Bike Tour Reviews  page 82

  • Alsace Wine Country
    (4/5) Allen September 20, 2017

    Fabulously beautiful towns and good routes

    · Alsace Wine Country

    Bike Tours was excellent. Very helpful.
    E bikes helped. Good bikes
    Routes were varied and interesting with few busy roads.
    Route maps were frustrating at times because some roads poorly marked.
    Escape Rondonne's Thomas was poor for the introduction meeting- rushed and confusing; but the company did handle our bags well.

    What was the date of your tour?
    9/16-20/17
    How many tours have you completed?
    18
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Venice to Trieste and Istria
    (4/5) kiki1970 October 21, 2016
    · Venice to Trieste and Istria

    The overall experience on this bike trip was good. The rain that occurred on 4 of the 7 days of the trip was unexpected. The locals informed us that it hadn't rained in 2 months so it caught up to us. The accommodations and food were excellent. The real problems were the maps that were provided. They need to be more tour specific. When arriving in the destination city, specific directions should be included in finding that hotel. We spent too much time looking for our hotel for the evening. Also the written instructions are a translation from the German guide. In some cases the instructions didn't match what we saw on the ground or what the sign posts indicated. In general, the people that we dealt with in the States and Italy were great. I only wish that we would have taken a day break some where in the middle(Trieste?) to refresh and recuperate. We didn't know we could do it. I highly recommend this before heading into Croatia.

    What was the date of your tour?
    14-21 Sept. 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Italy, Slovenia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Castles and Wines of Portugal
    (4/5) Reigh Walling November 8, 2022

    A rich historical past and a vibrant and diverse present. That's Portugal.

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    If you told most people that you were going to cycle Portugal, they would only think of Lisbon. Well, that is a beautiful city, but an hour's train ride took us from coastal topography to a totally different landscape of rolling hills topped with cork trees and vineyards. The tour was a nice mix of ancient walled cities and rural rolling roads. Cows graze amid the monoliths. Sheep browse for grass under the olive trees, each wearing a tiny tinkle bell around its neck -- their movement producing a melodious windchime symphony. Accommodations ranged from a rustic farmhouse to an actual palace, and the route and attributes of the tour also bridged history and modern culture. But it's Portugal's people who are the real stars of the tour. And of course, the food.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Camino de Santiago: A Pilgrim’s Route
    (4/5) Rich Wilkin 7 months ago

    Which way to Santiago

    · Camino de Santiago: A Pilgrim’s Route From Astorga to Santiago

    E-bikes review
    3 of the 4 bikes were great, they had13.5 ah batteries. They gave me a different larger bike that had a 11ah battery. Out of the 6 days , ran out of battery power 4 days. Trying to pedal uphill on a dead battery on a E-battery was very difficult and delayed us everyday. Not good, we need compensated for faulty eqyuipment. The other 3 batteries, barely had enough power to last throughout the day. We had to charge at lunch the one 11ah battery and still did not last. Either need larger batteries

    Had one flat tire. The tread on this front tire had no tread at all. When we replaced , found that the tube had a repair patch that blew out.

    The one white bike had missing chain guard. My right pant leg got all grease marks
    Which has to be trashed and thrown away

    Hotel review -

    All hotels were excellent, good rooms, good breakfast, great service. Thank you

    Customer service review

    We had one person who got hurt on a bike crash the second day and could not continue to bike. Venessa at customer service was excellent in coordinating and getting her to next stop for rest of tour

    Other concerns -

    We got a gps unit, was useless, did not help one bit, not worth renting
    We used phone directions when we got off track

    As directions on flip chart several days got us off track and added many miles to the day. Suggestions to add more landmarks to turns

    Will definitely use Biketours.com again
    This was first time users, and kinda know now what toexpect

    Thank you Rich, Rosemay, Lisa, Francine

    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Alsace Wine Country
    (4/5) ozfamily September 20, 2017

    Beautiful Trip Needs Logistics Tweaks

    · Alsace Wine Country

    The positive: The route after the first day is spectacular - beautiful canals, villages, vineyards. Accommodations mostly fine, but see the needs improvement section. We especially liked the hotel in Sermersheim - tiny town but lovely place to stay. Bikes were great.
    Needs Improvement: The first day out of Strasbourg is mostly a wasted day. Even the person who gave us our orientation the first day said there is really nothing to see this first day. Coupled with the fact that it is a hellacious route to get out of Strasbourg - very complicated and not well explained by the guide or by the instructions given to us, I would have started the tour on day two (save for the accommodations that first night). Also, the instructions are not always accurate. Sometimes they said we could eat lunch in certain towns, but there were not places available, based on day of the week closures. It would be helpful to note towns where train stations are available in case someone is sick or injured.... I would not have people stay in Barr - there was absolutely nothing to do and most places to eat were closed.

    What was the date of your tour?
    9/15/17
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 2/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Mosel and Saar
    (4/5) Shmil July 6, 2019
    · · Mosel & Saar by Bike & Boat

    What was the date of your tour?
    22.06
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Mosel Bike Path
    (4/5) Bayer55 October 27, 2019

    Vineyards, vineyards, vineyards!!

    · Mosel Bike Path: Dreamy Mosel Valley from Trier to Koblenz

    Great tour for independent traveler. Well marked, easy riding, great maps and assistance if needed. First day was a bit long at 40 miles. Would have liked to have done tour in 5-6 days, to take in more sights and relax a bit more. But we are not seasoned bicyclists, so took a bit longer to travel the route.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 14-18
    How many tours have you completed?
    4 (but last one was 4 yrs ago)
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Romantic Road from Würzburg to Donauwörth
    (4/5) Jenn September 19, 2017

    An all round good time!

    · Romantic Road from Würzburg to Donauwörth

    A great way to experience the romantic road - would highly recommend cycling as you get to see so many small towns and villages you would otherwise miss. The people are incredibly friendly and the food is excellent.

    Once we got a hang of the directions, we did not get lost. It just took us a day to adjust. Some of the English translation was a bit unclear! One day took us on a long (planned) detour through lots of forest and agriculture - we actually would have preferred the direct route to have more time to explore the amazing towns we were staying in. So it would have been nice to know the options.

    We LOVED the nightwatchman tour in Rothenburg, and our other favourite towns were Wurzburg and Wertheim.

    Four out of six hotels were superb - clean, friendly staff, great breakfast. The only two hotels that weren't great were in Bad Mergentheim (generally the town was very quiet and lacked atmosphere compared with other places) and the final hotel in Donauworth. It was a conference hotel on the side of a very steep hill and across the highway from town, making it really difficult to explore the town centre and not close to any cafes, pubs or restaurants that we were hoping to enjoy on our last day.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 4-10
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Best of Northern Zealand
    (4/5) Bruce Kozarsky 9 months ago

    Terrific trip under unexpected circumstances

    · Best of Northern Zealand

    One week before our trip was to start, something happened that made it impossible for my wife to bike. The tour was non-refundable at that point, and while we had purchased travel insurance, we weren't sure what they would cover. So we went ahead anyway and in retrospect, we're glad we did. Thanks to Denmark's remarkable rail network, it was very easy (and cheap) to go from hotel to hotel via train. We decided that I would bike for two of the five days and the local tour operator, Ruby Rejser, was wonderfully accommodating, delivering my bike at the start of my two biking days and picking it up at the end. Whether riding or not, the luggage transfer was seamless. The destinations were great, specially the Louisiana Museum, Helsingor (Elsinor), the day in Helsingborg, Sweden, and the Fredericksborg castle in Hillerod.

    On the two days that I rode, the routes were great, combining seaside vistas with forests, parks, farmland, small towns and castles. Most roads have dedicated bike lanes and the bike trails were great, too.

    My only complaints were two: the bike I rode was OK but not in optimal shape because the gears occasionally slipped, and the Garmin didn't always work properly. Written cue sheets would have served well as a backup but there were none -- just some printed maps. Still, I was able to get where I needed to go with just a few wrong turns and confusing moments. Nothing wrong with a couple of extra miles given the short routes on this tour.

    All the hotels were great except for one (Best Western in Hillerod, though that was still fine). And the breakfasts were great.

    Overall, we had a great time and I want to give a special shout-out to the Ruby Rejser representative in charge of the tour who was exceptionally flexible and accommodating to our unusual circumstances.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Denmark
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Lake Constance Classic
    (4/5) LindaF September 5, 2018

    Great biking trip sound Lake Konstanz!

    · Lake Constance Classic (11-nights)

    This self-guided trip was perfect for our group of 13 riders. Quality equipment made for a hassle-free week. Most hotels were very accommodating. I recommend you only use hotels that are willing to supply fans for those hot summer nights.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 24 - August 4, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Best of Slovenia
    (4/5) hhhh October 19, 2016

    Slovenia,,Wonderful Country

    · Best of Slovenia: Highlights Across the Country From Bled to Piran

    Good bikes, maps, reliable drivers, everything we needed...well organized..overall very good, mostly nice hotels a very good value
    two exceptions...
    1 we paid for the A hotels and 2 hotels were particularly bad...
    Vila Andor and M Hotel in lbjuana.
    2 do not get the meal package..they often gave us special menus with lower end meals....you are best just to use restaurants and meals of your choice

    What was the date of your tour?
    october
    How many tours have you completed?
    20
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Slovenia
    • 5/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (4/5) JannieB September 19, 2017

    Great family trip

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    A wonderful adventure for us with our adult children. Beautiful scenery, awesome food, nice people!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 13-19,2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • Photo 1 (photo by JannieB)
    • Photo 2 (photo by JannieB)
    • Photo 3 (photo by JannieB)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
  • Munich & the Bavarian Lakes
    (4/5) Amir Zomer November 8, 2022

    Excellent ride with stunning views

    · Munich & the Bavarian Lakes

    The trip was wonderful –
    Stunning views along the way with lakes, mountains, forests and colorful villages.
    We upgraded the bike and were very pleased with their quality and comfort.
    The hotels were adequate for that kind of trip.

    Downside (The reason I gave it only 4 stars):
    - The hotels were not always close to the end of the daily route.
    Some days it was 2-3 Km away and in the worst case it was 20Km away!!
    Just imagine thinking you’re done with your daily route after planning the riding times and then you have to ride additional 20 Km.
    - The maps that we were given were not aligned to our trip – we used the App.
    - The App can be improved – a sound should be added to alert when you’re off the route.
    We sometimes found ourselves out of the route without noticing it because we can’t have our eyes on the screen all the time.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens, Families with young kids
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    •  (photo by Amir Zomer)
    •  (photo by Amir Zomer)
    •  (photo by Amir Zomer)
    •  (photo by Amir Zomer)
    •  (photo by Amir Zomer)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Highlights of the Swiss Rhine
    (4/5) Keith Reyen August 23, 2022

    Very Pleasant Ride From Lake To River

    · Highlights of the Swiss Rhine: Lake Constance to Basel

    This was a very nice and mellow ride from Lake Constance down to Basel. The beginning of the trip in Rohrsarch seemed to be a bit of a compromise, but the finish in Basel with a balcony room on the Rhine, with the summer music festival stage on the river directly below was a spectacular finish to a great trip.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Switzerland
  • Freiburg and the Alsatian Wine Road
    (4/5) Biabattistella September 18, 2017

    A great trip

    · Freiburg and the Alsatian Wine Road

    The trip was great, the landscapes are fantastic, the little villages are very charming, well preserved! What could be better is having gps files for the path. The orientation, sometimes, are not clear and cost some kilometres more!

    What was the date of your tour?
    sept 3 to 10/2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is the second
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Dolomites to Venice
    (4/5) Mickey Shnaiderman 7 months ago

    An almost perfect tour

    · Dolomites to Venice Along the Old Dolomites Railway Track

    A very unusual and exciting way to explore to Dolomites. Riding the bicycle through the those magnificent views was truly astounding.
    The routes were picked correctly both in terms of distance and terrain.
    Also, the provided booklet with the brief information about the routes and food recommendation was great!
    All the hotels were great with excellent service, breakfasts were good and had us full until arrival.
    The bicycles were good too, although we would expect to have some help adjusting them to our sizes. My girlfriend is very short and we had to find a multi-tool to adjust her saddle horizontal position. If we had all the tools supplied, it would be much easier.
    We also had one miscommunication: one of the hotels was changed, so we got the updated list of hotels before the beginning of the tour. Upon arrival, we got all the maps and another list of hotels. This printed list stated that all previous lists were invalid, so we took it for granted. At the second day of riding, which was the longest and the hardest, we arrived exhausted to the wrong hotel, only to realize we have 3 more kilometres to ride to a hotel outside the city. That, in turn, meant that we were left with only one dinner option - in the hotel itself. It was great, though, but quite expensive.
    The navigation was a bit tricky too. The app is a bit primitive, sometimes got stuck, drained a lot of battery when navigating with the screen on (compared to Google Maps that takes much less battery). In one occasion it also got my phone so hot it had to shut down. In some several places the app tried to take us on to non existent roads or onto incoming traffic. It was also unaware of road constructions. Other than that, when getting the hang of this app, it wasn't that bad. We managed to find our way without too much of a hustle.
    A tip to give to other riders next time: Venice has a secured parking spot for bicycles for a 10€ per bicycles. It is essentially a huge locker for the bike. Also, a big shout-out for Anthony, who called us to help finding the return place of the bikes. He also gave us the tip of riding to Venice and then leaving them in the hotel inserted of in the garage.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    •  (photo by Mickey Shnaiderman)
    •  (photo by Mickey Shnaiderman)
    •  (photo by Mickey Shnaiderman)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Rhine Bike Path
    (4/5) MikeSue5052 September 5, 2018

    The Rhine is a very busy river!

    · Rhine Bike Path: Mainz to Cologne

    We were enthralled with the amount of river traffic going in both directions. Barges and river tour boats, constantly plying the wide river. Of course, the historical locations, from castles to churches, are numerous all along the river.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Germany
    • Germania (photo by MikeSue5052)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (4/5) Mick September 18, 2017

    Three Countries, One Lake

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    A relaxing tour with some good cardio the second day getting to the hotel. Plenty of scenery for us photographers and lots of cafes for morning coffee breaks and afternoon beers.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept. 4-10
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • Typical bike path. (photo by Mick)
    • Break time and a beer. (photo by Mick)
    • Crossing the lake (photo by Mick)
    • Canola Fields (photo by Mick)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Majorca
    (4/5) Bill12345 September 18, 2017

    Loop tour mallorca

    · Majorca: A Loop Tour of the Beautiful Balearic Island

    The trip was fantastic, Euro Bike were alway available. The hotels were all 4 star. Every town we stayed in had points of interest. I have done a lot of biking in Europe & would use Euro Bike again. Only thing I would change is the option to be billed in Euros on my visa without a visa sèvice fee, other companies do this.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 10-17
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Lake Garda
    (4/5) Jane Fletcher 7 months ago

    Good trip - lots of orchards and vineyards

    · Innsbruck to Lake Garda Across the Southern Slopes of the Alps

    I enjoyed this trip through the Dolomites but didn’t see as much of the craggy Dolomites as I expected. We were almost always in the flat valley with the mountains along the side of the valley. As we went south the mountains seemed to shrink. I enjoyed the Germanic nature of northern Italy and was very interested to learn more about its history and how Austrian the residents still feel. It didn’t feel like we were in Italy until we arrived in Trento on market day. And then it was almost like a switch flipped and we were in Italy. The architecture as well as the countryside changed and became more Mediterranean influenced. Our ride was generally on bike paths that were very busy with cyclists. Weekends were especially busy but even during the week the paths were busy but it was great to see so many people out riding their bikes. Along the paths we found several bike bars that served drinks and snacks to cyclists and they were perfect places to find a WC. We enjoyed the scenery and marveled at the thousands of acres of apple orchards that we rode through. The hotels were generally fine but the hotel in Riva del Garda was a disappointment. I paid extra for single rooms after a friend had to cancel her trip and this room was a real disappointment, it was more like a cell.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    20+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Italy
    •  (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    •  (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    •  (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    • Apple orchards are grown much differently, straight up skinny trees many of which were heavily laden with fruit (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    • Trento piazza (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    • My single room in Riva del Garda, a disappointment (photo by Jane Fletcher)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection