Italy  Bike Tour Reviews (page 3)

  • Cycling and Cooking in Tuscany
    (5/5) Paula Seliga 11 months ago

    Cycling and Cooking in Tuscany

    · Cycling and Cooking in Tuscany

    We had excellent guides, hosts, chefs, restaurants, sites to see, bikes, fellow tourists, and accommodations. The only thing I would have changed is to begin the cooking classes earlier, so we could have eaten earlier. Difficult to pass up all that gorgeous food, but if you ate it, difficult to go to sleep with such a full stomach, and then get up and eat again!

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    •  (photo by Paula Seliga)
    •  (photo by Paula Seliga)
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from JV July 5, 2023

      Thanks for your business, the pics, and a glorious review. Hope to help you again on another glutinous journey. :)

  • Lake Garda
    (5/5) Addee October 29, 2019

    Gorgeous Lake Garda!

    · Lake Garda (based in one hotel)

    Disclosure: I went on a small portion of this tour as a BikeTours.Com Staff Member.

    I was lucky enough to arrive to the start of my tour in Sirmione by a relaxing 4-hour ferry ride from town of Riva. Since this tour is based out of one hotel, you have ultimate flexibility in spending your cycling vacation in Lake Garda the way YOU want to! The daily rides are fairly short and will give you plenty of time to experience the local cuisine and culture. Since I only had one day to cycle in Lake Garda, I was recommended by the tour company staff member at my welcome briefing to cycle to Brescia. The ride to Brescia took me through quiet cycle paths to beautiful and picturesque countrysides. Just from this day’s ride, I would say 90% of this day’s ride was on cycle paths, with 10% being on quiet roads. This tour was Level 2, but being a first timer, I had no issues cycling the few hills I encountered during my ride to and from Brescia. For those who want a more relaxed ride, I’d highly recommend the eBike as it gives you power when you really need it! The one provided on this tour was in top condition and well-constructed. I took this tour at the beginning of October and it was perfect weather to cycle in the cool morning yet still enjoy the warm water of Lake Garda during the day. I would recommend this tour to first-time travelers and those who’d like to spend a few days exploring beautiful Lake Garda!

    What was the date of your tour?
    10/3/2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • Photo 1 (photo by Addee)
    • If you have a chance to take a ferry ride in Lake Garda, DO IT! (photo by Addee)
    • Beautiful and quiet countryside ride to Brescia (photo by Addee)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Venice
    (5/5) Eliz July 9, 2019

    beautiful trip

    · Dolomites to Venice Along the Old Dolomites Railway Track

    A very nice way to view this part of Italy - nice scenery all around, the selected roads were great and away from main ones, easily described and marked to follow
    All good

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/19 - 6.25
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Lake Garda
    (5/5) Addee October 29, 2019

    Breaktaking Mountains and Scenic Lake Garda!

    · Dolomites to Lake Garda: Picturesque Cities and Stunning Scenery

    Disclosure: I went on this tour as a BikeTours.Com Staff Member.

    I had no idea how beautiful both the Dolomites and Lake Garda would be until I arrived just as the leaves were changing and the weather was cool. Having the chance to cycle on quiet countrysides and towns while being surrounded by mountains constantly gave me an intimate connection between me and the gorgeous Italy. Lake Garda was crystal blue and was the perfect ending to this cycling vacation. The route was 95% on cycle paths, with 5% being on small roads as you enter the towns you'll be spending the night in. This tour was definitely a Level 2, however, being a first-timer, I had no issues cycling the few hills on this tour. I chose to do this tour with an eBike since I wanted a more relaxed cycling vacation, however, it is entirely possible to do this tour with hybrid bikes with no issues. Speaking of, the eBike I had on this tour was phenomenal and gave me power when I really needed it. The daily milage of this tour is low and can b cycled rather quickly, giving you more time to explore the local culture and cuisine. Taking this tour at the end of September was perfect for its cooler weather and autumn-colored leaves. I would recommend this tour to first-time travelers and cyclists who want to experience gorgeous Lake Garda and the Dolomites.

    What was the date of your tour?
    09/29/2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • Photo 1 (photo by Addee)
    • Surrounded by beautiful mountains! (photo by Addee)
    • Just a small preview of what cycling looks like in the Dolomites! (photo by Addee)
    • Stopping for gelato is always a must on this tour, especially when you have a free voucher for one (yes, this is included in your tour package)! (photo by Addee)
    • Lake Garda is UNREAL! (photo by Addee)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Bolzano – Verona – Venice
    (5/5) nippy1 July 8, 2019

    One of our favorit family trips!

    · Bolzano – Verona – Venice

    This ws one of our favorite trips ever! It was our first really active trip with our kids (11 and 13). Up to this point our travel has been mostly cities, museums, tours, and short hikes. It was more difficult than we thought it would be mainly because the kids go slower than if it were just adults so each day had around two additional hours due to more frequent breaks. That said, we felt so accomplished at the end of each day, it was a wonderful confidence boosts for our kids. And it was very bike friendly -- only one day was on heavily traveled roads otherwise it was quite a few bike trails and backroads. And the scenery is stunning. We got a little lost in some of the cities, but it was part of the adventure. Instructions and equipment were top notch and we always felt well cared for. Fabulous adventure -- we highly recommend it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 15, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Umbria Road Cycling
    (5/5) Jarusha October 20, 2016

    PERFECT 7 DAY TRIP THROUGH UMBRIA

    · Umbria Road Cycling: Loop Tour Through Lush and Scenic Landscape

    BEST WAY TO EXPLORE A COUNTRY!
    SUCH a wonderful trip!
    My husband and just finished a 7 day road bike trip through Umbria and it was fantastic! BikeTours.com hooked us up with the most wonderful local bike tour company (Ecologico Tours) and we loved it! Everything from Paolo delivering and setting our bikes up for us, the the beautiful side roads we cycled on, to the gorgeous hotels every night - all fantastic! We were even well taken care of when we accidentally left our passports at a hotel and had to call Petra for help. I can't say enough good things about our trip with BikeTours.com and Ecologico Tours and will not only recommend them to friends but we are already planning another trip with them :)
    Thank you so much!

    Jarusha + Colin

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 29- Oct 6, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    this was my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • On top of a beautiful climb in Umbria! (photo by Jarusha)
    • Relaxing after a day of riding! (photo by Jarusha)
    • One of many water refills in a little medieval village (photo by Jarusha)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Sardinia: A Mine of Memories
    (5/5) Lisa Samson-Fang 11 months ago

    Had a great time!

    · Sardinia: A Mine of Memories

    Great week in Sardinia biking. Everything planned for us on a self-guided tour. Great accommodations. Great routes. Beautiful. I would consider upgrading bike to lighter bike next time (e.g. gravel bike). Otherwise, wouldn't change a thing,it was perfect.

    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
  • Florence to Rome
    (5/5) Michael Kelly November 8, 2022

    All roads lead to Rome

    · Florence to Rome

    This tour was spectacular. This trip checks all the boxes — it has the art, beauty and walkability of Florence; the majestic history of Rome; tied together by the bike ride that got us away from the crowds in both cities and into the countryside and small towns, traveling at a perfect pace to appreciate this beautiful region of Italy. The luggage transfer was seamless. The hotels were very comfortable and (except in Rome) all were small and conveniently located near each town’s important sites and central piazza.
    You asked for feedback.
    One layover day would have been great, probably in Assisi where we found there’s too much to see in just one afternoon/evening. I don’t know how you would make it work, but you asked for suggestions.
    The intro session on Day 1 was a serious weak point in the tour. The evening talk was cancelled and the bike distribution on the morning of Day 2 was handled by a nice employee who only spoke Italian. It could have been a disaster with no instruction about the route or the unfamiliar ebikes, but the group worked it out.
    The hotel in Rome was comfortable but it was the only one not located in a convenient part of town and it’s focus on large groups traveling by tour bus was a jarring contrast to everything else about the tour.
    Some of the hills were longer and harder than expected, and traffic on a few short stretches was difficult. But our lasting memories will be the vineyards and olive groves, the quiet side streets and bike paths, the breathtaking hill towns, and the flexibility to stop at a cafe for pastries, cappuccinos or afternoon beers.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 1, 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our second
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Apulia and Basilicata
    (5/5) FunL October 27, 2019

    The best way to see Puglia!

    · Apulia and Basilicata: Alberobello to Lecce

    A great experience riding a bike thru the heel of Italy. A great way to see the country and ride off all those calories. I ate like a Roman, rode my bike like a Maserati and enjoyed La Dolce Vita.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 5, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Darcy Billinkoff November 8, 2022

    Italy’s best kept secret

    · Apulia and Basilicata: Alberobello to Lecce

    After visiting Puglia, we marvel that we had not really heard much about this spectacular region until three years ago.

    We started our trip by staying in a cave hotel in
    the stunning city of Matera in its historic section “sassi di Matera”. This ancient city, steeped in history , has been designated a UNESCO World Heritage site and should be on everyone’s bucket list.

    We started cycling in Alberobello, a touristy town famous for its whimsical whitewashed trulli with their signature cone-shaped roofs. As we left the town and worked our way toward the coast, we cycled on quiet roads passing by beautiful olive groves with rich red soil and fields dotted with trullis.
    Magnificent views, picturesque seaside towns, a few challenging hills that got our hearts racing, and delicious fresh seafood became the norm as we cycled along the Aegean and Ionian Seas.
    We finished the trip in the elegant city of Lecce, which is aptly nick named “the Florence of the south”. We would recommend spending at least two days in this beautiful city wander its beautiful historic Center, take in a walking tour and visit the fascinating Museo Faggiano.

    We cycled on hybrid bikes and they were comfortable and had good low gears to take on the coastal hills.

    We would highly recommend this trip.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Venice
    (5/5) Rob Russell 11 months ago

    Fantastic bike trip - downhill all the way!

    · Dolomites to Venice Along the Old Dolomites Railway Track

    I did this trip with my daughter who had never been to Italy. The folks at ''Fun Active Tours" were exceptional. They let us have the bikes a day early, call our hotels to make sure we had two beds as some of the hotels thought 'double' ment one bed! They let my daughter ride with the luggage transfer guy in the middle of the tour as her U-?-What was sore ;). Hotels were great and the route was unbelievable. Frendly Italians and some of the best food we've ever had. Go for it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    15
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • Super helpful bike rental crew (photo by Rob Russell)
    • First day is on compacted dirt but the Dolomites are awesome! (photo by Rob Russell)
    • The old train grade was mostly paved and separated from traffic (photo by Rob Russell)
    • bike paths through towns are well marked and the phone app let us know when we went 'off route'! (photo by Rob Russell)
    • Many beautiful small villages on the route - perfect cappuccino stops! (photo by Rob Russell)
    • Oh, and don't forget the gelato! (photo by Rob Russell)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Bolzano to Verona
    (5/5) Janet Bychek 8 months ago

    Wonderful well organized trip

    · Bolzano to Verona: Orchards, Mountains & Timeless Culture

    Stefano, our organizer was so helpful. When I forgot something he saved the day.. The routes were stunning. The bikes worked well. The hotels were really nice with great breakfasts

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 16 2023
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • Out of Bolzano (photo by Janet Bychek)
    • Waiting for the ferry (photo by Janet Bychek)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Umbria Road Cycling
    (5/5) Aging Cyclist October 27, 2019

    Great countryside, food and hotels

    · Umbria Road Cycling: Loop Tour Through Lush and Scenic Landscape

    We had a tremendous trip. The hill towns and mountain views were superb, our rental bikes were of excellent quality, and the hotels and breakfasts were terrific.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    this is the first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Dayna Stern November 8, 2022

    My favorite bike tour

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    I love this trip! Gentle cycling, stunning scenery and nice accommodations. We requested half board which exposed us to south Tyrolean food. Highly recommended! Remember to dress warmly because you’ll be in a wooded valley part of the first few days.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Bolzano – Verona – Venice
    (5/5) Cousin September 5, 2018

    Loved it

    · Bolzano – Verona – Venice

    This was such a great way to see the country. We loved the whole experience.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 11 to July 18
    How many tours have you completed?
    This was my first
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dolomites to Trieste
    (5/5) Curt October 18, 2016

    Great trip

    · Dolomites to Trieste via Lake Bled at the Foot of the Julian Alps

    First bike trip like this for my wife and myself. The route was spectacular. Had everything from mountain scenery, beautiful river valleys, charming village, seaside rides, and ended in the wonderful city of Trieste. Got a taste of 3 countries and their cultures and food. Met lots of great people along the way who were doing the same trip as us. Everything went fairly seamlessly from the hotels to the transports to the bikes and the information provided. On a few occasions had some confusion with the directions, but nothing that wasn't able to be figured out.
    All in all an excellent trip and would do another trip with this organization without question.

    What was the date of your tour?
    9/24-10/1/16
    How many tours have you completed?
    None
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy, Slovenia, Austria
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Bolzano – Verona – Venice
    (5/5) Michel 10 months ago

    Six days of great cycling!

    · Bolzano – Verona – Venice

    Beautifull scenery. Well organized despite my last minute booking. Most helpfull staff.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    Six
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Venice to Mantua
    (5/5) Biking Santa September 5, 2018

    Exploring Italy

    · · Venice to Mantua by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    Having two guides was helpful and both were knowledgeable and very personable.
    the boat was wonderful as well as the crew and food. Sites chosen were enough without making it too much to soak in. A highly recommended tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Aug 4-11, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    5+
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Florence to Rome
    (5/5) rubbernecker October 23, 2019
    · Florence to Rome

    What was the date of your tour?
    10/5 to 10/11
    How many tours have you completed?
    1st
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Italy
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection