Spain  Bike Tour Reviews (page 8)

  • Medieval Villages of Catalonia
    (5/5) Michael Golenberke 8 months ago

    Spain Was Wonderful!

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    Our first trip to Spain was fantastic. This was not our first bike tour we were much better prepared. We had some difficulty navigating the Barcelona airport and train station to get to Girona. Once we arrived however, all was absolutely beautiful. I cannot give enough praise to Daniel. His briefing, preparation of the bikes and tips on stops along the various routes was excellent. He was a joy to work with. The only comment was to possibly reconsider staying one night in Monells instead of two. Monells is a very charming village but very small and limited sites to see. Otherwise, I would not change a thing! You will not be disappointed.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Lynn Melin 8 months ago

    Good trip!

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    A nice combination of biking and opportunities to experience medieval Catalonian history.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
  • Best of Catalonia Cycle Touring
    (5/5) Anne Stanek 8 months ago

    Second time on this trip and it was well worth a second visit!

    · Best of Catalonia Cycle Touring

    This trip is extremely well organized, with lovely hotels, great breakfasts and so much variety in the bike routes. Although it has some challenging uphills, a lot of it is down hill, which is great fun. There is so much scenic beauty - going from the Pyrenees down to the Mediterranean Coast. It was really nice to stay in the same hotel two separate times (one right on the Mediterranean and another next to a castle) but still do loop rides which were fun. We found Daniel, owner of Creative Catalonia, was a most personable and easy going guy. We had a problem with a bike and within two hours (during which time we enjoyed one of the many superb lunches we had along the way) he had arrived where we were and fixed the bike. This is still one of my most favorite rides out of the ten tours that we have done over the years.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • Platja D'Aro from S'Agora Hotel (photo by Anne Stanek)
    • Our second day of riding - Pyrenees are behind us as we coast down towards the Mediterranean! (photo by Anne Stanek)
    • Followed the Via Verde much of the way - an extremely well maintained rail trail. (photo by Anne Stanek)
    • A medieval castle town on a hill as seen between olive trees. (photo by Anne Stanek)
    • The Mediterranean! (photo by Anne Stanek)
    • View from Far de Sebastian over LLafranc, where we spent two nights. (photo by Anne Stanek)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Bike to the best of Bilbao
    (5/5) neal copperman 8 months ago

    Great history and personal insights

    · Bilbao Central Bike Tour

    I ended up being on a solo tour, which was a real treat. My guide Willie was friendly and knowledgeable. He grew up in Bilbao and saw a lot of the changes of the last few decades. Was interesting hearing his childhood remembrances and enjoying his clear love of the town. I just wish I had managed to do this as my first activity in Bilbao!

  • Medieval walls, magnificent markets, and picture-perfect plazas
    (5/5) Noël 8 months ago

    Fantastic way to get an overview of Valencia

    · Valencia Highlights Bike Tour

    Perfect way to see Valencia… safe & informative tour!
    Our guide Christopher was excellent.He was so
    friendly & shared his love of Valencia
    We would definitely recommend this tour company.

  • (4/5) robert philippe 7 months ago

    Trip the lite fantastic

    · Gaudi’s Barcelona E-Bike Tour

    Biking is the best way to visit any city and Barcelona is very bike friendly. E-bikes are the future, as I say” people who walk must not know how to ride and if you don’t ride an e-bike you are only getting half the fun”

    •  (photo by robert philippe)
  • Get inspired by Gaudí
    (5/5) Tara Layton 7 months ago

    Wonderful tour filled with history

    · Gaudi’s Barcelona E-Bike Tour

    Elisa was the perfect guide! Kind, funny and knowledgeable. This was the perfect way to start our exploration of this beautiful city. Thank you Elisa.

  • (4/5) robert philippe 7 months ago

    Good way to spend 3 hours

    · Valencia Highlights Bike Tour

    Very busy place and many different tours converge at the sites. Might have been better as a private tour or maybe just rent a bike.

    •  (photo by robert philippe)
  • Medieval walls, magnificent markets, and picture-perfect plazas
    (4/5) robert philippe 7 months ago

    Ebike your was mixed success

    · Valencia Highlights Bike Tour

    Signed up for ebike tour but slowed down by large family not on e-bikes. Waste of money to book e-bikes.

    •  (photo by robert philippe)
  • Andalusia: Southern Spain
    (5/5) David Princep 7 months ago

    Great trip, excellent accommodation.

    · Andalusia: Southern Spain

    Challenging trip, but excellent value for money and quality of accommodation was best we'veexperienced in over 10 years of cycling holidays. Recommend book extra nights - Seville, Carmona, Arcos. Jerez & Cadiz all suitable. If returning to Seville etc by train book early as even in November trains were very busy. Good scenery on days 4 & 5.

    What was the date of your tour?
    November 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    25+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
  • Granada, White Villages and Costa del Sol
    (5/5) James Watson 7 months ago

    Granada to Marbella

    · Granada, White Villages and Costa del Sol

    Excellent trip
    Beautiful scenery
    Great towns to visit

    The last day from Ronda to Marbella is only for experienced cyclers comfortable with decending on a mountain road with traffic

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct. 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Get inspired by Gaudí
    (5/5) David Reese 2 months ago

    A Barcelona Bike Tour Delight

    · Gaudi’s Barcelona E-Bike Tour

    What a perfect find on biketours.com for a day of e-biking thru Barcelona. Our wonderful local Catalan tour guide, Edna, took us on a wonderful tour thru the old district to the beaches to the guadi city cites. Along the way stopped at many places learning a bit of history. It was a great tour for us and we highly recommend this tour.

    • Casa Mila by Gaudi (photo by David Reese)
  • Best of Catalonia Cycle Touring
    (5/5) Vijay DSouza 1 month ago

    Beautiful and fun experience

    · Best of Catalonia Cycle Touring

    This trip surpassed our expectations. The scenery was beautiful. The food was delicious and the hotels were really unique places with character. Most of the trip is on paths and gravel or dirt roads, so you and your bike will get dusty. Also you should try to eat between 1 and 4, as small towns may not have anything open outside those hours. Logistics were great and it was nice to be provided a GPS so we didn't have to use our own phones. Definitely would recommend this to anyone. If you are not a strong cyclist there's a few spots where you might want an e bike or else will be walking, but generally it's a pretty easy ride. Daniel from the tour company was very responsive via WhatsApp to us.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Medieval Villages of Catalonia
    (5/5) Sue Larson 4 weeks ago

    Fabulous Way t Experience Beautiful Catalonia

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    This tour was a magical way to see the sights and sounds of beautiful Catalonia. The bikes were of a superior quality and shifted easily - which was a good thing because there was a lot of shifting involved along the way. The accommodations were top-notch and the GPS perfectly directed us along the way. Daniel was an exceptional vendor and his positive nature and encouragement were welcome and valued. He checked-in during the tour to make sure that all was well. This trip was a dream come true and comes highly recommended!

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    •  (photo by Sue Larson)
    •  (photo by Sue Larson)
    •  (photo by Sue Larson)
    •  (photo by Sue Larson)
    •  (photo by Sue Larson)
    •  (photo by Sue Larson)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • From the summit to the sand
    (2/5) Molly Troop 3 weeks ago

    Must be an expert

    · San Sebastian E-MTB Tour

    1. The guide really didn't provide much information about San sebastian which I thought we would get some history about the area or basque culture
    2. The guide brought a friend and neither of them wanted to accommodate my entry experience. I had researched the biking area and knew there were paved roads to go up if I thought the off reading was too much but they continued to push what they wanted to do, not what I was comfortable with
    3. The guide did no introduction to our bikes. There was zero instruction given on how to use the electric nor a review on any part of the bike
    4. Only take this tour if you are a very experienced mountain biker and only want to mountain bike.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
    • 2/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Medieval Villages of Catalonia
    (5/5) Ronald Sawyer 2 weeks ago

    Beautiful countryside, impressive historical sights (and sites)

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    Daniel and his crew were perfection when it came to organizing and helping with our self guided tour. Bicycling terrain and level exactly as promised.

    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
  • Camino de Santiago
    (5/5) Spencer Gold 2 weeks ago

    Incredible variety and breathtaking views

    · Camino de Santiago: From Porto to Santiago de Compostela

    This trip follows the Camino trail from Porto to Santiago de Compostella which is a heavily trafficked by pilgrims, most of whom are walking. It was delightful to share the trail with them in May since it wasn't very busy or crowded yet. The trail itself is incredibly varied; it changes every 5 minutes and covers just about every terrain type you can think of including pavement, cobblestones of every size, gravel, packed dirt, single-track dirt, unridable rocks/boulders and tree-stumps (you have to walk your bike on those parts), mud, sand, boardwalks and sidewalks. It's very well marked and almost impossible to get lost, especially with the GPS device they give you (which is fantastic). There is quite a bit of climbing, so be prepared for that. Don't even think about using anything but a mountain bike on this trip. The cities and towns you go through are so beautiful, and the food was fantastic. The trail follows the coast for much of the distance, which is lovely. We got the 5-star hotel package. Only one of the hotels was a true 5-star hotel, but the others were 4-stars, and they were all pretty good. Not every town has a 5-star hotel nearby, of course. We're in our low- to mid-50s and found the trail manageable and fun the entire time, even when it rained.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May, 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Portugal, Spain
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • From the summit to the sand
    (5/5) Jamie Webb 1 week ago

    Amazing e-mountain bike tour with Matteo around San Seb!

    · San Sebastian E-MTB Tour

    Matteo made us feel instantly welcome and then took us on an amazing e mountain bike tour around San Seb. He ensured we were all very comfortable on the bikes and the routes we took were simply breathtaking! The bikes were great and the information he provided as went was really interesting!

    The snack and drink at the pub in the mountain was incredible.

    He was an absolute gentlemen and it was a highlight of our weekend! Can thoroughly recommend this company as it was amazing!!

    •  (photo by Jamie Webb)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from bozena_kusovac May 20, 2024

      Thank you for your wonderful review! That photo you took is fantastic—the scenery is breathtaking. We're thrilled to hear that Matteo made you feel welcome and that you enjoyed the e-mountain bike tour around San Sebastián. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we hope to see you again soon!

  • Medieval Villages of Catalonia
    (5/5) Colleen Petters 1 week ago

    Biking, Sea, Art, Wine!

    · Medieval Villages of Catalonia

    This bike trip included so many of the things we love: touring on two wheels, ancient historic towns, wine, Spanish food and art of the region.
    We self-guided using the excellent map and GPS provided which helped facilitate fun side trips and stops, then returning to the established routes. Navigation was easy for all, even the one among us who is directionally challenged!
    The hotels each had great character, charm and comforts, and we enjoyed the two 2-night stay overs where day trips were planned.
    The Spanish individuals we met were friendly and welcoming. Using our basic tourist level Spanish helped us be polite and friendly in return.
    The countryside scenery, small towns and roads/trails were great! Food and wine throughout this Catalonia region were excellent and fair priced.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Spain
    • Day 1 outside Girona, lunch stop of  fresh fish and cold  beer! (photo by Colleen Petters)
    • Morning saddle up in Monells. (photo by Colleen Petters)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection