Bike Tour Reviews  Cycling The West Balkan Triangle


Cycling the West Balkan Triangle

COUNTRY: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro

7 nights
4.7/5 (32)
Rider Level: Active Electric bike tours
Rider Level: Active Electric bike tours

4.7/5 (32)
7 nights

Guided from EUR € 1100

Guided:
Group guided: Apr 20, Jun 8, Sep 14, Oct 5, 2024 (minimum 4 participants). Private guided: dates upon request(Saturdays preferred) Apr 1-Nov 1, 2024 (minimum 4 participants)

Description:
This cycling tour takes you through one of the most spectacular regions in all of Europe: the West Balkan Triangle and the Mediterranean. This sensational area, spread over the magical hills and mountains of the Dinarids, along the seashores settled by…

View Tour

  • Cycling the West Balkan Triangle
    (4/5) Anita Elder 1 month ago

    Beautiful scenery and routes!

    I really enjoyed riding my bike through Croatia, Montenegro and Bosnia. The scenery was gorgeous and I made new friends. The hotels were mostly great with a couple of exceptions:
    1. No elevator at the Splendido and very difficult to carry heavy suitcase down and then back up some stairs to our room. No coffee/tea until 8:30am and then it was terrible. Their food in the evening was good, however.
    2. Hotel on the last day was not very good. The AC didn't work well and there was only one electrical outlet on the other side of the room from the bed (had to get an extension cord to plug in c-pap).

    The lunch stops during our ride were great and was more than I expected.

    The local partner needs to step up their game. Because they didn't have anyone dedicated to collect luggage each morning and deliver it to the next hotel, the ride leader and support driver had to do it. This caused long delays in starting our ride each day. We would usually be told there would be a briefing at 8:00 am, but until they ride leader and driver got to the hotel, loaded up the bags, and dealt with some other issues, it was always well after 10am before we started riding. This meant that we were riding (and doing steep climbs) in the worst heat of the day.

    The support driver, Nikola, was a sweetheart. Alex, the ride leader, was a good rider and knew the routes well, but he was rude to several of the guests.

    With a little organization and extra staff, this tour would be perfect and at a decent price.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 8-15, 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    Average
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Celebrating 25 years of marriage. (photo by Anita Elder)
    • New friends (photo by Anita Elder)
    • Nikola fixing a flat. (photo by Anita Elder)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) robert harrison 2 months ago

    enjoyable interesting trip

    the trip overall was enjoyable.The tour leaders Alex and Amir were helpful and organised the transport,luggage and hotels effectively.What they could have done was given us more information about the places we visited.For example in Kotar we could haVE visited and climbed the city walls had we been told that was an option.This really was down to their inexperience and lack of training The other point oi would make is that on the departure there was only limited airport transport available.Bike tours need to ensure that transport is available throughout the day for the various flights people are taking back

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (2/5) Andrew Lindsay 3 months ago

    Disappointing Tour - Did Not Meet Expectations

    Positives:
    1) The e-bikes were very good and well maintained; the routes were generally excellent if a little short for e-bikes (rides often finished early afternoon whereas on most other organised cycle trips I've been on they were spread out over most of the day).
    The rides from Herceg Novi to Kotor; Ravno to Ston and Ston to Kun were particularly enjoyable - brilliant scenery and quiet roads.

    2) Accomodation - Hotels were all very good apart from Marija 2. This hotel was a good 20 minute walk from Kotor; room was clean but rather dark and miserable (no view; no balcony but lots of signs instructing occupants what not to do). Fried eggs at breakfast were cold). By contrast the Hotel Stancia in Ravno was a delight.
    3) Food - This was an enjoyable part of the tour. The 'included' lunches and evening meals were very good. The lunches at Ravno, Ston and Kun were especially enjoyable - offering liquor tasting; olive grove visit and locally produced food respectively. The local restaurants we chose for our evening meals were also excellent.

    Areas To Improve: As a guided introduction to the West Balkans this trip has nothing to recommend it. The guide, while perfectly charming and an excellent cycle tour leader, had next to nothing to say about the countries we visited (their history; their customs and culture; their flora and fauna). I suspect his Company has never provided any training on how to be a tour guide.

    This tour makes it very easy to miss exploring the old town of Herceg Novi; the walls of Kotor and Cavtat Old Town (indeed most of the group did) because they were never recommended or even mentioned; nor did we cycle to them). Dubrovnik is the jewel (albeit a very busy jewel) of the West Balkans and it would be very easy to book this tour and never see it (the old town is a 40 minute walk from the Hotel Adria).

    I've cycled many times with Explore and Exodus on group guided tours and their delivered experience is vastly superior to that of BikeTours.com.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    I've been on well over 20 bike tours. The West Balkan tour is bottom quartile. Your guides need training. Happy to provide more feedback.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • Little Ston-the hotel is on this harbour. Delightful spot. (photo by Andrew Lindsay)
    • View from near Perast - another superb setting (photo by Andrew Lindsay)
    • Ride thrrough vineyards en route to Ston (photo by Andrew Lindsay)
    • Visit and lunch at the Olive Grove near Ston (photo by Andrew Lindsay)
    • Cycle track along the old railway line to Ravno, Bosnia (photo by Andrew Lindsay)
    • 2/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 2/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) robert harrison 3 months ago

    enjoyable interesting trip

    Overall the trip was good.Alex and Emir as the main tour guides were efficient and the organisation of the luggage and the bikes was excellent.The cycling and the routes were good.Where the tour could have improved was giving us some basic information about the places we were visiting.For example at Kotor most of us were not aware that you could walk up the city walls to the top of the hill.We don,t expect an hours lecture but some local knowledge would further enhance the trip and perhaps training for the tour leaders would be appropriate.Finally there was some confusion on the final day we were leaving re airport transfers and it seemed that drivers had other duties which reduce their availability.Biketours need to ensure the transport is available as this is specified on the tour information
    Idespite these points I would certainly recommend this cycling trip to friends who might like to go.

  • (5/5) Kathleen Cook 8 months ago

    Great Trip

    Our group of 15 riders had a great trip. Some were on road bikes, some on e-bikes, and some on hybrid bikes. I would not recommend the hybrid bikes for this trip. The climbs were very challenging on the hybrids even for experienced bikers. The climbs were tough for those on the road bikes, and even those on e-bikes had to put forth considerable effort. But those on hybrids were really at a disadvantage.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Chris Hayman 9 months ago

    Our Favourite Bike Trip

    This is our seventh and most favourite bike trip.

    The guides were great, the itinerary fantastic and the accommodations far surpassed expectations.

    Highly recommend this trip. While holly we rented e-bikes which made it very accessible

  • (5/5) JO ANNE REID 9 months ago

    An excellent way to experience the landscapes , culture , history and the people.

    Our guide Alex was most vigilant for our safety, checking the bikes, quick repair of flat tires if necessary, conveying briefings with road conditions and expected grades.The trip was beyond my expectations : the beauty, the snacks and meals, comfortable accommodation.

  • (4/5) Becky Foster 9 months ago

    Beautiful and very challenging!

    Cycling near the Adriatic Sea was spectacular, probably the most beautiful cycling I have ever done. It was also the most challenging trip we have done. The countries of Croatia, Bosnia and Montenegro are mountainous! This is a perfect trip for serious cyclists.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Kathleen Bowman 9 months ago

    Fabulous biking adventure

    Walled cities, mountain passes, incredible views of the bays and islands - I wished I had a GoPro camera on my helmet. The hotels were charming, the food local and hardy. Biking was exhilarating; challenging at times, but the van was always available for those who preferred to skip the hard climbs or busier roads. Most of our group road e-bikes and were happy with their choice. Best of all were our guides, Alex and Emir. They were knowledgeable and inspirational and took very good care of us.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    Four
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Overlooking the Bay of Kotor (photo by Kathleen Bowman)
    • History lesson about enigmatic funerary stones (photo by Kathleen Bowman)
    • Approaching the border into Bosnia Herzegovina (photo by Kathleen Bowman)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) J.Miller 9 months ago

    "Bucket-list" bike trip

    New and interesting touring this beautiful part of Croatia (the Balkan countries). The guides were experienced, personable, and trustworthy....aways leaving us feeling safe and informed. Accommodations and meals provided were enjoyable and comfortable. The pace of the trip was comfortable and well-informed.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    Two
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    •  (photo by J.Miller)
    •  (photo by J.Miller)
    •  (photo by J.Miller)
    •  (photo by J.Miller)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac October 23, 2023

      Wow, those are some great photos you posted! Thank you for your kind words about your experience touring the beautiful Balkan countries with us. We're delighted to hear that you found the guides to be experienced, personable, and trustworthy, providing a sense of safety and knowledge throughout your journey. We hope to welcome you back for more exciting adventures in the future!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Joanne Slingerland 9 months ago

    Fantastic experience!

    This trip was an amazing way to experience beautiful parts of Croatia, Bosnia, and Montenegro. Our guides and support crew, Mario and Emir, are professional, knowledgeable and caring. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and kept us safe along the way. The ride is challenging at times with many hills and traffic, but we also experienced quiet roads through lovely vineyards and coastal views. Each hotel was unique and charming—from beachfront resorts to boutique hotels within ancient walled villages. Lunches and group dinners were well planned and delicious with the opportunity to experience local cuisine. Croatian wines are exceptional! And the best part of all was meeting new friends to share our love of cycling and adventure. This trip is not to be missed!

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    •  (photo by Joanne Slingerland)
    •  (photo by Joanne Slingerland)
    •  (photo by Joanne Slingerland)
    •  (photo by Joanne Slingerland)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Catherine Veitch 9 months ago

    Balkan triangle,epic Croatia.

    Really enjoyed seeing so many countries by bike,a great way to see the countryside.Our guide was able to guide us through less busy roads..It definitely was an epic trip,lots of hills,some days long distances and warm.The accommodations were excellent,and really appreciated the snacks provided by the tour..

  • (4/5) Teryl Schopfer 9 months ago

    Great trip

    Great way to see Bosnia Hertzegovinia and the Ciro bike trail

    Great guides

    What was the date of your tour?
    October
    How many tours have you completed?
    No other tours
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Alice Christensen 9 months ago

    Excellent Intro to the Balkans

    Lovely way to experience a variety of Balkan counties. Good variety of trails/roads. Loved the smaller towns and historic hotels. Would have appreciated a few more opportunities for photos. Guides were knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. Bikes were in excellent condition.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    First guided tour. Have done a couple on my own before.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Kirsty leighton 9 months ago

    Excellent bike tour

    Awesome food ! Awesome guide ! Excellent all around ! Lovely scenery ! Thanks

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    First bike tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Roxana Miranda 10 months ago

    Amazing 3 country bike tour

    The routes were great and the scenery first class; a fabulous way to explore those areas that are not that touristy and interior roads with absolutely no cars though Montenegro is a different story; recommend e-bike to stop and enjoy your surroundings because some of the days were very challenging for regular bikes including for some fit bike riders, most specially in the hot sun; the company can do much better on lunch options which were absolutely not good for the rides; the hotels were very good, some of them real gems; felt very good exploring Bosnia and cute little villages close to Dubrovnik; Montenegro coast is paradise.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 9, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 3/5 Value
    • 1/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Suzy Clapp 10 months ago

    Fabulous trip cycling in Croatia, Bosnia and Montenegro.

    The cycling was harder than we thought and it was good that we did some training before hand. This made it more enjoyable. The group was large for one guide and mixed fitness levels with different bikes caused a big gap. Hotels were lovely and generally food good but not sure the type of food at lunch is really what you want in the baking hot sunshine cycling 60km. Gluten Free options
    were poor and not explained to the guide. Guides both knowledgeable and the weather and views were superb. Loved being on a guided one and them taking the luggage. Really helped experience seeing all the different countries and a great way to do it. Would definitely like to do another one.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Suzy Clapp 10 months ago

    Fabulous trip cycling in Croatia, Bosnia and Montenegro.

    The cycling was harder than we thought and it was good that we did some training before hand. This made it more enjoyable. The group was large for one guide and mixed fitness levels with different bikes caused a big gap. Hotels were lovely and generally food good but not sure the type of food at lunch is really what you want in the baking hot sunshine cycling 60km. Gluten Free options
    were poor and not explained to the guide. Guides both knowledgeable and the weather and views were superb. Loved being on a guided one and them taking the luggage. Really helped experience seeing all the different countries and a great way to do it. Would definitely like to do another one.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Lucretia Germick June 21, 2023

    Balkans Coast & Mountains

    BEAUTIFUL scenery along coasts & mountains. Some challenging climbs mixed with coastal flats. Comfortable accommodations with character. Lunches were delicious & introduced us to some local foods. Alex & Igor provided excellent leadership & support while keeping us laughing with their antics! Always felt safe so could relax & enjoy the views. Would suggest stocking small, medium & large helmets and adding bells on bikes to alert pedestrians.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 10-17, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    4 European tours & 20 US tours
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)