Bike Tour Reviews  page 4

  • UNESCO Sites of Albania
    (5/5) Bowsermania April 29, 2016

    Don't Wait For Albania To Be "Discovered"

    · UNESCO Sites of Albania

    Don't listen to anyone who would have you believe that Albania is not ready for cycling. I've ridden all over North America, Europe and Asia, and I may have found a new favorite.
    Cycle Albania, the tour operator, is run by Armand and his brother Junid, who I was fortunate enough to have as my guide. He is fluent in (at least) German, Italian, and English, and has encyclopedic knowledge of the very complicated history, culture, politics and religion of this fascinating place. Ever patient with a diverse group of cyclists, Junid ensured we were treated to some of the best meals I've ever had on tour, and overnights were at some of the best and most unique lodging I've ever experienced.
    Beautiful Lake Ohrid, with a side trip to a lovely monastery in Macedonia, then on to spectacular mountain vistas, historic Korce and UNESCO World Heritage city Gjirokaster, on to Butrint, (another World Heritage city), along the beautiful Ionian Sea and the Greek border, and then over the Llogara Pass and down to the confluence of the Ionian and the Adriatic.
    There are some challenging climbs, but plenty of time to conquer them, and the always-available SAG vehicle close (but not too close) behind. And the views from above make them each accomplishments to savor.
    Better than expected roads, with only limited time on rough surfaces, great bikes, respectful drivers, and incredibly friendly locals---what more could you ask for? Oh, yeah, probably the best value for your money anywhere in the world.
    Don't wait for everyone else to experience Albania and tell you about it. Just go!

    How many tours have you completed?
    10+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Albania
    • The view from the hotel at Lake Ohrid (photo by Bowsermania)
    • Beautiful mountain passes...... (photo by Bowsermania)
    • Enver Hoxha, dictator in Albania for 40+ years, built over 700,000 of these to "protect" Albania from invasion. (photo by Bowsermania)
    • Beautiful, historic Gjirokaster, one of the UNESCO World Heritage sites you will visit.... (photo by Bowsermania)
    • Follow the switchbacks to the top.....your tough last day of cycling over the Llogara Pass....you WILL make it! (photo by Bowsermania)
    • Your reward at the end of the ride..... (photo by Bowsermania)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) dana April 30, 2016

    Berlin Mauerweg bike ride

    Bike and Boat with Bob and Jeanette along the Danube from Passau to Budapest to Passau

    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) sandyp May 2, 2016

    Wonderful family vacation!

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    Our self-guided tour lived up to our expectations and provided us with a great family vacation. They tour company did an excellent job of responding to our questions and requests. The countryside was beautiful, the bike ride was the right level of both challenging and gentle hills, and the people we met were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this tour if you want to chill out....

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Best of South Bohemia: Czech Republic to Its Fullest
    (4/5) Prakash May 7, 2016

    Living life in true sense

    · Best of South Bohemia: Czech Republic to Its Fullest

    Hi
    I, along with my friend, had been on ' South of Bohemia' self guided tour last July. It was our first experience of this kind. And it was an absolutely satisfying tour. Few basic points I would like to point out being a first timer-
    When they are saying the difficulty level to ' moderate' they are correct.
    Whatever services they have committed, they have complied with the same.
    Very precise route maps/ guidelines/ photos/ distances had been provided.
    We're always available for any kind of help, in case needed.
    Hotels were absolutely perfect.
    Depending upon the cycling practice/ experience that you have, n to enjoy a little adventure with leisure as well, I would certainly recommend this tour.

    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Czech Republic
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Tuscany and Umbria
    (5/5) dave403 May 8, 2016

    Outstanding route and operator for central Italy - Awesome trip!

    · Tuscany and Umbria: Cycling in the Heart of Italy

    Really excellent self-guided trip run by a first class small operator (Petra and Paulo). Stunning terrain, mostly in Umbria which is quieter and perhaps even more charming than Tuscany. Accommodation was excellent quality and value. Not over-the-top fancy but great. Breakfasts good - usual European-style. Generally on our own for dinners and so many incredible choices - Umbria has first class food and wine. Luggage transfers perfect. Directions provided excellent. Relatively challenging rides which we expected. At the higher end of level 3. Terrain is hilly (and gorgeous) which isn't an issue where roads are switch-backed. Tougher when they're not but we managed fine. Best to be in decent shape. We're 60 and in good fitness. Winter training via spin classes helpful. Would be more challenging on hybrids - we upgraded to road bikes and were happy we did, riding with our own shoes and clips. Took an extra day in Orvieto which helped give a recovery day and was very interesting/worthwhile. Lots of history and art along the way. Great trip! Highly recommend this operator and this trip.

    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Bike Path
    (5/5) Rider May 9, 2016

    First Bike Tour

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    This was our first bike tour (September 2015) and I went with my wife and 27 year old son. The route was wonderful, and if you are looking for a beginner trip, this one is great (my son, a more experienced biker, felt it was not challenging enough). We have since take another, more challenging tour, and can see how accommodating the Danube route is.
    The route is mostly flat, on dedicated bike trails and very well marked. Your only basic decision each day is which side of the river to ride on. The information provided by the tour company was excellent and we never got lost. The weather was also very good (it only rained one afternoon) which also contributed to the enjoyment. Although they varied in quality, the accommodations were basically very good. I really enjoyed seeing the country on a bike tour. We did cut the last day short, and rather than cycle into Vienna, we took a train. Another group started and rode the same route as us, cycled into Vienna and based on what we heard from them, we made the right choice. We spend a couple of days in Munich at the beginning and a couple of days in Vienna at the end, which were both wonderful cities. All in all, highly recommended especially if you are looking for an introduction to bike touring.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, Families with young kids, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Kate May 9, 2016

    A great trip with lots of memories

    · Danube Bike Path 7 Nights (Classic)

    My husband, two teenage grandsons and I did this trip. It was marvelous. The beautiful Austrian towns were so bike friendly. We are not fast bikers, so we did feel like some parts we did not have time to explore adequately. It would have been nice to stay some place more than one night. We took the deluxe tour version and the hotels were fabulous. Would absolutely recommend this trip for anyone, but especially families.

    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) pavel May 12, 2016

    Hamburg to Dresden biking

    Bike and Boat with Bob and Jeanette along the Danube from Passau to Budapest to Passau

    It was an enjoyable ride, mostly along the river Elbe. The route description package which I was given, was very helpful and detailed. I would have loved if you could upload the entire route on one of the bike apps (ridewithgps, strava, etc.) as it is sometimes easier to navigate with that, and keep track of the distance.
    My only bad experience on the day on which I was reaching Dessau to Torgau. I had to stop a couple of times on my way for food, etc. and was lost once for taking a wrong turn. On top of that, my phone battery was dead. Combining all these, I reached quite late, a little after 10pm I believe, at my destination hotel. There was not greeted very nicely, as if it was an intentional delay on my side. The lady at the reception of the hotel made me talk with one of the representatives of biketours on phone. Although, she was very polite, but she too gave me an impression that I was completely at fault for the delay. As this kind of delays are not predictable, and can be unavoidable at times, I would recommend that the hotels which are being reserved are notified about this, and only those hotels are confirmed which are okay with this.

    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    • 4/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Castles and Wines of Portugal
    (5/5) Whatever May 15, 2016

    Castles and wines

    · Castles and Wines of Portugal

    The company Turaventur was one of the best that we have worked with anywhere. The bicycles we rented were excellent with front suspension and a suspension seat post they were perfectly suited to the varied terrain (dirt roads, asphalt, lots of cobblestone) we covered. I also appreciated the female specific gel seat. The routes they chose were really beautiful countryside, small towns and directions were well written and easy to follow. Their support was outstanding, they were available by text, email or phone seven days a week and were always very responsive The castles we visited were just phenomenal and though it was hard to believe after one gorgeous site after another, they just kept getting better! I was only able to do one of the wine tastings and enjoyed it a lot. my suggestion is to be sure to sign up earlly as they seem to fill up ahead of time.

    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Lake Constance Bike Path
    (5/5) Wiederholen May 19, 2016

    Great Trip in a Beautiful Part of the World

    · Lake Constance Bicycle Path

    The Bodensee cycle path trip was a winner from the start. We went in September when the weather was still nice and the crowds had thinned. After flying into Zurich, Konstanz was very easy to get to by train, and the ABC Hotel there was great, as was the scenery and food around town. We went to the bike shop to pick up our equipment (although they would gladly deliver to the hotel) and met some nice people who mapped out a riverfront route back to the hotel for us. The bikes were perfect and the cycling each day was very easygoing, allowing us ample time to explore (and eat and drink). Pro tip: check the schedule for the ferry from Insel Reichenau to Allensbach in advance - we just missed the 10:00 sailing on our first day, and as the next ferry didn't go until 13:00 we chose to cycle back on the causeway rather than wait three hours for the boat. Not a problem, it just added several miles to the trip on to Stein am Rhein. One of our favorite stops was in Überlingen, which we arrived in via ferry from Wallhausen. The hotel location along the lake was fantastic, and we had fun stopping for drinks along the promenade. I agree with another reviewer that the marina hotel near Kressbronn was out of character with the rest of the journey, but it was a nice, clean, modern hotel with great food and easy access to the lake and I won't downvote the trip because of it. The variety of the hotels we stayed at along this trip was actually one of the positives. Our side trip to the Bronze Age stilt houses (Pfahlbauten Unteruhldingen) was very interesting and worth the stop. The Altstadt and harbor in Lindau are beautiful, and while we were slightly lost for a bit the people in the tourist office were incredibly helpful in getting us back onto the cycle path. In Bregenz, Austria we rode the cable car (Pfänderbahn) to the mountaintop for lunch and, even though it was an overcast day, still had some great views of the lake below, even if the Alps were obscured. Crossing the Rhein back into Switzerland brought us many miles of cycling right along the beautiful south shore of the Bodensee (highly recommend a lunch stop on the lakeshore patio at The Pier in Uttwil). Crossing the border back into Konstanz was slightly confusing, but part of the fun of these trips is finding your way. It was nice to get back to Konstanz and spend some more time exploring that town.

    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, Families with young kids, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • Wine tasting in Überlingen (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Sunset over the Bodensee (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Visit to the Bronze Age Pfahlbauten (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Navigating the Altstadt in Lindau (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Taking a break on Insel Reichenau (photo by Wiederholen)
    • Beautiful architecture in Konstanz (photo by Wiederholen)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Lindsay Nash May 20, 2016

      Such a helpful and detailed review. Thank you for sharing!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Lake Constance Classic
    (5/5) MarcieB May 19, 2016

    Alles Gute zum Bodensee! Fabulous trip around Lake Constance!

    · Lake Constance Classic (11-nights)

    One of our best self-guided bike tours, ever! Signage was prominently displayed, directions and highlights "worth a stop," equipment top notch and best of all, the regional food, friendly people and amazing sights made this trip highly memorable. I might add we are 70-somethings and found the designated bike paths a wonderful way to experience the many faces (German, Swiss and Austrian) of the Bodensee. The museum pass was truly a wonderful "bonus" experience . . . so many beautiful gardens (Reichenau, Mainau), museums (Hermann Hesse, Otto Dix, Zeppelin, Prehistoric stilt houses, etc), monasteries, churches and castles! We would do this trip again, just to experience more adventures through vineyards, apple orchards and varied cultures.

    How many tours have you completed?
    This was Biketours.com tour #6!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, Families with young kids, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany, Switzerland
    • Rhein Fall . . . the boat ride to the base of the falls is a "must do." (photo by MarcieB)
    • Painted facades are a common feature of the medieval town at Stein am Rhein. (photo by MarcieB)
    • Regional specialties and local brews were what we looked forward to every evening! (photo by MarcieB)
    • Peacock floral bed on Mainau Island . . . we were lucky enough to witness a wedding on the grounds of the Bernadotte family castle while there. (photo by MarcieB)
    • Appenzeller Horn players greeted us as we left Bregenz, Austria. There was a "Bio-fest" in progress that featured all kinds of "green" products. (photo by MarcieB)
    • Stopping to appreciate the apples, that produce the fruit, that make the best Äpfelstrüdel! (photo by MarcieB)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Innsbruck to Salzburg
    (5/5) Lgoeller May 19, 2016

    First Bike Tour

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    My husband really prepared for this trip, and I was glad he did. Biking is the only way to go if you want to experience every second of your adventure. We both like to participate, so we thought touring in a car was not a good option. The things you see, people you meet, and experiences you have are great! Be prepared for rain and thankful when it does not. The directions were good, but the English version was not always correct. If you are worried that you won't be able to make it on a bicycle, rent an e-bike!

    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Jannykae May 19, 2016

    Unbelievably fabulous!

    · Innsbruck to Salzburg: Through the Alps Along River Cycle Trails

    We were surprised at how lovely the week long trip was for us a first time bike vacationers. It had just the right amount of challenge and comfort combined. The weather was lovely and the landscape perfect for this kind of biking.

    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Danube Family Tour
    (1/5) Mama May 22, 2016

    Danube family bike tour???

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    This trip did not turn out to be anything like we expected. Although the hotels and the scenery were beautiful the support from The Bike Company was useless. When a child with a temp of 104 needed a hospital they had no suggestions on where to go or how to get there. The maps they provided were useless and the directions given to us on the first night we're completed in about 20 minutes. The bikes were inconsistent some had water bottle holders some not. The day at the spa although nice contain total nudity. American children aren't used to that. The Farm Hotel turned out to be 3 goats. The bike ride into Venice was four miles of City biking. bike trails in Vienna are gorgeous but not particularly child friendly. The Danube bike paths all though lovely contained many areas where the speed limit was 70 kilometers an hour. We had seven and 10 year old children riding.The bike support was not given by the tour company but by another tour company. Support really meant they just transported our luggage. This would have been a beautiful ride for adults and teenagers. Not young children. the maps need to be completely redone.

    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Lindsay May 23, 2016

      Hi Sharon, thanks very much for your feedback. We're requesting a response and feedback from the local tour operator and will be following back up with another comment very shortly. - Lindsay

      ---

      Hi Sharon,

      We're very sorry to hear that this tour did not meet your expectations. We try our best to educate travelers on what to expect, especially with self-guided tours. Please accept our apologies if you did not find the information sufficient on this tour page and in the materials provided during correspondence with our staff and with the tour company during your tour.

      We chatted with the local tour operator regarding your comments about their service. While they regret that you were dissatisfied with the overall experience, they did provide the level of support detailed in the ""Included Services"" for this tour package. They also noted that they organized a taxi to transport your bikes on the rainy day for no additional charge (which is typically not included on self-guided tours). It sounds as though you may most enjoy a private guided tour for your next trip, which would include your own private support vehicle and guide.

      The Danube Bike Path is consistently rated one of the best bike paths in Europe for its safety, ease, and family-friendliness, and we've confidently recommended it to families for more than ten years based on the great comments and stories we've always heard from past clients, as well as our own experiences. We're sorry this was not your experience, and we hope to have the opportunity to help you organize another trip in the future that's a better fit for your family.

      A note to travelers considering this tour in the future: please be sure to review this page with general information on self-guided tours (https://www.biketours.com/self-guided-bike-tours/) and this page on what to expect on a typical day on a self-guided tour (https://www.biketours.com/typical-day). Also carefully review the ""Included Services"" section on this tour page to familiarize yourself with the level of service you should expect when booking this tour.

    • 1/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Provence’s History, Landscapes, and Luberon National Park
    (5/5) DaveL May 23, 2016

    France Provence bike tour with Chain Gang

    · Provence’s History, Landscapes, and Luberon National Park

    This was an amazing way to experience southern France, Provence. The tour company, tour guides, scenery, food were all great!

    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Danube Family Tour
    (5/5) Pam P May 24, 2016

    Amazing experience

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    We traveled on this self guided tour with our 10 and 12 year old daughters. We were very impressed with the organization of this trip. The maps were excellent. The trails were scenic, well marked and flat. I highly recommend this trip.

    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, Families with young kids, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) TannisR May 24, 2016

    Fabulous Family Experience!

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    If you are looking for a family adventure that you will remember for the rest of your life, this tour is for you! Our family had a truly enjoyable experience on the Danube family bike tour. It was a unique family holiday where we all worked together as a team - cycling along the Austrian countryside - to reach our destination. The scenery was breathtaking! The hotels were good to very good (what we expected). The pre tour arrangements, communication and maps provided were excellent. The bike service was excellent and assistance was provided promptly for the few challenges we had.

    We are a family of 5 with kids aged 13, 11, and 8. The cycling, coupled with the heat (up to 28-30C most days) was a big challenge for our 8 year old but she did it and is very proud of herself. We had planned to get her a trail bike - to go behind my husband's bike - but it did not work out. The trail bike provided for her was tipping over when she was on it - attached to the adult bike. Maybe it was because the equipment was not good, maybe she was too big for it? That hiccup set us back 2 hours on our first morning which was frustrating. By 10:30 a.m. we were on our way, each of us on our own bike. The tour company linked us up with a bike shop that gladly swapped our trail bike for a 'real bike' for my daughter. Overall, the equipment provided was of excellent quality. The bikes were simple, but that's all we needed with the non-hilly paved terrain. We did not 'train' for our tour. Bring cycling shorts (padded) and gloves to help prevent chaffing. We used ours every day.

    Another challenge was map reading. We were given detailed map books of roads and cycle trails. They were excellent maps. But in this digital age, we are used to using Google Maps to tell us how to get to our destination. It was sometimes a frustrating challenge to read the maps correctly.

    The bike route we took was mostly along either dedicated bike paths along the Danube, or on country roads with little traffic. There were just a few areas where we needed to bike along a major road. In studying the map carefully, we chose to take the routes with less busy roads. One side of the river tended to have busy traffic roads and the other did not. The map was colour coded accordingly as to the type of path/road/country road. There were not many hills at all.

    The hotels were all good. Some were more simple than others. We were not on this vacation for a luxury experience. We were worried that, being a family of 5, the hotels would squish us into one small room. On the contrary, we usually had two rooms or a suite, which was fabulous. The 'spa hotel' where we stayed for 2 nights mid-tour was nice. The pool was welcome, since the weather was quite warm. It was a true European experience when we saw two naked senior citizens enter the pool. At first, my family was shocked (being from modest Canada), but then, two of our kids jumped in naked as well (after the seniors left). When in Rome...  SHOW MORE 

    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • Melk Abbey - worth the side trip! (photo by TannisR)
    • Typical country road. (photo by TannisR)
    • We made it to Vienna! (photo by TannisR)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Egeny May 26, 2016

    It was unforgettable tour!

    · Danube Family Tour 7 Nights

    It was unforgettable tour!
    It is the perfect way for a first family tour by bikes. We are family (parents and 12 years old son). We have had tour the last summer. Everything was great: accommodation, meals, information materials, supporting.... Thank you very much to the Bike Tour.com. This summer we are going to book new tour via Bike Tour.com!

    What was the date of your tour?
    last summer
    How many tours have you completed?
    it was first time
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Germany
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection