France  Bike Tour Reviews (page 3)

  • Provence by Bike and Boat
    (5/5) Philip August 8, 2017

    Bike and Barge in Provence France

    · · Provence by Bike and Boat

    Excellent tour on the Estello. Great accommodations and bikes and people and tour!! Looking forward to booking our next biking adventure through biketours.com.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    First package tour.
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • (5/5) Megb August 8, 2017

    A Fantstic Experience

    · · Provence by Bike and Boat

    This was the first bike tour we had ever been on and it was better than expected. Our guide was very informative and she really knew the best roads to take to keep the peloton out of traffic. The food on the boat was excellent as
    well as the hand selected wines had. The group of people was diverse and very interesting. We had a lot of fun.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 1-July 8, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Three Lakes Tour
    (4/5) gsf1 August 8, 2017
    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    What was the date of your tour?
    7/9/17
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • Stage 1: Near Ft. L'Ecluse (photo by gsf1)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Becca August 8, 2017

    Savoie self-bike

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    Taste the cuisine and drink the wine of Savoie, swim in pristine lakes, visit medival villages, castles, and vineyards.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Jul 30
    How many tours have you completed?
    3
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Loire Valley Châteaux & Gardens Tour
    (5/5) Roadbiker August 9, 2017

    Self guided Loire Valley Ride

    · Loire Valley Châteaux & Gardens Tour

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 23-29
    How many tours have you completed?
    First bike tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Provence’s History, Landscapes, and Luberon National Park
    (4/5) Gennie August 10, 2017

    Southern France in the Summer

    · Provence’s History, Landscapes, and Luberon National Park

    The tour of Provence was absolutely beautiful! I suggest anyone considering a trip to France to do this tour, however, not in late summer. Temps exceeded 100 degrees most every afternoon. Tour cue sheets need some tweeking. We had to backtrack on several occasions. The written packet should also include a description of what to expect on that day of tour. Relying on what is written on this website is not always accurate and needs more information. We would have missed some very interesting places if not directed by locals and hotel concierges.

    What was the date of your tour?
    late July/early August 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    several
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Alsace Wine Country
    (4/5) YQT1 August 11, 2017

    Made me love cycling again.

    · Alsace Wine Country

    Great trip. Hotel choices were quaint but only one had Air conditioning which was unfortunate after long sweaty ride in 35C heat. Would definitely revisit the accommodation choices next time especially in hot summer.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 4 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 3/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Three Lakes Tour
    (5/5) SarahG August 17, 2017

    Great Trip!

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    It was everything I thought it would be.. beautiful French countryside, vineyards, fields of sunflowers, quaint villages, beautiful scenery. The weather was hot and that made the 1st day more challenging than I think it would have been otherwise

    How many tours have you completed?
    This was our first bike tour
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • Seyssel, the first stop. Our hotel on the far right. Dinner on the Rhone! (photo by SarahG)
    • The path to Annecy (photo by SarahG)
    • The Rhone below. (photo by SarahG)
    • Lake Bourget out of Aixe Les Bains (photo by SarahG)
    • Lake Annecy (photo by SarahG)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Alsace Wine Country
    (4/5) Seawise September 6, 2017

    Post card scenery

    · Alsace Wine Country

    Self guided 5 day tour- very happy with "c" class accommodation. Views and overall ambience great. We were frustrated at times with directions and missing green indicators especially for detours into towns - ended up following what we thought was logical route but lack of green arrows caused us to get lost- sometimes came across a green arrow but it was wrong one and ended up on another route- had to back track. Selestat and Ingersheim particularly bad and finding Riquewihr also hard. When travelling on bike paths- magic. Overall we had great time.

    What was the date of your tour?
    1 sept 2017 to 6 sept.
    How many tours have you completed?
    None
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Bordeaux by Bike and Boat
    (5/5) Menahemisrael September 17, 2017

    Birthday trip

    · · Bordeaux by Bike and Boat: Castets-en-Dorthe to Libourne (and reverse)

    The best way to learn about bordeux. Our guide Scott was great

    What was the date of your tour?
    Good
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • Photo 1 (photo by Menahemisrael)
    • Photo 2 (photo by Menahemisrael)
    • Photo 3 (photo by Menahemisrael)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 2/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Freiburg and the Alsatian Wine Road
    (4/5) Biabattistella September 18, 2017

    A great trip

    · Freiburg and the Alsatian Wine Road

    The trip was great, the landscapes are fantastic, the little villages are very charming, well preserved! What could be better is having gps files for the path. The orientation, sometimes, are not clear and cost some kilometres more!

    What was the date of your tour?
    sept 3 to 10/2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    This is the second
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Germany
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 3/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Loire Valley Châteaux & Gardens Tour
    (4/5) Coasters September 18, 2017

    A glimpse of the Loire valley

    · Loire Valley Châteaux & Gardens Tour

    A fabulous way to experience the countryside around the Loire valley. GPS maps made this trip very pleasurable

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 11-17
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 2/5 Route selection
  • Alsace Wine Country
    (4/5) Allen September 20, 2017

    Fabulously beautiful towns and good routes

    · Alsace Wine Country

    Bike Tours was excellent. Very helpful.
    E bikes helped. Good bikes
    Routes were varied and interesting with few busy roads.
    Route maps were frustrating at times because some roads poorly marked.
    Escape Rondonne's Thomas was poor for the introduction meeting- rushed and confusing; but the company did handle our bags well.

    What was the date of your tour?
    9/16-20/17
    How many tours have you completed?
    18
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 3/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) ozfamily September 20, 2017

    Beautiful Trip Needs Logistics Tweaks

    · Alsace Wine Country

    The positive: The route after the first day is spectacular - beautiful canals, villages, vineyards. Accommodations mostly fine, but see the needs improvement section. We especially liked the hotel in Sermersheim - tiny town but lovely place to stay. Bikes were great.
    Needs Improvement: The first day out of Strasbourg is mostly a wasted day. Even the person who gave us our orientation the first day said there is really nothing to see this first day. Coupled with the fact that it is a hellacious route to get out of Strasbourg - very complicated and not well explained by the guide or by the instructions given to us, I would have started the tour on day two (save for the accommodations that first night). Also, the instructions are not always accurate. Sometimes they said we could eat lunch in certain towns, but there were not places available, based on day of the week closures. It would be helpful to note towns where train stations are available in case someone is sick or injured.... I would not have people stay in Barr - there was absolutely nothing to do and most places to eat were closed.

    What was the date of your tour?
    9/15/17
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 3/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 2/5 Ease of navigation
    • 2/5 Tour documents
    • 2/5 Local tour company services
    • 3/5 Route selection
    • 2/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • UNESCO World Heritage Sites
    (4/5) JayF September 23, 2017

    Some Surprises!

    · South of France: UNESCO World Heritage Sites

    We had some terrific rides on this tour. The most notable being the third day of riding with a stop at Minerve. The scenery was incredible. The first two days also had some great vistas.
    We took the time to explore the first night's village of St. Guilhume le Desert. Worth the time. We also stopped and walked the cave at Clamuse. The vineyards on the hillsides and in the valley were treats to cycle through. We enjoyed exploring the villages in which we stayed such as Villeneuvette and Siran.
    The accommodations were all adequate with a couple highlights with the Chateaus in Lignan sur Orb and Siran. La Source in Villeneuvette was also charming.
    The staff at all the accommodations were all very helpful and friendly.
    The included meals were lovely.

    I do have some criticisms/suggestions:
    1. When we booked this trip we wondered how we were going to achieve our usual daily mileage of 80-100kms. The tour is rated a 3 "rolling, hilly terrain". Discover France rates it as Hobby or Active. We were surprised when meeting with our Discover France contact at the 1st hotel that every ride except the canal ride into Carcassonne is rated Active/Pro. We have cycled frequently in rolling, hilly terrain such as Kentucky, rolling hills do not have names (as at least one of the climbs did). There were a few long climbs that by no measure qualify as rolling hilly terrain. We are also familiar with categorized climbs so we adjusted our expectations and pedaled. One steep incline on a rare broken pavement type road will stay with me for a while.
    2. Discover France titles this ride "The Best of Languedoc" which is exactly what it is, you may want to adjust Biketours.com title as Narbonne is not on the itinerary.
    3. A shorter road bike option into Carcassonne should be provided. There is a hybrid bike ride along the canal or a long road bike option. The weather was not co-operative on that day and we had to make our own shorter road option into Carcassonne.
    4. The Hotel Montmorency was the smallest room on the trip and frankly a let down after the Chateau de Siran. At the end of the trip with all your stuff for two days it gets cramped. As well the hotel is really an annex of another with check in at the Chateau du Hotel, although there is no mention of the need to go across the street to check in. Checking in through a 4 star hotel had me questioning "why are we not staying here?". As noted previously the staff were excellent at Hotel Montmorency (really Chateau du Hotel), strictly room size issue. The location cannot be beat either.
    5. Another day in Carcassonne might be offered as an option. The medieval city and the other sites in Carcassonne cannot be done justice in half a day. To chose between riding and properly seeing a place such as Carcassone is one that should not have to be made.

    What was the date of your tour?
    Sept 14-20 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    Countless
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Jim Johnson, Founder and president September 24, 2017

      I very much appreciate your detailed feedback, which I've passed along to our tour team. We will also inform the local tour company of your helpful comments. I'm glad you had some great rides despite some of the surprises!

    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Burgundy Wine Trails
    (4/5) Coco October 2, 2017

    Fantastic way to experience Burgundy

    · Burgundy Wine Trails: Beaune to Macon on the “Voie Verte”

    We were 6 friends on a self guided tour of the Burgundy Wine Trails. Having done many cycle tours in different European countries, I can say this one falls in the top of our list. The trails wind through vineyards and charming villages and navigation was very easy using the app. We LOVED Beaune and Dijon had a charm of it's own. The wines were fantastic and overall epicurean experience unparalleled. The only downside to this trip (and reason I am not giving it 5 stars) was two of the five hotels we stayed in were substandard. The Athanor in Beaune has a great location and warm welcoming lobby, but the rooms were dirty, there were no mattress pads on the beds, peeling paint in the bathroom etc. The Heloise in Cluny had a beautiful restaurant, but the rooms, while spacious, were extremely old and tired with ragged bedding and dark dingy halls.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 13-20, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • BikeTours.com staff reply from Brittany October 3, 2017

      We're glad to hear this Burgundy trail ranks high on your list of tours! We'll work with the tour operator regarding the substandard hotels to ensure quality for future clients. Thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to help you and your group in the future plan another dreamy vacation.

    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 2/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (4/5) Coco October 5, 2017

    Biking in Burgundy--fabulous!

    · Burgundy Wine Trails: Beaune to Macon on the “Voie Verte”

    This was a perfect way to spend a birthday with 5 close friends! The bike routes wound through vineyards in the midst of the crush, or on paved paths through forests and alongside canals.

    What was the date of your tour?
    mid-September
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 4/5 Value
    • 3/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 3/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Alsace Wine Country
    (5/5) mamacababy October 6, 2017

    One of our best bike tours ever

    · Alsace Wine Country

    This bike tour was way more than we expected. Espace Randonnee gave us wonderful maps, directions, and bikes. I had an ebike for the first time and it was awesome. We rode down beautiful canal paths, and into picture book villages, laced with window boxes of geraniums. The accommodations were good to excellent, and we opted for the meal plan which we love because dinner was always arranged for you, and local specialties were served. The weather was perfect - all things considered, this was one of our top 2 bike tours ever!

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 25, 2017
    How many tours have you completed?
    9
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection