Greece  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula
    (5/5) Giro June 22, 2017

    Great ride and amazing archaeology

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    The routes have nice variety and excellent scenery. The hills are moderate. There are nice opportunities to swim on a couple of the stages. The cave at Kapsia and The sites at Mycenae and Epidavros are really great. The hotels were the best we have had on a bike tour. The Greek people are remarkably friendly. Finally, the Arcas company is great. The bikes were Treks, the nicest we have had on a tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    11
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula
    (5/5) Purple Sneakers August 17, 2017

    The Peloponnese

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    we were drawn into the sumptuous landscape of the Peloponnese from the first kilometers of our ride around Tripoli, as were taken (by GPS) intimately through a wonderful and beautiful landcape. the second day was largely a continuation of the first, until the farmland gave way to the coast. the following day was perhaps the most beautiful as we climbed along the coast reminiscent of Big Sur, though the water below was utterly, and achingly the turquoise color only found along the Aegean. the route eventually took us inland to the archaeological site of Argos on the Plain, and finally Nafplio, a small seaside village with a Byzantine past. it was a glorious day. while the remainder of the our riding revolved around the nearby archaeological sites—Mycenae and Epidaurus—the landscape remained the draw. an exceptional countryside, highly recommended.

    What was the date of your tour?
    24 June - 1 July
    How many tours have you completed?
    many
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Brittanyatbiketoursdotcom October 19, 2017

    The best of the mountains and the sea!

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    I went on this tour as a BikeTours.com staff member. The varied scenery on this tour continuously amazed me. Each day, we were cycling through orange, lemon, and olive groves. The fresh food was endless from fruit to cheese to lamb to seafood with olive oil at the center.

    This is a well-rated level 3 tour with its rewarding daily hills. While cycling, we had a perfect view of the sea for miles traveling toward it while still in the mountains.The region is rich in culture and this tour opened my eyes to the ancient history of Greece. Some of the known archeological sites have been excavated and preserved while so many other sites are still buried under our feet. The people of Greece are as kind as I've met anywhere. They are lively, community-centered, and certainly welcoming to travelers.

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 7, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • Staff submitted review (photo by Brittanyatbiketoursdotcom)
    • Coastal town of Astros (photo by Brittanyatbiketoursdotcom)
    • UNESCO site of Mystras overlooking Sparta (photo by Brittanyatbiketoursdotcom)
    • near the Castle of Paralio Astros (photo by Brittanyatbiketoursdotcom)
    • an easy walk up to Castle ruins (photo by Brittanyatbiketoursdotcom)
    • natural landscape (photo by Brittanyatbiketoursdotcom)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula
    (5/5) LewB November 16, 2017

    October Must Be Best

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    My wife and I totally enjoyed our first bike tour together with the very pleasant Peloponnese itinerary. We had beautiful views on quiet roads through villages and hills. Every effort biking uphill was rewarded on the downhill, and with nice flat stretches in-between. The four nights based in Nafplio gave us the time to enjoy the special charms of that town. The local operator was great and BikeTour's guidance is reliable.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 28 - Nov 4
    How many tours have you completed?
    None
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • October colors in the Peloponnese (photo by LewB)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) KBogg June 20, 2018

    Great itinerary

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    Well planned tour with excellent hotels
    Local bike tour staff were amazing

    What was the date of your tour?
    5/24
    How many tours have you completed?
    First one!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) kdorman June 21, 2018

    Amazing Trip!!!

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    This was my first cycling tour - and it completely converted me - this is the best way to see/experience a country. Love the fact that you use local biking companies - they really know their country and how best to see it!

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 20-27th
    How many tours have you completed?
    this was my first!
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Julane June 26, 2018

    5 Stars!

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    5 Stars! We highly recommend Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula for its incredibly beautiful and spectacular landscapes, ancient history, significant archeological sites, and charming hotels in charming towns. Every Greek we met was friendly and helpful; the food was fresh and tasty; the culture was interesting. We were fortunate to be on this tour during Easter week and were able to observe several traditional practices including a religious procession and a community concert. The services offered by the local tour company, Arcas Travel, were top-notch: GPS routes along the coast, up and down mountains, through olive and citrus groves; well-maintained bikes; transfers to the start and finish of the tour; assistance a phone call away. It was a perfect cycling holiday!

    What was the date of your tour?
    March 31, 2018
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • Photo 1 (photo by Julane)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Julane)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Julane)
    • Photo 4 (photo by Julane)
    • Photo 5 (photo by Julane)
    • Photo 6 (photo by Julane)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula
    (5/5) Jim n Anne July 5, 2018

    Follow In the Footsteps of the Ancient Greeks

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    This tour was scenic, engaging, varied, enjoyable, rewarding. The route was well planned; we would arrive at the highlight of each day's ride just at noon when the big groups had left for lunch so we didn't have to contend with crowds. The Greek people are friendly, happy, and agreeable. The routes were scenic and just challenging enough. The rental bikes were well suited for the terrain and conditions, and the available GPS was a valuable aid. We loved the accommodations, and the luggage service was flawless.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    Several dozen
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula
    (5/5) JBxx August 14, 2018

    A perfect way to see working class Greece with lots of history

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    We ( 3 couples) did the self guided tour . The bikes were comfortable and worked very well.. The route instructions and GPS were easy to follow. The route took us through rural / agricultural Greece , with daily visits to one or more spectacular historic site. The riding as advertised was light to moderate. The Hotels were good to excellent - The Grand Sarai in Nafplio was excellent. We were fortunate that the weather was good - in fact a few very hot days - but lots of water dealt with that. We made some great new temporary friends that were doing the same tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2-9 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Tim and Lisa September 26, 2018

    Wonderful trip

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    The route was fantastic, with gorgeous scenery, some amazing long downhill stretches, and major archaeological sites. Roads usually had little to no traffic and uphills were never overwhelming (I didn't ever wear the reflective vest I brought or have to walk). All of the accommodations, staff, and breakfasts were very nice and sometimes great. We enjoyed all of the suggested stops and towns we stayed in. It would have been impossible to come up with a comparable route on our own. The Trek bikes were in good shape. The only problem we had was that one day we encountered burrs or thorns which caused repeated punctures (apparently a seasonal hazard).

    What was the date of your tour?
    9/8/2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula
    (5/5) Manuel and Maria November 14, 2018

    Great way to explore hidden gems of Greece!!!

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    We love feeling like locals, eating like locals, seeing the country the way locals do. Mostly away from touristy places. This was exactly what this tour was about. Combining Greek history, mythology, archaeology, authentic Greek food in authentic tavernas, experiencing warm Greek hospitality, revelling in the natural beauty of the mountains and the warmth of the sea. What more can I say? It was an incredible trip made possible by the Arcas team, local to Greece, coordinated thru bike tours.com. Thank you so much!!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    Oct 13 to 20th, 2018
    How many tours have you completed?
    Several
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with young kids, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula
    (5/5) Pedalann June 14, 2019

    A Beautiful and Educational Tour in Greece

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    This tour gave us a chance to see the natural beauty in Greece from mountains to seashore, the agricultural richness of some of its orchards from olives to oranges and the amazing cultural history during our visits to sites such as Mycenae and Epidavros. The preprogrammed GPS made each day's navigation easy and allowed us to concentrate on the sightseeing along the way. Since our tour was selfguided, we could cycle at our own rate and stop frequently to take photos and read information posters that interested us.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 4-11, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    More than 20
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • The displays of wildflowers were amazing - everywhere we went. (photo by Pedalann)
    • A strong wonderful memory will be the fragrance of oranges as we cycled through the orchards. (photo by Pedalann)
    • An evening stroll with Nafplio in the background. (photo by Pedalann)
    • The huge amphitheater at Epidavros - I can hear Fred talking with the two women far below me. (photo by Pedalann)
    • We rode through the mountains on very quiet roads, lined with wildflowers. (photo by Pedalann)
    • Fred, being welcomed by our hostess in Nafplio.  All our hosts and hostesses were very friendly and helpful. (photo by Pedalann)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Love2ride July 15, 2019

    Great way to see Greece!

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    Overall, we were highly satisfied with our experience on this self guided bike trip. The scenery was great, starting in the (relatively cooler) mountain town of Vytina, cycling down into Tripoli. We enjoyed the day trip to the Kapsia Caves. The ride from Tripoli to Astros was scenic, with a very noticeable flora change as we dropped over the pass and started to head down to the (much warmer) seaside. The dip in the Aegean to cool off after the day's ride was exultant. The ride along the coast to Nafplio was beautiful, and we enjoyed the ancient sights along the way (Agros). Nafplio is a charming town, absolutely worth staging out of for the final few days.
    Pluses: Hotel and staff in Vytina, Tripoli, Nafplio. The ancient sights to visit got better and better with each day (Argos, Mycenea, Epidaurus). The charming towns, intimate small lanes and shops, late night restaurants out in the squares or along pedestrian streets in Paralion Astros, Vytina, Nafplio were a delight. Dips to cool off in the Aegean a joy.
    We found the Greeks, those with the local tour company, the shuttle pick up and drop off, the Hotels and well, just about everywhere along the way, to be friendly and eager to engage and to help. Also, the relative cost of goods, meals, etc. were quite affordable.
    Specific to the bike tour company...friendly and prompt pick up at the airport, and the GPS units provided (50 EURO refunded deposit) had each days routes preloaded and worked out quite well (given the routing had a lot of zigs and zags at times, I don't think we'd have been able to follow the route with a paper map/sticker process common to other bike company rides). Baggage transfers went without a hitch. Very accommodating for our request to switch bike types at the start of the ride.

    As for 'room for improvement'...there were a few items. Relative to the info we were sent, this tour was a bit thin on details on where and when to expect to see some of the sights...just that 'we'd bike by them' (and we did, but at the 10 mile point, 15 mile point or ? - the GPS path did not indicate that type of info). One minor irritation, was our third day leg (Tripoli to Astros). We found the ancient site and museum at Tegea per the route description, only to find it was closed on that particular day we were routed to bike thru it. Also, the GPS, as stated it was overall very useful (only steered us off in a minor way once, and we were able to figure out where to go well enough). But the unit would tell us we'd be at the destination...and we'd look around and not see our hotels. We'd spend time walking around, circling about to find it (and the small hotel in Paralion Astros had the hotel name in subtle letters on a glass door...we walked right by it). Similar experience in Nafplio, I had to plug in the name of the hotel in my own smartphone to have it navigate us down side street alleyways to the hotel entrance. So a bit better directions on how to find our hotel upon arrival would have saved us some time out of the sun (already tired after a hot day cycling). And finally along those lines, there was a switch in our hotel in Nafplio versus our stated first night destination (we'd not been told this). That killed time trying to sort that out. Again, more a nuisance level...folks at both hotels quickly helped us figure out the slip up.

    As for any general observations about the tour. Unlike some other countries we've ridden thru, there really are no bike trails. However, much of this route is on back roads, where traffic was sparse. In the more congested (streets are narrow) towns, they were pretty small, and so we'd be thru them pretty quick and back on rural side roads. We had no issues with Greek drivers, even got a few friendly honks and waves (other cyclists were few and far between). We did note a lot of stray dogs, but fortunately the only times we encountered any aggressive barking, those dogs were behind fences. We switched to the tours hybrid bikes (I had originally booked road bikes, not knowing the details of the roads and routes), and we were glad we did. There were sections of (flat) gravel roads, particularly on the second bike day, more easily handled with wider tires and upright stance vs narrow tires and drop bars of a road bike. My partner appreciated their better climbing gears, not that the hilly sections weren't beyond our expectations, but in July, the combination of hills and heat (unfortunately, we hit it during a bit of a heatwave) made for slower paced riding. Regarding temperatures, full disclosure, towards the end of the tour, it was forecast to be well over 100 degrees F....we elected to hire a car and guide versus riding (no regrets, it actually hit 105 F that day). We knew this was going to be a hot time of year for this tour (my partner is a public school teacher, though, which limits our major vacation times). If we were not otherwise constrained, this tour in May or in September would be ideal.
    To summarize, our glitches were minor, and we thoroughly enjoyed this tour and we're glad we did it.

    What was the date of your tour?
    First week of July, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    ~6
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Chloe July 16, 2019

      Thanks so much for the detailed feedback. This is all excellent info; we appreciate you taking the time to share it! So glad y'all enjoyed Greece.

    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Icebikers July 20, 2019

    Greece has been on my list for a long time!

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    Cycle is a perfect way to see fantastic places in many countries, Greece is no exception. I saw places that are spectacular like old theatre build 4000 years BC. Cycling in the country side as well as the coast is fantastic. Epidaurus, Nafplio and many other players in this tour as well as the Corint Canal on my way back to Athens is worth seeing.........

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 6th to July 13th 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • Photo 1 (photo by Icebikers)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Icebikers)
    • Nafplio (photo by Icebikers)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula
    (5/5) Cyndi2838 October 13, 2019

    Greece was surprising!

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    The landscape was amazing, from the Fraser Fir trees to the beaches our ride was wonderful. The GPS needs updating as many of the roads are small.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 28,2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) GRL3 October 21, 2019

    Fantastic trip thru Greek Peloponnese

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    This is a must do trip. One of our best ever. The scenery, accommodations, rental company and everyone we interacted with were 5 star in every way. Bikes were great, GPS systems worked fine, and the routes were as expected. They really focus on keeping you off the main roads as much as possible, but even when you were on the main roads, ALL drivers were very courteous and gave lots of room. Absolutely no issues with anything, and we would definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to see the beautiful Peloponnese Peninsula the right way (by bike). Yes, there were some hills to climb, but nothing insurmountable, and it was always rewarding to come down!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula
    (5/5) Tony123 October 27, 2019

    Excellent itinerary

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 12-19
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula
    (5/5) Darrell8 November 14, 2019

    Beautiful Scenery

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    Excellent service that was provided by the local bike company, the gentleman was very friendly and gave us great information when asked. The bikes were excellent and all hotels were very nice with great breakfasts that was included in the rates. GPS were included so finding the right route was seamless.
    There were lot of great sites to see along the way and the scenery was amazing.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 5,2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) musicmama44 8 months ago

    See the real Greece!

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    Our tour was the perfect blend of Ancient sites, beautiful nature and authentic Greek culture. The hotels we were put up at were all run by the nicest people and generally in great locations with easy walking to the center of the towns we were in. We especially enjoyed our stay in Nafplio. The local company helping us, Arcas, was easy to communicate with on the road. We experienced a broken chain on day 1 and they had someone out to rescue us in 30 minutes and a new bike by that evening. We did hit a national holiday 1 day and so the sites we were supposed to see were not going to be open, it happened to rain a bunch that day as well and we probably wouldn't have wanted to ride out there if it was open, so it worked out, but it would have been nice to have some pre trip notice or an alternative plan for a ride that day. Both companies, Arcas, and bike tours were great with answering our questions and helping us prepare for the trip. We had some specifics we needed help with like bed requests and we decided to bring our own saddles, and everyone got back to us with answers to our questions within 24 hours each time. The phone app used by the company does not require internet and gave easy turn-by-turn directions as well as historical info and all kinds of other trip info like where the hills were and far you had to go.

    I have a little feedback about this particular trip if you need some particulars or aren't sure it is right for you. We are E bikers here in the US, we ride several times a week 9 months out of the year, mostly on a greenbelt system (10-25 miles range per trip). We are in our late 40's, in good health, could be in better shape and I have a knee injury that affects my riding. This trip was a 2 out of 4 difficulties, in my mind, this seemed more like what I thought a 3 would be, maybe a 2.5. While the riding was doable, it was definitely more challenging in spots than we anticipated. The batteries provided did not hold a charge as long as we expected so we were really having to push ourselves on the uphills more than we anticipated to ration the battery. Definitely download the manual for the control panel, there were all sorts of ways to customize its use as well as instructions about how to get it to recharge in the downhills, not a lot, but it did help. With the exception of the very first ascent which was very long, most of them were shorter, but the places to stop and recharge were far and few so you had to really watch your charge. The roads for the most part were back roads and/or unused older highways and that was wonderful, little to no traffic and wide open spaces and beautiful scenery. When you did have to be on a highway, however, there was a lot more traffic, and they were moving pretty fast, so it was a little intimidating at times.I'd say you were on main highways about 10% of the time, the rest was more remote. We don't do much highway riding here, I would absolutely do it again, this is just info that I would have found helpful. I think the difference in expectation on the difficulty of the trip had more to do with us and our vision than what was communicated to us, we are kinda wimpy, in other words!

    We would absolutely recommend a bike tour to our friends and family, we plan to do more and this trip was unforgettable and a great learning experience for us as well. If you want to see the real Greece (we met so many nice locals and ate SOOOO well), this is the way to do it.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May1-8
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula
    (5/5) Wendy Sigler 6 months ago

    Perfect explanation of trip. Could sound a little more magical.

    · Greece: The Peloponnese Peninsula

    The staff from the bike company was stellar and very responsive to any assistance we needed. The bikes provided were ok, they were a little grungy like they could use a tune up, but serviceable and once we got used to the battery configuration they were fins. The routes and stops were fabulous! The locals made the experience so enjoyable and special. My Only complain t was that one of our days fell on a country holiday which meant we couldn’t go to the cave, it was closed. We had no idea of this until the day the tour started and would t have known if it hadn’t come up in conversation, we would have ridden all that way to see the cave and been let down. It would be nice if the company provided a list of holidays and better indication of how it could affect the trip. There was a brief mention somewhere, but that would t have helped us, the actual holiday fell on a Sunday so got celebrated on Monday instead so it was unlikely we would have discovered it in our own.

    What was the date of your tour?
    May 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Greece
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)