France  Bike Tour Reviews

  • Three Lakes Tour
    (5/5) Ginger10 July 4, 2022

    Perfect bike tour through stunning countryside

    · Three Lakes Tour: From Geneva to Annecy

    My husband and I completed this self-guided tour in June 2022. Everything about the trip was perfect. We went for the higher level accomadations and were very pleases, especially with the Chateau. Much of the trip is on bike paths which makes it more enjoyable. Luggage transferw were flawless and the e-bikes were terrific.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France, Switzerland
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Burgundy Wine Trails
    (5/5) Julie Paoli-Stern 9 months ago

    Excellent Trip!

    · Burgundy Wine Trails: Beaune to Macon on the “Voie Verte”

    First bike trip and we really enjoyed it! Routes were well laid out and lodgings were varied and of good quality. Tour company was very attentive to our needs and responded immediately when we encountered a problem along the way.

    Countries included in this tour?
    France
  • (5/5) Chuck54 July 26, 2019
    · Burgundy Wine Trails: Beaune to Macon on the “Voie Verte”

    What was the date of your tour?
    7-12-18
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat easier
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 4/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Nature, Villages, and Castles
    (5/5) Susan B March 22, 2022

    Best time ever on a bike tour

    · Nature, Villages & Castles of the Loire River Valley

    We had the most wonderful time on this tour. We are 73 and 75 years old, fairly frequent bike riders at home, and were completely capable of doing this easy route. Mostly flat, had to walk a couple of minor hills, very little riding in traffic. The route was beautiful (we were blessed with great weather in late September), the hotels were outstanding (I recommend taking the dinner package option with the tour; we didn't but ate at the hotels because several were in very small towns. The food was absolutely gourmet.) Our bikes were first class; the whole trip was just magic. People at Biketours.com are super easy to work with. Will definitely use them again.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2022
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • We made it to Amboise! (photo by Susan B)
    • Chambord (photo by Susan B)
    • Early morning along the Loire (photo by Susan B)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Bruges to Paris
    (5/5) David Baker 9 months ago

    Great experience for first time bike tourists

    · · Bruges to Paris by Bike and Boat (and reverse)

    The tour met and exceeded our expectations for a first time bike tourists. The barge captain had to make a detour due to construction which required changes in the itinerary but the crew and guide took it in stride and still gave a great experience.

    What was the date of your tour?
    September 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    One
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    Belgium, France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Loire a Velo
    (5/5) John Rosenfeld November 7, 2022

    Thoroughly enjoyable

    · Loire a Velo: Orleans to the Atlantic

    Will plan by the tour group. Beautiful scenery. Many interesting sized to see that were both historical and educational. The bed and breakfast is that were selected were outstanding. Food along the way was outstanding. The directions were easy to follow

    Countries included in this tour?
    France
  • (5/5) mrank July 9, 2021

    Great trip - highly recommend!

    · Loire a Velo: Orleans to the Atlantic

    We just completed the 9 day Orleans to Angers segment of this tour and really enjoyed it. It's the first trip we have taken that we would actually take again, but next time complete the entire 13 night tour. We have taken quite a few bike tours but this one provided the best supporting materials we ever had. The turn-by-turn materials and maps were very well done and easy to follow. We never needed the GPS. Of course the trail itself is extremely well marked, which helps a lot. In addition to the great support we received from the local tour company, the Bike Tours support while setting up the tour was also very good.

    The bikes were fine, a bit heavy, but comfortable. Our only issue was the tires on both bikes were under-inflated upon receipt, but we were able to resolve that without too much issue. We always carry our own tire gauge and check regularly. One bike had a mechanical issue, but the tour company was excellent at quickly resolving it.

    All the hotels were great and were prepared for our arrival. They also had very good facilities for storing the bicycles. Luggage transfer went smoothly and always arrived at our hotel before we did. The only minor issue was that one hotel did not have a lift, which was surprising, but not a big deal for us. I mention it in case it might be a concern to others.

    The meals, both breakfasts as well as dinners we purchased were top notch. We only had a complaint about the poor service in the Orleans restaurant. The food was good, but the entire restaurant was served by one person and it took forever to get through our meal. While the meals were all delicious, in hindsight, we may have gone without the supplemental meal package and just purchased dinners on our own. There were so many choices in almost every town that we would have enjoyed an occasional casual meal, like a delicious pizza vs the traditional French food every night. However, you can't go wrong in going with the meal package. It is definitely a French experience!

    Finally, the only other suggestion I would give is to alert people in the riding materials that there is a river crossing that you have to manage on your own using a little metal raft that you have to pull to your shore, load the bikes, and then pull to the other side. Its not too difficult, but managing the loading of bikes was a little tricky. I read afterwards there are ways around this crossing but it would have been good to know about it ahead of time.

    All in all, a great trip and maybe in the future we will be back to do it again.

    It goes without saying that the trails, scenery and points of interest were fantastic with lots of stops along the way. Even with less than great weather, we totally enjoyed this tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    6/25 - 7/5, 2021
    How many tours have you completed?
    10
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • Duck breast and sauteed fruits - delicious! (photo by mrank)
    • The Villandry Gardens - beautiful! (photo by mrank)
    • Along the beautiful river on the way to Azay Le Rideau. (photo by mrank)
    • Chinon along the river. (photo by mrank)
    • Wild flowers everywhere along the trail. (photo by mrank)
    • A typical coffee break stop.  On the way to Angers. (photo by mrank)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Champagne Getaway
    (5/5) Robyn Larkin 12 months ago

    A great week of biking & enjoying champagne!

    · Champagne Getaway: Charming Villages & Regional Wine Cellars

    We have done several bike tours in Europe, with varying experiences. This was among our favourite trips, and we recommend this for anyone interested in cycling, chmpagne or visiting France!

    First, the not so great part of the review: it is a challenging route! We did not use electric bikes, and that made it feel like every hill was a hard won accomplishment.

    Also, having a specific map earlier in the planning process would have helped to make tasting reservations at wineries since many of them require advance bookings.

    The things we loved about this:
    - bags were always on time when we arrived
    - accommodations where great with extremely helpful staff (although it helps at the Epernay chambre d’hotes if you speak French as the hosts do not speak English - but are super friendly)
    - we did the dinner package & while we would have preferred choosing off the regular menu most nights, all but one place was a fabulous recommendation of where to dine each night (the Brasserie la Banque in Epernay was the place we didn’t enjoy at all)
    - bike drop off in Reims was smooth - and the operator was there early to give us our initial briefing

    I guess my one idea for improvement was to offer additional bookings of champagne house tours/tastings/visits as it is not easy to research ahead of time. Early morning or late afternoon would allow for easier planning and there are options for both almost every day. I certainly would pay for that. At the very least, a list of some places that are friendly to tours/visits would be helpful if we need to plan our own.

    But overall, it was a lovely, relaxing, and champagne filled experience - exactly what we wanted when booking this trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    5
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • Cycling day 1 (photo by Robyn Larkin)
    • Tasting in Hautvilliers (photo by Robyn Larkin)
    • Tasting at Venoge in Epernay (photo by Robyn Larkin)
    • Tour of the limestone caves at Vollereaux (photo by Robyn Larkin)
    • Parva Domus Chambres d'Hotes (photo by Robyn Larkin)
    • Vineyards near Hautvilliers (photo by Robyn Larkin)
    • 4/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Loire a Velo
    (5/5) Lcooper31k July 18, 2019

    Perfect Way to Enjoy the Loire Valley

    · Loire a Velo: Orleans to the Atlantic

    This was our first bike tour, and we were a bit apprehensive about everything going well... but it did! The folks at biketours.com were so helpful and responsive, answering all our questions. We did Tours to Angers and it was a beautiful, relaxing (yet challenging!) ride. The bike paths/roads were easy to ride and follow, the rental bikes ride very well, the hotels at each town were superb (mostly old historic small hotels, all with AC), the breakfasts were delicious. But best of all, the scenery riding along the rivers and seeing or at stopping at the chateaus was fantastic. I can’t think of anywhere more perfect to do a bike tour. Directions were adequate, but we used the GPX files throughout the trip. When they took us off of the main Velo route, we really needed that extra technology, but once on the Loire de Velo route, it was very well signposted.One surprise no one told us... we needed to cross a small river using a self-operated ferry. We had no idea how to operate it! Fortunately, we met a Dutch couple who knew how to do it, so we crossed it.

    What was the date of your tour?
    July 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Somewhat harder
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 1/5 Tour documents
    • 4/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
  • Dordogne Valley
    (5/5) Monica Zack 12 months ago

    Wonderful French Countryside

    · Dordogne Valley: Between the Dordogne and Lot Rivers

    This trip was beyond my greatest expectations. Chain Gang is an exceptional company. They checked in on us several times to ensure we arrived on our self guided tour. The hotels were lovely and the staff friendly and helpful. The bikes we had were in fabulous shape and were equipped with panniers, a computer mount and high quality rain gear. The route was lovely. We rode through a variety of small villages with beautiful hillsides, rivers and quaint countryside. I cannot be happier. I highly recommend both Bernard and Sam and their fabulous company. We are looking at another tour with them in 2024.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 16, 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    4
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    Much easier
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    First-time bike tourists, Solo travelers, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Enjoy a sunset cycle in the City of Light
    (5/5) Elizabeth Gibson 12 months ago

    A fun way to see

    · · Paris Evening Bike & Boat Tour

    Rudolpho was AMAZING! His love for the city and it’s history and culture made the trip all the better!

  • UNESCO World Heritage Sites
    (5/5) Htim November 10, 2019

    Beautiful and Fascinating

    · South of France: UNESCO World Heritage Sites

    Beautiful routes, fascinating history, quaint, picturesque towns, grand castles and walled cities. Lodging ranged from excellent to very good. Bicycles and computer were great—we opted for carbon road bikes. Only negative was that the tour was short—one day had to be cancelled because of very heavy rain, and the last day was just a loop from Carcassonne to Limoux and back.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    No
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 4/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • Dordogne Valley
    (5/5) Clark Woodland 12 months ago

    Exceeded expectations

    · Dordogne Valley: Between the Dordogne and Lot Rivers

    Unlike most Chain Gang tours in the Dordogne, our tour was self guided with our luggage being transported to our next hotel. Someone else in our group was the main contact with Bike Tours and Chain Gang, I was just along for the ride, so to speak. I was very pleased with everything about the tour - the bikes (almost new Trek hybrids), the routes, the towns we visited, the hotels we stayed in, the restaurant recommendations and Chain Gang's willingness to respond to our requests for minor changes in our itinerary.

    Countries included in this tour?
    France
  • Loire Valley Châteaux & Gardens Tour
    (5/5) Lindynw July 15, 2019

    A Wonderful Tour of the Loire Valley Chateaux

    · Loire Valley Châteaux & Gardens Tour

    This tour exceeded our expectations. First we wish to extend a huge thank you to Bernard and Lydia for agreeing to guide this tour even though we were the only 2 people who signed up for it. That was most generous and gracious. Bernard is knowledgeable, funny, and very kind. His guide-in-training, Lydia, who accompanied us added an extra amount of fun and was very willing to help with French translations. We feel very fortunate to have been on her first tour and know she will succeed in her future guided trips. Although our group was small we immensely enjoyed the hotels, the wonderful food and wine, the picnics, and the chateau visits. We were sad to have the trip come to an end. We highly recommend this trip and feel it is the best way to experience the chateaux of the Loire Valley.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 29, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    2
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 3/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 3/5 Ease of navigation
    • 3/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 4/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Provence by Bike and Boat
    (5/5) mountainbroad November 7, 2016

    Golden Times

    · · Provence by Bike and Boat

    This bike tour will be revisited frequently in our memories. The countryside of Provence in the autumn, with the black bulls, white horses, and rose-colored flamingos, amidst the golden hills and winding river-ways set the scene for fine pedaling.
    I knew that the food and views of southern France would be amazing, what I had not anticipated was the depth of history and exposure to art that would also surround the ride.
    We had a few days of rain, and some of our riders decided to use the time to stay aboard or wander the towns. At those times, our guide went out of his way to inform the guests of possible itineraries to make the most out of their travels, even though they chose not to ride. Though, there were electric bikes available and experienced routing that allowed the riders of various abilities to be included in each foray. My husband, our three friends, and I chose to never miss out on the up-close experiences of riding to the small villages, visiting the museums and castles, enjoying the wine and olive tastings that were a part of our daily agenda.
    Our guide, Hugo, was a superb asset in informing us about each site, exposing the group to history and foods and art and nature that we would not have discovered on our own.
    In the evenings, after luxuriating over our fine dinners, and previewing the next day's ride, Hugo would take any interested folks out on evening walk-abouts in the small towns where the barge, Soleo, was docked. Again, sharing with us a part of France that made us feel lucky to just be able to take it all in.
    On board, we were treated to the fine cuisine of the area and to a welcoming and genial captain and crew. As much as we enjoyed our ride time, the time aboard the boat, where we would enjoy conversation, music, wine, and food, all added to the delight of our days.
    Though, my husband and I have been on many bike tours, this one will stand as a
    golden time of great beauty and as an unmatched tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 8-15, 2016
    How many tours have you completed?
    7
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • A calm morning aboard the Soleo (photo by mountainbroad)
    • Riding under the shelter of Provence Plane trees. (photo by mountainbroad)
    • Taking in the beauty of the Carmargue! (photo by mountainbroad)
    • Vincent VanGogh kept watch on us throughout our rides. (photo by mountainbroad)
    • Grape vines and fine times! (photo by mountainbroad)
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 4/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • Dordogne Valley
    (5/5) Vanessa Van Sickle 12 months ago

    Best cycle trip ever!

    · Dordogne Valley: Between the Dordogne and Lot Rivers

    I have been cycle touring for over 20 years. We did this tour, as we do most, as a self guided tour. The bikes were excellent, the assistance from the bike tour company was fabulous. The bike route through the Dordogne was a lovely combination of changing countryside and medieval villages. It was planned well around various tourist sites. The road surfaces were excellent. The accommodation and included continental breakfasts were all good. I would definitely recommend this bike tour company and this particular tour.

    What was the date of your tour?
    June 2023
    How many tours have you completed?
    15 +/-
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 4/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 4/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
  • Provence by Bike and Boat
    (5/5) tricia November 4, 2019

    Provence bike and boat tour

    · · Provence by Bike and Boat

    This trip was a fabulous way to experience southern France. I loved the mix of biking, touring specific sites, and sit down dinners on the boat; I appreciated our guide's flexibility in accommodating various preferences--she was knowledgeable, attentive and fun. The entire crew was outstanding and aimed to please. The food was beyond my expectations and was plentiful and presented beautifully. There was a reasonable balance of "together" time and "alone" time with opportunity to join in group activities or wander off on your own. Very well done! As a casual biker, the e-bike made it possible for me to not only do the trip, but enjoy every minute.

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 11, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    0
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 4/5 Ease of navigation
    • 4/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)
  • UNESCO World Heritage Sites
    (5/5) Beth Alcorn 1 month ago

    Cycling the south of France

    · South of France: UNESCO World Heritage Sites

    Excellent trip and experience. Every detail was covered from the first pick up and orientation to the drop off of our bikes. Route instructions were spot on, accommodations amazing and overall route beautiful. Highly recommend this trip!

    What was the date of your tour?
    April 2024
    How many tours have you completed?
    8
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
  • (5/5) Helen Beban 11 months ago

    Languedoc Adventure

    · South of France: UNESCO World Heritage Sites

    Did this tour as a couple in our early seventies. We have done many cycle trips mostly self guided carrying our own luggage. This time we hired ebikes. Bikes were perfect. Hotels stunning. The trip notes comprehensive and the GPS really excellent. We had good communication. Meals average.
    We have feedback for Adventure France about the route: on the Canal day MIDI Day the trip notes and GPS gave different routes. This was unexpected and a bit confusing.
    We followed the Canal du MIDI using the trip notes it worked well. The route to the hotel in Carcassonne used many small roads with 4 way intersections. Difficult. Also used the traffic bridge and main roads. Using the cycle/ pedestrian bridge would have been much better. We loved the routes especially the fascinating rock formations on the first cycling day and the high route above the lake. Magic.

    Countries included in this tour?
    France
  • Provence by Bike and Boat
    (5/5) Kathy B October 28, 2019

    Something for everyone

    · · Provence by Bike and Boat

    Roman ruins, midieval hilltop castles and walls, vistas and views that will take your breath away. Our crew and guide were outstanding, informative and fun. The food was fabulous: local, interesting, well prepared and well presented. This could have qualified as a food tour alone!!

    What was the date of your tour?
    October 12, 2019
    How many tours have you completed?
    1
    Difficulty (actual vs. expected)?
    As expected
    Who is this tour suitable for?
    Solo travelers, First-time bike tourists, Families with teens
    Do you recommend this tour?
    Yes
    Countries included in this tour?
    France
    • 5/5 Value
    • 5/5 Included meals
    • 5/5 Bikes + equipment
    • 5/5 Hotels or boat
    • 5/5 Scenery
    • 5/5 Ease of navigation
    • 5/5 Tour documents
    • 5/5 Local tour company services
    • 5/5 Route selection
    • 5/5 Guides (if applicable)