Client Favorites  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) MarcieB October 4, 2015

    Wonderful way to visit the shores of the Bodensee . . .

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    We like to book tours in September, but weather can be a concern. We selected the 11-day Bodensee tour and only experienced two days of wet weather! The paths were well marked, the hotels comfortable and well-situated, the daily program manageable, the museum pass wonderful, and the meals and Apfelstrüdel delicious. As two 70+ cyclers, this trip was by far the easiest we have done!

    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our 6th self-guided tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, Families with young kids, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • Cycling along the Rhein delta . . . a nature reserve rich in birdlife and agricultural lands. (photo by MarcieB)
    • The Mainau Insel (7 k from Konstanz) was incredibly beautiful. We arrived at 10:00 (opening time) and enjoyed the place to ourselves for about an hour. (photo by MarcieB)
    • The magnificent Rheinfall (Schaffhausen) is a must see. A small boat takes passengers to the island where you see the arch! (photo by MarcieB)
    • Stein am Rhein features painted facades, the Lindwurm Museum and a lovely ambiance. (photo by MarcieB)
    • Konstanz (3 different overnights at the same hotel) became our home base. Holly's is highly recommended for good food, decent prices and casual ambiance. (photo by MarcieB)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Wine & Bike Hungary’s Balaton Uplands
    (5/5) MeliBoiles October 19, 2015

    This tour was absolutely as dreamy as described!

    · Wine and Bike in Hungary’s Balaton Uplands

    Our family of four (age 68, 55, 26 and 24) from Nacogdoches, Texas took this tour and will remember it dreamily for the rest of our lives. It was our "last hurrah" before 20-something kids got married and started having kids. Our personable tour directors picked us up in Budapest and took us off to our starting point in Veszprem--a gorgeous medieval town with colorful skyline. Every day we had a manageable ride--even for 68 year old dad--giving us wonderful lunch stop suggestions, and winery options. Take the guides' suggestions--they are awesome places! We were definitely off the beaten path, with villages along cobblestone Roman roads and dedicated bike paths most of the way. Hotels were small but elegant and the breakfasts and dinners very nice with quality local wines included. We were given bikes in good condition and a well-programmed GPS that allowed our son to guide us along the way through the quiet countryside, many times with lake views of Balaton. The trip put this beautiful country on the map for us, along with empathy for its history and people and all the trials they have survived. We chose this tour because it was one of the more affordable ones, but it left us with a lifetime of rich experience.

    How many tours have you completed?
    This is our only one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Hungary
    • Veszprem (photo by MeliBoiles)
    • Wheee! Down the hill from Veszprem to Balanfured. With an unlocked phone, buy a local sim card and track your ride! (photo by MeliBoiles)
    • This hotel, the Anna Grand, even has a bowling alley! (photo by MeliBoiles)
    • It doesn't get better than this! (photo by MeliBoiles)
    • Szigliget Castle (photo by MeliBoiles)
    • Balatonalmadi after lunch and sunning lake-side (photo by MeliBoiles)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (3/5) Canada November 4, 2015

    A bit of a disappointment

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    We booked the high end tour and in general were very pleased. Most of the hotels were lovely and located conveniently to the bike path. One exception was the Marina hotel we were sent to. We passed by beautiful villages but instead of staying in these lovely locations, we were sent to a marina where there no amenities nearby. We explored through the nearby campsite and located a restaurant much more reasonably priced than the marina hotel restaurant. When we had asked at the hotel about nearby restaurants, the hotel said there were no others nearby. It was also very noisy as they were working on the boats. Also we were disappointed with how little you actually got to bike along the lake. Being as this is a huge vacation area most of the lakefront had homes on them. So we were sharing the road much more than expected with often little or no views of the lake.
    The bike tour company was great and the bikes were of a good quality (though with the bumpy terrain shocks would have been appreciated).

    A lovely touch was the beautiful room at the Hotel Halm in Constance where there was a bottle of wine waiting and a lovely corner room.

    How many tours have you completed?
    Three
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Lindsay Nash November 5, 2015

      Hi Kim! Thanks for your review, and we're glad to hear you were very pleased over all. We certainly appreciate your repeat business. We're sorry to hear about your disappointment with the route and the overnight locations, and we've passed along your feedback to the tour operator. This is one of our most popular tours so hotel availability can dictate those overnight locations. We're glad to hear about the bottle of wine, though. That can certainly help the experience!

    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Sandy November 4, 2015

    Great ride with friends of different levels

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    The ride around Lake Constance, (the Boden See) was wonderful fun. There were 13 of us and we varied from level2 to level 4 riders. All enjoyed the ride! The quaint towns along the way were fun to stop and visit and the Lake was beautiful! We saw the Alps one sunny day which was a highlight for us.

    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (4/5) 1961flyer November 11, 2015

    Great ride through Austria.

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We had a wonderful time on this ride. The hotels mostly had nice saunas to relax and enjoy. The markings on the trail were very good and it was easy to navigate. We enjoyed the day in Zell am See to recharge and see the sights, (we also got a nice massage in Zell am See). We would recommend an extra day in both Innsbruck and Salzburg as both cities have numerous things to see.

    In preparation for the trip we reviewed Rick Steves books on Bavaria/Austria which offered insights and hints to our vacation.

    The riding was easily done each day and was very comfortable with numerous options to stop and eat and drink along the way. The country side was delightful as we rode.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • Good ride (photo by 1961flyer)
    • Photo 2 (photo by 1961flyer)
    • Beautiful scenery along the way. (photo by 1961flyer)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Prague to Vienna
    (3/5) Chloek1234 December 3, 2015

    Interesting tour for the well-traveled individual

    · Prague to Vienna via Cesky Krumlov

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member. I think that this tour has some wonderful highlights - Prague, Cesky Krumlov, but also is a bit monotonous. I enjoy riding in more varied scenery that this tour offered. However, the bike path network within the country is extensive (and I was impressed). The accommodations and food were basic to nice. The Czech people were very kind and down-to-earth. Our guide, Jitka, was always helpful and informative. This tour is consistently hilly and is a true level 3 in that sense. I would recommend this tour to a intermediate level cyclist, who is well traveled and wants to experience the less traveled side of Europe.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Czech Republic
    • Photo 1 (photo by Chloek1234)
    • Poppies! These guys were in bloom everywhere. (photo by Chloek1234)
    • Signs for the Czech Republic's extensive bike path network (photo by Chloek1234)
    • Cycle path-side adult beverages (photo by Chloek1234)
    • Our group visiting the only remaining portion of the Iron Curtain in Czechia (photo by Chloek1234)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Salzburg to Vienna
    (4/5) John Parsons December 7, 2015

    Really great trip.

    · Salzburg to Vienna, Lakes Option

    To start off with the Sound of Music Tours and then fairly leisurely riverside roads and fantastic food and culture - we just loved it. One of the towns was not as good as the rest but for the most part just great

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Natalie123 December 7, 2015

    Leisurely luxury through classic Europe

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member. I was excited to check out this ever-popular bike and boat tour because our clients usually give it rave reviews. Now I know why!

    Biking is such a part of Dutch culture, so we got to explore the country like the locals live it while benefiting from great infrastructure (dedicated bike paths, good signage, friendly drivers). The landscapes were charming: gardens around every cottage, wide green fields divided by canals, windmills. The Belgian countryside was also beautiful and you're often following river paths, but the Netherlands' villages stole my heart.

    The cycling is leisurely: flat, distances not too long, plenty of breaks for snacks and stretching. The guide was great, but my friend and I decided to go off on our own a couple of days, armed with the route numbers that the group would be following so we could catch up to them if needed and find our way back to the boat. We got a bit lost one day on our own, but that became its own adventure and we didn't mind at all.

    The Magnifique is cozy. The cabins are small (as expected) but comfortable, the dining room and bar are nice communal spaces for relaxing with new friends, and the hot tub on deck is the very best place to watch the passing scenery! The food is excellent, and the guide took us on a walking tour each night after dinner to learn about whichever city we were docked in overnight.

    The thing I like the least about touring is having to pack and unpack every day, so it was a small luxury to be able to unpack on day 1 and not think about bags again since we were in the same cabin all week.

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    Video: Pedaling along a canal-side bike path in Bruges

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1WgZNJQ3t40 (404)

    • Photo 1 (photo by Natalie123)
    • The Netherlands look shockingly just like what you imagine - lush greens, canals, windmills. Accompanied on this trip by my best friend and traveling companion, Kelly. (photo by Natalie123)
    • A short test ride on day 1 aboard the boat to get comfortable with our bikes. Check out that beautiful castle! (photo by Natalie123)
    • A view from the dining area through the bar and sitting area. Our fellow travelers are relaxing between ride time and dinner. (photo by Natalie123)
    • A quiet morning of cycling in Bruges before the tour buses arrived and the streets became crowded. Highly recommend early a.m. or late night jaunts! (photo by Natalie123)
    • The bike paths make it pretty clear which way cyclists should go! (photo by Natalie123)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Natalie123 December 9, 2015

    Outstanding itinerary and tour company

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    I went on this tour as a staff member at BikeTours.com. I did this itinerary, but not on the Fluvius (the boat described on this page). I was on the Magnifique, which can also be booked on this site. Here are the parts of my review that you can find on the Magnifique's tour page that apply to this same program on the Fluvius...

    Biking is such a part of Dutch culture, so we got to explore the country like the locals live it while benefiting from great infrastructure (dedicated bike paths, good signage, friendly drivers). The landscapes were charming: gardens around every cottage, wide green fields divided by canals, windmills. The Belgian countryside was also beautiful and you're often following river paths, but the Netherlands' villages stole my heart.

    The cycling is leisurely: flat, distances not too long, plenty of breaks for snacks and stretching. The guide was great, but my friend and I decided to go off on our own a couple of days, armed with the route numbers that the group would be following so we could catch up to them if needed and find our way back to the boat. We got a bit lost one day on our own, but that became its own adventure and we didn't mind at all.

    The thing I like the least about touring is having to pack and unpack every day, so it was a small luxury to be able to unpack on day 1 and not think about bags again since we were in the same cabin all week.

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    Video: A typical scene along the route - cows and sheep aplenty, quiet and well maintained bike path, and of course windmills!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nczbAMMMCM4 (404)

    • Photo 1 (photo by Natalie123)
    • Holland may be famous for its tulips, but early fall is also in full bloom with hydrangeas everywhere and beauties like these in a castle garden. (photo by Natalie123)
    • Rest stop among a field of scarlet begonias (photo by Natalie123)
    • Enjoying a juicy pear from a friendly farmer's orchard that lines the bike path. (photo by Natalie123)
    • Best friends on tour! This was a fabulous girls' trip - active but relaxing, and with most nights docked in cities with as much nightlife as you want to get into. (photo by Natalie123)
    • The canals and swans of Bruges on an early-morning ride before the tourist buses arrived! (photo by Natalie123)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Venice to Mantua
    (5/5) mountain broad December 9, 2015

    Perfect Pleasure Times Two

    · · Venice to Mantua by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    This was such a wonderful trip when my husband and I experienced it the first time for our thirtieth wedding anniversary, we took it again, in the opposite direction, two years later!
    The small towns we traveled through were charming and welcoming. We saw places that were unique and off-the-beaten path of the general tourist. Chioggia, Ferrara, Zelo: they each kept beckoning us back.
    Then, too, the Vita Pugna was any thing but "hard life". The staff treated us like treasured family members. The fed us local cuisine that was fresh, creative, and oh, so satisfying. They were enthusiastic and welcoming every day of the journey. Our bicycling guides, on each trip, revealed history, culture, and sites, that only the well-informed local would usually enjoy.

    My husband and I have traveled on five bike trips with biketours.com, and we have plans of cycling again to an, as yet, undiscovered destination. The company makes our travel dreams affordable, successful, and worth repeating.

    These memories are golden!

    How many tours have you completed?
    six
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • Sailing into Venice. (photo by mountain broad)
    • To Venice! (photo by mountain broad)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (5/5) Natalie123 December 28, 2015

    Laid-back riding in scenic German wine country

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member. It's long been a popular choice for our clients due to the leisurely riding and low price tag. It turned out to be the perfect combination for me of relaxed cycling, off-bike sites and diversions, and plenty of wine tastings.

    The Mosel valley is known (along with the nearby Rhine valley) for producing Germany's beloved riesling wines. As a white wine lover myself, it was a little slice of heaven! There's no shortage of opportunities to stop in at wineries and tasting rooms to sample the local fare. Some even have stands right on the bike path to bring the tasty wares right to you! It was lovely to stop at these stands and enjoy a glass of the sweet wine while sitting on the riverbank and chatting with other cyclists.

    If you hit bad weather or want to shorten a day's ride, there are good alternative transportation options in this region. An injury from a recent mountain bike crash made longer rides uncomfortable for me during this trip, so I took advantage of a ferry one day to roll my bike aboard and enjoy a little river cruise for several stops before deciding where I wanted to hop off and start riding again.

    Another day I took a regional train to shave off a few miles. I bought a ticket for myself and one for my bike, then boarded the car clearly marked for bicycles and rode a few stops.

    The dedicated bike path makes for care-free riding: well marked for directions and distances, no vehicles apart from an occasional slow-moving tractor (since you're often riding through farmland and vineyards), and paved almost the whole way. The path hugs both banks of the Mosel River, and your map book shows any unpaved sections so you can cross the river in advance if you don't want to ride on short segments of dirt or gravel.

    I found the directions and maps to be reliable, but it's quite difficult to get lost anyway -- all you have to do is point your bike back toward the river and you'll eventually intersect the bike path!

    I was very pleased with the accommodations, a mix of comfortable hotels in larger town centers and family-owned winery guesthouses in the smaller villages. All had hearty breakfasts to fuel a day of cycling and exploring.

    I did this tour solo, as a female in her thirties, and felt safe and secure (of course taking reasonable precautions). I liked that it was in mostly rural areas, but never terribly remote. There was always a farmhouse nearby, and the bike path was traveled enough that I was passing someone at least every few miles. Having the emergency hotline is a good reassurance as well.

    The locals seemed a bit amused by a young(ish) American woman riding the Mosel Bike Path by herself, mostly because the usual clientele is composed more of families, couples, and Europeans. But it was always a good conversation starter to make new friends!

    This trip would be a great choice for other solo travelers, or those doing their first bike tour. Hard to get lost, English is widely spoken, classic European scenery and villages, and forgiving terrain and daily riding distances. That said, it's a great pick for more experienced bike travelers too since it's a great price and value in a beautiful region. You can always add more miles with optional excursions if you're looking for more of a challenge!

    I'd also recommend this tour for families or groups composed of people with different ability levels. Kids' bikes and equipment are available to rent, as are e-bikes (which are a great "equalizer" in terms of ability level).

    Tip: May was a lovely time to visit. Wildflowers were blooming in the countryside and it wasn't too hot or crowded. And best of all, it's when many of the villages along the route celebrate their spring "wine days" festival, with many winemakers opening their cellars to the public for tastings not normally available and the streets are full of music, neighbors dancing, and delicious pastry stands.

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, Families with young kids, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    Video: A typical scene from the bike: a river boat, a castle, and pedestrians promenading along the Mosel.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BEO6hbkAsw (404)

    • Photo 1 (photo by Natalie123)
    • Vineyards line the valley as far as the eye can see! The green bike signs let you know you're still on the right track. (photo by Natalie123)
    • A view from the balcony at my hotel in Cochem. The bike path runs along the water on both sides of the river. (photo by Natalie123)
    • Waiting for the passenger/bike ferry (over my shoulder) to cross the river and pick me up to reach that pretty little village and a few miles of riding on the sunny side of the river before crossing back again later in the day to reach my hotel. (photo by Natalie123)
    • The bike path sometimes diverts away from the Mosel for a haunt through lush vineyards like these. (photo by Natalie123)
    • Time to break for a riesling tasting! Nice of them to place picnic tables right alongside the bike path for cyclists to relax. (photo by Natalie123)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Darryl April 8, 2016

    Summer 2015 Baotin' and bikin'

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    My wif, son and I had a great time going from Amsterdam to Bruges. Gerat guide and fellow bike riders. all ages lots of fun good equipment and excellent guide, Tom. Lots of fun and food stops along the way,=. very relaxed ride and boat. Highly recommend. Darryl, Chandler, Arizona

    How many tours have you completed?
    one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    (5/5) Gay and Snuffy April 26, 2016

    Best Bike and Boat hosts ever!

    · · Amsterdam – Bruges by Bike and Boat – Princesse Royal

    Zwaantje Boat, Bruges to Amsterdam..fantastic hosts Marjorie & Martene, Trudie & Matthew, guide Felix, all welcoming, friendly with superb meals (especially arriving from the rain and cool temperatures, hot soup, drinks and home made baking). Great group of people on the tour and can highly recommend this relaxed and lovely bike ride experience. Well done Marjorie and Martene....best wishes for many more successful seasons!

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, Holland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Bolzano – Verona – Venice
    (5/5) Frankie April 26, 2016

    Great trip

    · Bolzano – Verona – Venice

    The trip was a lot of fun and our guide was the best

    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Castles and Wines of Portugal
    (5/5) sandyp May 2, 2016

    Wonderful family vacation!

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    Our self-guided tour lived up to our expectations and provided us with a great family vacation. They tour company did an excellent job of responding to our questions and requests. The countryside was beautiful, the bike ride was the right level of both challenging and gentle hills, and the people we met were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this tour if you want to chill out....

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Whatever May 15, 2016

    Castles and wines

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    The company Turaventur was one of the best that we have worked with anywhere. The bicycles we rented were excellent with front suspension and a suspension seat post they were perfectly suited to the varied terrain (dirt roads, asphalt, lots of cobblestone) we covered. I also appreciated the female specific gel seat. The routes they chose were really beautiful countryside, small towns and directions were well written and easy to follow. Their support was outstanding, they were available by text, email or phone seven days a week and were always very responsive The castles we visited were just phenomenal and though it was hard to believe after one gorgeous site after another, they just kept getting better! I was only able to do one of the wine tastings and enjoyed it a lot. my suggestion is to be sure to sign up earlly as they seem to fill up ahead of time.

    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) Lgoeller May 19, 2016

    First Bike Tour

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    My husband really prepared for this trip, and I was glad he did. Biking is the only way to go if you want to experience every second of your adventure. We both like to participate, so we thought touring in a car was not a good option. The things you see, people you meet, and experiences you have are great! Be prepared for rain and thankful when it does not. The directions were good, but the English version was not always correct. If you are worried that you won't be able to make it on a bicycle, rent an e-bike!

    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jannykae May 19, 2016

    Unbelievably fabulous!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We were surprised at how lovely the week long trip was for us a first time bike vacationers. It had just the right amount of challenge and comfort combined. The weather was lovely and the landscape perfect for this kind of biking.

    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) Wiederholen May 19, 2016

    Great Trip in a Beautiful Part of the World

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    The Bodensee cycle path trip was a winner from the start. We went in September when the weather was still nice and the crowds had thinned. After flying into Zurich, Konstanz was very easy to get to by train, and the ABC Hotel there was great, as was the scenery and food around town. We went to the bike shop to pick up our equipment (although they would gladly deliver to the hotel) and met some nice people who mapped out a riverfront route back to the hotel for us. The bikes were perfect and the cycling each day was very easygoing, allowing us ample time to explore (and eat and drink). Pro tip: check the schedule for the ferry from Insel Reichenau to Allensbach in advance - we just missed the 10:00 sailing on our first day, and as the next ferry didn't go until 13:00 we chose to cycle back on the causeway rather than wait three hours for the boat. Not a problem, it just added several miles to the trip on to Stein am Rhein. One of our favorite stops was in Überlingen, which we arrived in via ferry from Wallhausen. The hotel location along the lake was fantastic, and we had fun stopping for drinks along the promenade. I agree with another reviewer that the marina hotel near Kressbronn was out of character with the rest of the journey, but it was a nice, clean, modern hotel with great food and easy access to the lake and I won't downvote the trip because of it. The variety of the hotels we stayed at along this trip was actually one of the positives. Our side trip to the Bronze Age stilt houses (Pfahlbauten Unteruhldingen) was very interesting and worth the stop. The Altstadt and harbor in Lindau are beautiful, and while we were slightly lost for a bit the people in the tourist office were incredibly helpful in getting us back onto the cycle path. In Bregenz, Austria we rode the cable car (Pfänderbahn) to the mountaintop for lunch and, even though it was an overcast day, still had some great views of the lake below, even if the Alps were obscured. Crossing the Rhein back into Switzerland brought us many miles of cycling right along the beautiful south shore of the Bodensee (highly recommend a lunch stop on the lakeshore patio at The Pier in Uttwil). Crossing the border back into Konstanz was slightly confusing, but part of the fun of these trips is finding your way. It was nice to get back to Konstanz and spend some more time exploring that town.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, Families with young kids, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • Wine tasting in Überlingen (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Sunset over the Bodensee (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Visit to the Bronze Age Pfahlbauten (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Navigating the Altstadt in Lindau (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Taking a break on Insel Reichenau (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Beautiful architecture in Konstanz (photo by Wiederholen)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection