Italy  Bike Tour Reviews (page 18)

  • Sardinia: A Mine of Memories
    (3/5) Sagan October 1, 2019

    More challenging than leisurely

    · Sardinia: A Mine of Memories

    Unfortunately not the experience we expected and we were a bit disappointed given how much we enjoyed our previous tours.
    The very hot weather and humidity may have been a factor but the route was much more challenging than expected and there were a lack of places to stop off that did not involve adding on extra KMs to the route.
    We noticed many other self guided opted for e-bikes probably with good reason.

    What was the date of your tour?
    14th sept 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
    • 2/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • A Taste of Italy
    (3/5) Chris MacMillan 10 months ago

    Hot in Italy in August

    · A Taste of Italy: Emilia-Romagna

    Enjoyable cities and food. Bike routes a bit bumpy but easy. Unfortunately very hot 🔥 this year in Italy. Tour operator helpful with flat tires.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
  • (3/5) Moira Quigley 8 months ago

    Interesting part of Italy

    · A Taste of Italy: Emilia-Romagna

    Well organised, GPS system worked well for us most of the time, person greeting us and setting us up was fantastic, bikes excellent. Loved the parmesan and balsamic vinegar factory tours - wonderful hosts. We did not enjoy the route as much as other tours we have done. There were more main roads and traffic than we were expecting and have experienced on previous bike tours. The agritourismo accommodation was so nice we did not want to leave.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    Three
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 3/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
  • Tuscany and Umbria
    (3/5) Ana outsubo August 8, 2017

    Needs improvement

    · Tuscany and Umbria: Cycling in the Heart of Italy

    They need to improve. We were three... but we only had 1 map, I had to ask for at least one more.... the full package like odometer.... bike tray to put the map... direction booklet... they did not have it all, although we paid 3 packages. They forgot our greeting meeting. Good points: they tried to provide everything we had asked... they were helpful. But definitely they were overwhelmed with the amount of tours and needed help.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 4 th- 11
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Venice to Florence
    (3/5) JPeter October 3, 2016

    History seen

    · Venice to Florence: From Rialto across the sea to Ponte Vecchio

    The accommodations were satisfactory to good (hotel in Choggia was wonderful). The trip was as expected and explained in the brochure. For the most part the directions and markers were decent except in Florence. Little to no markers seen and the directions to the parking garage given were incorrect for Florence, frustrating.

    What was the date of your tour?
    09/17 to 09/23
    How many tours have you completed?
    2 including this one
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 3/5 Value
    • 2/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 2/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Apulia and Basilicata
    (2/5) Collette February 12, 2022

    Lecce Loop of the Trip is Beautiful

    · Apulia and Basilicata: Alberobello to Lecce

    The segment of this trip within the Puglia region provided stunning views almost all day long of the Adriatic and Ionian Seas. We took frequent advantage of public beaches, stopping for a swim along the way, and the towns were charming, making it easy to linger over an espresso and seaside lunch, or tour on foot once we were settled into our hotel for the night. Our E-bikes made us happy as this Puglia section of the route is quite hilly. The hotels were excellent to good, and the GPS mapping on our phones made it super easy to stay on track or find the route after we had chosen to deviate from it. This portion of the trip was a delight.
    The first third of this bike trip includes the the route from Matera to Alberobello and Ostuni. A previous reviewer had mentioned, "an inordinate amount of garbage," on this section. I cannot stress enough how the garbage surpasses the word "inordinate." Hundreds of thousands of water bottles, household trash, appliances, used diapers and debris of all sorts litters the first three days of this trip, like riding through an open landfill.
    This section of the Basilicata route has long been abandoned for repair. We had to turn off the "emergency SOS" app on our phones - the one that calls your emergency contact using severe shaking of your phone - due to the broken concrete and tar on these roads as our phones kept sending SOS pings out to family members in the US. Where I live, I often have to ride on gravel roads and those seemed like a dream compared to these first 3 days of road conditions. The Lecce portion of this trip was great but I cannot recommend this trip if it includes the first section. Bike Tours is wonderful, this was our second trip with them and we plan more, but I will heed reviews, which is why I'm offering this one.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 26 - Oct 1, 2021
    How many tours have you completed?
    two
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • At the beautiful Ionian Sea! (photo by Collette)
    • Magical public swimming beach. (photo by Collette)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 1/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (2/5) GregR October 6, 2019

    Too much highway biking

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 2/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
  • Dolomites to Venice
    (2/5) Chris MacMillan 10 months ago

    Spectacular scenery, poor bike maintenance

    · Dolomites to Venice Along the Old Dolomites Railway Track

    The scenery was spectacular and memorable. The hotels were good. However in the middle of the trip my bike handlebars came loose and the bike was very difficult to steer towards the hotel. Also I found the Funtastic navigation app to be unreliable.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    •  (photo by Chris MacMillan)
  • Florence to Rome
    (2/5) Mark Abzug 9 months ago

    meh

    · Florence to Rome

    great cycling, but eurotours was terrible. no orientation, routed us on some busy roads, no customer service at all. I've done 5 of these, and this group was the worst support outfit by far

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Biketours Tour Advisor October 18, 2023

      Hi Mark,
      We appreciate that you took time to leave us your feedback! We're disappointed to hear you were not satisfied with the local assistance. It is not uncommon that some bike tours do not offer a welcome reception, however we do always provide an emergency contact number - locally as well as a Biketours emergency line which is answered 24/7. We apologize if you felt unsafe during some of your rides. While we always strive to provide the most safe & quiet routes, it is sometimes inevitable that we have to link paths on a busier stretch. We hope, despite some of inconveniences, you were able to bring home good memories from your trip. If you'd like to consider another one, we'd be happy to help point you in the direction of tours that offer a welcome reception at the start of the tour, as well as tours exclusively on designated bicycle paths.

    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Biketours Tour Advisor October 18, 2023

      Hi Mark,
      We appreciate that you took time to leave us your feedback! We're disappointed to hear you were not satisfied with the local assistance. It is not uncommon that some bike tours do not offer a welcome reception, however we do always provide an emergency contact number - locally as well as a Biketours emergency line which is answered 24/7. We apologize if you felt unsafe during some of your rides. While we always strive to provide the most safe & quiet routes, it is sometimes inevitable that we have to link paths on a busier stretch. We hope, despite some of inconveniences, you were able to bring home good memories from your trip. If you'd like to consider another one, we'd be happy to help point you in the direction of tours that offer a welcome reception at the start of the tour, as well as tours exclusively on designated bicycle paths.

  • A Taste of Italy
    (2/5) kirbymom October 19, 2016

    Great Effort but we were frequently lost

    · A Taste of Italy: Emilia-Romagna

    We had titanium bikes and a very intro. Unfortunately we were lost so often that instead of enjoying time at q location, we were biking around asking locals and using our compass. I think Bike Tour tried too hard to use route with less traffic or a bicycle trail. This made it very hard to get in and out of cities. We had both a bike gps with the routes inputted and the written instructions. Just give us the most direct route out of the cities.
    The hotels were nice and mostly well located. Sometimes they weren't well located like the one on the farm. We very much enjoyed the cooking class, the visit to the balsamic vinegar producer, and the gelato machine making -- that ws great. Also the dinners and breakfasts were very good to excellent.
    I would recommend this tour IF the routes were adjusted and the visit to the farm was eliminated

    What was the date of your tour?
    10-4-16
    How many tours have you completed?
    thousands of miles w/o guides
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Tuscany and Umbria
    (2/5) John (Jay) Bonitt August 12, 2022

    Significant elevation!

    · Tuscany and Umbria: Cycling in the Heart of Italy

    This was our fourth self-guided Biketours.com trip, the firs three were five-star successes. This one was the most disappointing, not because of the region or places to stay…all were good! But, this trip had over 16,400 ft. Of elevation..even on E-bikes (for the first time) it was VERY difficult. We saw only one or two road bikers the entire trip, whereas on the previous trips we saw lots of road bikes. As experienced bike tours.com travelers we’re pretty attuned to following direction…this particular trip had poor written and app directions. If you are interested in this particular trip you had better be in the best shape of your life. It is not a moderate level trip…even on an e-bike.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 1/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Venice to Florence
    (2/5) Sheedy July 16, 2018

    Disappointing

    · Venice to Florence: From Rialto across the sea to Ponte Vecchio

    We'd done the Mosel bike tour last year and it was picturesque, beautiful small towns, places to stop. This year we booked this trip to Italy to celebrate a 40th wedding anniversary. On the plus side, Marco from Eurobike was extremely helpful. Good advice and help with bikes. Always on call by phone. The first stop to Chiaggo was beautiful. They left champagne in our room for our anniversary. Really sweet.
    But after that the ride was super boring. Long stretch of riding alongside cow pastures or crossing busy roadways. No where to grab a bite to eat. Kind of like riding through the flatlands of Texas. We finally ditched the tour after 4 days and had them pick up our bikes instead of our luggage and went off and did our own thing. Again bike company was great and helpful, it just isn't a good bike trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 2/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 1/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
  • Venice to Mantua
    (2/5) Sparky September 21, 2017

    Boring trip

    · · Venice to Mantua by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    Although the barge itself was nice and the food delicious, the trip itself is very boring once you leave Venice. Hours and hours of passing soybean fields. Lots of riding in hot weather on unshaded roads....some quite busy. Very few days were on actual bike paths. When we did get to a town, most things were closed as it was between 1 - 4....siesta time in Italy. The cheese tour was nice. That's about it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    August 26, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 3/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 1/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 1/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Innsbruck to Lake Garda
    (1/5) Kenneth Moffat 10 months ago

    The scenery was great the bike company very poor

    · Innsbruck to Lake Garda Across the Southern Slopes of the Alps

    The bikes should be delivered to the hotel we are assigned to.
    No one reviewed the tour nor did we get a bike fitting.
    The group should all stay in the same hotel. We do not want separate hotels.
    There was more than one occasion when the hotel did not have all of us booked in the hotel.
    The bike tools were not adequate to fix some of the bike issues we had.
    None of us would use this company again.
    I should mention the liaison person Penelope was very nice.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    Austria, Italy
    • 2/5 Value
    • 1/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 1/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (1/5) Melissa Barney June 20, 2023

    Biking in Italy in June

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    I will not be recommending this trip or your company to anyone. The App was awful: only intermittently in English (otherwise in German) and when I gave 'feedback' I got no response; the App intermittently stopped working and I had to turn my phone off and on to re-boot; the App ATE UP my phone battery (a relativley new iPhone 13 with an otherwise long battery life); any highlights mentioned in the App along a particular day's travel was only a link to something that required internet or phone service (this is ridiculous; this link should have taken me to text within the App just as every other self-guided tour does within their App). The written paper description was poorly done - for some cities the description was how to 'get' into a city and other times the city/town mentioned was only a landmark of progress but this was very confusing. The pedometer on the bike did not work after the first three hours of the 7 day trip. The bikes were way too heavy; surely there is a way to make a durable bike that is at least 2 to 3 kilos lighter. Getting the bike and getting a safety helmet were in different cities!! I would ask for some of my money back if I thought this was possible as I was very disappointed in the trip.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
  • (1/5) Heather Batchelor 1 month ago

    Hail, lightning and rain

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    Didn’t get to do the trip because of terrible weather and the idea of sitting in a hotel room until 6pm without any luggage.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria