Bike Tour Reviews: Andalusia  Southern Spain


Andalusia: Southern Spain

COUNTRY: Spain

6 nights
4.4/5 (12)
Rider Level: Active Electric bike tours
Rider Level: Active Electric bike tours

4.4/5 (12)
6 nights

Self guided from EUR € 1143

Self-guided:
Daily, upon request: Mar 1-Jun 30; Sep 1-Nov 30, 2023

Description:
Your tour begins in Sevilla, a vibrant, charismatic city drenched for most of the year in spirit-enriching sunlight. Not far from Seville, you will reach another jewel of Andalucia, the hilltop town of Carmona: it's city walls hold churches, palaces and…

View Tour

  • Andalusia: Southern Spain
    (5/5) Margaret Steyn 2 weeks ago

    Fun trip as an introduction to cycling in Spain

    We thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Had excellent instructions in a booklet. Having the GPS was good, although it would have been good to have a bigger screen as it was hard to read in the sunshine. There were 4 of us on the trip & we all felt the daily distance was good on the e-bikes.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 26th - 30th, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    We have been on at least 12 trips previously
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Margaret Steyn 2 months ago

    Fun cycle trip in an area new to us

    The trip was a wonderful introduction to Spain. We enjoyed the challenge of the cycling, especially the wonderful dirt trails in the parks, Via Verde etc. There was a good mix of gravel roads, sand trails & urban cycle lanes. The Spanish motorists are very courteous & there is a wonderful bike trail system especially in bigger cities. The hotels (other than the one in Jerez which was a great disappointment & was not actually in the direction book or on the GPS!!) were excellent. We would have loved to have spent more time in Arcos del la Fronterra & less in Jerez. All other places were delightful & will have us returning. We definitely found having the GPS made a big difference. Bikes were okay & when we needed help (as a key got stuck in the battery ), we had good assistance.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 26th to 30th.
    How many tours have you completed?
    4 cyclists in our group.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Margaret Steyn 2 months ago

    Fun cycle trip in an area new to us

    The trip was a wonderful introduction to Spain. We enjoyed the challenge of the cycling, especially the wonderful dirt trails in the parks, Via Verde etc. There was a good mix of gravel roads, sand trails & urban cycle lanes. The Spanish motorists are very courteous & there is a wonderful bike trail system especially in bigger cities. The hotels (other than the one in Jerez which was a great disappointment & was not actually in the direction book or on the GPS!!) were excellent. We would have loved to have spent more time in Arcos del la Fronterra & less in Jerez. All other places were delightful & will have us returning. We definitely found having the GPS made a big difference. Bikes were okay & when we needed help (as a key got stuck in the battery ), we had good assistance.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 26th to 30th.
    How many tours have you completed?
    4 cyclists in our group.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) Karen Metsos 2 months ago

    Not the Best

    This was our third bike tour and to be honest we were disappointed in general. While the hotel accomodations and the towns that you slept in were great and places I would visit again, but the overall biking experience was a different story. The bike journey each day was mostly about trying to get to the next town. The experience along the way in terms of where you cycled and the towns you went through was a let down. For example having done the Passau to Vienna cycle a few years back the lunch stops and places to take breaks were amazing, charming, convenient and scenic. This trip didn't offer any of that. The lunch locations were simply a place to rest and keep going. The tour operator in the self guided books didn't offer any recommendations of where to stop for lunch or breaks compared to the previous 2 tours we did (Passau to Vienna and Puglia). On the previous two tours these types of tips and recommendations added extreme value to our trip.
    A couple of tips... if you do decide to do this cycle definitely spend the extra 30 euros for the GPS as it will vastly improve the navigation experience as bikes aren't set up to display the guide book and if the tour operator is reading this, having an upgraded room option would be a good idea as the hotels were great as well as the towns. On a couple of the locations we paid extra for an upgraded room upon checkin and it made a difference!

    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from jan September 25, 2022

      First, thanks for your business and feedback as we and our partners slowly climb out of the covid reboot. Though the tourism industry is rebounding we are doing so after much fatigue so it certainly hasn't been perfect for us or our partners. Starting next year we will be providing our own branded travel packets which will do much to address the overall travel experience, options, and directions. Thanks again for your support!

    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Kasey December 16, 2019

    Seville to Cadiz

    We did this tour at the end of November so the weather can be unpredictable. This region of Spain can be really hot in the summer so this was a good time of year for cycling with highs only in the 60's. However, Andulucia's terrain is, in general, not very lush or scenic and, in an area of Spain that is rural and farm based, it is particularly not scenic in November. The overnight stops along the way were very nice and the accommodations were well done. There were sections of the tour that were on busy roads, most of which were with a generous shoulder but a few with no shoulder. Fortunately, Spanish drivers are very courteous to cyclists and do not pass unless they can give you ample room. There we also sections of the tour that were off road and since there had been some recent rains, the trails were rough and muddy.

    The bikes and equipment provided were of good quality and did not have any problems. The directions were for the most part accurate except for final approach into Cadiz when the gravel road ended before the directions indicated they should. From that point, the directions simply did match up to the road options. We had to rely on Google maps to figure out how to get into the historic district. We ended up on the pasao along the shore and cycled the last 6-8 miles on that into the historic district. Fortunately there were bike lanes we used to get to the pasao. Most of the last day of cycling is barren and not scenic so in retrospect we would have opted for the shorter option and taken the ferry into Cadiz and spent the last part of the day touring Cadiz instead of cycling all day.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Late November, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    20
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe October 17, 2019

      Kasey, thanks for your candid review. We're glad you had good weather on your tour, and we appreciate the details you've noted regarding the scenery, cycling terrain, and directions. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the accommodations and quality bikes. Thanks again for taking the time to review.

    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 2/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Deb Fanton November 18, 2019

    Andalusia bike ride

    Accommodations were fantastic; bike equipment very good; luggage transfers flawless. The routes were disappointing compared with Burgundy- many unadvertised hills, lots of highway, rough unpaved off road. We love working with BikeTours and this was our fifth or sixth trip but this particular trip was not communicated well from the beginning-- find it far better to do less cities with loops around the city and two nights at each location. Loved Spain though including our extended visit in Barcelona!

    What was the date of your tour?
    10/25/19
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe November 19, 2019

      Deb, thanks kindly for the review. We're sorry to hear you wouldn't recommend this tour but can certainly empathize - when you've been on numerous tours and traveled many places (as it sounds like you have) that not every tour can be a favorite. Thanks for the details about the route; very helpful for future clients! We're glad to have been able to assist you and delighted you enjoyed your accommodations, bikes, flawless luggage transfer, and Spain (of course!).

    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Timr November 17, 2019

    Fun Cycling, Fascinating Area, Fabulous Accommodations

    We cycled in early November, which was a perfect time for this area, which can be very hot. Loved Andalusia. The routes were lovely. The hotels were very good to excellent. The bikes themselves were solid—a bit heavy, but with occasional stretches of dirt roads and cobblestones, I wouldn’t recommend a lighter bike. The Garmin provided worked fine, but was an older model with non-rechargeable batteries—you may need to buy a few extra AAs.

    What was the date of your tour?
    November 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (3/5) Chris 77 August 14, 2019

    Interesting trip with contrast between route and hotels

    Did get a picture of that region of Spain. The hotels were great but the route was not very interesting and some of the dirt roads were in very poor condition. The GPS was poor and the written instructions are necessary. Ebikes are not a bad idea. The tour should definitively give the bikes the night before the first day of riding to get an early start so you can enjoy the hotels after a not great first ride day.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May
    How many tours have you completed?
    More than 20
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe August 15, 2019

      Chris, we're sorry to hear you wouldn't recommend this tour. It sounds like this the terrain, region, and difficulty did not suit your touring style. Other feedback and the description of this tour indicate it has varied terrain and is a more difficult level. Perhaps other clients will use e-bikes as you have suggested. Thanks for the details regarding the GPS, instructions, and bike delivery timing -- very helpful feedback for the tour operator. Again, we're sorry to hear this wasn't your favorite, but we appreciate your feedback, and we're glad you enjoyed the hotels on this tour.

    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) DewDrop July 4, 2019

    Glorious Trip, but a bit over our capabilities.

    This trip was rate a 3/5 on difficulty. We asked our advisor if we 65 year old bike amateurs could handle it. We had a hard time completing the 40 mile days. The GPS that we got through the tour was also very hard to read and use. But we did love the trip, the hotels were all first rate. The choices were fascinating. The country side excellent.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 18-25
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Chris 77 June 14, 2019

    Lots of history

    Interesting cities and great accommodations. Would recommend ebikes for those of us over 75. Definitely suggest the tour company issue the bikes the evening before the first day as the day is long with lots of dirt track - best to get an early start to enjoy the destination.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May
    How many tours have you completed?
    17
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Stokaace April 7, 2019

    Great way to see Andalusia

    We did a self-guided version of the Seville to Cadiz route. Overall the trip was great. Hotels far exceeded my expectations and the route stops in many small towns for some excellent local culture. The route was a mix of paved roads and gravel trail which means the bikes are sturdy. We had no flats of other issues at all. In the self guided tour they give you a very detailed set of instructions but you are on your own after that. I recommend downloading offline Google maps to supplement the instructions because some of the route gets complicated. Overall this trip is a great value. The stops are beautiful and the hotels were surprisingly nice.

    What was the date of your tour?
    March 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    None
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) oaklandhills34 March 25, 2019

    Fantastic Overall Tour

    This was my first bike tour vacation and I was impressed.

    Things that exceeded my expectations:
    -the hotels were first class
    -Andalusian countryside is beautiful. People are friendly.
    -Meals (tapas) were great and surprisingly affordable
    -The towns on the tour (pueblo blancos) were charming and picturesque
    -Day 2 and Day 3 rides were outstanding - beautiful country roads through olive orchards, horse farms, train tunnels
    -Bikes were solid and appropriate for all-terrain riding

    Things to consider:
    -This is an all-terrain tour; there are long stretches on gravel roads and dirt paths. This was fun and a great way to get off the beaten path just be aware this isn't a road bike tour.
    -Because off all the off-road components navigation isn't trivial; not hard, just not 'casually glance at Google maps' easy either
    -Most days we rode for 4-5 hours. We typically stopped in towns along the way to snack as well. This wasn't too challenging but we were definitely tired and ready to eat and drink upon arriving at our destination
    -There isn't much help along the way. We never met anyone from the tour company...the person that drops off the bikes isn't with the tour company. All we had was a phone number to call if something goes wrong. This was fine for us and nothing went wrong but beware you are largely on your own.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Early March
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection