Bike Tour Reviews  page 117

  • Medieval walls, magnificent markets, and picture-perfect plazas
    (4/5) robert philippe 8 months ago

    Good way to spend 3 hours

    · Valencia Highlights Bike Tour

    Very busy place and many different tours converge at the sites. Might have been better as a private tour or maybe just rent a bike.

    •  (photo by robert philippe)
  • Founder's Tour: Turkey and Greece E-Bike & Boat tour
    (3/5) Richard Shore 8 months ago

    Turkey and Greece

    · Founder's Tour: Turkey and Greece E-Bike & Boat tour

    Nice trip with great biking, average food and poor boat. Hot water on The Love Boat was scarce and the bar was not stocked 4 days of 2 weeks.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 1/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Discover the true taste of Dubrovnik
    (5/5) Soledad Hamarich 8 months ago

    Best way to discover the country

    · Dubrovnik Bike Tour with Wine Tasting

    We had a rainy day but a fantastic ride into the country. First time using e-bikes and they were very helpful with the many hills. The wine tasting was very informative and fun. Our local guide Joseph was very helpful and flexible to ensure we had a good experience. This was an excellent way to feel and smell the country side.

  • Umbria’s Green Valleys
    (5/5) max breedon 8 months ago

    Exceeded expectations

    · Umbria’s Green Valleys From the Pilgrimage Town of Assisi

    This was a brilliant way to experience and explore Umbria. The instructions were clear and the route design was really thoughtful. The tour operator has done a great job planning this route. There were so many highlights, riding through olive groves, exploring towns like Spoleto. We loved staying at Casco dell'Acqua, Ms Carla's cooking was magnificent.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Late October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • Near Assisi (photo by max breedon)
    • Riding through olive groves (photo by max breedon)
    • Following rivers (photo by max breedon)
    • More rivers and streams (photo by max breedon)
    • Sowing in new crops (photo by max breedon)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • The best of the ‘Birthplace of California’
    (5/5) Cathy Marvin 8 months ago

    E bike around San Diego

    · Best of San Diego E-Bike Tour

    Good. He stopped several times for us to take pictures. Very knowledgeable about area.

  • Medieval walls, magnificent markets, and picture-perfect plazas
    (4/5) robert philippe 8 months ago

    Ebike your was mixed success

    · Valencia Highlights Bike Tour

    Signed up for ebike tour but slowed down by large family not on e-bikes. Waste of money to book e-bikes.

    •  (photo by robert philippe)
  • Founder's Tour: Turkey and Greece E-Bike & Boat tour
    (4/5) Ellen Ruth Johnson 8 months ago

    Great cycling, good people!

    · Founder's Tour: Turkey and Greece E-Bike & Boat tour

    Everything about the trip was excellent with the exception of the cabins on the “Love Boat.” Please see my previous review.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October2923
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Royal Zealand & Copenhagen
    (5/5) Liliane 8 months ago

    great family experience

    · Royal Zealand and Copenhagen

    We had a great family time. Following the tour was easy - one followed the map, the other the instructions - it was worth following the proposed route and not google maps.
    On the 65km day, we arrived late at our destination and one of the highlights was already closed. Including a bit of info of the main cultural attractions would be helpful. Have Pellerines ready in your bile box - the weather changes quickly. Tanja was of great help and very responsive! Thank you!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark
  • (5/5) Chris Hayman 8 months ago

    Our Favourite Bike Trip

    · Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

    This is our seventh and most favourite bike trip.

    The guides were great, the itinerary fantastic and the accommodations far surpassed expectations.

    Highly recommend this trip. While holly we rented e-bikes which made it very accessible

    Countries included in this tour?
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro
  • Founder's Tour: Turkey and Greece E-Bike & Boat tour
    (5/5) diane Nothnagel 8 months ago

    Best kind of Bike Trip

    · Founder's Tour: Turkey and Greece E-Bike & Boat tour

    This is our 4th bike and boat tour-if you ve never traveled this way you need to give it a try . What could be better than starting your day in a small harbor, with a wonderful breakfast on deck, then going for an exciting ride , coming back for a swim in the Adriatic, and then cruising to the next port in time for dinner? The food n the boat was plentiful and delicious. Because it’s a smaller boat we were able to spend time in smaller uncrowded harbors. He biking was challenging but the excellent e-bikes made it fun for all ages . Everyone on the boat agreed that two weeks was ideal-a one week trip just doesn’t give you enough time to settle in. There was never a dull day and if you don’t want to ride you can stay on the boat or walk the town-lots of options and flexibility. This would also be a good trip for a non rider in the family. I also highly recommend the Croatia bike and boat trip-it was fabulous. October is the best time to be in any of these places. The weather was warm enough to swim all the time and things weren’t as crowded as during the summer

    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
  • (4/5) Douglas Emzie Miller 8 months ago

    7 days on boat 7 days on land Ireland .

    · Founder's Tour: Turkey and Greece E-Bike & Boat tour

    Excellent trip except the physical condition of the boat was unacceptable. IslAanding Hopping did a superb job as well as the boat crew. As we paid extra for our room we were very disappointed. We have traveled with Jim Johnson for 20 Yrs. All have been excellent as we continued to travel with Bike Tours. This trip was disappointing due to the condition of the boat.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    15
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 2/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 1/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Cornelia Young 8 months ago

    Trip of a lofetime

    · Founder's Tour: Turkey and Greece E-Bike & Boat tour

    Guides were so knowledgeable about one of the most checkered areas of the world. Many civilizations had influence here. And the biking and scenery were spectacular

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) diane Nothnagel 8 months ago

    Best kind of Bike Trip

    · Founder's Tour: Turkey and Greece E-Bike & Boat tour

    This is our 4th bike and boat tour-if you ve never traveled this way you need to give it a try . What could be better than starting your day in a small harbor, with a wonderful breakfast on deck, then going for an exciting ride , coming back for a swim in the Adriatic, and then cruising to the next port in time for dinner? The food n the boat was plentiful and delicious. Because it’s a smaller boat we were able to spend time in smaller uncrowded harbors. He biking was challenging but the excellent e-bikes made it fun for all ages . Everyone on the boat agreed that two weeks was ideal-a one week trip just doesn’t give you enough time to settle in. There was never a dull day and if you don’t want to ride you can stay on the boat or walk the town-lots of options and flexibility. This would also be a good trip for a non rider in the family. I also highly recommend the Croatia bike and boat trip-it was fabulous. October is the best time to be in any of these places. The weather was warm enough to swim all the time and things weren’t as crowded as during the summer

    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
  • Experience the unforgettable in Washington DC
    (5/5) Robert Runo 8 months ago

    An informative and easy way to get around DC

    · Washington DC Monuments & Memorials Bike Tour

    Bicycling in DC was the best decision I made as a mode of transportation for sightseeing. Joe Brady was a wealth of knowledge and I discovered areas of DC that were unbeknownst to me.

    •  (photo by Robert Runo)
  • Algarve Coastal Route
    (3/5) Ann English 8 months ago

    Prefer not to be riding on hwys and in big cities

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    The friendly people in Portugal, the delicious and nutritious food, and most of the hotels were wonderful! The e-bikes were fine and when needed I quickly got a replacement. However, the bikes should be fitted to each person as well as the replacement bike. That was not done so the inappropriate fit gave me much shoulder and back pain. The route had way too many hwy and larger cities round abouts for us. We prefer small towns and rural/ocean scenery.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    We have been on 4 bike tours
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • A Taste of Italy
    (4/5) Cathie Macmillan 8 months ago

    Enjoyable trip through the food bowl of Italy

    · A Taste of Italy: Emilia-Romagna

    This tour was well organised and easy to follow using the Ride with GSP App. It was great to spend 2 nights at each destination and not rush from one town to the next. The e bikes were very well maintained and comfortable to ride. Unfortunately one of my drink holders broke as I cycled down a hill!
    The route was a mix of bike paths, main roads and smaller roads. We didn't enjoy the main roads as the traffic was quite busy and passed us very quickly which was scary at times. I wouldn't recommend the tour to first time bike tourists or families as it was a bit dangerous on so many main roads.
    Most accommodation was comfortable and met our needs. Our favourite accommodation was definitely La Razza Agritourismo! Hotel Button was our least favourite as it didn't have a fridge or tea making facilities in the room.
    Cycling through the food bowl of Italy gave us the opportunity to see how Parmigiano Reggiano and Balsamic Vinegar are made. Tasting the products was even better! We took the dinner options but in hindsight probably would have preferred to organise our own dinners.
    On reflection, we probably should have chosen a tour with a harder rating and more hills. The route was very flat so we didn't experience many good views of the scenery. We enjoyed the loop ride into the hills of Reggio Emilia. We didn't do the loop ride from Modena due to illness and poor weather so perhaps missed one of the good scenery days.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 23
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Algarve Coastal Route
    (4/5) Angela Henderson 8 months ago

    Portugal is SPECTACULAR

    · Algarve Coastal Route

    Portugal is beautiful, the people even more so! We will definitely be back!

    The bike tour needs some work. The GPS system is too small, half the size of my cell phone, and the written instructions not detailed enough, or accurate to what is happening on the ground around you. Because there are no consistent street signs, or bike tour signs through the entire route, the written directions that go along with the GPS are critical to guiding you on this tour. The number of u-turns, poorly written directions, etc., made what should have been a straightforward three hour bike ride into a 5 to 7 hour bike ride, not allowing us time to really enjoy the areas we rode through.

    The company also didn’t fit us to the bikes and one of our friends suffered with some pretty serious neck and shoulder pain as a result.
    I think the company is good, I just think they need to do some refining of their program.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    •  (photo by Angela Henderson)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac November 9, 2023

      Hello Angela, thank you for sharing your experience in Portugal! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the beauty and warmth of the country.

      We appreciate your valuable feedback regarding the bike tour challenges and will certainly use it to refine and improve our program. Your insights into the challenges with the GPS system, written instructions, and bike fitting are invaluable. We take your comments to heart and will be working diligently to refine our program in time to come. We hope to welcome you back for a smoother and more enjoyable experience in the future.

    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • Andalusia: Southern Spain
    (5/5) David Princep 8 months ago

    Great trip, excellent accommodation.

    · Andalusia: Southern Spain

    Challenging trip, but excellent value for money and quality of accommodation was best we'veexperienced in over 10 years of cycling holidays. Recommend book extra nights - Seville, Carmona, Arcos. Jerez & Cadiz all suitable. If returning to Seville etc by train book early as even in November trains were very busy. Good scenery on days 4 & 5.

    What was the date of your tour?
    November 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    25+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
  • An unbeatable e-bike tour of Malta’s West Coast
    (4/5) PD 8 months ago

    A good fun tour

    · West Coast of Malta E-Bike Tour

    Saw some great sights, including mdina, great cliffs and bays. Paul was a humorous guide