Italy  Bike Tour Reviews (page 3)

  • Florence to Rome
    (5/5) Timr October 18, 2016

    Fascinating Rides Through Medieval Towns and Beautiful Countryside

    · Florence to Rome

    Every day the itinerary took us to multiple medieval cities with storybook characteristics and fascinating histories. Accommodations were very good. Navigation (self guided) was reasonably easy, with thousands of stickers on signposts to help confirm the written instructions. Bikes provided were good, sturdy touring bikes without problems. All went smoothly for a wonderful tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • A Taste of Italy
    (2/5) kirbymom October 19, 2016

    Great Effort but we were frequently lost

    · A Taste of Italy: Emilia-Romagna

    We had titanium bikes and a very intro. Unfortunately we were lost so often that instead of enjoying time at q location, we were biking around asking locals and using our compass. I think Bike Tour tried too hard to use route with less traffic or a bicycle trail. This made it very hard to get in and out of cities. We had both a bike gps with the routes inputted and the written instructions. Just give us the most direct route out of the cities.
    The hotels were nice and mostly well located. Sometimes they weren't well located like the one on the farm. We very much enjoyed the cooking class, the visit to the balsamic vinegar producer, and the gelato machine making -- that ws great. Also the dinners and breakfasts were very good to excellent.
    I would recommend this tour IF the routes were adjusted and the visit to the farm was eliminated

    What was the date of your tour?
    10-4-16
    How many tours have you completed?
    thousands of miles w/o guides
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Lindsay Nash October 20, 2016

      Hi, thanks very much for sharing your experience! We're so glad to hear that the cooking class, hotels, and food experience on this tour was wonderful. However, we're sorry to hear of your problems with the directions and route. We'll share your feedback with the local tour operator and work together to make sure this experience is improved. Thank you again for your review and for helping us share in the joy of bicycle touring!
      Kind regards,
      Lindsay

    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Umbria Road Cycling
    (5/5) Jarusha October 20, 2016

    PERFECT 7 DAY TRIP THROUGH UMBRIA

    · Umbria Road Cycling: Loop Tour Through Lush and Scenic Landscape

    BEST WAY TO EXPLORE A COUNTRY!
    SUCH a wonderful trip!
    My husband and just finished a 7 day road bike trip through Umbria and it was fantastic! BikeTours.com hooked us up with the most wonderful local bike tour company (Ecologico Tours) and we loved it! Everything from Paolo delivering and setting our bikes up for us, the the beautiful side roads we cycled on, to the gorgeous hotels every night - all fantastic! We were even well taken care of when we accidentally left our passports at a hotel and had to call Petra for help. I can't say enough good things about our trip with BikeTours.com and Ecologico Tours and will not only recommend them to friends but we are already planning another trip with them :)
    Thank you so much!

    Jarusha + Colin

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 29- Oct 6, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    this was my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • On top of a beautiful climb in Umbria! (photo by Jarusha)
    • Relaxing after a day of riding! (photo by Jarusha)
    • One of many water refills in a little medieval village (photo by Jarusha)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Venice to Trieste & Istria
    (4/5) kiki1970 October 21, 2016
    · Venice to Trieste and Istria

    The overall experience on this bike trip was good. The rain that occurred on 4 of the 7 days of the trip was unexpected. The locals informed us that it hadn't rained in 2 months so it caught up to us. The accommodations and food were excellent. The real problems were the maps that were provided. They need to be more tour specific. When arriving in the destination city, specific directions should be included in finding that hotel. We spent too much time looking for our hotel for the evening. Also the written instructions are a translation from the German guide. In some cases the instructions didn't match what we saw on the ground or what the sign posts indicated. In general, the people that we dealt with in the States and Italy were great. I only wish that we would have taken a day break some where in the middle(Trieste?) to refresh and recuperate. We didn't know we could do it. I highly recommend this before heading into Croatia.

    What was the date of your tour?
    14-21 Sept. 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Croatia, Italy, Slovenia
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Bolzano – Verona – Venice
    (5/5) Marc October 30, 2016

    Very pleasant trip in Italy

    · Bolzano – Verona – Venice

    I had a very great time in this tour, done in solo, in october. The scenery is fabulous, the mountains are wonderful, the roads and paths quiet and well paved. This is an almost always flat itinerary and the two days with an uphill section, there is an alternate route. I'm not used to slope, but I choose the hilly route and there were my favorite days of the trip. The effort was very worth it. Verye great trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    october 8, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Apulia and Basilicata
    (5/5) Sierralover76 January 6, 2017

    Wonderful Adventure of Gorgeous Beaches, Unique History, and Amazing Food

    · Apulia and Basilicata: Alberobello to Lecce

    Our adventure through Puglia was unforgettable! This region offers so much history, culture, and beautiful scenery. Every day of the bike tour is unique and different. It's especially nice to explore this amazing region that I imagine most Americans are not familiar with.

    To begin, the staff at both Biketours.com and Girolibero (the local operator) are outstanding, super helpful, knowledgeable, and very responsive. Everything was smooth and easy.

    Regarding the trip itself, Matera (day one) is just spectacular. Walking through the ancient stassi is a very special experience (we recommend hiring Nadia Garlatti for a guided tour to really get a feel for it (nadiagarlatti@tiscali.it). If you are planning on spending an extra night in either Matera or Lecce, we absolutely recommend you do so in Matera (not Lecce). The hotel is also wonderful, and it's just so special staying in the stassi of Matera.

    One of the best parts about this trip is how you get to experience so much. Literally every day is very different. From the ancient stassi of Matera, to the trulli of Alberobello, the unique history of Otranto, the gorgeous beaches, lovely olive groves, vineyards and fig trees, this trip really covers a lot. Beyond the highlights, you will also visit very charming towns like Locorotondo and Gallipoli.

    The biggest challenge for us was to see and do everything we wanted to do. It may not seem like much to bike 35-45 miles per day, but there is just so much to see and do. Each day was very packed so that we could enjoy the sites along the way, have a great meal in our destination, and have a stroll to explore our destination as much as we could. The nightlife in each bustling town was awesome as well.

    The guidebook offered by Girolibero is very thorough and super informative. Their tips on where to stop and where to eat are spot on. All the restaurants, gelateria, beaches and other specific recommendations were great. In fact, the Pugliese cuisine was the best we had in Italy. Every meal was outstanding (and very reasonably priced). In America, "antipasto" is usually not really memorable. However, do yourself a favor and order the antipasto dishes when dining in Puglia -- for a very affordable price, you get a wonderful assortment of very tasty and unique dishes.

    We could go on raving about this trip. We also need to mention the hotels were great as well (especially San Martino in Matera). And you have a complete and delicious breakfast included every morning.

    Basically, from start to finish, this trip was just perfect. We have no complaints, and look forward to another bike tour in the near future. This was a wonderful way to experience an amazing region of Italy. Grazie!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • Walking the streets of Matera is a magical experience. Make sure to leave extra time for it! (photo by Sierralover76)
    • The stunning Adriatic coastline on the last day. (photo by Sierralover76)
    • Very charming Locorotondo (photo by Sierralover76)
    • The main beach of Gallipoli (photo by Sierralover76)
    • The first beach you reach on your tour, and it's stunning! (photo by Sierralover76)
    • Great nightlife each day, this was the historic center of Ostuni. (photo by Sierralover76)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Umbria’s Green Valleys
    (5/5) Jonathan M March 23, 2017

    Beautiful ride in an interesting part of Italy

    · Umbria’s Green Valleys From the Pilgrimage Town of Assisi

    This tour of Umbria combines delicious food and wine, beautiful scenery, and wonderfully preserved medieval towns like Assisi, Spello, Spoleto, and Bevagna. The tour operators (Petra and Paolo) are very organized and personable. A highlight was the guest house (Country House Casco Dell'acqua) operated by Carla and her brother Luigi. Not to be missed!

    What was the date of your tour?
    March 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • A Taste of Italy
    (4/5) Chloe March 31, 2017

    A Taste of Italy

    · A Taste of Italy: Emilia-Romagna

    What was the date of your tour?
    3/9-3/16
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Florence to Rome
    (3/5) Jeri April 12, 2017

    Lovely spring countryside

    · Florence to Rome

    We did the self-guided version of this tour, and loved cycling through the Umbrian countryside. The routes were well-planned to avoid traffic. Bikes were adequate. Baggage transfer and all such arrangements were handled very well. Trip notes/gps were mostly good with a few glitches, but we were the first riders of the new season, so I would imagine the divergences will soon be cleared up, and we never lost our way. The tour company also uses a system of small trail markers that were very good. What we did not enjoy: the overnights. Towns were generally pretty dead other than touristy things--and not a lot of that. Little along the route days as far as nice places to stop (parks, cafes, or the like) either. Hotels were okay, but nothing special.

    What was the date of your tour?
    1-8 April 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Jim Johnson April 13, 2017

      Thanks so much for your feedback. We're sorry you didn't enjoy the towns along the route. I think you're absolutely correct that touring so early in the season played a role in your experience, as the towns, cafes and other settings are quite lively later in the season. We'll note that for advising future clients. I've done the tour and loved it, but it was early September and quite lively.

    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Nancyhj May 15, 2017

    Beautiful ride through three countries

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    The scenery was ravishing, the directions got us where we needed to go, the breakfasts and hotels were delightful. We opted to rent e-bikes which allowed us to keep up with the stronger riders on our group. The main drawback was the lack of directions for getting from the train station in Trieste to our hotel. Not knowing the lay of the land, which streets were apt to be steep or major thoroughfares, it took us 3 times what it should have to get to our hotel. Also Bled is a charming little town, but had we realized it is a major tour bus destination we would not have opted to spend the extra night there.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 5-12, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    • Biking through valleys with snow capped mountains in the distance (photo by Nancyhj)
    • A side trip to Roman Aguntum (photo by Nancyhj)
    • The island in Lake Bled (photo by Nancyhj)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Bolzano to Verona
    (5/5) Lizk May 23, 2017

    An Amazing Trip in Beautiful Italy!

    · Bolzano to Verona: Orchards, Mountains & Timeless Culture

    We loved our bike trip from Bolzano to Verona! The scenery was stunning. We were very happy with the accommodations and the breakfasts!
    We got lost a few times but the GPX helped to know where we missed a turn. Also when we asked the local bikers they said follow me and got us back on track.

    We stopped in many of the small towns to some vino Rossa and lunch including Mezzocorona, Olios, and Borghetta!

    We were amazed how easy it was to take the boat trip and train with the bikes.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 10-16
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • Vineyard on the way to Auer from Bolzano (photo by Lizk)
    • Ice cream on the way to Lake Garda (photo by Lizk)
    • From the boat in Lake Garda (photo by Lizk)
    • Trento Roman Coliseum (photo by Lizk)
    • On the way to Verona (photo by Lizk)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) dmshimizu May 24, 2017

    Amazing trip!

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    Great way to explore the boarder region amongst Italy, Austria and Slovenia. The scenery is amazing, and it is a great opportunity to enjoy some towns and places that are not widely seen by regular tourists.
    Travel documentation supplied by the local tour company is very good with complete information about the route. I'd recommend the investing on the GPS too, as it helps a lot with navigation activity.
    The accommodations and the included meals were really good, perfect for those who would like to spend some days away from crowd and large cities.
    In summary, it was a great experience, I'm looking forward for another bike tour like this one.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 6th, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    Video: Cycling in Austria, near Thal
    • Lake Bled (photo by dmshimizu)
    • Arriving to Mojstrana (photo by dmshimizu)
    • Triglavski Narodni Park (photo by dmshimizu)
    • Arriving to Feistritz an der Gail (photo by dmshimizu)
    • Trieste (photo by dmshimizu)
    • Feitritz an der Gail (photo by dmshimizu)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Apulia - Heel of Italy
    (4/5) Suelikestobike May 25, 2017

    Delicious, warm and quiet

    · Apulia - Heel of Italy

    We were looking for a tour that would get us off the beaten track in Italy. This fit the bill. Nice accommodations, low traffic and of course it's Italy, so good food. We also hoped for warm sunny weather in May and it delivered! Matera was outstanding. Book an extra day and a tour. Not a flashy tour but enjoyed it. Service provided by the bike tour operator was great.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 13-20
    How many tours have you completed?
    5 tours with Bike Tours .com
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Nancy May 26, 2017

    Beautiful ride through three countries

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    The scenery was ravishing, the directions mostly got us where we needed to go, the breakfasts and hotels were delightful. We opted to rent e-bikes which allowed us to keep up with the stronger riders on our group. One drawback was the lack of directions for getting from the train station in Trieste to our hotel. Not knowing the lay of the land, which streets were apt to be steep or major thoroughfares, it took us 3 times what it should have to get to our hotel. Also Bled is a charming little town, but had we realized it is a major tour bus destination we would not have opted to spend the extra night there.

    What was the date of your tour?
    5/5-12/2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
  • Florence to Rome
    (4/5) pizza June 5, 2017

    Italy tour

    · Florence to Rome

    We have done two other Eurobike tours and this was very similar. The roads in Italy are a bit less tended than in other parts of Europe and we were often on traffic roads but the scenery and the route was lovely! The weather was fantastic. I would suggest that you be sure to book your sightseeing in Florence and Rome ahead of time because they are both very busy and exciting cities. There were also some long difficult hills but well worth the climbs.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 20-27, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Bolzano – Verona – Venice
    (5/5) Ken1126 June 8, 2017

    Bolzano to Venice

    · Bolzano – Verona – Venice

    Overall the trip was very nice and I plan to use Bike Tours again soon. We arrived Bolzano via train from Munich and the scenery through the Austrian Alps was fantastic. Our first hotel is Bolzano, Hotel Scala, was very nice and we enjoyed the extra night we had booked, including a tram ride. We were a little surprised to have almost 30 people in our tour orientation. With so many people, there was little time for one on one instruction on the equipment and it was a struggle to get questions answered. The bikes, one e bike and one hybrid, were in great condition and were pleasant to ride. We were fortunate to have the tool kit which included a spare tube because on our last day the e bike had a flat in the back. The e bike had an extra (gear??) cable in the back we were not familiar with but managed to figure it out. It would be nice if the bikes had shocks to absorb the rough surfaces but I'm sure there is a reason they don't.
    Our second hotel, in Trento, was not as nice as Bolzano and had no air conditioning. Since it was hot and humid the entire trip, ac turned out to be a big issue for us. Some hotels had it but it was not very effective or efficient. The next trip we book will include the upgraded hotel package.
    Navigation into and out of the cities proved to be our biggest challenge. Following the arrows was great until you missed one and it required constant vigilance. Trying to follow the road book instructions was difficult, the mileage references never seemed to matched and street names were hard to find. I also found that often it would have been easier to join the route directly from our hotel rather than getting to a central starting point indicated in the road book.
    We booked an extra night in Mestre and were glad we did. The Hotel Venezia Mestre had great ac, several English language tv stations, and great location to catch the bus to Venice and airport (VCE-Marco Polo).
    Overall a great trip and looking forward to our next one.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 27, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Venice
    (5/5) Julie June 11, 2017

    Loving Italy!

    · Dolomites to Venice Along the Old Dolomites Railway Track

    We just finished this tour and it was amazing! My husband and I rode it with our two teenage daughters. It was the perfect level for all of us- not too difficult, but had some challenges. We loved the quaint Italian mountain towns. We rode on roads that the Giro d'Italia had done the week before. We bought cherries from an orchard that was right on our route. we had cappuccinos and gelato everyday! It was truly a wonderful experience!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • The Dolomites (photo by Julie)
    • Riding downhill (photo by Julie)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Florence to Rome
    (4/5) Patrick June 15, 2017

    Beautiful and challenging

    · Florence to Rome

    A great way to experience Tuscany and Unbria regions of Italy. At first we thought the bikes were somewhat heavy and cumbersome, but after a week we realized they were the right bikes for the road conditions. the road routes were carefully selected to get away from as much traffic as possible. The secondary roads were often not in the best condition, so we appreciated the stability of the bikes. Be prepared for hills. Intermediate rating was definitely on the upper side of intermediate, so prepare for the trip. Eurobike route stickers were very useful. We wish the bikes had water bottle cages.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 27 - June 3 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    12
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection