enjoyed the area, bike paths, and locals.

    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) MacS July 24, 2019

    Wonderful vistas

    What was the date of your tour?
    7/6- 7/13
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) None99 July 20, 2019

    Great tour of Northern Italy

    Unfortunately the guide had never done the tour before!!! Why wouldn’t he be an assistant guide once then lead the tour???

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 6-13
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe July 21, 2019

      So glad you enjoyed the Bolzano - Verona - Venice tour. Thanks for letting us know about the novice guide experience. We'll pass that feedback onto the tour operator so that they may improve their operations.

    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 2/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) nippy1 July 8, 2019

    One of our favorit family trips!

    This ws one of our favorite trips ever! It was our first really active trip with our kids (11 and 13). Up to this point our travel has been mostly cities, museums, tours, and short hikes. It was more difficult than we thought it would be mainly because the kids go slower than if it were just adults so each day had around two additional hours due to more frequent breaks. That said, we felt so accomplished at the end of each day, it was a wonderful confidence boosts for our kids. And it was very bike friendly -- only one day was on heavily traveled roads otherwise it was quite a few bike trails and backroads. And the scenery is stunning. We got a little lost in some of the cities, but it was part of the adventure. Instructions and equipment were top notch and we always felt well cared for. Fabulous adventure -- we highly recommend it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 15, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Biabattistella October 1, 2018

    Great view, food, biking

    The view was fantastic, especially Dolomitas. The tour was easy, but very nice.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 9th
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Dan1 September 19, 2018

    With the Dolomites as your splendid background, ride through ancient towns until you reach the unique watery world of Venice.

    Highly recommend getting to Bolzano early so you have time to spend a day visiting the Italian Alps. The Dolomite Highway is awe-inspiring.

    The bike trails were great. Mostly paved, and when they weren't, the majority were well packed. The tour route goes through picturesque countryside. The daily destinations are beautiful and historical.

    The tour includes a 5+ hour ferry ride on Lake Garda. It is a gorgeous ride with the ferry zigzagging down the 35 mile length of the lake. Feels like you are in a National Geographic special. A couple of other recommended "must do's" - visit the Scrovegni Chapel in Padova and take in an opera at the Roman Arena in Verona.

    Girolibero was our tour company. They provide great tour book of entire area and towns on route. However, they give it to you (along with bikes) the morning that the tour starts which allows little or no time to really utilize the great information. It would be much better if they provided a month earlier so you have time to research in advance. Should also provide bikes the prior evening so you can get up and leave earlier in the morning.

    Some of the directions along the route could have been marked better. We followed other tour companies' markers more often because Girolibero's were fewer and far between. The bikes were excellent. In great shape and mechanically solid with smooth shifting.

    We paid for the upgraded hotels. However, a few of them were in sketchy areas; like near train stations.

    I don't mean to sound negative. Overall, it was a great trip and very glad we did it. Only offering suggestions to make the tour even better for future riders.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 26-31
    How many tours have you completed?
    Two
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Cousin September 5, 2018

    Loved it

    This was such a great way to see the country. We loved the whole experience.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 11 to July 18
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) Raff September 29, 2017

    Wonderful itinerary, average biking

    Great towns, but not enough time to see them. The biking scenery was ok. Really poor cue sheets in English.

    What was the date of your tour?
    9-16-17-8-22-17
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Brittany September 30, 2017

      Thank you for your review. We'll work with our partner operator on better translated daily directions. We appreciate your time and hope to help you in the future!

    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) raystrach July 31, 2017

    Interesting Culture Great Scenery

    We decided to do two week long bike tours in succession with this trip coming immediately after the previous tour finish in Lecce.

    We caught an overnight train from Lecce to Bolzano which worked out quite well initially. The only problem was that our last couple of days were were getting a bit sick of moving in and out every day. We probably should have given ourselves a little more time in between trips.

    The tour itself was fantastic, with the main surprise being the cultural differences between the south and north. The germanic influences were much stronger that i had expected. Also, being in the foothills of the dolomites, obviously means different architecture and traditions. This was all good.

    The cycling itself was generally very easy and for the first few days followed a dedicated cycle way. There is plenty of time to take detours into the villages off the main track and still arrive at the next destination in plenty of time.

    Although the tour was very well organised, the tour directions were quite poor in comparison to other tours we had taken, however because the trail itself is quite well marked, it is probably better to follow your nose and the o site directions rather than using the detailed guide book. (there have obviously been recent changes to the tour route itself)

    if your are wanting a taste of the high italian mountains without having to climb any, this would be an ideal trip. there is a lot of spectacular scenery along the valley road and across lake garda before changing to a more typical italian countryside for the final couple of days towards venice.

    just a note on the approach into vincenza, my wife decided that she did not want to take the hillier route (there is a choice) but then when she discovered we were staying at the hotel at the top of a big hill, she regretted it. Take the hillier route into vincenza.

    for us, the apuglia tour was probably slightly better tour, but we have absolutely no regrets in doing this one as well.

    What was the date of your tour?
    late april 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection