Bike Tour Reviews  Dolomites To Venice Along The Old Dolomites Railway Track


Dolomites to Venice Along the Old Dolomites Railway Track

COUNTRY: Italy

7 nights
4.6/5 (20)
Rider Level: Recreational Electric bike tours
Rider Level: Recreational Electric bike tours

4.6/5 (20)
7 nights

Self guided from EUR € 719

Self-guided:
Wednesdays and Saturdays: May 06-Aug 10, 2023, Aug 19-Sep 30, 2023 (additional dates available for groups of 5 or more)

Description:
From the northeast of the Dolomites, you cycle through the Höhlenstein Valley passing by the famous "Drei Zinnen" (Three Peaks), and onto the Olympic town of Cortina d’Ampezzo. Following the old railway track, you continue to Pieve di Cadore, the birth…

View Tour

  • Dolomites to Venice
    (5/5) Russ Gibfried 5 months ago

    Great locations, trip pace and places to stay

    Perfect way to see Bavaria, Tyrol, the Dolomites and into Venice. Old train tracks have been converted to bike trails, so you see towns and places that you would miss in a car. The mobile app keeps you on track. I'm convinced this is the best way to see a country and all my future trips will include a one week bike tour (if possible)

    • Coffee stop at Lago di Dobbiaco leaving Toblach (Sud Tyrol) to Cortina (Dolomites) (photo by Russ Gibfried)
  • (3/5) Sharon Aikens 5 months ago

    Spectacular scenery, great trails, mediocre hotels

    The route from Toblach to Venice was fantastic. We were surprised at how much of the route was on beautiful paved trails, along rivers, mountain ridges and through lovely small villages. The bikes provided were excellent. The FunActive app is very good but, the the bikes do not come equipped with a cell phone mount so every time you want to figure out directions, you have to stop and hassle with your phone. This added a lot of time to completing the route each day. We had rented a mounted GPS for this purpose, but were told when we got there that they no longer offer this because they have the app. The ride itself is at an intermediate level of difficulty because there were a few challenging spots, mostly when the trail was steep gravel, but also a couple quite long climbs. The big disappointment were some of the hotels or hotel rooms. Many hotels were nice but they seem to reserve the worst rooms for FunActive. When we realized this, we started asking for nicer rooms. One night when we were supposed to stay in the lovely town of Belluno, we were housed in a horrible hotel far from town after after riding 75 kilometers (Hotel Villa Capenada). It was like out the the movie "The Shining." Old and tired, deserted and creepy. We were too tired to go back into town and the food at the hotel was inedible and very expensive. We never got to see Belluno. A few other hotels were barely acceptable with dusty bedspread, curtains and dirty carpet. The hotel in Mestre put us in a room that smelled like cigarettes and sewer and the floor was linoleum. On our return stay there, we insisted on a nicer room and got a lovely room on a higher floor. The moral of the story: Don't accept an unacceptable room! But BikeTours.com and FunActive need to know that this is going on. We have been on many bike tours and never require fancy accommodations but some of these were pretty disappointing. All that said, the BikeTours.com and the FunActive staffs provided excellent service in setting up the tour for us.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 1/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Don Thain 6 months ago

    Mostly fantastic

    This trip used rental bikes and was self-guided. The basics worked well with hotel bookings and luggage transfers. The bikes were fine for this but had minor deficiencies. The joining instructions were incorrect but were sorted out with a phone call. Routings were chosen to highlight scenery and views while avoiding traffic. The map sets were disappointing as directions were muddled. Other cyclists had the same complaint. But it was a great trip nonetheless.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Dewey Forward 7 months ago

    Spectacular if very challenging

    It was certainly the most dramatic trip I’ve ever taken. By the end of the trip I was complexly familiar on how the app works and appreciated the care that went into all of the planning.
    The hotels were all interesting being uniquely Italian and well placed in the towns we stayed in. All and all a lifetime memory of joy. Harder than a 1 difficulty which was advertised.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Llewellyn Fernandes 8 months ago

    Beautiful Italy from Mountains to Coast

    The views of the mountains and countryside were fabulous ! And best experienced on bike. All the hotels along the way were nice and comfortable. Luggage usually delivered by 4pm, so sometimes we toured the town and had a bistro stop before ending the day at the hotel. Since my daughter was having some challenges with the distances, we just hopped on a train to complete the day's journey and toured the town. It was actually a great way to spend the day. Only issue we had was that all the instructions were in German. This did cause some challenges because there was a major detour one day. We figured it out but would have been much easier if all information was in English (as we expected since we communicated in English throughout the booking process). Otherwise it was a fabulous trip !

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Natalie Synhavsky 8 months ago

    Loved it!

    The scenery on this trip is truly amazing. The first two days were mostly on gravel paths before getting to paved connected trails and roads. The hotels weren't anything special, but we loved the biking route and would absolutely recommend this trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Alexthegr8 October 2, 2019

    A Bumpy Ride at Times, but Worth It.

    The scenery ranges from pleasant (Asolo to Treviso) to spectacular (Cortina to Belluno), and the hotels (all of which were nice) were conveniently located with the exception of those in Belluno and Treviso, which are located too far from the center to walk. Bikes were OK, although the pump provided did not fit the tube stem, and the extra inner tube was too large. We saw very little signage on the first day, although the frequency of signage increased over the length of the trip. The GPS, for which we paid extra, did not work, and is unnecessary in any case. All that said, we enjoyed the riding very much, and would definitely recommend it to others, most particularly if they have some prior experience (there are a few detours along the way) .

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Marv September 29, 2019

    First European Bike trip

    This was an amazing trip. Well organized, excellent hotels and breakfast. The route was beautiful. The bicycling was more challenging than we expected, but we are casual cyclists. If you are somewhat of a serious cyclist, it would be no problem. 95% of the directions were excellent. 5% were very confusing or ambiguous. Everyone in our group got lost at one point or another. Overall, well organized and beautiful trip. We will book again with Biketours.com.

    What was the date of your tour?
    09/14/2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • The start at Toblach/Dobbiaco (photo by Marv)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) j59fj2046r July 28, 2019

    Great cycling and and absolute best way to see the Dolomites. The routes are great, with a little bit of climbing and some fun downhill sections each day. I commute to work and found the riding matched my ability, leaving enough time to stop here and there, and explore the city at the end of each stage.

    TIP: The routes are mostly intuitive and easy to follow, but there are some challenges and confusing areas. If you ride this tour, skip wrestling with the paper map and use a GPS. I set aside some time before each ride to plot my route using the Komoot cycling app on my phone - I found I made fewer wrong turns and had more confidence to have fun with the ride and take in the scenery.

    What was the date of your tour?
    2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Sandy89 July 18, 2019

    Unbelievable Scenery!

    Our first time to the Dolomites - we will be back! The scenery was breathtaking. Everywhere you looked there was a photo opportunity. The hotels were quaint and the food was excellent although we would have liked more recommendations of food and sight seeing along the way (we were self guided). Totally recommend getting the GPS for one of the bikes if you self guide due to some tricky routing. Overall, loved this trip and would recommend it to our friends!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • One of the many tree lined bike paths (photo by Sandy89)
    • Beautiful scenery (photo by Sandy89)
    • View from our hotel one of the nights (photo by Sandy89)
    • Lakes of glacier water (photo by Sandy89)
    • This was the scenery on all sides of the trails (photo by Sandy89)
    • View from another hotel room on the trip (photo by Sandy89)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe July 19, 2019

      We couldn't agree more; the scenery on this tour is amazing!

    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Bumble July 15, 2019

    Beautiful Scenery

    From the picturesque mountains in the north to the open flat lands of the south this was a joy to ride. The hotels were clean and welcoming.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    Four
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Eliz July 9, 2019

    beautiful trip

    A very nice way to view this part of Italy - nice scenery all around, the selected roads were great and away from main ones, easily described and marked to follow
    All good

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/19 - 6.25
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) CyclesInRoswell April 5, 2019

    Wonderful Anniversary Trip!

    We did this tour in June 2016 and I neglected to write a review. Wonderful scenery, great little side trips if you want to add miles, and wonderful service and accommodations. We had a great time on our rented tandem (affectionately nicknamed "The Whale") and would do this tour again. BikeTours Direct service was excellent, and the tour company did a great job. A romantic way to spend our 25th anniversary.

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • Around every bend beauty (photo by CyclesInRoswell)
    • Bolzano's terraced hills (photo by CyclesInRoswell)
    • The whale and the tunnel (photo by CyclesInRoswell)
    • Beautifully marked trail (photo by CyclesInRoswell)
    • Belluno umbrella street (photo by CyclesInRoswell)
    • Photo 6 (photo by CyclesInRoswell)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 4/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (4/5) Skippy September 22, 2018

    Loved the Scenery!

    Enjoyed each day! Length was good, even including the king day!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 8-15, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Anne52 October 2, 2017

    A gorgeous and adventurous trip!

    This tour took us through stunning scenery on bike paths and small, very quiet roads where we were often out of sight of other bikers. The hotels we stayed at along the way were comfortable, often in beautiful settings and all had fantastic breakfasts. We loved the small towns and off the beaten track places that we were led to. Despite some lack of stickers where they were needed, we generally found the directions and maps to be fairly good. We opted for 7 gear bikes but we would highly recommend the 21 gear bikes. There were more uphills than we had expected and we had to push our bikes at times as 7 gears weren't adequate. Overall, we had a most enjoyable experience.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 6 - 13, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    One other
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Garry August 17, 2017

    A wonderful trip

    This is a wonderful trip. The scenery is breath taking, the hotels are friendly and well run and there is great food to be enjoyed. The organization was first rate, both at Biketours in the US and through their affiliate in Italy. I'd do it again and invite friends to join us. But I'd do it in late spring rather than summer - it does get hot and humid in July. I'd also try to schedule some rest days in cities like Belluno and Trieste that would be fun to explore more of.

    We got lost several times despite the excellent tour documentation. Do keep an eye out for the trail markers and ensure your mobile is charged. Thank goodness for Google Maps!

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 9, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Julie June 11, 2017

    Loving Italy!

    We just finished this tour and it was amazing! My husband and I rode it with our two teenage daughters. It was the perfect level for all of us- not too difficult, but had some challenges. We loved the quaint Italian mountain towns. We rode on roads that the Giro d'Italia had done the week before. We bought cherries from an orchard that was right on our route. we had cappuccinos and gelato everyday! It was truly a wonderful experience!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • The Dolomites (photo by Julie)
    • Riding downhill (photo by Julie)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) JimG August 10, 2016

    Northern Italy

    I just finished riding the Dolomites to Venice tour. It's a marvelous tour. The tour company "Fun Active" are exceptional. I was all stressed out worrying about getting lost. They learned about my concern, contacted me at the starting hotel, and delivered, installed, and instructed me on a GPS which I rented.
    The tour went seamlessly. Highly recommend this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 1, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Pedalann February 28, 2016

    A Spectacular Ride from the Austrian Border to Venice

    This tour allowed us to experience the changing face of Italy from the quite Austrian north down though many medieval towns and into the coastal plain around Venice. The introduction and orientation by a representative from FunActive Tours was complete and included detailed maps, cue sheets and information about the areas and towns we would be traveling through. We enjoyed each day's ride and learned so much about the history of this part of the country as we went along. We were on the "self-guided" tour and were easily able to follow the route with our maps cue sheets and the route markers posted along the way. We missed our turns only a couple of times and quickly found our way again. The routes were mostly bikeways or very low traffic roads which made the ride especially enjoyable.

    How many tours have you completed?
    25+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens, Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    • 1 A look back a Niederdorf as we left in the morning (photo by Pedalann)
    • 2 Spectacular scenery (photo by Pedalann)
    • 3 A quiet trail along the Brenta River (photo by Pedalann)
    • 4 We followed the Sile River past Casale sul Sile (photo by Pedalann)
    • 5 Arriving at our hotel in Quarto d'Altino (photo by Pedalann)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection